Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fire in Douglas - See Mod note in post #506

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,655 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

kub wrote: »
    Don't ask me, I suppose the road was built on a normal surface car park that was owned by the shopping centre.

It is amazing how freely the traffic is moving now in the village with it closed.
    Dare I hope that the City Council might apply some restrictions to the road when it re opens.
    Traffic down Maryborough Hill and on the N40 westbound at the Douglas Flyover has worsened though. At the minute it's not too bad though on the flyover save for some quite aggressive merging by N28 traffic.

There would be far less issues along there if some of the N28 cars could learn the art of patience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

Don't ask me, I suppose the road was built on a normal surface car park that was owned by the shopping centre.

It is amazing how freely the traffic is moving now in the village with it closed.
    Dare I hope that the City Council might apply some restrictions to the road when it re opens.

Umm... surely it's not the road's closure that's freeing up the traffic, rather the entire centre itself? If that road re-opened but the shopping centre didn't, I imagine the traffic would improve even further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭airy fairy

Umm... surely it's not the road's closure that's freeing up the traffic, rather the entire centre itself? If that road re-opened but the shopping centre didn't, I imagine the traffic would improve even further.

But the traffic was there before shops opened so traffic in and out was minimum.
    I think it's the lack of lights stopping cars at both sides is a contributing factor to more free flowing traffic. Perhaps roundabouts should be considered if it ever were to open again, or maybe a one way system.
    I've a feeling that road was never taken charge by the co co like many estates in the area. So I wonder would CLove be entitled to just close the road and maybe build on it now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,862 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

dulpit wrote: »
    Just because you think you're a good driver doesn't necessarily mean you are. Similarly, just because you don't have points/etc it still doesn't mean you have top skills.

In a sense, it's a bit weird that you can drive a car with 1 test that you might take at 17/18 years of age, and then you're never tested again.

I never said I was a good driver, but I’ve a clean driving record which means I’m not a bad driver. Feel free to have bad drivers redo their tests, but when someone is a consistent safe driver over a long period of time your only going to retest people who don’t need it and clog up a system that can’t cope as it is.

You can apply your same bullsht theory to any professional, a doctor becomes a doctor after one test, why not retest them? Or a Garda, or a pilot, or a teacher. Why not make driving instructors Retake their tests as well. Did you even think about what you said?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,459 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I never said I was a good driver, but I’ve a clean driving record which means I’m not a bad driver. Feel free to have bad drivers redo their tests, but when someone is a consistent safe driver over a long period of time your only going to retest people who don’t need it and clog up a system that can’t cope as it is.

You can apply your same bullsht theory to any professional, a doctor becomes a doctor after one test, why not retest them? Or a Garda, or a pilot, or a teacher. Why not make driving instructors Retake their tests as well. Did you even think about what you said?

Touched a nerve did I? Don't most professions have CPD anyway?

dulpit wrote: »
    Touched a nerve did I? Don't most professions have CPD anyway?

Some do, but that’s not what your advocating in your nonsense argument, your just trying to move the goalposts now because you realize how dumb an idea it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

Not sure I'd agree there, Church St. is usually totally blocked up in the evenings whenever I go there now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,710 ✭✭✭Acosta

No they shouldn’t.
    I’ve driven for over twenty years and never had an accident, never a penalty point, never stopped but the guards and always passed my NCT first time. I keep a safe car on the road and drive safely. Never driven a car after any alcohol regardless what the limit ever was, so no I don’t need to be tested again thanks.

Feel free to advocate for people who get a certain amount of penalty points to have a retest, or people who are caught speeding, breaking the rules etc etc, but there are plenty of safe drivers out there.

In 15 years of driving I've also never had an accident, points, been pulled by the guards or failed an NCT, but so what? That doesn't mean you can't pick up bad habits. Most of the bad driving I see on a daily basis isn't something that's going to get you pulled over, it's bad driving practice. Drivers not looking in mirrors or being aware of what's happening around them, which is probably what causes most of the crashes on the road we are currently discussing on this thread. Or other things like not indicating or not indicating properly, not progressing fast enough onto major roads from minor roads causing other drivers to slam on brakes etc etc.

I'm not suggesting everyone re-take the test, I never said that. That should be reserved for drivers who have caused bad accidents. It's an assessment which you should have no problem getting through if you're a decent driver.

Acosta wrote: »
    In 15 years of driving I've also never had an accident, points, been pulled by the guards or failed an NCT, but so what? That doesn't mean you can't pick up bad habits. Most of the bad driving I see on a daily basis isn't something that's going to get you pulled over, it's bad driving practice. Drivers not looking in mirrors or being aware of what's happening around them, which is probably what causes most of the crashes on the road we are currently discussing on this thread. Or other things like not indicating or not indicating properly, not progressing fast enough onto major roads from minor roads causing other drivers to slam on brakes etc etc.

I'm not suggesting everyone re-take the test, I never said that. That should be reserved for drivers who have caused bad accidents. It's an assessment which you should have no problem getting through if you're a decent driver.

Everyone retaking the test is exactly what you advocated in your original post.

Acosta wrote: »
    After driving for 20 years everyone should have to do a assessment and following that do the same everytime you need your licence renewed. I have to do it at work every 5 years and it's a good thing. Helps get rid of bad habbits. The RSA should look at something like that if only they could drag themselves away from blaming all the problems on the road on young people. There's way too much cars on the road and far too many awful drivers.

Right there... you’ve also lost 5 years of driving in the last couple of hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,791 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Never driven a car after any alcohol regardless what the limit ever was,.

The only way that that statement could be true is if you never drink alcohol or you never drive.

Time is always a factor - as in how long you leave after drinking alcohol before driving be that 8 hours, 12, 24, whatever.
    How long would you leave after consuming, say, 8 standard drinks (4 pints of lager/stout) before driving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,618 ✭✭✭grogi

That's the clue of the issue - you feel good about yourself, you don't have desire to enhance your skills etc.

Regarding retesting drivers, surely, the way to go would be to ask drivers if they are good, safe drivers. Then only retest the ones who answer in the negative:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭hans aus dtschl

We're way off topic here, but I don't see why we aren't put through a simulator test every few years at least. The full test might be overkill and be bad for waiting times but surely a simulator test would be good. And if you failed it, you then re-do the main test.

Some people I know - particularly as they get to their senior years - are appalling drivers now, but weren't before. Some have never been tested on motorways or roundabouts. I can't think of a good reason not to WANT continuous re-testing. Whatever about not having the resources to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,710 ✭✭✭Acosta

Right there... you’ve also lost 5 years of driving in the last couple of hours.

?

The only way that that statement could be true is if you never drink alcohol or you never drive.

Time is always a factor - as in how long you leave after drinking alcohol before driving be that 8 hours, 12, 24, whatever.
    How long would you leave after consuming, say, 8 standard drinks (4 pints of lager/stout) before driving?

No it’s not, and you went on to explain to yourself why.

We're way off topic here, but I don't see why we aren't put through a simulator test every few years at least. The full test might be overkill and be bad for waiting times but surely a simulator test would be good. And if you failed it, you then re-do the main test.

Some people I know - particularly as they get to their senior years - are appalling drivers now, but weren't before. Some have never been tested on motorways or roundabouts. I can't think of a good reason not to WANT continuous re-testing. Whatever about not having the resources to do it.

Did you even think this through before you posted it?

If I have to sit in a simulator and pass or fail then that means I’m either good or bad at computer games. Your advocating retesting perfectly good drivers and putting more pressure on a overloaded system as it is. Great idea Einstein.

Your logic was flawed, but you're not logical enough to see it.

If I have to sit in a simulator and pass or fail then that means I’m either good or bad at computer games. Your advocating retesting perfectly good drivers and putting more pressure on a overloaded system as it is. Great idea Einstein.

Not only lack of logic, but lack of common sense too? Do you even know what how a simulator like that might look like?

Yes it is, and no I didn't.
    However, I don't think I'' be able to make you understand this.

I will ask this question again, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭Gru

Changing behaviour through penalty is probably the only way to effect change. Having people re-sit the test wont do much.

People always rubber neck, be it roadworks, road traffic collisions, emergency services etc. Penalising them by having gardaí around is the best way. No one would stick around gawping if the gards were handing out fines and penalty points.

In the case of Douglas I sincerely hope the council or someone else can build the screen to stop people gawping at the shopping centre and village. Nothing else will work.

Gru wrote: »
    In the case of Douglas I sincerely hope the council or someone else can build the screen to stop people gawping at the shopping centre and village. Nothing else will work.

Agree, nearly crashed on Saturday when somebody braked to take a look at the place, and went past Sunday too and it was noticeably slower at that section...

Yes it is, and no I didn't.
    However, I don't think I'' be able to make you understand this.

I will ask this question again, though.

20 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭TTTT

Gru wrote: »
    Changing behaviour through penalty is probably the only way to effect change. Having people re-sit the test wont do much.

People always rubber neck, be it roadworks, road traffic collisions, emergency services etc. Penalising them by having gardaí around is the best way. No one would stick around gawping if the gards were handing out fines and penalty points.

https://twitter.com/BR24/status/1130874291472478208?s=09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭Gru

Douglas post office is now planned to open in Douglas court in the new year. Great to see its finally moving to a local location but presumably it wont migrate back if/when Douglas village opens again.

495588.jpg

Lol that's hilarious. What era are you from?

The Bronze Age.

Sure sounds like it.

A good thing they don't train pilots in simulators...otherwise all they'd be good at is computer games, right?

TTTT wrote: »

Unfortunately shocking people won't help in the grand scheme of things: you can't shock them fast enough, idiots are born faster...

The solution is and always was to erect temporary barriers - gives the respect to the victims and a reduces dangers for the drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,253 ✭✭✭beer enigma

grogi wrote: »
    Unfortunately shocking people won't help in the grand scheme of things: you can't shock them fast enough, idiots are born faster...

The solution is and always was to erect temporary barriers - gives the respect to the victims and a reduces dangers for the drivers.

Hurrah an actual post mentioning the thread topic, id began to think this was a driving forum.

I think even a screen will attract attention in itself. I remember years and years ago after they re opened the motorway following the Kegworth air crash, people slowing just to look at the embankment where it happened and they placed a police unit that pulled drivers. After a week or so of high profile policing the motorway went back to normal. Not saying that's the answer here but I presume the demolition will take a fair while

Hurrah an actual post mentioning the thread topic, id began to think this was a driving forum.

I think even a screen will attract attention in itself. I remember years and years ago after they re opened the motorway following the Kegworth air crash, people slowing just to look at the embankment where it happened and they placed a police unit that pulled drivers. After a week or so of high profile policing the motorway went back to normal. Not saying that's the answer here but I presume the demolition will take a fair while

Where could you place the gardai though to safely ensure traffic flows?