Just because we both own dogs doesn't mean we are friends

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,453 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Relax.....

Don't do it

🙈🙉🙊

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Clockpics

El Tarangu wrote: »
    My dad is now retired, lives on his own, and all of his kids are grown and living abroad for the last number of years. He's delighted when people come over to say hello and pet the dogs, and doesn't mind at all talking about their lineage or where he got them from, even though he must have told the story hundreds of times at this stage.

Lots of older people get dogs, not just for the company of the dogs themselves, but for the fact that they encourage people, who might normally be just a bit too reserved to approach an old man walking in a park, to come over and say hello. So I'm sure the OP, even thought they themselves might find it a pain in the bum, would be at pains not to discourage the practice for the important social function it provides ;)

That's lovely. I promise you I haven't been ride to anyone and I will.keep it mind in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Feisar wrote: »
    Replace dog with baby and ye are describing my life right now.

Random strangers petting him
    Starting conversations about feeding habits
    Are you getting much sleep?
    Does he do any tricks? (Roll over)

Congrats on your new baby!

One house across the road from us welcomed a new Baby boy (welcome signs on the door etc) while I saw the house next door with a new pup.

My neighbour said "we'd better go over and see the new arrival"
    "Right" says I.
    So she went to the house with the baby to goo and gaa and I went to the house with the puppy.

Happy Days!

blueshade wrote: »
    What's the problem with polite conversation? Most people don't know their neighbours, if you don't have kids or dogs chances are you don't get the chance to speak to them. Knowing the neighbours creates more of a neighbourhood feel and a sense of belonging which leads to a sense of community and that's a very positive thing. Honestly, I don't know why people get bent out of shape by people being friendly.

Yeah my housemates do my head in with that kinda stuff. I got chatting to a neighbour and between us we decided how we'd sort the weeds around kerbs. They now cut the grass outside our house too. All from a 30 second conversation. Or a new next door neighbour had just moved in, I was chatting with him a few times, we swapped numbers. He asked if we would like the camera he was putting in to cover our front door too. I asked my housemates expecting (and fair enough) a "no" but it was a complete affront to them. Someone offering a favour like.
    A lot of people seem to think they can live in a bubble.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭blinding

Some People get Dogs just to go Dogging !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,771 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I was flicking earlier... Nothing sexuaul

Judge Judy had this nut on about her dog, her neighbour couldn't even show where her front door was on a diagram of her own house and showed numerous times it had full sight of where the issue was..
    Eh no your door is on a totally different side....

She was made sit but the other yoke still was awarded $1k as she had a vet bill....

Turns out she was blackmailing and trying to get $13k out of the other dog owner as their dog had nipped hers...

She brought the dog to the court...

You could see she was as close to a serial killer you would ever meet...

I'm convinced the spaces in this post are of lines that were removed from the story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,252 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

I have a dog, cat and chickens..oh and a hamster.

The animals are not my babies or closer to me than my brother.
    They are not my life. they are not human in any way, shape or form.

Dog plays with kids ...and cat.cat eats rodents ( not the hamster... yet!) and the chickens lay eggs as long as the foxes don't get them.

Can we be friends OP;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭Jellybaby1

I don't own a dog but I'm on first-name terms with a few of my friends' dogs. :) Strangely enough dogs seem to like me and often when I'm walking in the park dogs will approach me looking for a friendly pat on the head and I usually oblige and just say 'your dog wants to be friends' and then its owner will either nod and walk on or stop and give me the dog's history. I'm happy to chat if the owner is. I was on Killiney Hill once and I saw this huge dog dancing and prancing all over the place, I said to the owner 'your dog looks very happy' and again I got the alpha and omega of the dog's life (he was a rescue dog). I really enjoy the chats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

chrissb8 wrote: »
    I think it's pretty rude to interrupt someone on their walk with their dog. So what if you're a dog lover, don't be so rude as to think you can just come over and take 5 minutes out of someone's day interrupting their walk, bending down infront of their dog to pet it asking the owner innane questions.

That must be annoying if all you wanted to do was get a quick half an hour walk in but being interrupted by some eejits who won't let you be. I can't stand the entitlement of people like that.

People who are all about their dogs are weirdos too. They are fantastic companions, but don't be humanising them looking at their reactions and behaviour like it has 5 layers of thoughts going on in one go. Posting pictures on social media all the time or worse yet letting them do whatever the hell they want around the house. Including letting them in and around the table at mealtimes slobbering and begging. You may be fine with it but guests who aren't used to it or a big fan of dogs might be uneasy.

At the end of the day. It's a dog, so stop putting them on this weird pedestal. They will eat their own vomit/s**t if you give them a chance and I think that says it all.

Beautiful animals but that's just it. They're still animals.
    Yeh FIVE mins, time is very precious. It's probably more like one minute tops and you'll miss those interactions when you're a lonely elderly person . Try to appreciate nice and friendly people! They aren't the ones to be giving out about.

Agree about the rest though. Especially I despise Facebook videos like 'look at this dog crying' or 'this dog can't stop smiling it's so happy ' they're literally incapable of comprehending what a smile is never mind replicating the action , they are unknowingly vaguely mimicking an action only humans associate with certain emotions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Being friendly ..is just grace and class. Its sadly lacking for all of us myself included these days.

El Tarangu wrote: »
    My dad is now retired, lives on his own, and all of his kids are grown and living abroad for the last number of years. He's delighted when people come over to say hello and pet the dogs, and doesn't mind at all talking about their lineage or where he got them from, even though he must have told the story hundreds of times at this stage.

Lots of older people get dogs, not just for the company of the dogs themselves, but for the fact that they encourage people, who might normally be just a bit too reserved to approach an old man walking in a park, to come over and say hello. So I'm sure the OP, even thought they themselves might find it a pain in the bum, would be at pains not to discourage the practice for the important social function it provides ;)

My mum takes her dogs on big long walks and meets all sorts while she's out. E.g. She got chatting with one woman at one of her regular walking spots and they got friendly enough, stopping for a quick chat every time they saw each other. That woman confided in my mam when she found out she had cancer and her husband who my mum only knew to be her husband because she recognized the dogs, told her about his wife's treatment when she was too unwell to walk the dogs herself anymore. He seemed to appreciate talking about it to someone neutral I suppose. And she meets that same lady now as she's coming out the other side of it and doing well.

At another walking spot she would have little chats with an elderly lady and one day she noticed she was a bit upset. Turns out her daughter who lives abroad had become very ill and been diagnosed with a brain tumour. My mam sat with her while their dogs ran around playing and let her unburden herself with the whole story.

Sometimes me and my dogs tag along with her and she's always waving to people and getting big friendly hellos from her fellow dog walkers, many of whom are elderly and it's obvious they're as happy to have a friendly greeting from her as she is to be in receipt of theirs.

As for people who think us crazy OTT animal lovers are a recent thing... My mam got married in the 70's and she brought her dog on her honeymoon. And my dad didn't mind one bit. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭Redneck Reject

I have learned a lot about dog breeds here by just talking to other dog walkers I come across. Most breeds here aren't really popular where I grew up, so it's rewarding to learn. What harm is it to stop and talk about something you have in common with a stranger? Seems society is just increasing becoming bitter as the years go by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I think it's worse when you have no dog and are simply trying to get from A to B and some ignorant fookwith who owns a dog off a lead assumes you are perfectly happy with a dog completely unknown to you approaching you and obstructing your passage in a public place.

I let my dogs do this to people all the time, depending on the persons reaction they're (my dogs) are like my early warning radar of an approaching arsehole.

Usually upon meeting said arsehole I try not make eye contact and will cross the road my own little darlings :D

You might be better off printing this out on a placard in your local park?

Does anyone else remember the april fools joke near St Annes Park where someone put up a load of signs warning dog walkers about attacks from gangs of stray escaped canaries and parrots?

I am kinda worried I dreamed it - but someone down the pub said they saw it too - and im not sure if I dreamed that conversation as well.

I recently became the adoptive mummy of an elderly chap, and I love how many new people have become part of my day because of him. There are no negatives in chatting to people or brightening up someones day or vice versa, unless you're particularly sour on life.

Dogs improve everything, basically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

Just tell people when they come to talk to you that you are fattening dog up so you can sell it to the local chinese takeaway .

Then enjoy the silence

BDI wrote: »
    It’s just a dog. You arnt a hero for getting it for free.

"IT" is not just a dog as you would say and no one needs your false plaudits of "getting it for free".

He/She is a much loved family member of the home they live in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭old_aussie

OP, sounds like you had a ruff day at the park.

OP, did you know that my dog Daisy's tail got caught in the barn door when she was six weeks old and the last inch of her tail is bent at 90 degrees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

Clockpics wrote: »
    I've spent the weekend talking to strangers about their dogs. Good god just because I own a dog doesn't mean I care about your dog, what you feed it how you train it or its 'cute' little habits

I don't want to be rude but what am I supposed to do when they start talking to me. I don't care that you bred him yourself or it's your third jack Russell. I don't want to see a picture of his brother who lives with your sister.

Am I alone here?

I hear you OP. Half the men with dogs in parks seem to expect you to be up for a chat just because you’re out for a walk with your dog, I get to too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

It's another strand of the increase in autism IMO. Most people I know (not a great group) give out about people trying to talk to them about dogs. When I'm out with the dog I might talk to 2 or 3 owners out of 10 I see. I gauge how open they are and if their dog is off the lead and takes interest in mine which is generally off lead. Maybe sometimes they walk off thinking "Who the **** does that man think he is to strike up a conversation with a stranger" but from how they behave during the conversation they cover it well. :P

Yeah I would, I find it pervie. Never good looking men that do this, not once.

Was out walking my little cross breed terrier. She is very friendly and once given any encouragement, will roll around feet of people or want to be petted.

This man walking past said "hello" to the dog, (as they do) and of course she started rolling around his feet. He bent down and was rubbing her and he kept saying, "oh, she loves me, she loves me".

All I could think of was that my little dog has extremely good taste as he was absolutely drop dead gorgeous.