How did avocado become a posh food?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,513 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I know loads of people who simply just like avocado in sandwiches etc. I can remember people eating them 20 years ago.
    But apparently they only eat them because of instagram? I dont even know anyone who uses instagram.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 686 ✭✭✭The Satanist

Can someone tell me why there is a view that anyone who cares about the environment eats lots of avocados? I mostly see avocado being served along with beef and chicken in burrito places etc anyway. They dont do anything like the environmental damage beef and dairy do.
    I first had them when living in NZ where they are farmed quite a bit and youd sometimes find ripe ones at the side of the road if they fell over fencing. Theyre lovely if ripe.

Desperate anti-vegans love getting triggered by the slimy green bastards. I eat them in Spain where they grow all over the place. The rotten mini ones we get here are generally crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,717 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Desperate anti-vegans love getting triggered by the slimy green bastards. I eat them in Spain where they grow all over the place. The rotten mini ones we get here are generally crap.

I sometimes see tiny little pawpaws in the supermarket, about the size of a grapefruit and a ridiculous price. When you have knocked one off the tree with a long stick, a pawpaw the size of a rugby ball, and squeezed a lime from a nearby tree over the flesh, to eat it for breakfast, its obvious the ones you see in the supermarket are really not worth buying.

That's true of most fruit and veg though, anything you pick from the garden and eat fresh is gorgeous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I know loads of people who simply just like avocado in sandwiches etc. I can remember people eating them 20 years ago.
    But apparently they only eat them because of instagram? I dont even know anyone who uses instagram.

And? I like avocado and eat it. And there are people don't overly like it but will eat anything that the fitness influencer they are following is eating. Avocado consumption increased exponentially in the last decade and that caused a whole host of issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,102 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Marketing.

Smashed avocado me nerves!

Porridge for the plebs. But it is the best ��

There’s more to it than that. I first heard of avocado when we went on our first family foreign holiday to Portugal in about 1990. I presume avocados are grown in Portugal so they’re not new over there. It was the first time my parents had free access to them in the shops and restaurants too. So my mam would buy them occasionally and there was always the wait for them to ripen and they might be bruised or rotten when we finally ate it So there was a bit of hype and excitement around them.

Nothing to do with marketing or instagram. It was about access to them for me. Now they’re everywhere and I’m happy about it. I don’t eat out much so that side of it doesn’t bother me. Other people can order whatever they want without need for me to get cross.

There really isn’t any need for avocados to be turned into class or inter generational bickering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,160 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

There’s more to it than that. I first heard of avocado when we went on our first family foreign holiday to Portugal in about 1990.

Funny how people often discover things on holidays only to find that they were at home all along. Holidays are great for discovering foods.

My dad was a big fan of avocados as far back as the early 80s at least. Commonly available in supermarkets. I wouldn't touch them back then but I distinctly remember it sliced in a bowl with French dressing. Looked duscusting to my eyes.
    Not sure when I started eating them.

I also remember my sister feeding my nephew mashed avocado, banana and yogurt as a baby in the early 90s.

There really isn’t any need for avocados to be turned into class or inter generational bickering.

There are plenty of similar articles o this subject. It's not about class or inter generation bickering. But frankly most of us can survive without quinoa and avocado as staples of our diet (we ate them a lot less 15 years ago) and only eat it every so often or at least make sue it's imported from closer to Ireland. Almonds are similarly questionable food.

https://ethicalunicorn.com/2018/09/23/how-sustainable-ethical-is-eating-avocado/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,441 ✭✭✭dartboardio

Except switch the red onion for white onion.

Red onion gives it that 'kick' For me :V

meeeeh wrote: »
    There are plenty of similar articles o this subject. It's not about class or inter generation bickering. But frankly most of us can survive without quinoa and avocado as staples of our diet (we ate them a lot less 15 years ago) and only eat it every so often or at least make sue it's imported from closer to Ireland. Almonds are similarly questionable food.

https://ethicalunicorn.com/2018/09/23/how-sustainable-ethical-is-eating-avocado/

Apparently, cashews have ethical issues over the hand harvesting of them, too.
    Can't eat anything with a clear conscience, now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

The problem is they're always too poxy hard. Even the ready to eat ones. You have to buy them a week in advance of making anything. Other than that, they taste great imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Lol. Someone seems triggered alright :D

Even that provegan bible - The Guardian seem to think that they are as about as environmentally friendly as your average crusties arse ...

https://www.theguardian.com/food/shortcuts/2018/dec/10/should-you-stop-eating-blood-avocados

I posted this above - you must have missed it. Some good background info on these 'blood diamonds' of the vegetable world

https://youtu.be/jkaT8yYs9qs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Have never tasted avacodos.
    I prefer a rasher and egg on my toast.
    After reading this thread I might give them a go, see how they compare.

It tastes like nothing. If water had a flavour, it would be avocado.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,741 ✭✭✭Effects

Cienciano wrote: »
    The problem is they're always too poxy hard. Even the ready to eat ones.

There's only one company that produces ready to eat ones that are actually ready to eat. Not everywhere sells them, and generally not any of the bigger supermarket chains.
    Avocado-ready-to-eat-450x450.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭izzyflusky

Avocados from where they are originally produced are very flavoursome and huge!

A bit of a weird one over this side of the Atlantic but in a smoothie with milk sugar, and other fruit (optional) it's amazing too... I think I have a craving coming on.

Have never tasted avacodos.
    I prefer a rasher and egg on my toast.
    After reading this thread I might give them a go, see how they compare.

Be careful, a poor avocado or an unripe avocado, certainly won't convert you.
    Get someone who likes them to give you a good example of one.

gozunda wrote: »
    Lol. Someone seems triggered alright :D
    Right on cue.
    Even that provegan bible - The Guardian seem to think that they are as about as environmentally friendly as your average crusties arse ...

https://www.theguardian.com/food/shortcuts/2018/dec/10/should-you-stop-eating-blood-avocados

I posted this above - you must have missed it. Some good background info on these 'blood diamonds' of the vegetable world

https://youtu.be/jkaT8yYs9qs

You must have missed my post where I clearly said I only ate Spanish avocados in Spain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,513 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

You'll find some people attack avocadoes as they're trying to deflect from the damage cattle farming does to the environment. Giving out about importing avocadoes but they've no problem exporting beef to China etc.
    The Guardian also says everyone should give up meat and dairy to save the planet, but you wont see them quoting that article.

You'll find some people attack avocadoes as they're trying to deflect from the damage cattle farming does to the environment. Giving out about importing avocadoes but they've no problem exporting beef to China etc.
    The Guardian also says everyone should give up meat and dairy to save the planet, but you wont see them quoting that article.

That's a lovely case of whataboutery. Unlike beef avocado was not a staple in a diet for most European countries. There are good arguments to reduce the consumption of meet and you can start a thread about it. Your response is just deflection because you don't like people pointing out the issues around current avocado consumption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭brainfreeze

The problem if you start with whataboutery is everyone is guilty of something. The same cocaine cartels are the same cartels that control the avocado trade. Seriously. People have literally died for that avocado you picked up from your shop.

I wouldn't be getting on a high horse about meat and the environment :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭manbitesdog

It comes from quite a modest background, but studied really hard at school, took an entry level job and then just worked its way up to the top. I wouldn’t call it posh though; it still comes off very down to earth, with no airs or graces.

Right on cue.You must have missed my post where I clearly said I only ate Spanish avocados in Spain.

Nah simply a reply to the diatribe in your comment- yeah more whataboutery - oh look it's just them nasty 'antivegans' complaining about avocados:rolleyes:

If - it's as you said only "desperate anti-vegans love getting triggered by the slimy green bastards" - why are you worried only about eating Spanish avocados in Spain? All a bit confused no?

You'll find some people attack avocadoes as they're trying to deflect from the damage cattle farming does to the environment. Giving out about importing avocadoes but they've no problem exporting beef to China etc.The Guardian also says everyone should give up meat and dairy to save the planet, but you wont see them quoting that article.

Jeez ye have the horn about 'beef' Thelonious! . In a thread about Avocados - you manage to drag in beef in an anti farming rant but hey theres surprise surprise - that wouldnt have happened before no?And you talk of deflection lol. Why dont you agree that Avocados not only destroy the environment but also peoples lives and livelihoods in countries with few if any environmental or ethics standards for food production no?

Do you think it might be that the guardian was highlighted as being a provegan bible not only because their endless promotion of vegsnism but also because the Guardian are being funded by the US based pro-plant food industry 'Open Philanthropy Project' to publish anti farming articles. So much for editorial independence and your unqualified support. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Who's calling them posh? This is the first time I've ever seen posh and avocado used together.

I like them, regularly use them in Mexican dishes and they go nicely with salmon. But they are no more posh than a bell pepper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Right on cue.

You must have missed my post where I clearly said I only ate Spanish avocados in Spain.
    I didn't know they served them in the Rose and Crown in Benidorm

If - it's as you said only "desperate anti-vegans love getting triggered by the slimy green bastards" - why are you worried only about eating Spanish avocados in Spain? All a bit confused no?

Spain isn't Mexico, in case you didn't know.

Missed what was said yes? Ok so If it's only 'desperate antivegsns' getting triggered with these 'slimy green bastards' what are you worried about? You obviously think the issues with avocados are just something these nasty desperados have came up with to have a go at plant eaters. But then bizarrely you claim only buy Spanish ones - in Spain. All that comes across as seriously confused

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

User142 wrote: »
    Avocados were grown seasonally in California. They weren't available all year round in the US and imports weren't allowed. When the anti fat craze kicked into gear the Avocado Industry funded ad campaigns to maintain avocado image as a premium healthy superfood in the US throughout this period. This built its current reputation. NAFTA removed the block on Mexican avocados gradually. Avocados can be grown year round in Mexico so supply shot up and popularity soared due to this availability. That popularity spread.

Could do with getting the same lads to do a job on Irish beef.

Missed what was said yes? Ok so If it's only 'desperate antivegsns' getting triggered with these 'slimy green bastards' what are you worried about? You obviously think the issues with avocados are just something these nasty desperados have came up with to have a go at plant eaters. But then bizarrely you claim only buy Spanish ones - in Spain. All that comes across as seriously confused

I'm sorry that simple things confuse you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,371 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

The bickering about who eats the most environmentally damaging food makes no sense. The population is too high, as soon as some food ""goes viral"" fellas start clearing the jungle and eroding the soil to make more of it.