Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rugby World Cup 2019 Japan The hunt for Webb Ellis

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

cson wrote: »
    He's a professional referee still involved in a tournament. It's incredibly unprofessional behavior and he should be stood down.
    Twas dumb and do you want dumb referring high profile Rugby Matches .:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭scott1974

That'll be his last game I assume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

awec wrote: »
    I think it's a non-event to be honest. Peyper is a referee and also a human. They're not robots.

French anger would be better directed at Vahaamahina.
    I did not see nor hear much anger towards the ref to be fair. And we do blama Vahaamahina.

And Peyper ain't nothing like Joubert anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

scott1974 wrote: »
    That'll be his last game I assume.

Well he can only ref 2 out of the 4 left and most likely 1 out of those 2 will be a glorified exhibition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,131 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

No Garces or Poite for the semis then? Shocking that Peyper keeps getting games, terrible ref.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Gatland put it better than I ever could!

'How people interpret that is up to them. And obviously, the way things are and the way - how PC everyone is, people like to make mountains out of molehills'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

sydthebeat wrote: »
    So??

I can guarantee that the refs are being photographed with fans of every nationality out there

He showed poor judgement there and judgement is his job. There is a public image side to it, given that he’s supposed to be impartial. Wait a few days before you’re caught laughing with Welshmen about the incident that ended France’s World Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭hahashake

Could be wrong but I'm assuming he knows he won't have the semis or final and is out partying. Not an excuse mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,394 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Ardillaun wrote: »
    He showed poor judgement there and judgement is his job. There is a public image side to it, given that he’s supposed to be impartial. Wait a few days before you’re caught laughing with Welshmen about the incident that ended France’s World Cup.

If nothing else, I wonder how French fans feels seeing that picture. Just after exiting the WC because of a game they probably would have won with 15. I know how I'd feel about a ref if it happened to Ireland. Inappropriate and unprofessional.

• Subscribers Posts: 43,207 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

If nothing else, I wonder how French fans feels seeing that picture. Just after exiting the WC because of a game they probably would have won with 15. I know how I'd feel about a ref if it happened to Ireland. Inappropriate and unprofessional.

if i was a french fan, theres only one person id be focusing my ire on....

what the match referee did hours after the final whistle is completely inconsequential.

this is absolutely much ado about nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,685 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Unbelievable horse droppings is what this is.
    Vahaamahina is the only person responsible for that red card. No question about whether or not it's a red, it 100% is a red card.
    The French team, coaches and fans all agree that it was the correct decision. Well any that I've heard talk about it whether that be in the media or people I know personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

The picture is inappropriate alright but Vahaamahina can only blame himself. And as I already said, we're more angry at Joubert and a certain NZ press from 2011 than yesterday's game "incidents".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,584 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

FFR ought be more concerned with the unreconstructed thug they have representing them. A year or two ago I remember him getting a straight red in a Top14 match for king-hitting some lad as he rang back into the line. He shouldn't see the business side of a touchline for a year IMO.

what the match referee did hours after the final whistle is completely inconsequential.

Well, yes and no. Yes, IMO France would have won with 15 so the lock is to blame. Very separately, no, it's not inconsequential. Maybe there are exceptions, but I can't remember any referee (rugby, GAA or soccer) who ever did anything like that. There's a reason why France have complained and why World Rugby is investigating. France found it insulting and shocking. Rugby is professional. And the RWC is rugby's showcase tournament. Peyper's behaviour was stupid and unprofessional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,757 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

I'd imagine the French are focusing their ire on the ref due to his decision at the end to award Wales a try when the ball went forward and they had a player offside.

The sending off was not up for debate .

eagle eye wrote: »
    Unbelievable horse droppings is what this is.
    Vahaamahina is the only person responsible for that red card. No question about whether or not it's a red, it 100% is a red card.
    The French team, coaches and fans all agree that it was the correct decision. Well any that I've heard talk about it whether that be in the media or people I know personally.

I agree completely. But that's got nothing to do with my point. Try wiping the "horse droppings" from your eyes and read my post again.

Well, yes and no. Yes, IMO France would have won with 15 so the lock is to blame. Very separately, no, it's not inconsequential. Maybe there are exceptions, but I can't remember any referee (rugby, GAA or soccer) who ever did anything like that. There's a reason why France have complained and why World Rugby is investigating. France found it insulting and shocking. Rugby is professional. And the RWC is rugby's showcase tournament. Peyper's behaviour was stupid and unprofessional.

LOL

i wont mention anything about english referees then, but if you think this is stupid then you'll be flabbergasted when you do some research.

GAA doesnt come into it as its an amateur sport, with amateru refs.

Peypers "behaviour" was to pose for a photo with a group of fans, who encouraged him to lift his arm as a joke.... as they were all doing the same thing.

i dont expect any referees to be "professional" when they are not on the rugby pitch.. if they want to have fun and be stupid then more power to them..... god forbid they should show that they actually have a personality and are not machines.

this is such a ridiculous thing.....

LOL

i wont mention anything about english referees then, but if you think this is stupid then you'll be flabbergasted when you do some research.

Peypers "behaviour" was to pose for a photo with a group of fans, who encouraged him to lift his arm as a joke.... as they were all doing the same thing.

i dont expect any referees to be "professional" when they are not on the rugby pitch.. if they want to have fun and be stupid then more power to them..... god forbid they should show that they actually have a personality and re not machines.

I'm afraid you'll have to do your own research to prove your own point about soccer refs. Okay, you think a ref who has just red carded a player in a RWC quarter final should pose like that with supporters of the other team. You think it's all a bit of fun. No harm done. Grand, I'll leave it at that.

for starters google clattenberg and ed sheeran
    or married martin atkinson, kevin friend and andre mariner out with those young indonesian girls while on a "golfing holiday"

a different kind of fun than lifting your arm i expect

for starters google clattenberg and ed sheeran
    or married martin atkinson, kevin friend and andre mariner out with those young indonesian girls while on a "golfing holiday"

a different kind of fun than lifting your arm i expect

Yeah, but that's about their personal lives. Okay, let's use soccer as an example. Imagine Clattenburg giving a last minute penalty for handball to Barca which knocks Juve out of the Champions League. That night, would he then be spotted in a pub with Barca supporters pointing to his hand? What do you think would happen if he did that? UEFA would just dismiss it? Just the ref having a bit of fun with the lads? Is that what you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,685 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I agree completely. But that's got nothing to do with my point. Try wiping the "horse droppings" from your eyes and read my post again.
    What is your point then? That French fans wod be upset by it? Why would they when they all know and agree it was a red card?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,584 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Larbre34 wrote: »
    FFR ought be more concerned with the unreconstructed thug they have representing them. A year or two ago I remember him getting a straight red in a Top14 match for king-hitting some lad as he rang back into the line. He shouldn't see the business side of a touchline for a year IMO.

Aaaaaannd he's retired from international, at 28! A coward to boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Aaaaaannd he's retired from international, at 28! A coward to boot.

Says he's been planning it since the summer, but he's also about to go under the knife for a surgery on his arm.

I hope World Rugby impose his ban from the date he returns from injury

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭penybont exile

Yeah, but that's about their personal lives. Okay, let's use soccer as an example. Imagine Clattenburg giving a last minute penalty for handball to Barca which knocks Juve out of the Champions League. That night, would he then be spotted in a pub with Barca supporters pointing to his hand? What do you think would happen if he did that? UEFA would just dismiss it? Just the ref having a bit of fun with the lads? Is that what you think?

One thing to say to this ..... this is not football !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,904 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

, but he's also about to go under the knife for a surgery on his arm.

Wainwright must have a tough jaw:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

of course French fans can only/should only point their ire at their own player but this is not inconsequential at all. A referee at any level would be criticised for doing something like this. It's completely irresponsible to do something this reckless
    LOL

i dont expect any referees to be "professional" when they are not on the rugby pitch.. if they want to have fun and be stupid then more power to them..... god forbid they should show that they actually have a personality and are not machines.

refs being amateur is irrelevant. It's common sense not to discuss red card incidents or act them out with fans. .
    There is having fun and there is acting out on a big incident ina game when whole process of game and discipline is still ongoing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭randomname2005

Mushy wrote: »
    No confidence in TMOs after the lark they didn't call in the England Australia game.

Wasn't watching the game or following the thread, what happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

iroced wrote: »
    Vahaamahina can only blame himself..

Nobody is disputing that.

I’m sure Peyper did this on the spur of the moment with the best of intentions but it was a lapse of judgement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,038 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Wasn't watching the game or following the thread, what happened?

Australia got consolation try, TMO looking at the passes when breaking away said they looked good to him. Was clearly obvious that the second pass was forward, may have gotten away with first one.

Felt last weekend the TMO didn't want to get involved unless really necessary