Americans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Edgware wrote: »
    Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Americans are annoying, very boring too

And you are a bundle of laughs. Highlight of your year is de carnival down in de pitch

Learn to speak properly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    Americans really are the strangest people I have ever met. Their lust for their military and police force, the fact that they’re all grotesquely overweight and racist, their propensity for oversharing and referring to somewhere by both city and state (“I live in Flint, Michigan” as opposed to just “Flint.”), Fahrenheit. I will never understand Americans.
    If I knew nothing else of America this post would make me think we we ruled by a one party autocracy full of raging fat skinheads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭Redneck Reject

Good Lord some of the posters here have a mighty big brush concerning my fellow countryfolk.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Fan of Netflix

Y'all really would. We currently have two colleagues visiting our American office - a South African man and an Irish woman. The South African keeps calling the Irish woman English, and she's been very politely trying correct him indirectly by saying things like (when asked about Brexit, for example), "Well, from the Irish perspective..." but he keeps doing it.

I'm:
    1. grateful it isn't one of my fellow Americans
    2. thinking about saying something, but also enjoying the Monday entertainment

As for Americans - the loudest are just the ones that grab your attention. Some of us - a few of us - are lower key. :pac:
    Let me guess, he's a White South African. He's probably doing that deliberately to the Irish woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Very underrated TV show.

Any American tourist I've met has generally been very sound. I studied with a couple of Yanks too and they were grand.

They're probably a bit innocent when it comes to what they expect in Ireland but I don't understand the stick they get. Nor do I get why it annoys people that they call themselves Irish cos of their ancestry. What harm?

They're here spending their pensions dollars. We should be grateful for that. Leave them at it and be friendly to em.
    They're probably the soundest and most pro Irish out of the English speaking countries. I still prefer the Mexicans though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

Let me guess, he's a White South African. He's probably doing that deliberately to the Irish woman.

Indian South African and I didn't get the impression that it was deliberate. I quietly mentioned it to him after lunch and he seemed genuinely embarrassed and hasn't done it since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Those from the South are really polite.

New Yorkers will not speak to you look at you or acknowledge your existence until formally introduced but then tell you everything about themselves within ten minutes inc everyone they sleep with how they make money and all about their childhood.

People from the South however are quite private. I find them more like Irish people in this respect. Their boundaries are more like ours.

Politically we are like the north. But socially we are more like the south.

The midwest people are down to earth hard working.

East coast people think they are cool. And they are but I don't get it their coolness is so cool it goes over my head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Any American tourist I've met has generally been very sound. I studied with a couple of Yanks too and they were grand.

They're probably a bit innocent when it comes to what they expect in Ireland but I don't understand the stick they get. Nor do I get why it annoys people that they call themselves Irish cos of their ancestry. What harm?

They're here spending their pensions dollars. We should be grateful for that. Leave them at it and be friendly to em.
    They turned Paddy's Day into Patty's Day because apparently Paddy is an offensive term :rolleyes: They haven't a clue! No self respecting Irish person would say "Happy St Patty's Day" :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

They come here and they can claim back tax.... As they get tax free .

Also many don't tip.

I've come across some lovely ones in work but also those that are demanding, rude and sometimes quiet silly.....

One thing is though it ain't all American people so you can only judge a person by how they portray themselves....

Americans speak loudly.

Its the way they learn to speak. They also use volume to emphasize words.

Its nothing to do with personality its just part of their dialect.

Irish people use tonality to emphasize words and we speak quietly. Your ear can hear words better when there are changes in tone.

Its why we sound so sing songy to Americans and why they sound so loud to us.

Its just how we learnt to speak from our parents.

Also body language is different.

In Ireland to speak so loudly is well....rude ..or at least abrasive. But if you go to America after a while you would be speaking that way too.

I knew a woman who did travel there for a year ..when she came back she didn't have an American accent but she spoke at their volume and word length and rhythm.

Its just socio-linguistics.

It interesting ..apparently if your parents have a different accent from you ...like they are from elsewhere ....people/experts can TELL from your accent where your parents are from.

Like if you had an Irish parent but were brought up in London a linguist could tell.

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    They turned Paddy's Day into Patty's Day because apparently Paddy is an offensive term :rolleyes: They haven't a clue! No self respecting Irish person would say "Happy St Patty's Day" :eek:

To be fair that nonsense started in the North in places like NY and Boston. My hometown never celebrated it, so don't blame us Southerners for that atrocity. The US is a very diverse place, you can't fairly throw us all into one category

Americans speak loudly.

Its the way they learn to speak. They also use volume to emphasize words.

Its nothing to do with personality its just part of their dialect.

Irish people use tonality to emphasize words and we speak quietly. Your ear can hear words better when there are changes in tone.

Its why we sound so sing songy to Americans and why they sound so loud to us.

Its just how we learnt to speak from our parents.

Also body language is different.

In Ireland to speak so loudly is well....rude ..or at least abrasive. But if you go to America after a while you would be speaking that way too.

I knew a woman who did travel there for a year ..when she came back she didn't have an American accent but she spoke at their volume and word length and rhythm.

Its just socio-linguistics.

Not all of us are loud and brash and demanding. I've met American tourists here and their antics left me embarrassed. I can understand how ya'll would think we are all like that but in truth we aren't. So go easy.

That isn't what i said or meant.

Read it again. You are not brash.

But seem loud to Irish people not in a bad way..but we just talk differently to you.

Its relative. Its a linguistic thing.

You could be perfectly polite and it would still sound that way. Its like an accent.

Its not you being rude or having any ego etc. Its your accents.

Obviously most Irish people with a bit of cop on would realize Americans are not trying to draw attention to themselves etc its just a part of their accent to speak that way.

We aren't trying to be cute when our sentences go all tonal. We just can't help it!

Its just a dialect thing. Its nothing to be worried about. :)

Indian South African and I didn't get the impression that it was deliberate. I quietly mentioned it to him after lunch and he seemed genuinely embarrassed and hasn't done it since.
    Ah yeah thats grand. Not everyone will know the history or geography . The odd time though you can meet people who do it to antagonise etc.

That isn't what i said or meant.

Read it again. You are not brash.

But seem loud to Irish people not in a bad way..but we just talk differently to you.

Its relative. Its a linguistic thing.

You could be perfectly polite and it would still sound that way. Its like an accent.

Its not you being rude or having any ego etc. Its your accents.

Ok I understand your point now, my mistake. I'm still fairly new on your shores.

Welcome! :P

Its a kip and we're all just messers!:P:pac:

Welcome! :P

Its a kip and we're all just messers!:P:pac:

Yeah a lot of the banter I enjoy even if I don't have an Irish bone in my body. Lot of my humor seems to match. Ya'll are very quick witted and keep me on my toes ,heh.

Those from the South are really polite.

New Yorkers will not speak to you look at you or acknowledge your existence until formally introduced but then tell you everything about themselves within ten minutes inc everyone they sleep with how they make money and all about their childhood.

People from the South however are quite private. I find them more like Irish people in this respect. Their boundaries are more like ours.

Politically we are like the north. But socially we are more like the south.

The midwest people are down to earth hard working.

East coast people think they are cool. And they are but I don't get it their coolness is so cool it goes over my head.
    Yeah I agree with that. I done a J1 in South Carolina. The people in the South are lovely. It's very different to here politically, culturally. Here probably be more similar to the North Easterners in Massachusetts, Maine etc.

I'm not sure New York would be my thing to live there. I'm a culchie, I wouldn't like rude New Yorkers walking through people on the footpath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭careless sherpa

For the most part they are sound. Is great place to visit or work for a while as a lot of things seem quite different but yet familiar through TV and movies. First job was in a restaurant with a load of hair net wearing Latinos and one of them even had a car with the hydraulic bounce.

The 'thank you for your service' stuff is obnoxious

For the most part they are sound. Is great place to visit or work for a while as a lot of things seem quite different but yet familiar through TV and movies. First job was in a restaurant with a load of hair net wearing Latinos and one of them even had a car with the hydraulic bounce.

The 'thank you for your service' stuff is obnoxious

Heh the bounce is classic. The higher the bounce the more street cred you had. Like something from a Cheech and Chong film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

When I was in Vegas,
    Got talking to an American couple while having a few drinks.
    They thought I was English. I corrected him and said I'm from Ireland. Now been from Dublin we don't have the strongest accent compared to the other countys but you'd still spot my accent a mile off if you are not from here.

Anyhow I didn't take offence I just laughed it off.

But what I can not forgive is how he told me hes part Irish and loves Irish people.... every and I mean every foopin American I came across over there who I talked to, was somehow part Irish.
    And if I wasn't such a nice guy and decided to be a dick, I'd have got out a 3D app of the earth on my phone and asked them where is Ireland on the map, I'd bet my life on it that most of them wouldn't be able to tell me.

Was also in Orlando and everyone was polite.

All Americans were very nice who ever I talked to.
    But jesus christ there Breakfasts are the worst. Could not find a decent fry anywhere over there.
    Its all bloody pancakes, a big mountain of it stacked on a plate with syrup and waffles.
    Who the **** eats that **** for breakfast.

2Mad2BeMad wrote: »
    When I was in Vegas,
    Got talking to an American couple while having a few drinks.
    They thought I was English. I corrected him and said I'm from Ireland. Now been from Dublin we don't have the strongest accent compared to the other countys but you'd still spot my accent a mile off if you are not from here.

Anyhow I didn't take offence I just laughed it off.

But what I can not forgive is how he told me hes part Irish and loves Irish people.... every and I mean every foopin American I came across over there who I talked to, was somehow part Irish.
    And if I wasn't such a nice guy and decided to be a dick, I'd have got out a 3D app of the earth on my phone and asked them where is Ireland on the map, I'd bet my life on it that most of them wouldn't be able to tell me.

Was also in Orlando and everyone was polite.

All Americans were very nice who ever I talked to.
    But jesus christ there Breakfasts are the worst. Could not find a decent fry anywhere over there.
    Its all bloody pancakes, a big mountain of it stacked on a plate with syrup and waffles.
    Who the **** eats that **** for breakfast.
    Yeah I understand that. They do those DNA tests that come back as like 1% Irish. And then in their mind they are claiming Irish. And then they decide to visit the "homeland". Making an ass of themselves in the process. Trust me I know heh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

Americans... hard to judge 300 million people but from my experiences they have been very friendly and polite, more so than Irish people. They are well able to talk and socialize, Irish people need a lot of alcohol before they can do that. I also like how they are so respectful and patriotic, American flags flying everywhere and people are generally proud of their areas, I couldn't believe how clean and well kept everywhere I went to was. God bless America!

Can you imagine that sketch in 2019. Twitter would crash, people would be fainting with outrage.

jugger0 wrote: »
    Americans... hard to judge 300 million people but from my experiences they have been very friendly and polite, more so than Irish people. They are well able to talk and socialize, Irish people need a lot of alcohol before they can do that. I also like how they are so respectful and patriotic, American flags flying everywhere and people are generally proud of their areas, I couldn't believe how clean and well kept everywhere I went to was. God bless America!

You must have stuck to the well off areas or tourist spots. large parts of American cities resemble a post apocalyptic wasteland

Detroit.

Orange country.

jugger0 wrote: »

That was the thing that kind of shocked me about the hospitals here. Went to the ER once in Limerick for a busted knee from a kick by a mule. Most of the equipment had dust on it and there was dried blood stains on the floor. No way that would be allowed back home. Ya'lls healthcare seriously needs a revamp.

Detroit.

Even a city like Philadelphia. Stray too far off the main beaten path and you enter into a dystopian slum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

That was the thing that kind of shocked me about the hospitals here. Went to the ER once in Limerick for a busted knee from a kick by a mule. Most of the equipment had dust on it and there was dried blood stains on the floor. No way that would be allowed back home. Ya'lls healthcare seriously needs a revamp.

Yep thats Ireland for you... hospitals, roads, schools... all ****e and rundown. Why do you guys have such awesome looking police cars and ambulances?