Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA thread - mod warning post #1 and #51

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

thesultan wrote: »
    Coach from what I hear with Liam Dunne manager..

That’s a Laois Liam Dunne. Not the Wexford one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭JesusRef

Similiar to when Limerick brought in Anthony Daly.

Fair play to Laois, showing a lot more vision than us anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭JesusRef

I couldnt make sense of what McGrath did last week, said he wanted the waterford job again one day and then distanced himself the next.

It makes sense now he was driving up the price he wanted from Laois

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭thesaturdayman

great draw for the board & the coffers a number of big derbies and mount sion / lismore have a great chance of making the semis too.... the old hot ball / cold ball technique still works a treat in this day and age....

That aside, there are some great games down could see all the q finals being very tight max 2-3 point games, are there replays or is it decided on the night? Same comment the relegation games, two competitive games, you imagine the loser of FMW / Clonea is in serious bother.

Tony Forristal / Sonny Walsh weekend too, PJR was on On the ball with Gavin W few weeks back saying this is one of the best u14 teams county has had a in a long time, so looking forward to a real bold showing & some green shoots hopefully, just a pity the games had to be moved out of Walsh Park.

Is carriganore booked out that they couldnt play a few games there? Either Tony F or Club Champs? I severly doubt it. Imagine it be the ideal location for Tony F if something had to give.

Strange one with derek moving to Laois, very odd in fact and left field, they are making big strides underage in hurling though and could challenge likes of Wexford and even Kk sooner rather then later.

One would imagine, given our current plight, it would be in interest of the board to try retain every experienced and talented hurling person within the county, be they with clubs, dev squads, county teams, im sure there is a few bob for it in laois, but i doubt he was even asked in Waterford more likely shown the door and dont let it hit you! We are where we are a for a few reasons, but not having the right people in the right positions in the main one, say what you like about the man, he is an export we cannot afford to give away at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭BloodyBill

Gavlor wrote: »
    Whatever it takes to get him off the Sunday game

Double that and it would still be a bargain. It's a National imperative that McGrath is decommissioned from RTE. An unmitigated self serving disaster for our national broadcaster. Those Laois minors will need to brush up on their 3rd rate poetry and get ready for an Ego the size of an aran island.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stopitwillya

great draw for the board & the coffers a number of big derbies and mount sion / lismore have a great chance of making the semis too.... the old hot ball / cold ball technique still works a treat in this day and age....

That aside, there are some great games down could see all the q finals being very tight max 2-3 point games, are there replays or is it decided on the night? Same comment the relegation games, two competitive games, you imagine the loser of FMW / Clonea is in serious bother.

Tony Forristal / Sonny Walsh weekend too, PJR was on On the ball with Gavin W few weeks back saying this is one of the best u14 teams county has had a in a long time, so looking forward to a real bold showing & some green shoots hopefully, just a pity the games had to be moved out of Walsh Park.

Is carriganore booked out that they couldnt play a few games there? Either Tony F or Club Champs? I severly doubt it. Imagine it be the ideal location for Tony F if something had to give.

Strange one with derek moving to Laois, very odd in fact and left field, they are making big strides underage in hurling though and could challenge likes of Wexford and even Kk sooner rather then later.

One would imagine, given our current plight, it would be in interest of the board to try retain every experienced and talented hurling person within the county, be they with clubs, dev squads, county teams, im sure there is a few bob for it in laois, but i doubt he was even asked in Waterford more likely shown the door and dont let it hit you! We are where we are a for a few reasons, but not having the right people in the right positions in the main one, say what you like about the man, he is an export we cannot afford to give away at the moment.

More drivel.
    If Derek really cared, he could volunteer to manage one of our teams at underage.
    No money in that though. Don't tell me he wouldn't be allowed if he expressed interest.
    Instead he is following the money, like he has done all year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭914

Deisegodeo wrote: »
    Anthony Daly talking up Liam Cahill for the Waterford job in his examiner column today. Seems an impressive manager so far, with his achievements with underage in tipp

Has he managed at senior level? As some here believe Sean Power shouldn't get a shout due to lack of senior experience

More drivel.
    If Derek really cared, he could volunteer to manage one of our teams at underage.
    No money in that though. Don't tell me he wouldn't be allowed if he expressed interest.
    Instead he is following the money, like he has done all year.

whats the drivel?

well documented direction was given to the incoming committee, they can give the job to whoever they wanted except derek, the diktat was under no circumstances was he to be interviewed.

if there is money to be earned go and earn it, more power to him. He did plenty volunteer work with DLS & DLS harty teams, a generation of hurlers passed through his hands, say he has done more then most only people are too bitter or blind to acknowledge it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭puzl

The anti-intellectualism around here is sickening. Someone shows a bit of knowledge and people rush to make snarky remarks about them. Not everyone is a thick eejit, and if you find yourself ever listing the fact that someone can quote shakespeare as an insult... Well you really need to take a long hard look at yourself.

Best of luck to DMG. He got us closest to an all Ireland in 60 years, and that counts for a lot for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭DeiseDawg

whats the drivel?

well documented direction was given to the incoming committee, they can give the job to whoever they wanted except derek, the diktat was under no circumstances was he to be interviewed.

if there is money to be earned go and earn it, more power to him. He did plenty volunteer work with DLS & DLS harty teams, a generation of hurlers passed through his hands, say he has done more then most only people are too bitter or blind to acknowledge it.

Must have missed where this well-documented direction was documented. Can you enlighten us?

DeiseDawg wrote: »
    Must have missed where this well-documented direction was documented. Can you enlighten us?

There is more leaks In the board then there was in the titanic after it hit the iceberg. Excuse the irony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭hurler on de ditch

puzl wrote: »
    The anti-intellectualism around here is sickening. Someone shows a bit of knowledge and people rush to make snarky remarks about them. Not everyone is a thick eejit, and if you find yourself ever listing the fact that someone can quote shakespeare as an insult... Well you really need to take a long hard look at yourself.

Best of luck to DMG. He got us closest to an all Ireland in 60 years, and that counts for a lot for me.
    Its snowing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭The blue blaa

I was told tonight that the Tony Forristal team play in Carriganore on saturday.

Also i am led to believe Brendan Cummins was to be interviewed for the waterford managers job this week by the committee.
    Did anyone else hear similar?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

I was told tonight that the Tony Forristal team play in Carriganore on saturday.

Also i am led to believe Brendan Cummins was to be interviewed for the waterford managers job this week by the committee.

Have they started interviews? Thursday is the cutoff for nominations to be returned by the clubs I believe

https://www.skysports.com/gaa/hurling/news/30554/11795702/michael-fennelly-set-to-become-offaly-hurling-manager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Gardner

funny thing is Derek isn't going in as manager at all. fellas talking big money etc etc. where do ye get it from lads? :D some of the posters on this page are ridiculous.
    Dermot Dooley on faceache last night stated that he is only going in to do 4 sessions with the potential to do more. DMG does sessions with a lot of clubs in Waterford but hey that's outside of the Boards.ie criteria of abuse and paranoia!
    Pat Mul from Newtownshandrum was approached by the committee to partake in an interview but has refused. he will form part of Kingston team if successful with the Cork vacancy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭EYEBALLSOUT

thesultan wrote: »
    Coach from what I hear with Liam Dunne manager..

Not sure is it the same Liam Dunne?! There was a Liam Dunne from Laois who managed from Ballacolla a few yrs back.

There is more leaks In the board then there was in the titanic after it hit the iceberg. Excuse the irony.

So it wasn't documented anywhere then. That's why we missed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭tommylad1212

The final of Tony forristal on in ballybeg?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Gardner

The final of Tony forristal on in ballybeg?

has there been a bad case of Ebola in Ballybeg that the final cannot be played there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭tommylad1212

Gardner wrote: »
    has there been a bad case of Ebola in Ballybeg that the final cannot be played there?

You tell me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 814 ✭✭✭debok

I don't think it's the quoting Shakespeare is the problem. It's the fact that he mentions Shakespeare etc in relation to talking about tactics for a gaa match. We all have an interest in other stuff but wouldn't constantly bring up when talking about another unrelated subject. Knowing Shakespeare has absolutely nothing to do with playing an extra defender. He just comes across as someone who feels he needs to justify his intelligence during every interview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

debok wrote: »
    I don't think it's the quoting Shakespeare is the problem. It's the fact that he mentions Shakespeare etc in relation to talking about tactics for a gaa match. We all have an interest in other stuff but wouldn't constantly bring up when talking about another unrelated subject. Knowing Shakespeare has absolutely nothing to do with playing an extra defender. He just comes across as someone who feels he needs to justify his intelligence during every interview

I'd put it another way, to be an effective leader you must be an effective communicator.

Nothing wrong with using analogies, but you must be clear in your message. His recent rambling interviews on the vacant Waterford role, and his at times unusual Sunday Game analysis, do not indicate that the guy communicates clearly.

Despite that the media love him, and a lot of his players love him. The team always seemed to know exactly what they needed to do during his tenure - whether we liked those strategies or not.

One thing he's never been is dull. Whether it was as a minor prodigy, spending a fortune on DLS school sides and taking them to the next level, the 3-3-1 business with DLS club, his management of Waterford, and his time since managing Waterford - he's always made waves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

hardybuck wrote: »
    I'd put it another way, to be an effective leader you must be an effective communicator.

Nothing wrong with using analogies, but you must be clear in your message. His recent rambling interviews on the vacant Waterford role, and his at times unusual Sunday Game analysis, do not indicate that the guy communicates clearly.

Despite that the media love him, and a lot of his players love him. The team always seemed to know exactly what they needed to do during his tenure - whether we liked those strategies or not.

One thing he's never been is dull. Whether it was as a minor prodigy, spending a fortune on DLS school sides and taking them to the next level, the 3-3-1 business with DLS club, his management of Waterford, and his time since managing Waterford - he's always made waves.

What about his time in St. Saviours?

The obsession with the man here is bizarre. He's ruled himself out of the Waterford job, who give a f*ck if he coaches the Laois Minors?

Time we moved on from him on this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

The obsession with the man here is bizarre. He's ruled himself out of the Waterford job, who give a f*ck if he coaches the Laois Minors?

Time we moved on from him on this forum.

Justin McCarthy's name got mentioned long after he went, and still comes up occasionally. Ditto for Michael Ryan and Davy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Deisegodeo

Full list of tony forristal and sonny Walsh fixtures in the news and star this week. Waterford begin against limerick in Walsh park on Saturday morning at 10am. Hopefully a good showing from both teams this year.

Interesting looking at the fixtures, offaly and laois both competing in Tony forristal division 1, but no sign of cork in the fixtures. I know they have dominated this competition recently, does anyone know are they travelling down for it and just and error by the news and star? Or have I missed it entirely!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Stationmaster

Think both Cork and Clare have decided against entering this year and are instead keeping more numbers at that age going with development squads rather than picking the top 24 or 30.

probably the right way to be going to be fair.

although by all accounts we are meant to have a serious pair of teams at this grade