Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Florence a boys name?

• 30-10-2019 8:57am

In all serious my friend who’s gay has a boyfriend and he introduced me to him last night and I can’t stop laughing his name is Florence, surely there taking the piss. I had go hold it together till I got home when I told my nana she nearly choked on her Burger King lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭farmchoice

tajd wrote: »
    In all serious my friend who’s gay has a boyfriend and he introduced me to him last night and I can’t stop laughing his name is Florence, surely there taking the piss. I had go hold it together till I got home when I told my nana she nearly choked on her Burger King lol
    remember the TV show The Irish RM,there was a male character in that called Florrie, maybe that was an abbreviation of Florence. it was great fun the Irish RM,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,403 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

I had a male school teacher called Flor, it's not that unusual.
    Flor Griffin electrical shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,729 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Not even uncommon in older generations. Never met anyone called Flor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,945 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

+1 for the Irish RM. great show. OP check it out it still holds up well production and plot wise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭coleen

farmchoice wrote: »
    remember the TV show The Irish RM,there was a male character in that called Florrie, maybe that was an abbreviation of Florence. it was great fun the Irish RM,
    I also know a few male Florence’s some abbreviated to Flor or Florrie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,026 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Florence is a girls name around the world.

Florent or Florenz was sometimes used for boys, years ago, and often abbreviated to Florrie or Flor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

I once knew a boy named Sue. As mean as a rattlesnake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Florence is an old traditional name of the head of the McCarthy clan. Not in use too much today but certainly a male name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

Florence O'Donoghue was an IRA intelligence officer in the War of Independence and later became a well respected historian and author.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

Florence O'Donoghue was an IRA intelligence officer in the War of Independence and later became a well respected historian and author.

I have the book "No Other Law", telling the story of General Liam Lynch, by Florence O'Donoghue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

It's a female name but And The Machine is a boy's surname.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,313 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Mostly a girl's name, as far as I know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭Melodeon

farmchoice wrote: »

That was Flurry Knox, as played by the great Bryan Murray.
    His full name was apparently Mr Florence McCarthy (Flurry) Knox.

Wikipedia item on the name 'Florence':
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Florence_(given_name)

Most commonly it's a female name nowadays, but was occasionally used as a male name, "particularly in Ireland where it was used as an anglicisation of Irish Finnian or Flaithrí."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭farmchoice

Melodeon wrote: »
    That was Flurry Knox, as played by the great Bryan Murray.
    His full name was apparently Mr Florence McCarthy (Flurry) Knox.

Wikipedia item on the name 'Florence':
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Florence_(given_name)

Most commonly it's a female name nowadays, but was occasionally used as a male name, "particularly in Ireland where it was used as an anglicisation of Irish Finnian or Flaithrí."
    remember the house keeper, she was always referred to as, ( what sounded to my ears like) Mrs. Kay-de-gone.

i could never figure out why they would chose such a strange surname for what was supposed to be a local Irish woman. it was years before i figured out it was the way the english were pronouncing ''cadogan''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I never heard it used for a boys name. But at this stage, it seems anything goes. I have a male friend who's name is Jasmin. He has nothing but issues when dealing anything official, as more often than not think they think they are correcting his error and register him as female :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Very mature of you OP.

Do you laugh at your farts?

Florence is indeed a male name and is used widely in the likes of Germany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

As a boys name it's as gay as Mardi Gras, so quite possibly suits this bloke:D

It's even horrible as a girls name, would be a nice name for a town in Italy though.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,708 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

There's a long-standing solicitors practice in Loughrea, Co Galway, FG MacCarthy. The founder/ owner is called Florence. He isn't young, so yes, the name is a long time around as a man's name.

It's pretty interesting how names just sound like a boy's name or a girl's.

Guess which of these Vietnamese names are usually male:

Bach
    Kien
    Phuong Anh
    Vy
    Cuong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Did you know....Flo Rida's first name is not Florence. Its Tramar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,437 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Florence is the name of the a city in Italy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Similarly is Valentine a boys name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,026 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

ToddyDoody wrote: »

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,029 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

As is Hilary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭Idle Passerby

Florence only became popular as a Christian name after Florence Nightingale became famous during the Crimean War. She was called after the city where she was concieved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

It is. "Valeri" is also a boy's name in Russia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Joseph Mary Plunkett was another one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,806 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

In Germany, Florian is more popular that Florence for a male, like Florian Schneider from Kraftwerk. I also deal with a few German Florians in work.
    As a boys name it's as gay as Mardi Gras, so quite possibly suits this bloke:D
    Yeah, that's it. Being named Florence made him gay! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Very mature of you OP.

Do you laugh at your farts?

And Italy where it’s the name of a city and so appears in the address of everyone who lives there but mostly it’s a girls name and in Ireland is not common and not widely recognised as a male name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Technically, it can be a male name - this is one such cases of "translation malfunction" when a Latin name gets rendered in English; The originals were Florentius for boys and Florentia for girls. Both names survive in modern Italian as "Fiorenzo" and "Fiorenza", although they are quite uncommon as given names - over the centuries they became more common as family names.

Upon translation only one form remained in English, "Florence". It's the same and opposite, for example, to what happened to the name "Andrea", widely considered feminine in English speaking countries, while it is exclusively masculine elsewhere - the original feminine form, "Andreina", lost in translation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I know two Romanian brothers who are both called Florin, but they go by their middle name. Their father is called Florin, super confusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,365 ✭✭✭batistuta9

And Italy where it’s the name of a city and so appears in the address of everyone who lives there but mostly it’s a girls name and in Ireland is not common and not widely recognised as a male name.

It's not named Florence in Italy though, they call it Firenze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

"Flor" is often used as a first name in Cork (Flor Crowley, a politician, I think) and no-one would dream of slagging a guy for having the name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,532 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Florence is the name of a city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭rECTAL fLAKE

I heard of a bird called Florence once...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Yeah, that's it. Being named Florence made him gay! ;)

Nominative determinism in action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

I'm more shocked that a grown man would call his Bugerking eating grandmother Nana!

Florence is the name of a city.

It's the name of quite a few people, both male and female, as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

I used to know a kid called Florence when I was a young boy, he was routinely made fun of for having a "gay name" and I'm ashamed to say that I was also a party in that teasing. Unfortunately it was considered acceptable at the time. I never thought I would ever encounter an actual "Gay Florence," though, even secondhand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

Marion Morrison says "you got a problem with my name pilgrim?"

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,380 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Ye insulted your friend (I'm sure he knew you were laughing) and ye ruined your nanas meal

Not cool tajd, not cool at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

It is common enough in West Cork.
    I also know a few lads called Majella.
    I dont know what the parents were thinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,557 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Easily amused

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,410 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

never heard of Florence of Arabia, OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,313 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Or Lawrence Nightingale?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Dunno but I like it. I think its a nice unisex name

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

That’s interesting because a guy I was pals with for the first couple of years in college had Florence as his middle name and his surname was O’Donoghue. I remember he was a bit embarrassed about it.

Maybe he was related to this guy?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Yes , grew up with a few in Cork . Had great craic when we had a sub teacher who didn’t believe a class mate was called Florrie. She then asked him what it was in longer form and when he told her , she threw him out of class and sent him to the principal.

Jaysus, she'd be up in the High Court if she tried that these days :eek::eek: