Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Jaywalking

• 03-09-2019 06:19PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,358 ✭✭✭✭

I want to find out about Jaywalking in Ireland.

Is Jaywalking as an offence in any way enforced in Ireland?

Has it ever been enforced?

I have never seen or known of anyone being spoken to by Gardaí for Jaywalking.

I Jaywalked today and feel I should turn myself in.

If I turned myself in for this crime to a Garda station would I be prosecuted?

I don't even know if it's an actual crime here??

Yer man from Jamiroquai hasn't been arrested yet.

I'll get me coat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,330 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Didn't know you could get a leash on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭daveorourke77

All this criminal behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,935 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Yes, I walked out in front of a sedan before on the way back to my SUV whilst carrying my groceries which I was going to put in my trunk but I quickly jumped back onto the sidewalk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

its only an offence within 15 meters of a pedestrian crossing, as far as i know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

The law here states a pedestrian must use a pedestrian crossing if they are within 15.24 metres (50 feet) of one. It's is not enforced unless the pedestrian had caused possible harm to others. I don't know if anybody has actually been fined though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Apparently Jaywalking only became a crime after intense lobbying by the U.S. car industry. They worked really hard in the 1920's to get the law changed to ensure cars got precedence in the streets.

https://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-26073797

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭RobbieMD

https://youtu.be/C_Trq2tC5kQ

I think you’ll be grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

Yes. Not really a crime here except in those rare cases.

I’m sure there are similar laws in most countries though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,555 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Tax and insurance and lights and high vis for pedestrians. What if one of them bumps my wing mirror, who's going to pay?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

Good discussion here.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jaywalking

Largely it’s an American idea. The U.K. has no such law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,679 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Tax and insurance and lights and high vis for pedestrians. What if one of them bumps my wing mirror, who's going to pay?

You do know how jaywalking works yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,154 ✭✭✭Greyfox

B0jangles wrote: »
    Apparently Jaywalking only became a crime after intense lobbying by the U.S. car industry. They worked really hard in the 1920's to get the law changed to ensure cars got precedence in the streets.

It's definitely one of the dumbest laws out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,543 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

I want to find out about Jaywalking in Ireland.

Is Jaywalking as an offence in any way enforced in Ireland?

Has it ever been enforced?

I have never seen or known of anyone being spoken to by Gardaí for Jaywalking.

I Jaywalked today and feel I should turn myself in.

If I turned myself in for this crime to a Garda station would I be prosecuted?

I don't even know if it's an actual crime here??

No to all of your questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,358 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

But seemingly yes it is an offence, if less than 15.24 meters from crosswalk as the esteemed poster in post #7 has pointed out :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,043 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Stay on the footpad OP.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭paleoperson

This has to be one of the dumbest threads I've seen in a long time.

"Jaywalking" is an American term, Irish people don't use it and neither do people in the UK. It's a strictly American term, or at least it's not used in Ireland. I'm sick of people seeing American words on tv and thinking they can use it just the same here.

Of course it's not an offence, it has never been an offence. Did your mom ever tell you it was an offence? Did a teacher ever say it was an offence? It's an American peculiarity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,946 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Yes, I walked out in front of a sedan before on the way back to my SUV whilst carrying my groceries which I was going to put in my trunk but I quickly jumped back onto the sidewalk.

Ah now, don’t get “sour” because someone else got to this “inane” topic for a thread before you.

I’m sure you’ve got a few lined up for the next couple of nights.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Sure the tech us the safe cross code for fook sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭gwalk

Sure the tech us the safe cross code for fook sake.

Were you absent the day they did spelling lessons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I like to use the sidewalk

Side walking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭boombang

There's a special type of jaywalking to be seen in Dublin: the junkyjaywalk, whereby a heroin addict lurches out into the road in the expectation that drivers will brake or avoid them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

"Jaywalking" is an American term, Irish people don't use it and neither do people in the UK. It's a strictly American term, or at least it's not used in Ireland. I'm sick of people seeing American words on tv and thinking they can use it just the same here.

So what’s the Irish/UK word for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,935 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Ah now, don’t get “sour” because someone else got to this “inane” topic for a thread before you.

I’m sure you’ve got a few lined up for the next couple of nights.

Yes.
    ''Why do shopping malls have loads of carts in the parking lot?''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭paleoperson

So what’s the Irish/UK word for it?

Walking across the road when you don't have the right of way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

...to get to the other side!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,679 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Pedestrians have priority at junctions in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Walking across the road when you don't have the right of way.

So there isn’t a word for it.

If you experienced the feeling that an occurrence had happened before, would you describe it as “a feeling that the present occurrence has happened before” or would you use the term “déjà vu”?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,507 ✭✭✭highdef

I'm sick of people seeing American words on tv and thinking they can use it just the same here.

Did your mom ever tell you it was an offence?

So you're sick of people using American words here yet you used the American term "Mom" to describe mother.... Ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,139 ✭✭✭Sarn

Of course it's not an offence, it has never been an offence. Did your mom ever tell you it was an offence? Did a teacher ever say it was an offence? It's an American peculiarity.

(7) On a roadway on which a traffic sign number RPC 001 [pedestrian crossing] has been provided, a pedestrian shall not cross the roadway within 15 metres of the crossing, except by the crossing.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1997/si/182/made/en/print