Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aul wuns at the Checkout Till

• Registered Users Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Rufeo wrote: »
    I always go to the self service tills. But then I suppose I am going to Tesco. And only shop a few items at a time. Usually I go in late at night as well.

At least the people working on the tills don't look at surprise at the machine each time it correctly scans an item.

Heinz beans in the hand. Beep. Oh, look! It says Heinz beans on the screen. 69c. Wow! That's what it said on the shelf too. That's really impressive. What's up next? Kerrygold. Beep. Hmmm impressive. Knew exactly what it was. Now I am buying two of these. So I'll just put the other one in the bagging area without scanning it and work out how to tell the machine how I am doubling up. Which halts the whole operation so the little light goes red and they await the arrival of the disinterested attendant, get an explanation and say they didn't realise that you can't do that.

And that's before they ask themselves if they want a bag or not, then realise that they didn't weigh their grapes in the fruit and veg area. So their little light goes to red and they await the arrival of the disinterested attendant. Finally, it's time to pay. And they then take out two debit cards, one credit card and a fistful of change. After a few attempts at remembering their pin they are paid and ready to go. A quick check of the receipt to see if everything they bought scanned correctly. Then off they go, smiling and metaphorically patting themselves on the back for being so technologically advanced and marvelling at all the time they saved by not going to the checkout.

If it were up to me, I'd do a course on self checkout. Issue a licence. And then have a bank of the machines only for those who are licensed. Let the idiots use the other one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

At least the people working on the tills don't look at surprise at the machine each time it correctly scans an item.

Heinz beans in the hand. Beep. Oh, look! It says Heinz beans on the screen. 69c. Wow! That's what it said on the shelf too. That's really impressive. What's up next? Kerrygold. Beep. Hmmm impressive. Knew exactly what it was. Now I am buying two of these. So I'll just put the other one in the bagging area without scanning it and work out how to tell the machine how I am doubling up. Which halts the whole operation so the little light goes red and they await the arrival of the disinterested attendant, get an explanation and say they didn't realise that you can't do that.

And that's before they ask themselves if they want a bag or not, then realise that they didn't weigh their grapes in the fruit and veg area. So their little light goes to red and they await the arrival of the disinterested attendant. Finally, it's time to pay. And they then take out two debit cards, one credit card and a fistful of change. After a few attempts at remembering their pin they are paid and ready to go. A quick check of the receipt to see if everything they bought scanned correctly. Then off they go, smiling and metaphorically patting themselves on the back for being so technologically advanced and marvelling at all the time they saved by not going to the checkout.

If it were up to me, I'd do a course on self checkout. Issue a licence. And then have a bank of the machines only for those who are licensed. Let the idiots use the other one.

It's usually not this painful for me. What is painful for me is the social interaction haha. Maybe I need a course on social interaction. Hmmm.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,929 ✭✭✭✭GBX

I was in Lidl Fortunestown last week and had the joyful encounter with a father and son double act. Father pushes his way bumping off myself and the lady in front through without an apology. The son, waiting behind me who doesn't grasp how personal space or the till system works. He put his item on the very end of the conveyor belt behind the divider i'd placed down. Im behind somebody with 3/4s of the belt full of their shopping. Grand, I'm in no hurry with my 1 item either. But junior with his single item wants to stand guard over it as it flies up the belt as the lady whos shopping is cleared off. Which in order to do this, would mean me moving out of his way - not gonna happen. That's what queue systems are for. I asked him to step back off my ankles and before I know it, senior is shouting at him to hurry on. What does he do, tries to push into/through me again. Again I asked him to step back. I give him the benefit of the doubt, with brains as his father he aint got much hope.
    The father was a bit surprised when I asked him to teach his kid how to be patient. He grumbled something in his native tongue ... I dont think he was wishing me good morning. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

GBX wrote: »
    I was in Lidl Fortunestown last week and had the joyful encounter with a father and son double act. Father pushes his way bumping off myself and the lady in front through without an apology. The son, waiting behind me who doesn't grasp how personal space or the till system works. He put his item on the very end of the conveyor belt behind the divider i'd placed down. Im behind somebody with 3/4s of the belt full of their shopping. Grand, I'm in no hurry with my 1 item either. But junior with his single item wants to stand guard over it as it flies up the belt as the lady whos shopping is cleared off. Which in order to do this, would mean me moving out of his way - not gonna happen. That's what queue systems are for. I asked him to step back off my ankles and before I know it, senior is shouting at him to hurry on. What does he do, tries to push into/through me again. Again I asked him to step back. I give him the benefit of the doubt, with brains as his father he aint got much hope.
    The father was a bit surprised when I asked him to teach his kid how to be patient. He grumbled something in his native tongue ... I dont think he was wishing me good morning. :D

The clientele in that particular Lidl is something to behold

• Registered Users Posts: 11,902 ✭✭✭✭anewme

When someone stands on top of me like that I ask them are they looking for a jockey back.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,929 ✭✭✭✭GBX

The clientele in that particular Lidl is something to behold

Definitely! Some interesting specimens wander the aisles :D

• Registered Users Posts: 212 ✭✭Gun_Slinger

The auld wans at the till used to drive me cuckoo as well until one night I met me auld lady at the local supermarket in town (note I lived in town at the time and my mam lived 20 miles away and was doing her weekly shop).

I had bought a few bits at one till and was walking out. I noticed me mam at the last till in the line just as all her shopping finished being scanned. I stopped to say hello when she says to the girl on the till "Oh, I forgot my bags in the car, I'll be back in one minute". So she proceeds to walk out to the carpark and leave a big queue of people stranded behind her waiting to get through! :D:D Needless to say they were less than impressed and I had to wait for her to help fill the bags with a heap of eyes burning the back of me skull! I asked her would she not have just filled them back into the trolley and she replied "Ah sure, I'd just have to fill them twice so":D

So next time you are giving out about an auld wan at the till, remember they do not give 2 f*cks about your impatience :D Take a breath and relax, they are probably lovely auld ladys doing their chores like everyone else (at least that's what I say to myself now :D)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

The auld wans at the till used to drive me cuckoo as well until one night I met me auld lady at the local supermarket in town (note I lived in town at the time and my mam lived 20 miles away and was doing her weekly shop).

I had bought a few bits at one till and was walking out. I noticed me mam at the last till in the line just as all her shopping finished being scanned. I stopped to say hello when she says to the girl on the till "Oh, I forgot my bags in the car, I'll be back in one minute". So she proceeds to walk out to the carpark and leave a big queue of people stranded behind her waiting to get through! :D:D Needless to say they were less than impressed and I had to wait for her to help fill the bags with a heap of eyes burning the back of me skull! I asked her would she not have just filled them back into the trolley and she replied "Ah sure, I'd just have to fill them twice so":D

So next time you are giving out about an auld wan at the till, remember they do not give 2 f*cks about your impatience :D Take a breath and relax, they are probably lovely auld ladys doing their chores like everyone else (at least that's what I say to myself now :D)

And you couldn’t have put them in the trolley for her?...and bagged them at the car?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,394 ✭✭✭NSAman

It's irritating when it's parish pump bull****, but for a lot of other elderly people it might be the only conversation they've had in days.

Kids should get them an Alexa then...sheezzz

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

NSAman wrote: »
    Kids should get them an Alexa then...sheezzz

Loneliness for some of the elderly is a very real thing, we'll be old some day too.

I can't abide people knowingly wasting my time either, but if it's an elderly person on their own just making some pleasantries with the cashier I'll give them the benefit of the doubt.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Meh, the same wans when they were 30 years younger probably wouldn't give a cashier the time of day

• Registered Users Posts: 12,789 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

anewme wrote: »
    When someone stands on top of me like that I ask them are they looking for a jockey back.

I love when this happens...You gradually start moving backwards ever so slightly. Eventually they'll either have to move back or you stand on their toes. I'm a whore for this at the tills or post office or anywhere these gimps exist.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

I'm verging on aul wan territory and I have everything organised and ready at the checkout and don't hang around fumbling with change or coupons or too much chat.

It doesn't bother me really if an older person takes their time though. They might be lonely and that's their social interaction for that day.

If I'm in a hurry to get home I do what everyone here bitching about older people taking too much time should do-I use the self service.

Seriously if it upsets you that much because your time is So Very Important then just use the self service checkout...(because racing to get home one minute earlier to watch your football team lose again, complain about your boss to the missus or **** off to Pornhub is uber important and a far more productive use of time). :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Greentopia wrote: »
    **** off to Pornhub is uber important and a far more productive use of time). :rolleyes:

tenor.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 5,754 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Definitely the most unexpected end to a post I have ever seen. Brilliant.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,902 ✭✭✭✭anewme

That's why aul wans (or even verging on aul wans) are the best.

It's called character.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,298 ✭✭✭✭branie2

The rest of us don't have all day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Some people will do anything to get another women bashing thread in.

Remember, for many old people living alone, a chat with the checkout operator may be the only contact they have that day.

My Mum goes to Lidl on Wednesdays to get out of the house and have a rummage through the middle aisle. She comes home with some random rubbish, which she shows me on a Saturdsy.

As for the aul wans (and aul fellas), leave em off enjoy their shopping and more power to them.

Growing old is a privilege denied to many.

If there are that many of them that they are blocking up shops around the country, why not join a club or start one up or something??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

I love when I get a narky impatient ****e behind me. I'm not slow, but some people are just impatient tools, huffing and puffing as if they are heading to a G7 Conference or something.

If you are that important, you'll have hired help to do your shopping for you, otherwise, you are just Johnny Ordinary same as the rest of us.

When I know there is a nark like that, I invariably slow down and start foostering around and if they dare say anything to me or huff and puff, I ate the head off them! They often get a shock at being told they can fcking wait. Can be good stress relief. Treat as you are treated is my motto.

Totally agree. I had some wagon hovering over me and practically putting her basket down on top of mine at the self checkout once because two of the four tills were broken and it meant a longer wait in the queue. I was going as fast as possible, but she obviously wanted me to go like speedy gonzalez to make up for the two broken tills. I made a point of looking for my receipt amongst the discarded ones at the till. (Well, I wanted to check what I'd been charged for something anyway but under normal circumstances would have let it go rather than wade through a load of other receipts to find mine).

She nearly went off the deep end at that.

Totally agree. I had some wagon hovering over me and practically putting her basket down on top of mine at the self checkout once because two of the four tills were broken and it meant a longer wait in the queue. I was going as fast as possible, but she obviously wanted me to go like speedy gonzalez to make up for the two broken tills. I made a point of looking for my receipt amongst the discarded ones at the till. (Well, I wanted to check what I'd been charged for something anyway but under normal circumstances would have let it go rather than wade through a load of other receipts to find mine).

She nearly went off the deep end at that.

Ye but i don't think you are the problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

My mother is in her eighties and has become very slow at paying for her stuff and getting sorted. She's not doing it deliberately, people just slow up with age, often mishear the price, aren't as agile at getting money and cards out of their bag quickly etc.

Have some patience. Whether you believe it or not, someday you'll be the old person at the checkout, confusing your debit card with your credit card, or not finding it easy to pack your groceries as quickly as you used to.

My mother is in her eighties and has become very slow at paying for her stuff and getting sorted. She's not doing it deliberately, people just slow up with age, often mishear the price, aren't as agile at getting money and cards out of their bag quickly etc.

Have some patience. Whether you believe it or not, someday you'll be the old person at the checkout, confusing your debit card with your credit card, or not finding it easy to pack your groceries as quickly as you used to.

And she's not the problem either. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,529 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Of course it's mostly women .
    They're never ready .
    Same at set of traffic lights .... Lights change to green/ get your head out of the phone .
    Of course she won't have to stop ... It's us 5 cars back that have to stop .

And can I add parking to this list. Waiting for a woman to parallel or reverse park. Sweet jesus.

JeffKenna wrote: »
    And can I add parking to this list. Waiting for a woman to parallel or reverse park. Sweet jesus.

Don't know, plenty of men who are pretty useless at parking themselves. Van drivers, AUDI/BMW drivers.

How hard is it to park between two lines :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,749 ✭✭✭NeinNeinNein

Don't know, plenty of men who are pretty useless at parking themselves. Van drivers, AUDI/BMW drivers.

How hard is it to park between two lines :rolleyes:
    That's only because they are trying to avoid the hordes of aul ones hanging around the parking space.

No, your not getting it, they hang around the tills

• Registered Users Posts: 4,529 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

No, your not getting it, they hang around the tills
    They're holding up the till nattering while their car is outside parked across 2 spaces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I think I got stuck behind an actual time traveller yesterday at my local Iceland. Went to the till and the cashier apologised said she was waiting on a customer who left their wallet in the car. Said customer came back a minute later all in a flap 'I've no cash on me at all, I've only these cards, do you have one of those scanners??" meaning card machine. This was in a branch of a multinational grocery retailer, in an urban area, and again, in 2019. Another big kerfuffle about not being certain of the PIN, at which point the cashier carefully explained contactless, after which point and the issuing of a receipt, the customer was still confusedly trying to key in their PIN.

Male, Irish, couldn't have been much more than fifty.

From having worked in retail and hospitality, while middle aged and elderly people are definitely the demographic that's worse for it, you really can't make it any more specific than that, like in terms of gender, nationality, class.

I mean you CAN, if you just dislike a certain group and so see evidence of them being sh1t and annoying everywhere, or if you too are bored and lonely and rather than natter to cashiers you prefer to try and annoy people into talking to you on the internet, but you wouldn't be correct, trust me.

• Registered Users Posts: 159 ✭✭hank scorpio89

Was in the local tesco a few months back and the place was packed so just joined any queue made bo difference.waited for ages and this woman infront of me packed everything into her trolley with military precision.annoying but i wasent in a rush.next think the mature lady on till says to her oh you no you can get 3 of these sauces for the price of 2 or something to this effect.next think without a word yer woman swans off back into the shop with her trolley assuming to get her extra sauce or whatever.lady on the till just looks at me like what is she at ?spent the next 5 minutes standing there until she finally just cancelled the transaction!!.i actually felt sorry for the cashier ..some people are just idiots and lack basic common sense.

Also on self service tills btw you can no how to use them perfectly well but that dosent mean they want to work properly.ive often scanned something "please wait for assistance"grand scanned the next thing same thing again.in my local tesco they always ha 1 poor girl or lad trying to look after 6 tills.with half them with people standing there waiting for assistance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Was in the local tesco a few months back and the place was packed so just joined any queue made bo difference.waited for ages and this woman infront of me packed everything into her trolley with military precision.annoying but i wasent in a rush.next think the mature lady on till says to her oh you no you can get 3 of these sauces for the price of 2 or something to this effect.next think without a word yer woman swans off back into the shop with her trolley assuming to get her extra sauce or whatever.lady on the till just looks at me like what is she at ?spent the next 5 minutes standing there until she finally just cancelled the transaction!!.i actually felt sorry for the cashier ..some people are just idiots and lack basic common sense.

Also on self service tills btw you can no how to use them perfectly well but that dosent mean they want to work properly.ive often scanned something "please wait for assistance"grand scanned the next thing same thing again.in my local tesco they always ha 1 poor girl or lad trying to look after 6 tills.with half them with people standing there waiting for assistance.

Any error on those machines is generally an ID.10.T user issue.