What kind of an idiot takes heroin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Im finding it hard to believe a gp would prescribe anything above tramadol without the oversight of a specialist. Opioid are strictly regulated in Ireland. Also benzodiazepines...since when would a go prescribe them in the first place?
    The initial prescription would come from a psychiatrist, after an assessment; no?

A lot of high strength opiates are prescribed by specialists say for example for someone needing pain relief while suffering with cancer ,, however GPs can continue the scripts and other GPs will prescribe pain relief

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,524 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Im finding it hard to believe a gp would prescribe anything above tramadol without the oversight of a specialist. Opioid are strictly regulated in Ireland. Also benzodiazepines...since when would a go prescribe them in the first place?
    The initial prescription would come from a psychiatrist, after an assessment; no?
    No, not at all. A GP is permitted to prescribe anti-anxiety medication such as Valium or Xanax as well as anti-depressants(SSRI'S).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

I've worked with addicts who became addicted to nurofen plus and solpedeine first before ending up addicted to heroin.

I take solpadeine once a month for my period....its not pleasant to take so its confusing how people become addicted...although i am allergic to morphine so codeine could have side affects on me.

Morphine gives me seizures and makes me sick for days i can't take it ( and drs WILL try and give it to you even after you say you are allergic 'Oh it can't be that bad a reaction you're over reacting ! ')...codeine makes me feel ill and unpleasantly dopey.

I take solpadeine once a month for my period....its not pleasant to take so its confusing how people become addicted...although i am allergic to morphine so codeine could have side affects on me.

Morphine gives me seizures and makes me sick for days i can't take it ( and drs WILL try and give it to you even after you say you are allergic 'Oh it can't be that bad a reaction you're over reacting ! ')...codeine makes me feel ill and unpleasantly dopey.

Once a month means your not abusing them.

well yeah ...but its hard to understand why you would ..they don't really give me a pleasant feeling emotionally or physically...they ease the cramp a bit its not honestly worth taking them unless the cramps are very bad though because they make me feel slightly ill...

They don't numb anything emotionally or have that kind of effect so hard to understand who would become an addict. Maybe someone with a chronic illness etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 686 ✭✭✭The Satanist

i didnt realise thete wete varying degrees of idiot.
    fools do drugs. losers do drugs. tossers with no respect for themselves do drugs.
    just my opinion mind.

Idiots get in car crashes, fools get cancer, morons have mental illness

Just my opinion, man

Idiots get in car crashes, fools get cancer, morons have mental illness

Just my opinion, man
    Fate makes fools of us all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

I'm hopped out of it on tylex right now. A mix of codeine and paracetamol I believe. 8 of them a day. I'm nicely fuzzy here. Some job for pain relief I must say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Sheridan81

well yeah ...but its hard to understand why you would ..they don't really give me a pleasant feeling emotionally or physically...they ease the cramp a bit its not honestly worth taking them unless the cramps are very bad though because they make me feel slightly ill...

They don't numb anything emotionally or have that kind of effect so hard to understand who would become an addict. Maybe someone with a chronic illness etc?

But that's you , you're just looking for pain relief, you're not looking to escape from anything emotionally or traumatic , well I hope not.
    Your awareness keeps you safe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Yeah I remember having to take a lot of codeine for a severe abscess and I got that floaty feeling where voices right next to me were far away and echoey. Didn't enjoy it tbh but maybe it depends where your head is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭Austria!

I notice a lot of people who are just a little short of money for the bus fare turn to heroin to cope with the grief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

Usually people who are young or vulnerable. I was offered a chance to try it once but had enough sense to say no, if it was a few years earlier when I had a less sense of myself who knows what could have happened.

In my experience ...familiarity breeds contempt.

People should remember having sympathy and compassion doesn't mean you have to invite addicts into your life.

pgj2015 wrote: »
    its supposed to feel great ..............the first time.

This video always stuck with me

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Prime example: the titular character of the Patrick Melrose books by Edward St Aubyn (made into an excellent TV series starring Benedict Cumberbatch). Apparently autobiographical. Super rich but appalling childhood abuse.
    I'm always seeing ads for it, must have a watch.

Someone linked an old thread on reddit before where a guy wanted to try it as an experiment and was going to document the whole experience. He knew the risks and definitely would not get addicted
    He did :( last i heard a few years later he was back out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

NIMAN wrote: »
    I can see where the op is coming from.

I appreciate that you'd need to be at a low ebb to not worry about descending into a drugs hell, but if anyone out there is thinking "I know what'll improve things now for the better, some heroin", then they aren't too clever.

It really is a case of if you don’t understand you are better off being grateful instead of pious.

There are numerous reasons why a person would turn to drugs or drink (which is just a legal accepted drug). I’m sober 7 years now , I don’t really see any difference between abusing drink and drugs, the major difference is I am fortunate to not be considered a criminal (like anybody addicted to anything legal) for my addiction. But society is still very ignorant, unsupporting and quite dismissive of something the majority of people really don’t understand as evidenced by some of the posts in this thread.

Last week a fellow member of AA walked out of his job and went straight The hospital cause he was having a bit of a breakdown. He couldn’t handle life and was going crazy. He ended up sitting in a psychiatric ward waiting room for hours and there was nobody who could help him that day. They booked him in for a therapy Session in over a weeks time. This guy has been sober for nearly a decade , has been working , paying bills and supporting his family and when he needs help the state leaves him stuck in a waiting room with a crazy person (known to the people at that clinic) who is going around threatening everybody. I met up with him later , we went to support group and I think he’s doing better now, seems to have a very supportive employer (he only joined few weeks ago so that’s impressive) who has agreed to meet him later this week to see if he can salvage his job. That’s what people in pain need, support , not condemnation.

When you effectively discard them (no support, on your own), put them down (it’s all about self control some thing) , make things worse (make them criminals) , give them worse drugs (methadone) and don’t make any real efforts to change your failing ways of treating addicts because it’s politicicly unpalatable, you can’t expect anything to improve. You isolate people who struggle by condemning them for having some sort of moral deficiency which is exactly how many people here appear to be interpreting addiction. It would be far better for everybody if the money put into arresting people and keeping drugs illegal was put into supporting people with addiction habits.

Many if not Most deaths related to illegal drugs are mistakes (drug strength isn’t regulated) or lost connection with family and society (that doesn’t understand and quite often writes them off and puts them down which makes suicide more appealing) or related to violence that’s mostly down to the drugs being illegal then anything else. Also we all know stories of people who comitted suicide but I’d argue that from what I’ve seen many people would of comitted suicide without the drugs/drink. I know many people who think it saves them during very dark times but not having the support made it harder to kick the habit. Our society couldn’t be setup any worse to encourage or force people to maintain their habit.

I’ve said it before, google Johnnn Hari and listen to his research on addiction.

It would have to be cancer level pain medication.

Anyway im told the feeling is not the same.

Heroine makes you feel intensely calm.

This is not true. You know what the opiate that has the most addicts in Ireland. It's the codeine in Solpadeine.

Doctors prescribe benzodiazepines all the time, valium, Xanax, librium

At least you can't die from a heroin withdrawal. You can from a benzo withdrawal. GPs prescribe these all the time. If benozos are been used for longer than a month, it means it's an off license.

The big issue is that benzos are treating a symptom rather curing the illness. CBT , mindfulness etc are more useful but that can seem like too much hassle for ordinary people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Topdolla

I know alot of older people 50s-60s that are in chronic pain, that use heroin as a painkiller and sedative, if weed was legal Im sure they would use that but they have easy access to the brown stuff and it works for them.

Not every heroin user is a scumbag junkie, it is just diamorphine after all.

Topdolla wrote: »
    I know alot of older people 50s-60s that are in chronic pain, that use heroin as a painkiller and sedative, if weed was legal Im sure they would use that but they have easy access to the brown stuff and it works for them.

In Switzerland I believe they have clinics where people can take their heroine, assisted by nurses and go off to do their job.

I’ve always thought how we treat people with mental health issues that lead to addictions is terrible. But only recently am I starting to learn even where the idea of “drugs are bad” came from. I’d say most people are like me before I read up on the war on drugs and don’t even know why illegal drugs are a thing. Worst still , most don’t realise the way we try to regulate them through prohibition is arguably the worst way possible to address the issue. What I accept now is I’ve only scratched the surface on this and really know so little, but more then most here.

Religion and an FBI agent named Harry Anslinger probably have more to do with the “drugs are bad” dogma then anything else. There is so much evidence out there that the way we deal with addicts is absolutely awful and yet people cling to a dogma (ban, criminals, degenerates) that’s akin to a racist person who doesn’t actually want to understand the real reason they have certain feelings towards a population.

What even sadder is that in different countries evidence isn’t enough and advocates of more progressive ways of treating addicts have to be sensitive about how they try to address the issues. Seems like it boils down to people just not being ready to have their misguided/wrong views on drugs and addicts challanged.

If you feel isolated and alone because you are gay, we now want to be a more progressive society and not make this a thing. If your relationship isn’t going as planned, we want you to be able to end that relationship. If you are in financial trouble we want our society to be kinder and more accommodating so that families and individuals can thrive and be productive members of society. But if you are struggling in life and have turned to any sort of addiction , your on your own, could end up losing everything and end in jail. Some people have said it “you are a degenerate”, that’s what you are in Ireland.

Think of it like two cancer patients, like addiction nobody chooses to have cancer. Some people can deal with the pain and mental anguish better then others but you wouldn’t say to any cancer patient “I know some lad in the same position as you and he’s grand so suck it up and pull yourself together “. If one cancer patient was getting no support , no medication and had been ostracised from their family, you would understand why they failed to recover or even have a half decent life. But people don’t grasp this is exactly what happens to addicts, they get isolated from everybody. Addiction is in the individual and people only see the damage that’s done as a result, not the journey or reasons for somebody ending up an addict or how the way we treat them condemns most to a life of misery and pain and addiction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭WrenBoy

I was put on Morphine in Hospital and thought to myself OOh Yaa , I can see how people get into this.. Every now and again I think I'd love to get another shot of it but I know I would never outside a hospital for fear of addiction, plus Im not great with needles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,282 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Drumpot wrote: »
    I don’t really see any difference between abusing drink and drugs, the major difference is I am fortunate to not be considered a criminal (like anybody addicted to anything legal) for my addiction. But society is still very ignorant, unsupporting and quite dismissive of something the majority of people really don’t understand as evidenced by some of the posts in this thread.

Ah here, your having a laugh. Heroin is a lot worse then alcohol and with Heroin the probability of it ruining your life is much higher. Maybe you wouldn't be so understanding if some junkie robbed your house or robbed your son/daughter. Some junkie's understood the risks before they took the drug and they took the risk anyway. Yes more tax money should be spent helping those trying to kick there addiction as it would save a lot of money in the long run but more tax money needs to be spent on many other things also.

Greyfox wrote: »
    Ah here, your having a laugh. Heroin is a lot worse then alcohol and with Heroin the probability of it ruining your life is much higher. Maybe you wouldn't be so understanding if some junkie robbed your house or robbed your son/daughter. Some junkie's understood the risks before they took the drug and they took the risk anyway. Yes more tax money should be spent helping those trying to kick there addiction as it would save a lot of money in the long run but more tax money needs to be spent on many other things also.

I was syringe attacked by a junkie when I worked in xtra vision but that’s besides the point. We have made every drug user a criminal, made it harder for them to come back to society and we have helped shape their values by how we respond to their pain.

What has knowing the risks before taking a drug got to do with anything? Are smokers and obese people who get into health difficulties denied support and written off because the decisions they made in life cause them health problems? Do you say to lung cancer patients , “well you knew the risks when you smoked all those years so it’s all your own fault”? Or maybe a heart attack person who is over weight, sure feck them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Drug use is generally associated with marginalised groups, poverty, emotional and mental health issues, trauma and abuse. So doesnt take a genius to decipher that theres clearly more to the reasons why people become involved with drugs than them being 'idiots'. Maybe they are experiencing emotional trauma that you havnt and couldnt even comprehend and drugs were seen as a way out and easing the pain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭Mango Joe

I’m told in a midlands IT I deal with tangentially the big new thing is smoking crack

I'd imagine that smoking crack would be a reflex action for anyone who found themselves to be in a Midlands IT?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,367 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

wakka12 wrote: »
    Drug use is generally associated with marginalised groups, poverty, emotional and mental health issues, trauma and abuse. So doesnt take a genius to decipher that theres clearly more to the reasons why people become involved with drugs than them being 'idiots'. Maybe they are experiencing emotional trauma that you havnt and couldnt even comprehend and drugs were seen as a way out and easing the pain?

Plenty of well-adjusted middle class people snorting cocaine up their hooter every weekend. they can't al be dealing with mental health issues, trauma or abuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Topdolla wrote: »

I only do it cos of my arthritis:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

wakka12 wrote: »
    Drug use is generally associated with marginalised groups, poverty, emotional and mental health issues, trauma and abuse. ?

Come on now, where did you get that from?

I can honestly say i would struggle to think of anyone i know (from my own generation) who hasn't taken drugs of some description - just for the craic!

Plenty of well-adjusted middle class people snorting cocaine up their hooter every weekend. they can't al be dealing with mental health issues, trauma or abuse.

Is using a drug bad if you wont become an addict ? Why is a a night out on the town morally ok but snorting cocaine is not ?

I wouldnt pretend to know what every person who takes drugs is going through, but some people are more susceptible to addiction then others. I know people who were drinking alcohol perfectly fine until something traumatic happened in their lives. A woman who was grand until her late 40s when her mother died. She worked in a nightclub, never had a problem having a drink and then wham . . She went down a spiral due to depression and now goes to regular AA meetings because she nearly ended her life.

Supposedly after the Vietnam war the americans army were concerned that there would be a heroin epidemic because the majority of their troops were using heroin while in war. But what happened was something like 90% gave it up as soon as their circumstances changed and they returned to a more settled environment. This would suggest that if 90% of people try heroin, only 10% are statistically likely to become addicted.

There is actually so much unbelievable information out there about drugs and about how we respond to people with addictions that would blow some of your minds. From personal experience and trying to educate myself on this topic, I feel like my whole life I believed the lies about addiction and addicts. I have personally come out things on the right side, but I think as a society we are very poor at addressing the issue in a progressive manner that would actually benefit everybody.