DCM 2019 Graduates: the rest of your life that happens after the marathon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭akenno

I'm planning on following the Hal Higdon Intermediate 10km plan to bring me up until 10km in early January. I'm hoping to improve on my PB of 47 mins.

As for bucket list race, don't have one. I just want to keep finding and doing new races to do in 2020

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭marathon19

singer wrote:
    Question of the week: What’s your bucket list race? Is there any race in the world that you'd particularly love to do before you hang up your running boots? Maybe it's the Boston Marathon, or the speedy Armagh 5k? What about the incredible London Marathon, cheesy DisneyWorld Marathon or challenging Comrades Marathon? Or maybe it's just to make it out to Rivervalley parkrun and tackle the famous hill twice!
    Is this the swords one? I am just around the corner :-)

Would like to run an Ultra, 100km maybe(never going to happen)
    singer wrote:
    Challenge of the week: Another non-running one - read a book about running. W

Downloaded Murakami's What I Talk About When I Talk About Running this morning and read a couple of pages on my break, enjoying it already[/QUOTE]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭kulekat

Bucket list run?? Well, the marathon has been ticked off, but id love to do some scenic half's around the world. 2020 will be the Connemarathon Half, and Run the Line 26km. I did the short RTL on sat, and absolutely loved it. The legs felt good, and got a bit of speed on the downhills.

Book? Ive just about time to read this boards thread at the moment, so please fill me in on your choices!

One q, im going to do the jingle bells 5k. Im aiming for a PB, 24min or quicker. Should i just stick with the grad plan or do anything extra/different? Thank you, :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Dealerz2.0

marathon19 wrote: »
    Is this the swords one? I am just around the corner :-)

Would like to run an Ultra, 100km maybe(never going to happen)

Downloaded Murakami's What I Talk About When I Talk About Running this morning and read a couple of pages on my break, enjoying it already
    [/quote]

You haven’t lived until you’ve ran that parkrun hill! (Twice!)

Dealerz2.0 wrote: »

You haven’t lived until you’ve ran that parkrun hill! (Twice!)

I will run my first adult parkrun Saturday coming, Rivervalley it is. Then maybe breakfast in look mam no hands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Lambay island

I have no real bucket list run. I wanted to do a marathon, specifically Dublin and happy I achieved that.
    As long as I stay injury free, I have a feeling i could be running races/marathons for years to come. If that proves to be the case, I think i'd like to try one of the so called fast marathons like Berlin, Rotterdam,Amsterdam etc at some stage.

In terms of books, I'm all ears as I have read no running related ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,487 ✭✭✭Charliebull

London for me, purely because I lived there and would love to run the city

Next year would like to beat my PB at 5k and HM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭jackc101

Singer wrote: »
    1. Do you have any goals over the next few months? What are they and why?

2. What would you like to get out of this thread?

Thanks for taking this on Singer! Sorry I'm late, the dog ate my homework or something... (Work actually blocked boards so the mobile site is taking some getting used to)

Goals would be enjoying the Clonakilty 10k with my three brothers at the end of November. Having the four of us together for the first time in years should be good fun, none of us are athletic but think of the bragging rights! For 2020, I want to do Cork Marathon and DCM (again!) I feel sub 4 is an achievable goal in one or other.

I'm here to learn. The novice thread was very educational and I suspect this might be even more so. Plus the crew on here were great to have around!

Worst run, nothing terrible, nearly exploded needing a toilet break on a very busy Greenway
    Book reading, does 11 pages of this thread count!?

Training wise I've been taking it very very cautiously, and I probably won't do too much before that 10K in Clon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭eabha19

DCM was my bucket list race and had planned to do it when I hit my next big birthday in six years but then got dragged in by friends for 2019. London would be amazing but not sure I'll ever actually manage that. I love the idea of traveling to races but probably will be more practical when the kids are older. As for books I'm a huge reader but rarely non-fiction and running type books seem to be designed for a different kind of runner than me. I did download a marathon book on a friend's recommendation in the summer - the author talked of his disastrous first marathon where he failed to train and went out too fast, walking half of the race and still got 3:45 as his finish time! Put me right off the book! I had hoped to tick off week 1 of the base plan last week but with a night working late and an overnight wedding on Friday night, I only got out four times and missed the long run. I did enjoy the progression run although I swapped strides for 1km intervals at the track. Still four runs was my norm pre-marathon so glad to be back running in some sort of routine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭coogy

Running related books have always been a bit hit and miss with me. I have made several failed attempts with Murakami over the last few years. Need to give it another go.....:o

One recommendation I have though is a book I read earlier this year called 'The Runner' by a guy called Markus Torgeby. It's about his experiences of heading off into a remote Swedish forest to live as a recluse for four years and dedicate himself to his passion for running. Might not be for everyone but I found it very inspiring so thought I'd share it here. Definitely worth checking out!

in relation to the base plan and the runs dedicated to each day, do we need to stick rigidly to workout allocated to a particular day or can they be moved about to suit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭kyomi

Just catching up on this thread now, thanks for taking it on Singer!

I haven't run since DCM as I'm taking a six-week break. I had an on-and-off pain in my foot during the DCM training period that I really want to just get rid of for good, so I'm being ultra-conservative. I really miss running though, and most of all I hate having to be careful about what I eat! I've signed up for the Jingle Bells 5K and that will be my big comeback (will probably have to jog it as I'll be so unfit by then!).

I plan to try and get back to running at least four days a week, hopefully five, after that. I really enjoyed the DCM training so I think I'll be able to get back into the swing of it. Ideally I'd like to work on my speed at shorter distances (5K to start, then maybe 10K). I haven't signed up for DCM next year.
    Question of the week: What’s your bucket list race?

Definitely the Tokyo Marathon. I lived in Tokyo for three years and it's one of my favourite places in the world. Unfortunately, I wasn't a runner when I lived there so there's a whole side of Japan that I've never experienced - as well as the marathon, there's the whole running culture, with ekidens and so on.
    Challenge of the week: Another non-running one - read a book about running. Well, maybe that's a bit too ambitious. How about get a book about running, and start it? Bonus points for writing a book report here :)

My favourite running author is probably Adharanand Finn - I love all three of his books (Running with the Kenyans, The Way of the Runner, and The Rise of the Ultrarunners). Each one really stoked my interest in the area of running that he was writing about. Similar to this would be Feet in the Clouds by Richard Askwith, a compelling account of fell-running and the crazy people who do it. One I really loved last year was The Perfect Mile by Neal Bascomb, about the quest for the four-minute mile and the personalities involved. Finally, for practical advice, Lore of Running by Tim Noakes was what got me through this year's DCM (along with the Novices thread and advice from my running pals and clubmates!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,694 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Question of the week: What’s your bucket list race?

I had a brief visit to Valencia a couple of years ago and planned to go back. They have their marathon in December and the course is meant to be flat and fast with about 22,000 runners so similar in size to DCM. And I think 2020 is their 40th anniversary. I might as well continue my tradition of doing 40th anniversary marathons. :pac:
    Challenge of the week: Another non-running one - read a book about running. Well, maybe that's a bit too ambitious. How about get a book about running, and start it? Bonus points for writing a book report here :)

I got good recommendations when I started a thread a couple of months ago or so. I downloaded a few to the kindle and started reading them simultaneously. However the one I kept coming back to was Running with the Buffaloes about the 1998 season of University of Colorado Cross Country team. Life got in the way and I haven't finished it yet (maybe about a third of the way through).

While these are elite level runners (well, relative to me anyway :pac:) the story is still relatable with the training, the expectations, the successes and failures with the added factor that their results (good or bad) could be life changing for these athletes. The way the book is written you get an intimate insight into all the varied personalities involved. You almost feel like a member of the team and are rooting for them to succeed.
    I must pick it back up and finish it off. Who needs sleep anyway? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,503 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

Mental busy week with life, work & running! Started my plan this week so here's hoping all goes well:) Did my very 1st session last night & i'm not gonna lie for the 1st 6 hard 1.30min runs i actually called SB every single name i could think of & then some more:eek: luckily i settled in & actually enjoyed the buzz of pushing myself! Didn't get it spot on but not bad for my 1st one :D
    Had another bloody encounter with a huge alsatian dog who stood across the road from me & scared the life out of me! I had to cross a bit further down because he was loose! I really really wish people would not let their dogs roam around loose:(

Bucket list race would definitely be the New York Marathon! I absolutely love NY so it would be amazing:)

I barely have time to sleep at the moment haha so reading a book at the moment probably won't happen but i'm keeping an eye on all the recommendations:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

This time one month ago, life probably felt quite different... Wednesday marks a month passing after the marathon, dunno about the rest of you but time seems to fly at this time of the year. Some super running book recommendations in the thread last week, I've got a few of them queued up to read over the next few weeks.

I think my own bucket list race is probably the London Marathon. I've watched it on the telly so many times, and been rejected from the ballot around the same number of times, so it's either "become a resident of the UK" or buy an entry. Anyway, back to regular scheduled content...

Challenge of the week: Do a run at a different time than you usually do.

We're all creatures of habit, and by now you'll have all worked out a routine of when to run. I've found that by just trying out a few things you can unlock more times, ways and places to run, which all can contribute to making your running a) fit into normal life by reducing disruption and b) more consistent in the process (the three secret tricks to running are consistency, consistency and consistency :) ). Some examples of varied running times up are running very early in the morning, running at lunchtime, run-commuting or even running late enough in the evening. Not every one will work for all of you, but the main thing is to try things out and see how it goes - you may be surprised at how good it feels to get in from a run before anybody else is awake, or how refreshing a lunchtime session feels in the middle of a work day. What could you try? Let us know how it goes!

Question of the week:

What’s the best running advice you’ve received? (obviously apart from all of my ramblings on this thread :pac:) Who did it come from and why was it the best advice for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Treviso

Challenge of the week - I wish I did have the flexibility to run at different times during the week but work & school runs limit the running window for me. At the weekend, I've run at different times but never in the evenings - it doesn't particular appeal to me running a 10 mile plus run after 7pm (kudos to all of you that do this!!).

Difficult to pinpoint the best single running advice that I received. Most important I guess from my OH was to listen to your body in terms of injuries/fatigue. Need to be extremely careful about persistent injuries and when to give our legs a rest. Of course we've all experienced niggling injuries that come and go, and levels of tiredness from increased mileage. So the toughest thing is to know which is which, but we should know our bodies better than anyone else

All my runs are first thing in the morning, due to busy schedule I suppose, I am out the door at anything between 5-30 am or 7 am, the earlier time if I have to be back to let OH get to work or the later at weekends, I love the early morning quiet and having my run done before work, I don’t even bother with head torch anymore

Best advice I got was from OH who told me to go to physio about my knee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Sunday Runner

Hi everyone,

It's time! Time to rejoin the running experts and time to get back on the horse. I'm doing the Clonakilty half this weekend - driving myself around the bend on whether I should do it (awful slow) or drop back to 10km. I'm sure i'll get through it.

Feet are still a bit fragile from DCM.

NYC is definitely one for the bucket list! I'll have to have a think about some book recommendations.

And the only running advice I have ever received, has come from the 2019 mentors. Can I say all of it?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭eabha19

Challenge of the week:

I mix up my runs quite a lot anyway depending on what's going on in my week. On work days I have done lunch runs, early runs and late evening runs whereas days off it's great to do post-school drop runs. Only time I haven't done is between midnight and 6 a.m. - not planning on doing that for a while!! I live about 23kms from work so I haven't gotten big into the run mute. I did run home a couple of times but I hated it - it's fairly hilly or draggy anyway and the bag, even with the proper cross chest straps etc., gave me burns on my shoulders.

Question of the week:What’s the best running advice you’ve received?

Definitely the DCM mentors advice was brilliant especially how prepared I felt at the start line knowing I'd followed the plan to a tee and had a race strategy for the race.

As for my boards plan at the moment, I've kind of given up with trying to manage 5 runs a week at the moment and settled back into my pre-DCM training of 4 days a week. I'm hoping I'll have more motivation after Christmas but right now it's enough for me. I did do 16.7 kms on Saturday which was my longest run since DCM - would like to keep 20k in the legs by doing at least one 20k a month. This Saturday there's talk of going for a run in the mountains - I've never really done proper hill running but did a trail run in the hills in upstate New York at Easter and I absolutely loved it. Having said that I had to walk loads - climbing hills, creeping down hills whilst people whizzed by me bouncing off trees!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,503 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

I changed one of my runs this week to a very early run! It was dark & wet but i actually quite enjoyed it & loved that i had it done so early :) With a result i ran the next 2 days very early also!

Like others have said it's very hard to pinpoint one piece of advice in particular! I have received so much brilliant advice through the mentors thread for the marathon for which i am very grateful for :) I think what sticks out for me is SB advising me around my racing! I literally thought sure you just turn up & run...what's hard about that? He seen me at the end of the FD 10mile & i sprinted the finishing straight, now although i felt good about it he said if i had emptied out properly I wouldn't have really been able to do that and it would have been more beneficial to use that energy evenly in the race! Basically i need a strategy going into a race not just winging it! He helped me come up with one for my half marathon & although it worked for most of it through no fault of SB, i just got very cautious & was afraid to empty out incase i really struggled to the finish, looking back thats my biggest regret! But roll on the marathon & again we came up with a strategy & it worked, all his advice paid off :D
    Going forward i am looking forward to having a bit more experience going into each race :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Lambay island

I changed one of my runs this week to a very early run! It was dark & wet but i actually quite enjoyed it & loved that i had it done so early :) With a result i ran the next 2 days very early also!

Great stuff, another converter to early runs.

The only times I havn't run at are between 22:00-05:00 and that's something that wont change for the moment anyway. One of my long runs, think it was a 21 miler in marathon training actually started at 04.59 according to Strava :eek:. I Loved it and was back to give breakfasts to the kids. I have never done double figures in the evening but may attempt that one at some stage. I'm currently keeping the miles ticking over from runmuting and adding a couple of intensity runs aside of that to keep the speed fresh for Jingle bells.

Question of the week:

What’s the best running advice you’ve received? (obviously apart from all of my ramblings on this thread pacman.gif) Who did it come from and why was it the best advice for you?

Simply came from novice thread, where I was running too fast back in July. A number of people pointed it out to me before the penny dropped.

I got that advice a couple of weeks ago as well, its only when I implemented it and slowed down I realised how stupid I was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭py

As things would have it I've had to do my midweek runs in the evening this week. Much prefer the mornings, hoping things at home get back to normal next week so I can resume my much more peaceful excursions. I don't mind doing lunch runs when in work though I can't get much done due to time limitations.
    Question of the week:

What’s the best running advice you’ve received? (obviously apart from all of my ramblings on this thread :pac:) Who did it come from and why was it the best advice for you?

Like others, the Novice thread was a great intro to running (in general and training) for me. I still regularly rely on the knowledge that I picked up from it.

Been a while since I updated, homework first

Did a run while the pup was in one of her classes, dropped her off, went of for 4 mile and back in time to taxi her home, two birds with one stone and all

Question of the week:

Like most of the replies I reckon run slow is the best best piece of running advice I've ever received.

The last 10 days I have gradually got back into it, last week I did a couple of short 3 and 4 miles with no watch, just forgot to charge it. Strangely it didnt bother me to have no data.

Best thing I did was the Rivervalley Parkrun last saturday morning,my first Parkrun. The guys up there are fantastic, very welcoming. The course is tough, downhills a bit sketchy with leaves and uphills of a severe nature, felt amazing finishing, what a workout. Will make this a regular thing I think
    26 minutes first time out, reckon this is a 24 on a normal course.

Slipped another 20 miles in this week.

Im not going to do much till the new year, maybe 20 miles a week with the odd sprint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,149 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

Best of luck to any graduates running Jingle Bells at the weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭passinginterest

Mr. Guappa wrote: »
    Best of luck to any graduates running Jingle Bells at the weekend!

May well need it the way things are going. Office Christmas do this afternoon so it’ll be red wine for it’s beneficial properties!!

Still not really back in to a routine, last few weeks have been 14, 14, 9 miles, hopefully go over 20 this week. Haven’t done a long run at all yet, just a couple of the gentler sessions on the base plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭py

I think we've all bought in to the "process" at this stage but this is a good video regardless. Definitely something to show to the 2020 novices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

py wrote: »
    I think we've all bought in to the "process" at this stage but this is a good video regardless. Definitely something to show to the 2020 novices.

Seiler's research is very much the basis of Matt Fitzgerald's "80/20" training method, which I've used to good effect.

Fractured a couple ribs last week so enforced rest at the moment , anyone done ribs before and If so how long did they rest for

Just thought I would drop in to wish you all a happy and injury free new year. Will forget come Wednesday.

I've done feck all since last time I posted, maybe 20 mile. The Malahide parkrun on Christmas day was great crack, about 400 turned up so the atmosphere was fantastic, well done the organisers. Will do the River Valley one new year's Day to start 2020