Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Dominance of Dublin GAA *Mod warning post#1*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭Paulzx

Are you a member of the GAA? If you are you will know what true Gael means

I'm a member of the GAA. Please explain what a "true Gael" is. Can i find it in the GAA rules somewhere:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

You would think that the Tan/brasser bloodline had been well diluted by now. But every so often science produces a throwback.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭ToBeFrank123

Paulzx wrote: »
    I'm a member of the GAA. Please explain what a "true Gael" is.

Ability to talk for endless hours on a barstool about GAA matters with a varying degree of knowledge.
    Sympathetic to the IRA.
    Hates the Brits.
    Obsessed with getting a ticket for AI final.
    Permanently wears rainjacket with county crest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Bonniedog wrote: »
    If you actually followed soccer in Dublin you would be among the 3,000 at Tallaght tonight.

Embarrassing to see a grown man with the crest of a city you have no connection with. Scarlet for ye... :o

7000 in Tallaght

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

odyssey06 wrote: »
    Maybe in some parts of Dublin, but not in mine... my 'natural' local team option in my Dublin suburb was GAA not soccer or rugby. But I would not have had to go far to experience either and growing up the local teams in the other codes would have been challenging for the domestic titles - as were my GAA teams :)

Things have changed somewhat in Dublin across the board, maybe playing GAA and rugby is treated as a sporting choice and not an identity one.

TBH once upon a time every generation of dubs had its cohort who thought that anything Irish was culchie and whatever came out of the UK was the bee knees

They were the types who's Ma sent off for the Sunday Mails Princess Di plates. A strange breed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

major bill wrote: »
    7000 in Tallaght

I suppose its a night off for the Lidl anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

True gaels have no interest in this Frankenstein’s monster of a team produced by huge money pumped through.

No interest. A sick aberration.

That Frankenstein monster is hours of dedicated training, fitness and skill by amateur lads who also hold down day jobs.

You sound like one of those aul lads sitting on a bar stool, pontificating about something you possibly never played competitively and know feck all about.

Would you mind telling me what County you are from ? I am genuinely curious what would generate such nonsensical bile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,580 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

7000 in Tallaght
    Soccer crowds in the capital are rising as GAA crowds fall. It is a much more competitive scene then the GAA so no surprise there. The longer Dublin stroll the AI the more this trend will continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Bambi wrote: »
    TBH once upon a time every generation of dubs had its cohort who thought that anything Irish was culchie and whatever came out of the UK was the bee knees

They were the types who's Ma sent off for the Sunday Mails Princess Di plates. A strange breed.

Indeed. It is a strange quirk, when you think about it objectively. Are there many countries out there where the population of a city labels everyone outside that city as, basically a gang of thicks, and aligned themselves more with the habits of another country, in this case being one that treated their own country terribly. Its a strange dynamic, you would wonder how it came about and what psychology is behid it. Probably a discussion not for this thread, but I dont doubt it plays a part in this 31v1 mentality. In fairness, when nobody objected to the government funding, it is hard to see how anyone could genuinely claim that it is 31v1... The impression I get is that 1v31 is closer to the reality...

In reality, we need to take a step back from county allegiances and try to view the thing objectively if we want to make the sport all it can be. At the moment it is going the wrong way. The setup is too unfair and because of that interest in both playing intercounty and watching it is dropping. You can get bogged down in various aspects but at a base level, as was mentioned earlier in the thread, dublin are funded as a province, and it isnt really sustainable to be funded as a province but compete as a county. That is the long and short of the problem. The parhs available are either fund it as a county, or compete as a province. I think the latter is a better option for all concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

STB. wrote: »
    That Frankenstein monster is hours of dedicated training, fitness and skill by amateur lads who also hold down day jobs.

In fairness, this is taken as read for every inter county footballer... I dont think you can really claim that this is what is setting them apart...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Bambi wrote: »

You'd still be in the UK if it wasn't for us. Did you do history for your inter cert?

RoyalCelt wrote: »
    Soccer crowds in the capital are rising as GAA crowds fall. It is a much more competitive scene then the GAA so no surprise there. The longer Dublin stroll the AI the more this trend will continue.

They are up but not rising consistently to cause worry, this derby is marketed and has been past few years so their is a greater interest in this than say UCD who rovers had about 2000 at.

Crowds will dwindle further in the earlier rounds of the championship but Dublin won't lose those crowds to local soccer.

In fairness, this is taken as read for every inter county footballer... I dont think you can really claim that this is what is setting them apart...

In fairness, my arse.

Fitness

There are plenty of teams that are exhausted after 35-40 minutes. Some stay as far as 50-60 minutes. Most wilt as they are not fit enough. They are simply not up to the strength and conditioning of other counties because they do not put enough in to getting to that level, which requires a lot of drive and commitment and personal dedication.

Skill and teamwork

The individual skill to turn on a sixpence and consistently point from distance is a skill that not every forward has at county level. To be able to foot pass a ball over long distances with pin point accuracy and the teamwork to harness goals and point in that scenario

Coupled together those abilities can dismantle a team within 10 minutes with devastating consequences as you well know having experienced just that in a semi final a few weeks back.

They have done it for four years on the trot.

I can claim that is what sets them apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Could better resources and funding be part of the reason Dublin are so fit? No, obviously that's not it and sports science is all quackery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭tikkahunter

RoyalCelt wrote: »
    Please show the figures to back up that outlandish claim. I live in close proximity to Croke Park , Dalymount and Richmond, the crowds for the majority of the league games are dismal , a few hundred in the corner of a stand shouting generic chants at each other, the only “sell out games “ are the rovers vs bohs , mainly made up of teenagers thinking they are football hooligans and giving the Gardaí plenty of OT and grief of a match evening.

Could better resources and funding be part of the reason Dublin are so fit? No, obviously that's not it and sports science is all quackery.

15 men play each other on the field at any time.

Those who have natural talent, fitness and team cohesion do have the upper hand.

To suggest otherwise, shows a complete lack of understanding of how simple the game is. It would be too easy to take the neanderthal approach of not tackling the real problem which lies in ones own county.

The grass is always greener....but so can the monsters be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

When you run out of arguments about dominance resort to aligning Dublin n with the UK. Oh and play the poor countryman card.
    It really is getting more amusing by the post, keep it going lads, it’s great reading.

Those who have natural talent, fitness and team cohesion do have the upper hand.

To suggest otherwise, shows a complete lack of understanding of how simple the game is. It would be too easy to take the neanderthal approach of not tackling the real problem which lies in ones own county.

You seem to be suggesting that all of those things occur naturally, and that money could have nothing to do with them.

The Dublin players are obviously fantastic, and they've worked hard to be where they are, but the insistence that money has nothing to do with success is delusional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭munster87

In fairness, my arse.

Fitness

There are plenty of teams that are exhausted after 35-40 minutes. Some stay as far as 50-60 minutes. Most wilt as they are not fit enough. They are simply not up to the strength and conditioning of other counties because they do not put enough in to getting to that level, which requires a lot of drive and commitment and personal dedication.

Skill and teamwork

The individual skill to turn on a sixpence and consistently point from distance is a skill that not every forward has at county level. To be able to foot pass a ball over long distances with pin point accuracy and the teamwork to harness goals and point in that scenario

Coupled together those abilities can dismantle a team within 10 minutes with devastating consequences as you well know having experienced just that in a semi final a few weeks back.

They have done it for four years on the trot.

I can claim that is what sets them apart.

Suggesting that other counties aren’t as strong as they ‘do not put enough into getting to that level’ and questioning their commitment and personal dedication is a low blow to the majority of inter-county players all over the country who at the end of the day are amateurs juggling travel, work and training as best they can. If only the Leitrim/Waterford/Antrim etc footballers had the dedication and will to win. The All Ireland would be so much more competitive.

You seem to be suggesting that all of those things occur naturally, and that money could have nothing to do with them.

The Dublin players are obviously fantastic, and they've worked hard to be where they are, but the insistence that money has nothing to do with success is delusional.

Some indivuals have a natural disposition to play any type of sport at a high level.
    • The ability to consistently turn from and point from distance is a skill many will never have.
    • The ability to consistently drive a ball to a team mate is not something every one has.
    • The ability to pick out a player 9 out of 10 times with a pass or kick out is not something every team has.
    • The ability to turn an oppononent inside out and get by him, to consistently score goals
    For most those traits don't occur naturally.

To have superior strength and conditioning and fitness requires a lot of personal dedication, drive and commitment.

To do ALL that cohesively as a team is devastating.

You are delusional if you think this Dublin panel has anything to do with money.

Please show the figures to back up that outlandish claim. I live in close proximity to Croke Park , Dalymount and Richmond, the crowds for the majority of the league games are dismal , a few hundred in the corner of a stand shouting generic chants at each other, the only “sell out games “ are the rovers vs bohs , mainly made up of teenagers thinking they are football hooligans and giving the Gardalenty of OT and grief of a match evening.

He is kinda right though, Bohs attendances are up 38% this year, Rovers are fairly healthy too. They ain't consistent though across the board.

You're last point is extremely ignorant and clueless.

To have superior strength and conditioning and fitness requires a lot of personal dedication, drive and commitment.

Would a full time strength and conditioning coach help? As a lot of counties don’t have one.

Saying that money has no relation to fitness is essentially claiming that sports science is all nonsense.

Take Mayo as an example, like if you haven’t won an AI in over 50 years you would have to question your own county board and wonder why they haven’t got their house in order to lay the foundations to win one in that time , like in Dublin we where frustrated for a long time but the county board got its act together and set out a plan and if needed funding went out and got it and primed themselves for success. If lads are frustrated with Dublin then they should be equally frustrated at their own county board and their lack of vision and drive .

He is kinda right though, Bohs attendances are up 38% this year, Rovers are fairly healthy too. They ain't consistent though across the board.

You're last point is extremely ignorant and clueless.
    Well I live in the area so I see the ****e that goes on around the lanes in Phibsborough and how many guards it takes up

Take Mayo as an example, like if you haven’t won an AI in over 50 years you would have to question your own county board and wonder why they haven’t got their house in order to lay the foundations to win one in that time , like in Dublin we where frustrated for a long time but the county board got its act together and set out a plan and if needed funding went out and got it and primed themselves for success. If lads are frustrated with Dublin then they should be equally frustrated at their own county board and their lack of vision and drive .

You are acting as though the Dublin county board got funding that would be equally available to all counties. That's mot the case.

munster87 wrote: »
    Suggesting that other counties aren’t as strong as they ‘do not put enough into getting to that level’ and questioning their commitment and personal dedication is a low blow to the majority of inter-county players all over the country who at the end of the day are amateurs juggling travel, work and training as best they can. If only the Leitrim/Waterford/Antrim etc footballers had the dedication and will to win. The All Ireland would be so much more competitive.

We wouldn't have threads questioning the dominance of the Dubs if that weren't the case. I dont think anyone is talking about Leitrim/Waterford/Antrim (bad effort)

Its easier to point to perceived bias, when the results don't go their way.

No one was starting these threads when Dublin with all their advantages couldn't win an All Ireland between 1995 and 2011, so you'll forgive me for not giving a toss.

I'll take solace and enjoyment in the magnificent team of skillful and fit players we currently have. They are a joy to watch. If other counties match them, then games can only get more competitive. And it will happen. They are not unbeatable.

Over and Out.
    Would a full time strength and conditioning coach help? As a lot of counties don’t have one.

Name me one of the Counties that should be competing at the highest level that don't have one. They have always existed.

They don't get themselves on the pitch on the day.

"People weren't complaining about something before ot happened."

We wouldn't have threads questioning the dominance of the Dubs if that weren't the case. I dont think anyone is talking about Leitrim/Waterford/Antrim (bad effort)

Its easier to point to perceived bias, when the results don't go their way.

No one was starting these threads when Dublin with all their advantages couldn't win an All Ireland between 1995 and 2011, so you'll forgive me for not giving a toss.

I'll take solace and enjoyment in the magnificent team of skillful and fit players we currently have. They are a joy to watch. If other counties match them, then games can only get more competitive. And it will happen. They are not unbeatable.

Over and Out.

Ok, I’m talking about every county outside of the top 5 then. I’m from Kerry, I know that having a proper strength and conditioning coach/schedule makes our players fitter than the footballers from 80% of other counties. Is it because Kerry lads are naturally fitter, it is on its f””k. You are talking shîte.

Natural fitness, starts with dedicating every bit of your spare time in the gym, on the road, on the training ground. It also involves personal sacrifices to not eat/not drink like the rest of your friends. Very easy to ignore when you are in your twenties. Doing all that, having natural skill and an ability to perform as a unit in a team is not someone everyone can do.

You don't need a dedicated fitness coach to tell you this. They are not a new phenomenon. Ye have had one for years in the Kerry management setup. Dont play the gobdaw.