Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "NoFap" movement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

My penile is warm and wet as I spin spin spin all morning long this flaccid piece of thick wet trunk

Y’alright there horse? :confused:

I read your user name as Rod Lover which would have been more apt in a way :)
    Rod Laver wrote: »
    I go on streaks and then occasionally I give in and have a ****. Currently on a 6 day streak.

Out of interest - what would your frequency have been before you tried to abstain in any way?

Also curious - when you "give in" as you put it how does this make you feel after the fact? The choice of the phrase "give in" is suggestive of failure or guilt for example.
    Nonetheless, I'm playing hard mode, no sex or masturbation of any kind. My wife is 5 months pregnant, haven't had sex with her since she conceived. With pregnancy sickness etc it hasn't been too hard to persuade her not to have sex, might be more difficult when she's not pregnant.

Not sure if that is healthy at all physically or emotionally but I am no doctor. Certainly the opposite was true with my partners - that sex and sexual expression was highly valuable on many levels throughout pregnancy. Everything from the physical and emotional connections to the doses of oxytocin were very useful in keeping spirits and morale and communication and connection high in our relationship.

I have heard NoFap peddle some seriously dodgy science - or vague ominous claims - but even the most extreme of them I have encountered so far did not tend to recommend abstinence from sex as a whole. Mostly their issue was with masturbation - specifically where porn is used. In fact quite often I got left with the vague feeling that NoFap actually just hated porn and was using abstinence from masturbation as a cover for that agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,108 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Y’alright there horse? :confused:

another apt username for this thread..

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

4 or 5 is not a lot by any means - unless you were investing hours at a time into each of those 4 or 5. So seeing a benefit to dropping to once every 10 days or whatever is surprising. Usually the people I have talked to who report a benefit of NoFap are people who reported quite excessive levels before. So that they see a benefit is not a surprise.

It suggests something else is in play. That could be anything though from an undiagnosed hormonal or depression issue that is exacerbated by the physiology of orgasm - to merely a placebo effect caused by something such as what "BRIAN?" pointed out so well in the first page of the thread when he said "Primarily exercising control over their own bodies, that feeling of control will extend into all areas of life.".

Like alcohol - if someone reports benefits from abstinence when they were having a bottle of wine day you would not be surprised. If they were only having one bottle spread over 3 or 4 glasses in a week however - one would suspect something else was going on like an underlying allergy or something else.

But without a full medical workup - it is all guess work and navel gazing from me at this point :) But it just doesn't sound right on the face of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Reviews and Books Galore

Brian? wrote: »
    Actually if you’re a single man you should probably masturbate daily to be ready IMO. If masturbating daily eliminates your “useful lust” you have much bigger problems.

I find that I am hornier if I masturbate. It resets the system and I masturbate less if I masturabte less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Northern Monkey

Cornflakes is the only cure for it

Brian? wrote: »
    I didn’t say unrealistic beauty standards. I meant behaviour and physical attributes.

The men all have massive penises and can ride for hours. The women usually have fake breasts, not a blade of hair and will do anything to please a man.

I can’t imagine that’s healthy for developing teenagers to see.

To please themselves imo. If you compare the women in porn to erotica/fanfiction, then they are way more of an active participant.

Not saying it's perfect, but it is way more active and an equal partner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭stratowide

Dafuq is a fap..Did I wander into boards.usa by mistake..?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Lil Sally Anne Jnr.

it is all guess work and navel gazing from me at this point :)

I'm not sure how useful your "one size fits all" attempt at diagnosis is. If he feels that fapping to porn 4 or five times a week has a somewhat detrimental effect on his psychological well-being, then good for him if he decides to exercise some restraint in this area. It doesn't sound like he requires a second opinion. Sometimes you have to listen to what your own body and mind is telling you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Anus Von Skidmark

Currently on a 6 day streak. I can definitely notice the benefit when I hit days 7 to 10. Increased energy, better focus, more at ease in the world.

Christ, if I don't fire the old purple-headed yoghurt slinger at least every second day, I'd get nothing done at all. I'd be doing nothing but thinking about fannies and boobies and walking around with a mickey like an iron bar.

I'm not sure how useful your "one size fits all" attempt at diagnosis is. If he feels that fapping to porn 4 or five times a week has a somewhat detrimental effect on his psychological well-being, then good for him

But I very clearly said I am not - and have not the data to be - making any diagnosis at all. So I am not sure to which diagnosis you refer here.

Good for him indeed. All I am saying is that if moving from a relatively small quantity of masturbation to a relatively smaller quantity of it has had that much of an effect - then that is interesting in itself and suggests there is more at work here than merely masturbation or porn.
    Sometimes you have to listen to what your own body and mind is telling you.

My point exactly. And if a relatively tiny change has massive effects then perhaps your body is indeed telling you something interesting.

For example if someone drinking 2 glasses of wine a week notices huge improvements in their general feeling of well being by stopping - then perhaps they have an undiagnosed allergy to wine. Because _generally_ two glasses of wine do not have such a profound effect on individuals.

Similarly if masturbating a mere 4 or 5 times is causing a noticeable and significant dip in energy motivation mood or other factors - I would suspect there _may_ be more going on there than we think that is worthy of exploration.

One of the issues with the NoFap movement I find however is that testimonials of such outliers are being used to suggest that everyone is likely to benefit from the same abstinence. And I see no actual evidence outside cherry picked anecdote to recommend that at all.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,022 Mod ✭✭✭✭wiggle16

I've been doing Nofap for last couple of months, "trying" being the key word. I go on streaks and then occasionally I give in and have a ****. Currently on a 6 day streak. I can definitely notice the benefit when I hit days 7 to 10. Increased energy, better focus, more at ease in the world.

Oh, it's you again.

My point exactly. And if a relatively tiny change has massive effects then perhaps your body is indeed telling you something interesting.

Well, watching porn five days out of seven is plenty to my mind (not judging though), and he obviously has a partner in his life that he values and is soon to have a family, so cutting that back by even half, to only watching porn once or twice a week, I can see how that would actually be rather significant, and not a "tiny" difference as you suggest. I think one of the issues with compulsive or semi-compulsive porn use is that you essentially become enslaved to a generic, commercial product, and if that makes someone a little unhappy, I think that it may be good for them to try and step away from it. I would tend to see the changes he has made as highly significant.

Just my opinion of course. Sorry if I came off combative before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭sentient_6

The subreddit for this is an interesting read. It would appear to me to be a way of introducing the perception of discipline and clarity to people's otherwise hollow lives.

Well, watching porn five days out of seven is plenty to my mind (not judging though)

Not sure we can say that. If you watch porn once a month that might not sound a lot - but what if that once you are watching it for 5 hours?

You could be watching it 10 times a week however - but 5 minutes each time.

So to my mind we would need to know not just how many times but for how long someone is consuming porn before we could make any kind of evaluation.
    obviously has a partner in his life

Not sure that is relvant either. I have two partners in my life. And a family. I still find occasional time for masturbation and occasionally with porn. Actually we watch porn together too at times which I recommend often to at least trying.

If porn has an effect - I am not convinced it does but if - then I am even less convinced that relationship status will change that effect one way or another.
    Just my opinion of course. Sorry if I came off combative before.

It's the nature of this forum :) I would not say either of us have been coming off badly at all :)

Not sure we can say that. If you watch porn once a month that might not sound a lot - but what if that once you are watching it for 5 hours?

Length of session time is part of it, but I tend to think that frequency in terms of days is more significant. One five hour session a week requires some level of discipline the other six days of the week. Five short sessions a week requires much less discipline relatively.

Not sure that is relevant either. I have two partners in my life. And a family.

As I say, this is not a "one size fits all" dilemma. What works for you may very well not work for me. Reading between the lines it seems like he is unhappy about his porn consumption and there is nothing wrong with that. There will be plenty of men that feel a little uneasy with a compulsive porn habit while they are in a loving relationship, with children of their own. For many it entails keeping secrets from those they are most intimate with. They might also find that there is something impersonal about it, that it has a deteriorating effect on their imagination, or that consumption equates with lack of willpower.

One five hour session a week requires some level of discipline the other six days of the week. Five short sessions a week requires much less discipline relatively.

Discipline only required if there is temptation. Perhaps someone only _wants_ one 5 hour session a week. If so - then no discipline is required at all. In fact the opposite could be true. Perhaps the person with 1 5 hour session actually wants it to be less - but to lack of discipline gets to 5.

The "one size fits all" evaluations go both ways therefore. You could be equally guilty of it here.
    For many it entails keeping secrets from those they are most intimate with.

That is not a problem of porn however. Nothing to do with masturbation or porn at all I would say. If you keep secrets from your partner(s) - and this causes you issues - then that's the problem.

Which kinda plays into what I said in earlier posts that if changing from a relatively small consumption to a relatively smaller one is having _that much_ of an effect - there may be something else in play. And you have give here a pretty damn good example of one possibility of what that something can sometimes be.

As I said in an earlier post on the thread - there is a common tendency to mistake the symptom for the disease.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,323 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Decided to try semen retention as an experiment to see what affect it has on me.

b24fdd427b63e8f39d158195af4aba9122c6bf501193ebcd1ce884aeadf08735.jpg

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭Apiarist

planning to go for the rest of the year without ejaculating

You may have got carried along a bit too far? "no fap" does not mean "no sex whatsoever".

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,323 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

victor8600 wrote: »
    You may have got carried along a bit too far? "no fap" does not mean "no sex whatsoever".
    I suspect V, that for the majority of "no fap" adherents, sex with another human being is not really in play.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

I'm going to go full hard mode, also going to have cold showers every morning, reduce phone use, basically anything that releases large amounts of dopamine, with the goal of increasing dopamine sensitivity.

You know, in other cultures sex is seen as life, as fire and not something to be avoided for clear thinking and austere values.

I'm more of this mind imo and I try and enjoy sensuality and sexuality as much as I can and, irregardless, I imagine you'll have enough no fap/no sex when your reaching your 40s :P

I wouldn't waste the best years of your life imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭Apiarist

... Iimagine you'll have enough no fap/no sex when your reaching your 40s :P ....

I beg your pardon! 40s is when you no longer give a f&ck, but not in the literal sense!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Feisar

I'm going to go full hard mode, also going to have cold showers every morning, reduce phone use, basically anything that releases large amounts of dopamine, with the goal of increasing dopamine sensitivity. My wife is pregnant so she is fine going without sex anyway until after the baby is born which is January. So timing suits me.

Herself is liable to get a severe does of want so I wouldn't count on that.

First they came for the socialists...

If the unthinkable happens and I'm required to have sex I'll pull out before ejaculating. Famous last words!
    I don't even...

You seem perplexed...
    ... by the utter oddball daftness of it all, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Have you thought about how you will still stop it happening in your sleep, SM? Life always finds a way...

The theory behind it is reasonable, when dopamine receptors are over stimulated they lose their sensitivity meaning you derive less pleasure from everyday activities such as going for a walk or socialising with friends.
    There's little reasonable about it. It's just another example of idiotic American BroScience taken to extremes, with a sideorder of that culture's puritanical ballsology along for the ride(never mind it kicked off from the "red pill" fcukwits) that too many seem to swallow these days.

If someone is pulling the pud outa themselves four times a day to goat porn and their dominant arm looks like popeye's, then yes they have a problem, but this idea that somehow saving up your precious fluids will impact dopamine sensitivity in the brain is more than far fetched(and a pre scientific misconception going back eons, where semen was seen as life giving). Indeed a few studies, actual scientific ones, not some other eejits on the interwebs, have found evidence that regular ejaculation protects the prostate in later life. As Deebles notes for most men not shooting their bolt on the regular the body will clear the tubes itself. Which suggests a bloody good reason for doing so.

We'll agree to disagree then, I think it's worth trying for a few months and see for myself if there any benefits.
    Any "benefits" will be entirely psychosomatic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Im invested now, I want to see exactly how long it takes until you wake up in a puddle of Greek yoghurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Feisar

If the unthinkable happens and I'm required to have sex I'll pull out before ejaculating. Famous last words!

I've noticed I'm lacking motivation to do anything, work is a slog without motivation. So want to try something to see if it will give me a pep in my step. Dopamine is key for motivation as I understand, and happiness in general.

Get yer bloods done to check your testosterone if you have genuine concerns. Although as long as you wake up with a raging boner you should be grand.

First they came for the socialists...