Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Christmas Beers ....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭MrKingsley

Ah here that is scandalous. is this for oscars?

I understand it for food but its not like theyll be putting on extra staff for 15/20 people max. Plus at that time of year theyll have no bother packing the place out anyway

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,047 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Friday 20th December
    quickbeam wrote: »
    So, erm, find somewhere that doesn't need a deposit? Or set up a paypal thingy and everyone going throws in a tenner or something?

Panto is cheaper. Just sayin :pac:

Party bus :P

I could ask a few guys I know working/managing bars in town if you guys like?

Is there anywhere that is a definite no-no?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

Saturday 21st December
    MrKingsley wrote: »
    I could ask a few guys I know working/managing bars in town if you guys like?

Is there anywhere that is a definite no-no?

No. Our requirements basically are:

Central so everyone from all parts of the city can get there
    Somewhere to sit in comfort
    Not too loud so we can hear ourselves, ie, no loud music blaring or anything
    Table for playing games

• Registered Users Posts: 12,216 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Friday 20th December
    No. Our requirements basically are:

Central so everyone from all parts of the city can get there
    Somewhere to sit in comfort
    Not too loud so we can hear ourselves, ie, no loud music blaring or anything
    Table for playing games

Needs to have beer.

Fcuk Putin. Glory to Ukraine!

Needs to have beer.

I would potentially prioritize this ahead of the other aspects.

Ill ask around the lads I know anyway and get back to yous tomorrow evening hopefully. Friday at the latest.

Would 15 be a decent estimate or should I say 10-12?

Saturday 21st December
    I had assumed beer was a given. :) It's in the thread title.

10-12 is probably what we're looking at, I reckon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

This happening tonight or tomorrow?

so I’ve asked 2 places and the big issue is that they will all definitely have live music on the 14th.

And they said that they can’t guarantee that we’d have a spot where we aren’t having our ears blown off.

Friday 20th December
    The Bull and Castle have big tables that you can book. Its years since I was last there mind and I can't recall how busy it gets, probably very.

Friday 20th December
    Any update on this?

• Registered Users Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Friday 20th December
    We could just get a few slabs of cans & take over a few benches in Stephen's Green

Sorry guys. I’ve had two places say they have tables but there will be live music as it’s a Saturday and they can’t turn off the speakers for certain areas

Friday 20th December
    I wonder should we consider a different date? How did last years work out?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭Ectoplasm

Friday 6th December
    What about the week after Christmas? Might suit as loads of people have plans in run up to Christmas but not much after?

Doubt pubs are asking for deposits then.

Friday 20th December
    Well, how about a sit down dinner instead?

Werewolves go formal?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,047 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Friday 20th December
    Ectoplasm wrote: »
    What about the week after Christmas? Might suit as loads of people have plans in run up to Christmas but not much after?

Doubt pubs are asking for deposits then.

You mean New Years? :pac::pac:

Friday 20th December
    Necro wrote:
    You mean New Years?

Werewolves go New Ears

Friday 20th December
    I don't think I'd be able to make the week after Christmas :(

Friday 20th December
    What about The Black Sheep ?

Friday 20th December
    What about coming to my panto and we all get langered in Sligo afterwards :P

• Registered Users Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭Whiplashy

Necro wrote: »
    What about coming to my panto and we all get langered in Sligo afterwards :P

I’m not going but I think the plan should be to go to Necros panto and get langered during it :D Then have one soberish person to keep a running commentary going on here for those of us at home :D

Saturday 21st December
    Black Sheep was the first place we ever met. it's busy and loud. Nice as nice as either Smiths or Oscars IMO.

Friday 20th December
    Black Sheep was the first place we ever met. it's busy and loud. Nice as nice as either Smiths or Oscars IMO.

Black sheep also has Jenga.

Jenga + Beer = shenanigans

Friday 20th December
    They also have Mouse Trap

Whiplashy wrote: »
    I’m not going but I think the plan should be to go to Necros panto and get langered during it :D Then have one soberish person to keep a running commentary going on here for those of us at home :D

And also provide gifs no?

Friday 20th December
    If anyone is interested in seeing my panto feel free to PM me and I'll sort tickets.

You can jump on the train from Connolly and be in my town in 2.5 hrs :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭Whiplashy

MrKingsley wrote: »
    And also provide gifs no?

Of course :D

Friday 20th December
    Necro wrote: »
    If anyone is interested in seeing my panto feel free to PM me and I'll sort tickets.

You can jump on the train from Connolly and be in my town in 2.5 hrs :D

I'm a good 2.5 hours from Connolly.

Can it be live streamed.