Is Florence a boys name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Technically, it can be a male name - this is one such cases of "translation malfunction" when a Latin name gets rendered in English; The originals were Florentius for boys and Florentia for girls. Both names survive in modern Italian as "Fiorenzo" and "Fiorenza", although they are quite uncommon as given names - over the centuries they became more common as family names.

Upon translation only one form remained in English, "Florence". It's the same and opposite, for example, to what happened to the name "Andrea", widely considered feminine in English speaking countries, while it is exclusively masculine elsewhere - the original feminine form, "Andreina", lost in translation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I know two Romanian brothers who are both called Florin, but they go by their middle name. Their father is called Florin, super confusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,707 ✭✭✭batistuta9

And Italy where it’s the name of a city and so appears in the address of everyone who lives there but mostly it’s a girls name and in Ireland is not common and not widely recognised as a male name.

It's not named Florence in Italy though, they call it Firenze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

"Flor" is often used as a first name in Cork (Flor Crowley, a politician, I think) and no-one would dream of slagging a guy for having the name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,550 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Florence is the name of a city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭rECTAL fLAKE

I heard of a bird called Florence once...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,652 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Yeah, that's it. Being named Florence made him gay! ;)

Nominative determinism in action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

tajd wrote: »
    In all serious my friend who’s gay has a boyfriend and he introduced me to him last night and I can’t stop laughing his name is Florence, surely there taking the piss. I had go hold it together till I got home when I told my nana she nearly choked on her Burger King lol
    I'm more shocked that a grown man would call his Bugerking eating grandmother Nana!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,637 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Florence is the name of a city.

It's the name of quite a few people, both male and female, as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

In all serious my friend who’s gay has a boyfriend and he introduced me to him last night and I can’t stop laughing his name is Florence, surely there taking the piss. I had go hold it together till I got home when I told my nana she nearly choked on her Burger King lol
    I used to know a kid called Florence when I was a young boy, he was routinely made fun of for having a "gay name" and I'm ashamed to say that I was also a party in that teasing. Unfortunately it was considered acceptable at the time. I never thought I would ever encounter an actual "Gay Florence," though, even secondhand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

Marion Morrison says "you got a problem with my name pilgrim?"

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,708 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Ye insulted your friend (I'm sure he knew you were laughing) and ye ruined your nanas meal

Not cool tajd, not cool at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

It is common enough in West Cork.
    I also know a few lads called Majella.
    I dont know what the parents were thinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,210 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Easily amused

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,647 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

never heard of Florence of Arabia, OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,372 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Or Lawrence Nightingale?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Dunno but I like it. I think its a nice unisex name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,976 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Florence O'Donoghue was an IRA intelligence officer in the War of Independence and later became a well respected historian and author.

That’s interesting because a guy I was pals with for the first couple of years in college had Florence as his middle name and his surname was O’Donoghue. I remember he was a bit embarrassed about it.

Maybe he was related to this guy?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Yes , grew up with a few in Cork . Had great craic when we had a sub teacher who didn’t believe a class mate was called Florrie. She then asked him what it was in longer form and when he told her , she threw him out of class and sent him to the principal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,637 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Yes , grew up with a few in Cork . Had great craic when we had a sub teacher who didn’t believe a class mate was called Florrie. She then asked him what it was in longer form and when he told her , she threw him out of class and sent him to the principal.
    Jaysus, she'd be up in the High Court if she tried that these days :eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

What was that about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,452 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

I know of a couple of Florries, definitely a male name here.

🙈🙉🙊

Oh I knew of a Florrie too now that you mention it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭nkl12xtw5goz70

Oh I knew of a Florrie too now that you mention it

In Ireland, Florry, Florrie, Flurry, and other variants are often anglicized versions of the Irish name Flaithrí. In other words, they're often not short for Florence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Her name was Florence but they called her Flora because she spread easily

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

jimgoose wrote: »
    What was that about?

She thought he was being a smart ass pretending to have a “ girls’ name .”

Poor Nanas wasted Burger King. :(

It's definitely one I wasn't aware of and I wouldn't be in a hurry to name a little chap Florence. I know a Russian called Sasha (I think that's the boy spelling, and the girl version is Sacha), Lesley/Leslie is another that feels too feminine for a man, I know of a male Tracey (girl version Tracy) and I completely understand why he's known as Trace, and I've met a Yasmin (girl version Yasmine). I can't say I like any of them, they all seen a bit dated.

Beverly/Beverley is another one I think is a burden to a man. You'd have to really dislike your little boy to call him Beverley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭Speedsie
    ¡arriba, arriba! ¡andale, andale!

Evelyn is another oddity as a unisex name.