Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jaywalking

• 03-09-2019 5:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,408 ✭✭✭✭

I want to find out about Jaywalking in Ireland.

Is Jaywalking as an offence in any way enforced in Ireland?

Has it ever been enforced?

I have never seen or known of anyone being spoken to by Gardaí for Jaywalking.

I Jaywalked today and feel I should turn myself in.

If I turned myself in for this crime to a Garda station would I be prosecuted?

I don't even know if it's an actual crime here??

Yer man from Jamiroquai hasn't been arrested yet.

I'll get me coat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Didn't know you could get a leash on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭daveorourke77

All this criminal behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,214 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Yes, I walked out in front of a sedan before on the way back to my SUV whilst carrying my groceries which I was going to put in my trunk but I quickly jumped back onto the sidewalk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,414 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

its only an offence within 15 meters of a pedestrian crossing, as far as i know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

The law here states a pedestrian must use a pedestrian crossing if they are within 15.24 metres (50 feet) of one. It's is not enforced unless the pedestrian had caused possible harm to others. I don't know if anybody has actually been fined though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Apparently Jaywalking only became a crime after intense lobbying by the U.S. car industry. They worked really hard in the 1920's to get the law changed to ensure cars got precedence in the streets.

https://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-26073797

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭RobbieMD

https://youtu.be/C_Trq2tC5kQ

I think you’ll be grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

Yes. Not really a crime here except in those rare cases.

I’m sure there are similar laws in most countries though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Tax and insurance and lights and high vis for pedestrians. What if one of them bumps my wing mirror, who's going to pay?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

Good discussion here.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jaywalking

Largely it’s an American idea. The U.K. has no such law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Tax and insurance and lights and high vis for pedestrians. What if one of them bumps my wing mirror, who's going to pay?

You do know how jaywalking works yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭Greyfox

B0jangles wrote: »
    Apparently Jaywalking only became a crime after intense lobbying by the U.S. car industry. They worked really hard in the 1920's to get the law changed to ensure cars got precedence in the streets.

It's definitely one of the dumbest laws out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

I want to find out about Jaywalking in Ireland.

Is Jaywalking as an offence in any way enforced in Ireland?

Has it ever been enforced?

I have never seen or known of anyone being spoken to by Gardaí for Jaywalking.

I Jaywalked today and feel I should turn myself in.

If I turned myself in for this crime to a Garda station would I be prosecuted?

I don't even know if it's an actual crime here??

No to all of your questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,408 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

But seemingly yes it is an offence, if less than 15.24 meters from crosswalk as the esteemed poster in post #7 has pointed out :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Stay on the footpad OP.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

This has to be one of the dumbest threads I've seen in a long time.

"Jaywalking" is an American term, Irish people don't use it and neither do people in the UK. It's a strictly American term, or at least it's not used in Ireland. I'm sick of people seeing American words on tv and thinking they can use it just the same here.

Of course it's not an offence, it has never been an offence. Did your mom ever tell you it was an offence? Did a teacher ever say it was an offence? It's an American peculiarity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,426 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Yes, I walked out in front of a sedan before on the way back to my SUV whilst carrying my groceries which I was going to put in my trunk but I quickly jumped back onto the sidewalk.

Ah now, don’t get “sour” because someone else got to this “inane” topic for a thread before you.

I’m sure you’ve got a few lined up for the next couple of nights.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Sure the tech us the safe cross code for fook sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭gwalk

Sure the tech us the safe cross code for fook sake.

Were you absent the day they did spelling lessons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I like to use the sidewalk

Side walking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

There's a special type of jaywalking to be seen in Dublin: the junkyjaywalk, whereby a heroin addict lurches out into the road in the expectation that drivers will brake or avoid them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

"Jaywalking" is an American term, Irish people don't use it and neither do people in the UK. It's a strictly American term, or at least it's not used in Ireland. I'm sick of people seeing American words on tv and thinking they can use it just the same here.

So what’s the Irish/UK word for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,214 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Ah now, don’t get “sour” because someone else got to this “inane” topic for a thread before you.

I’m sure you’ve got a few lined up for the next couple of nights.

Yes.
    ''Why do shopping malls have loads of carts in the parking lot?''

So what’s the Irish/UK word for it?

Walking across the road when you don't have the right of way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,414 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

...to get to the other side!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Pedestrians have priority at junctions in Ireland.

Walking across the road when you don't have the right of way.

So there isn’t a word for it.

If you experienced the feeling that an occurrence had happened before, would you describe it as “a feeling that the present occurrence has happened before” or would you use the term “déjà vu”?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,380 ✭✭✭highdef

I'm sick of people seeing American words on tv and thinking they can use it just the same here.

Did your mom ever tell you it was an offence?

So you're sick of people using American words here yet you used the American term "Mom" to describe mother.... Ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭Sarn

Of course it's not an offence, it has never been an offence. Did your mom ever tell you it was an offence? Did a teacher ever say it was an offence? It's an American peculiarity.

(7) On a roadway on which a traffic sign number RPC 001 [pedestrian crossing] has been provided, a pedestrian shall not cross the roadway within 15 metres of the crossing, except by the crossing.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1997/si/182/made/en/print

So there isn’t a word for it.

If you experienced the feeling that an occurrence had happened before, would you describe it as “a feeling that the present occurrence has happened before” or would you use the term “d vu”?
    highdef wrote: »
    So you're sick of people using American words here yet you used the American term "Mom" to describe mother.... Ha ha

Both “deja vu” and "mom" are fully accepted terms to use in normal Irish speaking culture. C'est la vie is also accepted and Ciao, but if started blurting out "je vous en prie" people would think there was something wrong with you - and quite rightly so.

It is quite true that language changes over time and sometimes gets accepted in different regions. If you want to make "jaywalking" a term here then maybe you could try it some time in conversation and maybe it would catch on. Don't just come in here expecting like everyone is going to go along with American terms.

Can we not be different in some ways from other english speaking countries with how we use words?

Pedestrians have priority at junctions in Ireland.

Is this true? Fantastic if so. I give pedestrians the priority out of courtesy, but I notice many drivers don't. I don't recall it being in my lessons as a learner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,770 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Gaywalking is where it’s at ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Both “deja vu” and "mom" are fully accepted terms to use in normal Irish speaking culture.

'Mom' is in its hole fully accepted in normal Irish speaking culture. Just to people that use it. It's an abomination.

AND YOU'RE A MONSTER!

Both “d vu” and "mom" are fully accepted terms to use in normal Irish speaking culture.

Can we not be different in some ways from other english speaking countries with how we use words?

If you want to make "jaywalking" a term here then maybe you could try it some time in conversation and maybe it would catch on. Don't just come in here expecting like everyone is going to go along with American terms.

So you’re ok with some loan words, but not others. Interesting. Is it just American ones you have a problem with? Would you get all bent out of shape if someone used the term “hot dog” to describe a grilled or steamed link-sausage sandwich where the sausage is served in the slit of a partially sliced bun?

boombang wrote: »
    Is this true? Fantastic if so. I give pedestrians the priority out of courtesy, but I notice many drivers don't. I don't recall it being in my lessons as a learner.

Now that he mentioned that, it does ring a bell for me and I think it may well be the case. Whatever it is, it was obviously devised by some ivory tower penpusher, you can't just walk out in front of oncoming traffic.

So you’re ok with some loan words, but not others. Interesting. Is it just American ones you have a problem with? Would you get all bent out of shape if someone used the term “hot dog” to describe a grilled or steamed link-sausage sandwich where the sausage is served in the slit of a partially sliced bun?

I certainly am "ok with some loan words, but not others", that's how language works and it's a trivial and obvious thing that everyone rightly does and not interesting at all. Also your term "loan words" is an odd one to use here that isn't clear and I can only imagine the reason you're using it is to make your point look better to yourself.

No it's not just American terms - sorry I edited my post to reflect that after you started your post.

I certainly am "ok with some loan words, but not others", that's how language works and it's a trivial and obvious thing that everyone rightly does and not interesting at all.

No it's not just American terms - sorry I edited my post to reflect that after you started your post.

But how do you feel about “hot dog”?

Now that he mentioned that, it does ring a bell for me and I think it may well be the case. Whatever it is, it was obviously devised by some ivory tower penpusher, you can't just walk out in front of oncoming traffic.

Yeah, not so. I checked it. It says you should yield at junctions to pedestrians already crossing. Basically you shouldn't run people over:

"22.—(1) When starting from a stationary position a driver shall yield the right of way to other traffic and pedestrians.

(2) A driver approaching a road junction shall yield the right of way to another vehicle which has commenced to turn or cross at the junction in accordance with these bye-laws, and to a pedestrian who has commenced to cross at the junction in accordance with these bye-laws."

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1964/si/294/made/en/print

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,380 ✭✭✭highdef

Both “deja vu” and "mom" are fully accepted terms to use in normal Irish speaking culture.

"Mom" has traditionally not been commonly used to describe a mother. It's a fairly recent thing due to the infiltration of American culture, moreso in more affluent D4 like areas.

"Deja Vu" is French. It translates directly into "Already Seen". "Deja Vu" is a completely French term, in French.

But how do you feel about “hot dog”?

Hot dog has been integrated and used in Irish culture. Jaywalking has not. You can't just pull up random words and use them, jaywalking cannot even be described properly for someone doing it here because it's not a crime.
    boombang wrote: »
    Yeah, not so. I checked it. It says you should yield at junctions to pedestrians already crossing. Basically you shouldn't run people over:

"22.—(1) When starting from a stationary position a driver shall yield the right of way to other traffic and pedestrians.

(2) A driver approaching a road junction shall yield the right of way to another vehicle which has commenced to turn or cross at the junction in accordance with these bye-laws, and to a pedestrian who has commenced to cross at the junction in accordance with these bye-laws."

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1964/si/294/made/en/print

Yeah, it's so. What's written there is exactly what I said.

I said that yes that is how it is in the law.

However you can't just run out into oncoming traffic - ie. common sense. Get it? Jesus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Hot dog has been integrated and used in Irish culture. Jaywalking has not. You can't just pull up random words and use them, jaywalking cannot even be described properly for someone doing it here because it's not a crime.

Yeah, it's so. What's written there is exactly what I said.

I said that yes that is how it is in the law.

However you can't just run out into oncoming traffic - ie. common sense. Get it? Jesus.

I'm agreeing with you that the claim made by the other poster wasn't correct.

It’s already been established that there is such an office described in Irish law under certain circumstances. But let’s put that aside for the moment.

Would you be ok with an American using the word in Ireland when taking to Irish people?

Would you be ok with an Irish person using the word in Ireland to describe the activity in America?

It’s already been established that there is such an office described in Irish law under certain circumstances. But let’s put that aside for the moment.

That law is contradicted by other laws since posted and if you use that convoluted one literally noone will understand what you mean by it.
    Would you be ok with an American using the word in Ireland when taking to Irish people?

If they said something a normal person would like "in America we call that jaywalking" or if they thought it was used here yes.
    Would you be ok with an Irish person using the word in Ireland to describe the activity in America?

Yeah, as a legal offence that exists there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

I think if you were close to a garda and he saw you , he,d tell you to
    get off the road.
    you are putting yourself in danger, and you could cause an accident if cars have to swerve or stop to avoid you.
    i do,nt think you,d be arrested for this offense unless you were drunk,
    or you were rude to the garda .
    If all traffic is at a stop and i,m in a hurry , i might cross the road ,
    even though i,m breaking the law. But i,ll be careful to wait until theres
    no cars in motion.

Once there was a lady talking to someone in a car in the right hand lane in a busy city street, both lanes were fairly narrow and in the same direction so there wasn't a large amount of room there (there were several other lanes outside them). And she talked and talked and I got the green light and was in a hurry, so I sped on quickly, well outside her and leaving more than enough for a safe space between us.

However she spun around really quickly at just the wrong moment and it was a real scary moment for me because it suddenly occurred to me what if she thought that the cars in that lane were waiting/would wait for her and was just about to run across to stop "holding us up", she would have been hit at a really fast speed and I'd be powerless to stop in time. She didn't though, she just turned around on the spot. I'm sure she had no intention of running across and I was the only one who had a scary moment. But you can never trust pedestrians.

That law is contradicted by other laws since posted and if you use that convoluted one literally noone will understand what you mean by it.

If they said something a normal person would like "in America we call that jaywalking" or if they thought it was used here yes.

Yeah, as a legal offence that exists there.

If the Dáil passed legislation tomorrow outlawing the pedestrian crossing of roads except at designated crossing points, how would you feel about the word being used here to describe the offence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,408 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

This has to be one of the dumbest threads I've seen in a long time.

Of course it's not an offence, it has never been an offence.

IT IS AN OFFENCE UNDER IRISH LAW (FACT, FACT, FACT, FACT, FACT, FACT, FACT) :cool:

*sorry for shouting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

It's quite obnoxious that you have to press a button and wait for 'permission' to walk. I'd change the law so that people who aren't in cars have the right-of-way at all times.