RWC 2019 Ireland v Japan Match Thread: Group A - Sat 28th Sep 08:15 Shizuoka

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,623 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

VinLieger wrote: »
    Why cant people call a spade a spade? We were arrogant and quite obviously did not prepare correctly, Japan did prepare correctly and roundly beat us, some may say the ref was unfair but even if every decision had gone our way they were still the better team.

I cannot understand some peoples reactions to just dismiss all criticism

They improved and we went backwards on the Scotland performance. But that's what happens in tournaments : we were probably very naive in thinking after Scotland that we would run up a bonus point win in every group game. It just doesn't work that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,162 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

NIMAN wrote: »
    When you are meant to be the best team in the world, conditions shouldn't matter.

Conditions do matter - did you ever play in high humidity and heat , much different to an Irish autumn.

My biggest concern is the loss of form again of Murray , hopefully McGrath can step up against Russia - Sexton at 10 will make this a much better team , and Henshaw or Aki at 12 - glad Jordi is coming over, as we really need a backup to vandeFlier - thought Beirne did well when he came on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,932 ✭✭✭irishgeo

no team has ever won a world cup having lost a group stage match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭kevohmsford

It was very disappointing. Conditions were really tough. We just could not control the game. Japan deserved to win. Thought they were offside on a number of occasions especially toward the end of the game.

Really tough conditions. James Ryan could hardly move towards the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Japan v Scotland should be a cracker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,285 ✭✭✭✭walshb

VinLieger wrote: »
    Why cant people call a spade a spade? We were arrogant and quite obviously did not prepare correctly, Japan did prepare correctly and roundly beat us, some may say the ref was unfair but even if every decision had gone our way they were still the better team.

I cannot understand some peoples reactions to just dismiss all criticism

No issue with genuine fair and structured criticism..

My point was with people and their hostile slagging and slating. The ones who take joy in the loss, so they can peddle this slagging of the lads..

Calling them a disgrace and an embarrassment is not justified analysis and criticism..

The lads didn’t deliberately fail today. They simply got beaten..

• Site Banned Posts: 2,430 ✭✭✭Seadin

Go and put your money where your mouth is so

I will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,511 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Strazdas wrote: »
    They improved and we went backwards on the Scotland performance. But that's what happens in tournaments : we were probably very naive in thinking after Scotland that we would run up a bonus point win in every group game. It just doesn't work that way.

Seeing the team Joe fielded I don't think 'we' refers to the Irish management but to some online.

The game was always going to be a proper test and it was. Regroup and keep the eye on the prize...a QF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,111 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I'd be fairly sanguine about most things but kicking the ball off the park for a losing bonus point doesn't sit right with me at all.

Winners don't do that.

I remember NZ in the Aviva. 4 minutes past the 80 they kept that ball alive before Crotty scored.

Yeah they were shagged but at least die trying.

Ireland are weak mentally, they need to feel like underdogs to give their best performance. Champions aren't phased by expectation.

FFS, Japan beat SA in the last World Cup, SA still finished top of the group in a World Cup where England (at home) didn't get out of their group.

The naysaying depressants need to take a chill pill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Do posters think we’d have won that match with Sexton playing ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,990 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

Danzy wrote: »
    The ref didn't make Ireland play like that.

They lost on their own against a much weaker team who played their hearts out.

ive already asked this...

if the officiating was fair and just, do you think ireland would have won?

lawred2 wrote: »
    I'd be fairly sanguine about most things but kicking the ball off the park for a losing bonus point doesn't sit right with me at all.

Winners don't do that.

I remember NZ in the Aviva. 4 minutes past the 80 they kept that ball alive before Crotty scored.

Had he played it and we coughed up the ball or a penalty, we'd be in a very bad place instead of a marginally bad place.

Smart percentage play to my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,990 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    When was Wicklow moved outside ireland

VDF grand parents moved here in 50’s
    Shefwedfan wrote: »
    Ahh but he doesn’t sound Irish

We should have a team full of Murphy’s that sound like it’s an Irish name

i hope the circle jerk is finished. yer man made a mistake, stop labouring the point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

The arrogance of the Irish media needs to be called out. Suggesting Japan might play a second string side to put all their eggs in one basket and focus on the Scotland match. Assuming they had no chance of beating Ireland so why bother trying.

Had he played it and we coughed up the ball or a penalty, we'd be in a very bad place instead of a marginally bad place.

Smart percentage play to my mind.

Of course it was the pragmatic play. Didn't say it wasn't.

But I was left rather cold by it if I'm honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Winners don't do that.

There was not a lot to be gained from a possible 100m break, let alone even getting there. It's a pool match and on balance the only call. If Scots win against Japan we'll be back to where we expected to be. As has been posted a lot of bigger teams have had blips in the RWC but progressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,623 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Seeing the team Joe fielded I don't think 'we' refers to the Irish management but to some online.

The game was always going to be a proper test and it was. Regroup and keep the eye on the prize...a QF.

I wouldn't be overly hung up on the result anyway. Even if we'd won by one point, our WC chances would probably be similar to where we are now. The group stages can be a bit of a scrap and misleading. Nobody really knows who will hit form in the quarter finals.

This isn't a once off though, this has been a consistent theme for Ireland over the past 13 years or so.

Losing? I would say we have won more than we lost over 13 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

Seadin wrote: »
    I will.

I expect proof.

Strazdas wrote: »
    I wouldn't be overly hung up on the result anyway. Even if we'd won by one point, our WC chances would probably be similar to where we are now. The group stages can be a bit of a scrap and misleading. Nobody really knows who will hit form in the quarter finals.

Exactly. T hear the naysayers, you would think we had been knocked out today.

is_that_so wrote: »
    There was not a lot to be gained from a possible 100m break, let alone even getting there. It's a pool match and on balance the only call. If Scots win against Japan we'll be back to where we expected to be. As has been posted a lot of bigger teams have had blips in the RWC but progressed.

Again the pragmatic on paper analysis is spot on...

However they'll be both physically and mentally weakened by that result. It won't be just washed away as a 'pool match'..

If we get back on target it will be a good arse kicker for the management to use. Do the job or pay the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Winners don't do that.

big difference, that was a one off test match...no points at risk

we had no chance of scoring from that area of the pitch, he did the right thing (imo)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭snotboogie

FFS, Japan beat SA in the last World Cup, SA still finished top of the group in a World Cup where England (at home) didn't get out of their group.

The naysaying depressants need to take a chill pill.

I think it's a very different loss. South Africa genuinely didn't take Japan seriously, Ireland did and got outplayed. The attritional Schmidtball, one out runners, little to no risk taking, "play the percentages" rugby doesn't work against teams who actually look to get the head up, move the ball and play some rugby. It's either a one out runner or a crossfield kick, how many times did we pass the ball more than twice in a phase of play? Two times out of two now when Schmidt has faced a real challenge from a low ranking non six nations team in a World Cup he has been absolutely tonked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,443 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

Ireland's loss against Japan is the top story on RTÉ's lunchtime news today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭flatface

fryup wrote: »
    big difference, that was a one off test match...no points at risk

we had no chance of scoring from that area of the pitch, he did the right thing (imo)

Totally. No question about it. If you have nothing to lose you go for it but in this case it was worth keeping the point. It may prove important

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

It's a big shock.

We beat the toughest opponent in the softest group, only to lose to Japan.

Team Ireland will not be a happy place right now.

Today proved that Scotland were not the toughest opponent. I think that Japan will win their remaining matches and top the pool while Ireland, Scotland and Samoa will fight it out for second place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,497 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Losing? I would say we have won more than we lost over 13 years.

Loosing when we get arrogant and full of ourselves.

Its been our downfall in every world cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

I think the review will show up the errors and the poor decision making on our part. Two kickable penalties were spurned in favour of attrition and energy loss. We were not smart in how we approached the game. Good for 20m and then little else. As for Japan, it's hard to know. They now have a huge opportunity to progress. They must believe they can account for Samoa so it's all one one game for themselves and Scotland.