Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aul wuns at the Checkout Till

• Registered Users Posts: 6,614 ✭✭✭Feisar

Try the post office when it's pension day. Feckin' joke. Staff seem to be as bad, encouraging it. I got to the counter and this lad starts on about the day. I'm her to pay my speeding fine and feck off. I'll sure as hell be polite but I'm not here for idle chit chat especially when I can hear creaking hips behind me.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 30,334 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Feisar wrote: »
    Try the post office when it's pension day. Feckin' joke. Staff seem to be as bad, encouraging it. I got to the counter and this lad starts on about the day. I'm her to pay my speeding fine and feck off. I'll sure as hell be polite but I'm not here for idle chit chat especially when I can hear creaking hips behind me.

Sorry the staff member wasn't going fast enough for you!
    Slow down a little.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Of course it's mostly women .
    They're never ready .
    Same at set of traffic lights .... Lights change to green/ get your head out of the phone .
    Of course she won't have to stop ... It's us 5 cars back that have to stop .

My (male) colleague sits in a queue at traffic lights and only puts his car in gear once the car in front of him moves off. :confused:

I have to restrain myself from ripping his head off.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭beejee

Shopping will be done online or, alternatively, by scanning as we go and then automatically having payment taken when we walk out of the shop. Another way you won't be able to annoy the rest of us.

I don't blame people for these amateur assumptions, however you simply must be corrected.

Whereas you believe you will be able to evade my god-inspiring aged muscular frame by shopping online, you've forgotten about my future skill of transcending physicality.

Like a pop-up virus, just as you're about to check out online, I'll exert minimal contraction of the shin muscles thus obscuring your screen, simultaneously imparting snow-blindness from my bleached 120 year old leg.

You forgot that, didn't ye. They all do.

Sorry the staff member wasn't going fast enough for you!
    Slow down a little.

Hahaha!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭Rezident

When I worked on the till in Dunnes Stores there was a mother with her young son and these two auld wans, must have been in their sixties, asking him what he wanted for Christmas. The kid said he wanted an Action Man and one of the auld wans goes 'don't we all'!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,289 ✭✭✭dresden8

UNEXPECTED AULD WAN IN THE BAGGING AREA

UNEXPECTED AULD WAN IN THE AULD BAG AREA.

FYP

• Registered Users Posts: 888 ✭✭✭fmpisces

Well I think aul lads are worse :pac:

Chill out OP, we'll all be old some day......

• Registered Users Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Hahaha speeding fine. So funny.

Them's the breaks.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,176 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

It took what 3 minutes to wait?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭SirChenjin

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    We'll all be old and lonely some day as well.

Although it will undoubtedly some day induce a heart attack in me, the more of a rush you're in, the slower they are.

It's the (invariably) younger ones who scan all the shopping and then go "oops, I forgot X, do you mind???" and go cantering off down the supermarket, rendering the till useless until they return, that will get me done for murder some day.

Had that ahead of me one day last week. They didn't even say sorry.
    It was a couple, she went back for something and he stood like a statue, doing nothing, until she returned.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,645 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Tesco and their fooking clothing range going through the checkouts is another fooker, the checkout operators hand pack them in paper bags like something from coming out of jaysus Louis Copeland, always takes ages or you get some bellend buying them thinking the checkout operator is a master tailor and knows if an Age 11-12 shirt will fit her son who is 10.5. Ffs, just fook off.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,943 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

SirChenjin wrote: »
    Had that ahead of me one day last week. They didn't even say sorry.
    It was a couple, she went back for something and he stood like a statue, doing nothing, until she returned.
    Paralysed with mortification, I hope.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,893 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

BuboBubo wrote: »
    I don't mind the aul ones, I'm practically one myself :D

The worst ones are the deaf and blind parent brigade with their ill mannered spawn bawling for chocolate etc.

I'd happily queue behind 27 oul ones to avoid that lot, with their little crotch goblins climbing onto the packing shelf and their parents with the solicitor on speed dial.

Crotch goblins.
    Thanks, going to use this.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,902 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Some people will do anything to get another women bashing thread in.

Remember, for many old people living alone, a chat with the checkout operator may be the only contact they have that day.

My Mum goes to Lidl on Wednesdays to get out of the house and have a rummage through the middle aisle. She comes home with some random rubbish, which she shows me on a Saturdsy.

As for the aul wans (and aul fellas), leave em off enjoy their shopping and more power to them.

Growing old is a privilege denied to many.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

beejee wrote: »
    ... Their peers will giggle at their burst heads and coo in admiration as I bound over the checkout, through the shop window and into my revving Rolls Royce, hob nobs intact as I laugh with the gusto of the four winds.

Probably.

Don't be ridiculous, a Roll Royce doesn't rev, it merely emits an understated contented purr.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,134 ✭✭✭screamer

I think young wans are incredibly rude. They don’t even look up from their phones to speak to the cashier.
    Personally with small kids with me I am Uber organized, no wallet, card in back pocket and left up beside the machine as I go past so they know I’m paying with card. I pack the conveyor belt putting similar stuff together for easier bag packing afterwards and I’m through as quick as the cashier can scan. Yes I shop in aldi and lidl but I also talk to the cashiers which is rare and they’re people too probably bored off their tree. I feel sorry for auld wans maybe they have no one left to talk to. But, as you were........

I was in Dunnes a few months ago and the checkout girl and customer in front of me seemed to know each other. I’m not joking when I say the checkout girl scanned the items so slowly, one by one ,chatting between each item , it took forever. They were chatting about the upcoming Communion , what the kids were going to wear, fake tans, what food the caterers were making etc.

The payment process took even longer as customer had all her bloody vouchers in a side pocket of her bag, the communion chat continuing all the time as she rummaged. . THEN the packing up of all the shopping had to be done by BOTH of them , as slowly as possible to keep the chat going.

Not once did cashier look up at me or the queue. It was a crazy busy Saturday morning so all cashiers were flat out . This took the biscuit though ! If you want to chat to your friends PHONE them ! I made a complaint to Dunnes that time .

• Registered Users Posts: 4,127 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

OP your Aulwan is the worst :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Gerry G wrote: »
    Why is it that they can never have their money or their card ready by the time their mountain of shopping has been scanned? Why do they have to go rooting in their oversized bag every feckin time. Then when all is said and done they decide to produce the vouchers and have a chat with the bored checkout assistant. All the while, everyone else behind them are just waiting to pay for their stuff, get the hell out of dodge and get on with their day? Feckin aul wuns

So it's not just me.

So how this scenario ALWAYS plays out in my local Tesco

Oul dear in front of me, let's say in her 60's, puts her basket of shopping down, bleeped through, then will ask the foreign lad on the till for the most obscure pack of cigarettes known to man. After lad pointing at every single pack she decides on the most obvious pack

Then we move on to Euro millions

Then to Irish lotto

Then to check previous tickets for winners

Then we move on to scratch cards

Then we move on to packing up shopping

I HAVEN'T GOT THE TIME OR PATIENTS FOR THIS YOU SELFISH FCUKER. DO ALL THIS BEFORE 4.30

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

screamer wrote: »
    I think young wans are incredibly rude. They don’t even look up from their phones to speak to the cashier.
    Personally with small kids with me I am Uber organized, no wallet, card in back pocket and left up beside the machine as I go past so they know I’m paying with card. I pack the conveyor belt putting similar stuff together for easier bag packing afterwards and I’m through as quick as the cashier can scan. Yes I shop in aldi and lidl but I also talk to the cashiers which is rare and they’re people too probably bored off their tree. I feel sorry for auld wans maybe they have no one left to talk to. But, as you were........
    Oh if everyone was as perfect as you it would be a lovely world

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭SirChenjin

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Paralysed with mortification, I hope.

Not at all.

I don't know why the cashier didn't go ahead and scan the stuff and he could have packed so that there would only be one thing to go through when she eventually returned.

But no, complete halt and not a word of apology.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,902 ✭✭✭✭anewme

So it's not just me.

So how this scenario ALWAYS plays out in my local Tesco

Oul dear in front of me, let's say in her 60's, puts her basket of shopping down, bleeped through, then will ask the foreign lad on the till for the most obscure pack of cigarettes known to man. After lad pointing at every single pack she decides on the most obvious pack

Then we move on to Euro millions

Then to Irish lotto

Then to check previous tickets for winners

Then we move on to scratch cards

Then we move on to packing up shopping

I HAVEN'T GOT THE TIME OR PATIENTS FOR THIS YOU SELFISH FCUKER. DO ALL THIS BEFORE 4.30

Ah Doctor., you need to be a bit more patient.

a patient is for life, not just for Tesco.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Infernal Racket

anewme wrote: »
    Some people will do anything to get another women bashing thread in.

Remember, for many old people living alone, a chat with the checkout operator may be the only contact they have that day.

My Mum goes to Lidl on Wednesdays to get out of the house and have a rummage through the middle aisle. She comes home with some random rubbish, which she shows me on a Saturdsy.

As for the aul wans (and aul fellas), leave em off enjoy their shopping and more power to them.

Growing old is a privilege denied to many.

They can stand at the door or in the aisles and chat away all day if they wish, just don't do it at the damn checkout holding up everyone else.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

If you go into a Post Office on pension day morning you deserve all you get, frankly! Everyone knows what it is like... walk on by and come back later

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Not once did cashier look up at me or the queue. It was a crazy busy Saturday morning so all cashiers were flat out . This took the biscuit though ! If you want to chat to your friends PHONE them ! I made a complaint to Dunnes that time .

i don't blame ya, but that young one may have got the sack because of it...how do you feel about that?

fryup wrote: »
    i don't blame ya, but that young one may have got the sack because of it...how do you feel about that?

She didn't , she's still there 🙂, it's my local Dunnes .

.....and by the way she's not paid to slow down the scanning process in order to chat to her friends with a queue of 6 people waiting , no eye contact , no 'sorry to keep you waiting ' (which Lidl always do ). She's paid to work and give good customer service .

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

^^^^^^^^^^

i know, i understand you're frustration ..its a bugbear of mine as well

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

She didn't , she's still there ��, it's my local Dunnes .

.....and by the way she's not paid to slow down the scanning process in order to chat to her friends with a queue of 6 people waiting , no eye contact , no 'sorry to keep you waiting ' (which Lidl always do ). She's paid to work and give good customer service .

Nor is she or a customer a machine. She was giving excellent service...