Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How did avocado become a posh food?

• 28-10-2019 08:11PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭

Every now and then some food waltzes into the spotlight and becomes the thing for all the trendy folk to eat. But what causes this? In recent years a few other ones have come and gone. Kale, goji berries quinoa

I remember having avocados way back in the day and we were poor back then. I certainly wasn't getting the first use of the bathwater that time and even now you can buy em in Lidl for about 79c.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,102 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Marketing.

Smashed avocado me nerves!

Porridge for the plebs. But it is the best ��

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,576 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Instagram!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

The big man that funds the government buys up a truckload of them, tells the paper and Instagram to report how students are showing how rich they are by eating them, tells the daily mail that everything else causes cancer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭User142

Avocados were grown seasonally in California. They weren't available all year round in the US and imports weren't allowed. When the anti fat craze kicked into gear the Avocado Industry funded ad campaigns to maintain avocado image as a premium healthy superfood in the US throughout this period. This built its current reputation. NAFTA removed the block on Mexican avocados gradually. Avocados can be grown year round in Mexico so supply shot up and popularity soared due to this availability. That popularity spread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Hipsters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

User142 wrote: »
    Avocados were grown seasonally in California. They weren't available all year round in the US and imports weren't allowed. When the anti fat craze kicked into gear the Avocado Industry funded ad campaigns to maintain avocado image as a premium healthy superfood in the US throughout this period. This built its current reputation. NAFTA removed the block on Mexican avocados gradually. Avocados can be grown year round in Mexico so supply shot up and popularity soared due to this availability. That popularity spread.

Someone recently watched Rotten on Netflix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,011 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Wouldn’t say it’s posh. It’s expensive. There’s a difference!

I don’t think the likes of the queen of England or some other posh type is milling avacodao toast into them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,240 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Sick of avocados and whoever makes them better come up with better toys inside. Last five I bought had l
    Ittle wooden balls inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Quinoa must rate highly on the 'posh' list too.

Never heard of the stuff a few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

They aren’t even that nice. Very bland. I know I’d much rather a big fry for the breakfast than some avocado spread on a cracker made from millet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,011 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Yeah but avocado is good fat or something ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,341 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Guacamole for all the hipster dipsters

Ted_YNWA wrote: »

It's causing all sorts of environmental and social issues in Bolivia & Peru

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

They aren’t even that nice. Very bland. I know I’d much rather a big fry for the breakfast than some avocado spread on a cracker made from millet.

The trick is to put a nice pinch of salt on them. Still I woulnd't be ranting and raving about how good they are

It's like eating porridge made out of rye bread. Not terrible but needs a good sauce to give it flavour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Wouldn’t say it’s posh. It’s expensive. There’s a difference!

I don’t think the likes of the queen of England or some other posh type is milling avacodao toast into them

They are 70c and you'll get 2 light breakfasts with a couple of slices of toast.

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    The trick is to put a nice pinch of salt on them. Still I woulnd't be ranting and raving about how good they are

It's like eating porridge made out of rye bread. Not terrible but needs a good sauce to give it flavour

Just like avocados, have never tried it, and don't have any urge to try them out.

I'm a marketers worst nightmare, pay absolute no heed to current trends on anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

It's the ultimate modern food. Healthy; bland; tastes of little; photographs well.

I presume all these environmental types and those suffering with eco-anxiety will stop eating avocados considering the outrageous amounts of water used in their production, and the energy used in shipping/flying them here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,075 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

They're nice in mashed spuds

cjmc wrote: »

So is butter and salt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,880 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Agree OP.

Also calamari??? Battered rubber bands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,998 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Avocados require a lot of water, and as we all know, water is the most valuable resource in the world.

Water takes second place to being seen as ricer than your social circle.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

They look like testicles and women love licking testicles .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

cjmc wrote: »

For real?

blinding wrote: »
    They look like testicles and women love licking testicles .

If your balls are green, dude, then I’d suggest you close down the laptop and visit a doctor pronto.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

If your balls are green, dude, then I’d suggest you close down the laptop and visit a doctor pronto.
    Thats why they get licked so much....often mistaken for Avocados .

That green dye was the best investment I ever made .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Blanco100

mate of mine used to get confused between avocado and a certain 4 legged mammal, not on sight of them, rather the 2 words.

Checking the fridge one day he lost the head when he thought someone had eaten his armadillo

They’re lovely on toast with salt and black pepper. Mmmmmmmm

Blanco100 wrote: »
    mate of mine used to get confused between avocado and a certain 4 legged mammal, not on sight of them, rather the 2 words.

Checking the fridge one day he lost the head when he thought someone had eaten his armadillo

That 's a Dime bar that most people mix up with armadillos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

I had avocado for the first time this summer.

It was in a "salad" with black pudding ...

Maybe its because black pudding enhances everything, but avocado tasted great!

So smooth and earthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

Yeah I did that Quin O A pronunciation in the work canteen a couple of years ago much to the amusement of the female staff. The other lads were as bemused as myself as to what the feck it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,075 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

milehip wrote: »
    For real?

Yeah, might need salt and garlic as well , Google the recipe.

It will be something else next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Yeah I did that Quin O A pronunciation in the work canteen a couple of years ago much to the amusement of the female staff. The other lads were as bemused as myself as to what the feck it was.

My woman brought the sh1t home. Thought it was bland and tasteless. Soon as I found out it's pronounced "Keen-Wa' it went on the banned list

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,654 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

I always thought of avocados as a 70s thing that never went away. No idea why people think they are a new fad.

Quinoa, I first came across in around 2004, seemed like a new fad then.

Big Nasty wrote: »
    My woman brought the sh1t home. Thought it was bland and tasteless. Soon as I found out it's pronounced "Keen-Wa' it went on the banned list

It's pretty like couscous just more damaging to the environment and more of a pain to cook...

The reason I keep mentioning the environment is that many vegans lark on about quinoa and avocados has great for you and better than eating animal proteins and fats. Yet a steak produced in Ireland is doing a lot less damage that quinoa & avocado

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

It's pretty like couscous just more damaging to the environment and more of a pain to cook...

The reason I keep mentioning the environment is that many vegans lark on about quinoa and avocados has great for you and better than eating animal proteins and fats. Yet a steak produced in Ireland is doing a lot less damage that quinoa & avocado

Whatever about cattle being bad for the environment and that, avocados have fúcking air miles on them by the time they get to the shelves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Agree OP.

Also calamari??? Battered rubber bands.

Calamari are great but you have to cook them really quickly or long. In between and you will get rubber. They are also probably the cheapest sea food you will get in Mediterranean countries.

I like avocado too but not hard and unripened stuff. I don't buy them often because quality isn't always there, I know the human cost and because I tend to eat enough for four breakfasts in one go when I have them at home.

Anyway it's not exactly posh but it is fashionable. I don't think there would be any sustainability issues if only people who actually like the taste ate them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

I thought they were more a snowflake food than a posh food ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Soon as I found out it's pronounced "Keen-Wa' it went on the banned list

Would have no issue with it if they gave it a different name from where it originated, like 'round rice' or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

When people say 'avocado isn't even that nice' it makes me cringe.. Yes, plain avocado with no seasoning is actually rotten enough!

Avocado drowned in lime/lemon juice with some salt and pepper, few chopped tomatoes and red onion turned into guacamole, DELICIOUS

Even better if served on chilli con carne or nachos with sour cream and spicy salsa sauce mm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

I thought they were more a snowflake food than a posh food ?

Nothing worse than hipster snowflakes like yourself getting offended at people eating different foods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Maybe its because black pudding enhances everything, but avocado tasted great!

So smooth and earthy.

Be careful dude. It's a gateway. Next thing you know, you'll be riding blithely down Stoneybatter on a penny farthing. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

When people say 'avocado isn't even that nice' it makes me cringe.. Yes, plain avocado with no seasoning is actually rotten enough!

Avocado drowned in lime/lemon juice with some salt and pepper, few chopped tomatoes and red onion turned into guacamole, DELICIOUS

Even better if served on chilli con carne or nachos with sour cream and spicy salsa sauce mm

You were doing good until your last sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,654 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

If it's a decent avocado, I love it just halved and eaten with a teaspoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

Ipso wrote: »
    You were doing good until your last sentence.

You disagree? Madness!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,380 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Avocado is pure rank - disgusting to taste and a rotten texture in the mouth.

Guacamole, on the other hand, when well made is rather delicious. But basically the avocado is puréed and its taste is heavily masked by onion, chili, garlic and seasonings.

There is also nothing novel about avocados at all....they were readily available in large supermarkets back in the 1980s when I was a small child. There are huge environmental costs in their production and distribution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Vita nova

I always thought of avocados as a 70s thing that never went away. No idea why people think they are a new fad.

Quinoa, I first came across in around 2004, seemed like a new fad then.

Don't remember avocados being unusually popular in the 70s, not saying it wasn't the case just don't remember it, however, avocado bathroom suites were all the rage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Good overview of commercial production of Avocados here.

Used to think they were bland and pointless till I had one done well. Little french cafe next to my gaff has a pretty amazing combo deal with an avocado tartine as part of it.