Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just because we both own dogs doesn't mean we are friends

• 28-10-2019 11:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 29

I've spent the weekend talking to strangers about their dogs. Good god just because I own a dog doesn't mean I care about your dog, what you feed it how you train it or its 'cute' little habits

I don't want to be rude but what am I supposed to do when they start talking to me. I don't care that you bred him yourself or it's your third jack Russell. I don't want to see a picture of his brother who lives with your sister.

Am I alone here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭neiphin

Clockpics wrote: »
    I've spent the weekend talking to strangers about their dogs. Good god just because I own a dog doesn't mean I care about your dog, what you feed it how you train it or its 'cute' little habits

I don't want to be rude but what am I supposed to do when they start talking to me. I don't care that you bred him yourself or it's your third jack Russell. I don't want to see a picture of his brother who lives with your sister.

Am I alone here?

you dont like meeting people ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

Am I alone here?

Relax.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭dunnerc

Yes:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

You might be better off printing this out on a placard in your local park?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Clockpics

You might be better off printing this out on a placard in your local park?

Now there's an idea!! Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Murder them it's the only way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

I think you're more a cat person

I like pussy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,170 ✭✭✭joeguevara

So you want to talk to people about not liking talking to people. Use that as an opening line when dog people approach you. Problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I think it's worse when you have no dog and are simply trying to get from A to B and some ignorant fookwith who owns a dog off a lead assumes you are perfectly happy with a dog completely unknown to you approaching you and obstructing your passage in a public place.

You need a dog that tries to attack other dogs.

‘Killer’ is a perfect name. Put two leashes and collars on it for good effect. Teach it to obey commands in German or Russian.

Ask them if they happened to see a small child running in the direction you’re headed and tell them ‘Killer’ is hungry and there’s no more live meat in the cage.

Put your left hand down the front of your pants, close your eyes and moan a bit before mumbling ‘Yeah Killer, you love that dog food, don’t you...mmmm....yes you do you good boy’

That’ll put a stop to the idle chit chat.

I was flicking earlier... Nothing sexuaul

Judge Judy had this nut on about her dog, her neighbour couldn't even show where her front door was on a diagram of her own house and showed numerous times it had full sight of where the issue was..
    Eh no your door is on a totally different side....

She was made sit but the other yoke still was awarded $1k as she had a vet bill....

Turns out she was blackmailing and trying to get $13k out of the other dog owner as their dog had nipped hers...

She brought the dog to the court...

You could see she was as close to a serial killer you would ever meet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭decky1

just got a dog from the local pound last week , lovely fellah mixed breed, what type is yours, can you tell me all about your dog please would love to hear , what color is he? what do you feed him? can he do tricks? is he house trained? have loads more can't wait to hear from you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

How can we be dog-lovers if we can't be friends?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,693 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I have noticed a boom in 'dog-lovers' over the last few years. The extreme ones too-who stop you in the middle of your walk just so they can tell you how lovely your dog is and how their dog Millie is the boss at home.

Who refer to their dogs as 'fur babies'.

I love dogs myself, but those sort of people are very off-putting and frankly some of them are odd.

Considering we domesticated dogs centuries (or millenia) ago why are the suddenly more popular than ever before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Salmon Leap

I have a rescue dog, don’t mind taking to other owners of rescues but that’s as far as it goes. I know where the OP is coming from, my local dog park can be a bit like that but once you get to know who to avoid it’s fine.

There used to be a guy who used to blog himself and his dogs on the way to the local dog park I kid ye not.

Considering we domesticated dogs centuries (or millenia) ago why are the suddenly more popular than ever before?

Nice to have company while you socialise on your phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

I have a rescue dog, don’t mind taking to other owners of rescues but that’s as far as it goes. I know where the OP is coming from, my local dog park can be a bit like that but once you get to know who to avoid it’s fine.

There used to be a guy who used to blog himself and his dogs on the way to the local dog park I kid ye not.

It’s just a dog. You arnt a hero for getting it for free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

How can we be dog-lovers if we can't be friends?
    Before I saw your post, I read the thread title to the sound of that very song. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Hoboo

I'd avoid anyone who comes up to me and asks if my dog is a rescue, and then blanks me when I say no. Now that's someone you want to avoid, those people are a pain in the arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

I have noticed a boom in 'dog-lovers' over the last few years. The extreme ones too-who stop you in the middle of your walk just so they can tell you how lovely your dog is and how their dog Millie is the boss at home.

I love dogs myself, but those sort of people are very off-putting and frankly some of them are odd.

If I'm walking a family member's dog, I think it's nice not odd when people stop to pet or admire him/her!

I don't know that dogs have become more popular or if it just seems that way because of more dog rescues etc being present on social media. Whatever it is, it's a good thing.

But yeah the "fur baby" carry-on is just silly, and a bit weird indeed at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Am I alone here?
    Ask them if they are willing to breed.

I've come across a lot that have rescued...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭Feisar

Replace dog with baby and ye are describing my life right now.

Random strangers petting him
    Starting conversations about feeding habits
    Are you getting much sleep?
    Does he do any tricks? (Roll over)

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,817 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

"Fur baby." Cringe.

Some amount of fückwittery, buying little coats and jackets for an animal that already has an insulating layer of hair.
    Buying expensive treats, gourmet dog food... come on, this is an animal who eats it's own sick, eats cat shyte as if it's a delicacy and licks it's balloon knot and balls regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭zanador

I love dogs. Will talk to any dog when out and about. Always resent it when the human attached tries to interrupt the conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

When I'm at the dog park letting doggo be doggo people sit down and try and make conversation. Tis fierce annoying. Clearly me keeping one eye on a kindle and the other on my beloved in case he tries a ninja sh*t isn't good enough to deter people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭Cheshire Cat

This might help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

My dad is now retired, lives on his own, and all of his kids are grown and living abroad for the last number of years. He's delighted when people come over to say hello and pet the dogs, and doesn't mind at all talking about their lineage or where he got them from, even though he must have told the story hundreds of times at this stage.

Lots of older people get dogs, not just for the company of the dogs themselves, but for the fact that they encourage people, who might normally be just a bit too reserved to approach an old man walking in a park, to come over and say hello. So I'm sure the OP, even thought they themselves might find it a pain in the bum, would be at pains not to discourage the practice for the important social function it provides ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

"Fur baby." Cringe.

Some amount of fückwittery, buying little coats and jackets for an animal that already has an insulating layer of hair.
    Buying expensive treats, gourmet dog food... come on, this is an animal who eats it's own sick, eats cat shyte as if it's a delicacy and licks it's balloon knot and balls regularly.
    you think that's bad . i was standing behind a lady at a checkout in the uk during the summer and she asked '' do you have doggy ice cream '' I instantly thought ''what the f..k the world is gone mad '' . the cashier said ''certainly , what flavor would your dog like ''
    when i came outside the dog was being spoon fed the ice cream .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭chrissb8

I think it's pretty rude to interrupt someone on their walk with their dog. So what if you're a dog lover, don't be so rude as to think you can just come over and take 5 minutes out of someone's day interrupting their walk, bending down infront of their dog to pet it asking the owner innane questions.

That must be annoying if all you wanted to do was get a quick half an hour walk in but being interrupted by some eejits who won't let you be. I can't stand the entitlement of people like that.

People who are all about their dogs are weirdos too. They are fantastic companions, but don't be humanising them looking at their reactions and behaviour like it has 5 layers of thoughts going on in one go. Posting pictures on social media all the time or worse yet letting them do whatever the hell they want around the house. Including letting them in and around the table at mealtimes slobbering and begging. You may be fine with it but guests who aren't used to it or a big fan of dogs might be uneasy.

At the end of the day. It's a dog, so stop putting them on this weird pedestal. They will eat their own vomit/s**t if you give them a chance and I think that says it all.

Beautiful animals but that's just it. They're still animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,934 ✭✭✭daheff

Wear headphones when out walking your dog. People are less likely to interrupt you then

BDI wrote: »
    It’s just a dog. You arnt a hero for getting it for free.

Shows how much you know, rescues are not free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭decky1

why have people gone so solitary? is it not nice to be out for a walk and meet someone for a bit of a chat, people have become very strange, they no problem having their heads down looking at the phone sifting through other peoples facebook etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Shows how much you know, rescues are not free.
    Of course they're not free! They're being held captive by the likes of you!! :pac: :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

If you're a dog lover you might get the hump.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭manbitesdog

Hoboo wrote: »
    I'd avoid anyone who comes up to me and asks if my dog is a rescue, and then blanks me when I say no. Now that's someone you want to avoid, those people are a pain in the arse.

But if they just blank you then there should be no problem. Then you’re both avoiding each other!

Dogs are actually less popular than ever. They are not well adapted to modern city living, where cats have overtaken them as the more popular pet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,150 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Feisar wrote: »
    Replace dog with baby and ye are describing my life right now.

Random strangers petting him
    Starting conversations about feeding habits
    Are you getting much sleep?
    Does he do any tricks? (Roll over)

I was going to say never have children OP. The whole neighbourhood will be in your house a week after the baby arrives. There's no boundaries with questions that get asked :)

Go to the supermarket and your an aul dear magnet, offering lots of advice :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

decky1 wrote: »
    why have people gone so solitary? is it not nice to be out for a walk and meet someone for a bit of a chat, people have become very strange,
    I hear you D. Though to be fair it's more online you get these kinda conversations. In the real world most people aren't "introverted" antisocial or unsocialised types who find basic human interaction so taxing, scary, irritating[delete as applicable].

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

decky1 wrote: »
    why have people gone so solitary? is it not nice to be out for a walk and meet someone for a bit of a chat, people have become very strange, they no problem having their heads down looking at the phone sifting through other peoples facebook etc.

Love bringing my dog for a walk, but it can also be my unwinding time- Headphones on and listing to music or podcasts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

El Tarangu wrote: »
    My dad is now retired, lives on his own, and all of his kids are grown and living abroad for the last number of years. He's delighted when people come over to say hello and pet the dogs, and doesn't mind at all talking about their lineage or where he got them from, even though he must have told the story hundreds of times at this stage.

Lots of older people get dogs, not just for the company of the dogs themselves, but for the fact that they encourage people, who might normally be just a bit too reserved to approach an old man walking in a park, to come over and say hello. So I'm sure the OP, even thought they themselves might find it a pain in the bum, would be at pains not to discourage the practice for the important social function it provides ;)
    I'd agree, had plenty of chats to older folk with dogs, my kids love going up to dogs on leads and asking the owners about them.
    Lots of people on boards are into not talking to anyone. We're coming up to 12 pubs threads soon, wait for the people who want to go to the pub on their own and read a book and hate everyone else brigade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,964 ✭✭✭D3V!L

My dog is dressing up as a dog for Halloween. Look at him !! Looook !!

Isn't he cute :D

What dog do you have ? My furbaby is a dachshund cross.

493971.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭NeinNeinNein

You could always try barking when accosted in the park, it works for me.

Wibbs wrote: »
    I hear you D. Though to be fair it's more online you get these kinda conversations. In the real world most people aren't "introverted" antisocial or unsocialised types who find basic human interaction so taxing, scary, irritating[delete as applicable].

It's another strand of the increase in autism IMO. Most people I know (not a great group) give out about people trying to talk to them about dogs. When I'm out with the dog I might talk to 2 or 3 owners out of 10 I see. I gauge how open they are and if their dog is off the lead and takes interest in mine which is generally off lead. Maybe sometimes they walk off thinking "Who the **** does that man think he is to strike up a conversation with a stranger" but from how they behave during the conversation they cover it well. :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

It's another strand of the increase in autism IMO. Most people I know (not a great group) give out about people trying to talk to them about dogs. When I'm out with the dog I might talk to 2 or 3 owners out of 10 I see. I gauge how open they are and if their dog is off the lead and takes interest in mine which is generally off lead. Maybe sometimes they walk off thinking "Who the **** does that man think he is to strike up a conversation with a stranger" but from how they behave during the conversation they cover it well. :P

This drives me fcuking mad owning a big dog. Should always be on the leash if their is potential for other dogs being around.

My dog will not tolerate any other female leading to previous encounters of near misses of other dogs getting badly hurt

This drives me fcuking mad owning a big dog. Should always be on the leash if their is potential for other dogs being around.

My dog will not tolerate any other female leading to previous encounters of near misses of other dogs getting badly hurt

Fair enough. I have my one off the lead for the most part. If something happens with a big dog who is on a lead then it's my fault, I accept that.

Even the missus?!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Even the missus?!

Nah, grand with her. Every other (literally) bitch though is an "enemy"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭Immortal Starlight

Id be delighted to have a chat with anyone while im out and about for a walk. Especially older people because apart from a visit to the doctor or shop they might not talk to anyone for days.