Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dee Forbes banging the RTE TV licence drum again 60m uncollected fee *poll not working - pl ignore*

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Isn’t Tubridy only in RTÉ because he had a relative high up in the organization.

Thats pretty much how they are all in there.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Isn’t Tubridy only in RTÉ because he had a relative high up in the organization.

His Grandfather was the Controller general. His Ma would be on as a social commentator at various RTE dos. I think there's an Eamonn Andrews link there. I'm sure there's more.
    Ryan is the nephew of former MEP Niall Andrews and former government minister David Andrews. He is the grandson of TD Sea¡n Tubridy, the cousin of Fianna Fáil TDs Barry Andrews and Chris Andrews and was himself a member of gra Fianna Fail

So worked hard over many years of slog to be gifted his review slots on radio and television when he was a child.... ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,684 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Is he not the grandson of Todd Andrews?? An ex chairman of the rte authority

Tonight on RTÉ 2 (in the Primetime slot)

The Great British Bake Off

S06E04

First broadcast on August 26th 2015

• Registered Users Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭jelutong

It’s a bit stale methinks.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,334 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Tonight on RTÉ 2 (in the Primetime slot)

The Great British Bake Off

S06E04

First broadcast on August 26th 2015

Does RTE2 have a primetime, thought the only thing they showed was repeats/old series

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

So great they have gone down the totally commercial route and basically have the Toy show sponsored by Frozen/Disney in disguise as a "theme". We pay them the TV licence to afford to broadcast and we still have to put up with this commercialisation. With multiple income streams they are still running RTE into the ground! Incompetent Twats.

https://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2019/1129/1095780-something-elsa-late-late-toy-show-is-frozen-this-year/

• Registered Users Posts: 39,753 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

So great they have gone down the totally commercial route and basically have the Toy show sponsored by Frozen/Disney in disguise as a "theme". We pay them the TV licence to afford to broadcast and we still have to put up with this commercialisation. With multiple income streams they are still running RTE into the ground! Incompetent Twats.

https://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2019/1129/1095780-something-elsa-late-late-toy-show-is-frozen-this-year/

The Toy Show, commercial. Surely not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 840 ✭✭✭The Late Late Show

The salaries Ryan Tubridy and the rest of them are on is disgusting. And let us not leave Pat Kenny and his near 1m post tax salary off the hook. Gone but not forgotten. While people are homeless and those who have homes are often crucified with bills, these guys are earning in a week after tax what most Irish people earn in a year before tax. And for what? Presenting chat shows with a massive team of researchers behind them.

NO ONE is worth the type of money any of these are earning. Especially when it is only for 20 hours and less a week. There are highly qualified people and people providing essential services on way less. Even politicians (love them or hate them, but they work longer hours than RTE's elite and we can vote them out) earn less. Even the Taoiseach and President earn less than Tubridy or in the past (probably still in his other role in RTE's cousin media outlets) Kenny. Even world leaders like US president Obama and UK PM Johnson earn less. It is time to get REAL on what these over-paid in the extreme presents earn for the hours they do.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,001 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

The salaries Ryan Tubridy and the rest of them are on is disgusting. And let us not leave Pat Kenny and his near 1m post tax salary off the hook. Gone but not forgotten. While people are homeless and those who have homes are often crucified with bills, these guys are earning in a week after tax what most Irish people earn in a year before tax. And for what? Presenting chat shows with a massive team of researchers behind them.

NO ONE is worth the type of money any of these are earning. Especially when it is only for 20 hours and less a week. There are highly qualified people and people providing essential services on way less. Even politicians (love them or hate them, but they work longer hours than RTE's elite and we can vote them out) earn less. Even the Taoiseach and President earn less than Tubridy or in the past (probably still in his other role in RTE's cousin media outlets) Kenny. Even world leaders like US president Obama and UK PM Johnson earn less. It is time to get REAL on what these over-paid in the extreme presents earn for the hours they do.

if no one is worth the type of money the high earners in rte get then nobody would ever get such a wage in any job or even more, it's as simple as that.
    there is absolutely nothing "disgusting" about the salaries tubberty etc get, yes they are rather high, but sometimes in broadcasting people earn high wages and people are just going to have to come to terms with that.
    people being homeless and home owners having high costs along with everyone else is a completely separate issue which would not change even if the high earners in rte didn't even get paid at all.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 840 ✭✭✭The Late Late Show

If it is the case that Disney are sponsoring Tubridy's Toy Show this year and/or other years (or other big companies sponsor the themes other years), this is more of it. Vast amounts of money go into RTE from various sources and they still are officially 'poor'. :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 51,652 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Blanket coverage of the Toy Show all week.
    You couldn’t fail to know that it’s on.
    Annoy your head with it.

It’s only a feckin toy show. They’ll probably repeat it too as it’s cheap to stage.

Blanket coverage of the Toy Show all week.
    You couldn’t fail to know that it’s on.
    Annoy your head with it.

It’s only a feckin toy show. They’ll probably repeat it too as it’s cheap to stage.

And apparently 'everyone' is going to watch it, even people that don't watch the Late Late Show, they always make the exception for the toy show!!

Yeah, I don't watch the Late Late, and I won't be watching the toy show tonight. It's on long past juniors bedtime, and I'd never subject myself or the OH to almost 3 hours of RTE showing us how 'great' and 'mad craic' they are.

I watched as a kid myself when it was Gay Byrne, and they are Christmas memories I'd rather not tarnish with Tubbers O'MadCraic

Anyone who checks out Joe.ie the odd time to see what movies are on that night or whatever would be best advised to stay away from the site for the next week at least, because you know there's going to be at least 2-3 'planted' stories a day about how much gas craic the toy show was, and isn't Tubbers great all the same, because that kid who's dad is in the army jumped out of a big box or whatever....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,684 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

And apparently 'everyone' is going to watch it, even people that don't watch the Late Late Show, they always make the exception for the toy show!!

Yeah, I don't watch the Late Late, and I won't be watching the toy show tonight. It's on long past juniors bedtime, and I'd never subject myself or the OH to almost 3 hours of RTE showing us how 'great' and 'mad craic' they are.

I watched as a kid myself when it was Gay Byrne, and they are Christmas memories I'd rather not tarnish with Tubbers O'MadCraic

Anyone who checks out Joe.ie the odd time to see what movies are on that night or whatever would be best advised to stay away from the site for the next week at least, because you know there's going to be at least 2-3 'planted' stories a day about how much gas craic the toy show was, and isn't Tubbers great all the same, because that kid who's dad is in the army jumped out of a big box or whatever....
    It's repeated on Sunday afternoon for you so don't worry about missing it tonight

I look forward to missing it on Sunday afternoon as well then..

• Registered Users Posts: 14,107 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Fcuk rte, fcuk the toy show, fcuk tubs, etc. I was in the pub earlier, clean forgot it was on tonight til someone mentioned it.

I dont ever remember it being on in november? The cynic on me says its a byproduct of the early onset of xmas, the bigger cynic says its to tie in with black friday, maximise spend/advertising yadayada etc...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

if no one is worth the type of money the high earners in rte get then nobody would ever get such a wage in any job or even more, it's as simple as that.
    there is absolutely nothing "disgusting" about the salaries tubberty etc get, yes they are rather high, but sometimes in broadcasting people earn high wages and people are just going to have to come to terms with that.
    people being homeless and home owners having high costs along with everyone else is a completely separate issue which would not change even if the high earners in rte didn't even get paid at all.

If Graham Norton was presenting the late late and earning Tubridys wages I'd be saying it was a pure bargain. Tubridy however is certainly not value for money. He's stealing a living. That's what most people have such a problem with. We are not getting value for money for our licence fee.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Have they let a few transition year students operate the cameras tonight. Getting motion sickness from some issues of this.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,001 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

deisedevil wrote: »
    If Graham Norton was presenting the late late and earning Tubridys wages I'd be saying it was a pure bargain. Tubridy however is certainly not value for money. He's stealing a living. That's what most people have such a problem with. We are not getting value for money for our licence fee.

value for money means different things to different people, and when it comes to rte, they are not going to be able to deliver such because of the varying opinions in relation to everything it does.
    tbh i would also think Graham Norton would be poor value for money, as he hasn't been great since his early years on channel 4, but maybe that is down to the times and the perpetually offended, rather then his presenting abilities.
    i don't rate tubridy myself, and he may be stealing a living, but by the looks of things, many seem to rate him, and i would think that in turn he must be bringing in decent revenue of some sort, but who knows.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭emo72

Tubridy comes across as very insincere. He's alien to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

emo72 wrote: »
    Tubridy comes across as very insincere. He's alien to me.

Yeah I am surprised by the twitteraty tonight. Oh he’s so good with the children.

From the sounds of Twitter it’s a children’s version of the main show, misery dressed as entertainment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭randomspud

Elmo wrote: »

From the sounds of Twitter it’s a children’s version of the main show, misery dressed as entertainment.

It's a 2 hour long toy advert directed at children.

What were you expecting? Why would anyone but children and their parents watch this utter ****e?

Do you normally put on RTE Junior to get your news headlines?

randomspud wrote: »
    It's a 2 hour long toy advert directed at children.

What were you expecting? Why would anyone but children and their parents watch this utter ****e?

Do you normally put on RTE Junior to get your news headlines?

1. What that’s not very public service?
    2. I wasn’t expecting misery dressed up as entertainment (didn’t watch just saw it from a Twitter distance)
    3. Always watch News2Day, but what has that to do with my post? It’s not like I consider TLLS news and current affairs. (I don’t watch News2Day!)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Yeah I am surprised by the twitteraty tonight. Oh he’s so good with the children.

So you are offering criticism of a TV show you didn't see but read tweets about?

elperello wrote: »
    So you are offering criticism of a TV show you didn't see but read tweets about?

It’s a general criticism of a show I’ve watched most years. It is overhyped & the presenter is overrated.

Of the tweets, with videos which I watched, it seemed the kids were brought on to have a sob story and to bring a tear to your eye, this is typical of most RTÉ chat shows, as I said misery dressed up as entertainment.

Also I am not criticizing the children or any guests on such shows, TBH I think the children were excellent particularly considering most of them had been in RTÉ since 12pm that day.

It’s a general criticism of a show I’ve watched most years. It is overhyped & the presenter is overrated.

Turbidy?

Like fúck he is, he is probably the most hated presenter on RTE.

Boggles wrote: »
    Turbidy?

Like fúck he is, he is probably the most hated presenter on RTE.

Really not last night, your hear those that don’t like him and RTÉ certainly overrate him!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Of the tweets, with videos which I watched, it seemed the kids were brought on to have a sob story and to bring a tear to your eye, this is typical of most RTÉ chat shows, as I said misery dressed up as entertainment.

Also I am not criticizing the children or any guests on such shows, TBH I think the children were excellent particularly considering most of them had been in RTÉ since 12pm that day.

I think one has to actually watch a TV show to get it all in context rather than base an opinion on tweets and clips.

I accept that makes me old fashioned but there you are.

I don't get the current fad for referring to any item on TV that is based on the sadder side of life as "misery".

As you say fair play to the kids, it's their gig anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,652 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Watched it with the grandkids. A bit too much of the sad stuff for my liking.
    Not much about the toy makers who maybe could have done with a bit of publicity which might have generated a bit of trade for them.

Overall the children enjoyed it but it was mainly aimed at enhancing Tubridy’s reputation imo.

Not much about the toy makers who maybe could have done with a bit of publicity

Chinese Children?