Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Americans

• 26-08-2019 5:21pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭

Are they ruder than Irish and the rest of the world?? I always doubted this stereotype but I can say that they're definitely heard before their seen. Particularly in the summer on the LUAS, Dublin Bus, or even on the street you hear an American before you see them.

But other than that, going over there last year for 3 months, they seem as polite as us. The only difference is that there country is so large so you get many extremes, extrmely polite people and extremely rude, crazy, ignorant, people. Doesn't mean the extreme outliers are representative of the whole nation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Are they ruder than Irish and the rest of the world?? I always doubted this stereotype but I can say that they're definitely heard before their seen. Particularly in the summer on the LUAS, Dublin Bus, or even on the street you hear an American before you see them.

But other than that, going over there last year for 3 months, they seem as polite as us. The only difference is that there country is so large so you get many extremes, extrmely polite people and extremely rude, crazy, ignorant, people. Doesn't mean the extreme outliers are representative of the whole nation.

Same could be said for any country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

Everyone is ruder than the Irish..... we are simply wonderful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

A lot of Americans have that "telling you straight" thing that they've inherited from German and Nordic ancestors. The Irish would usually drop dead rather than complain or risk offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Found Americans to be more false than us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

If I had a gun...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭Remind me

Hearing before seeing doesn’t make them rude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

A lot of Americans have that "telling you straight" thing that they've inherited from German and Nordic ancestors. The Irish would usually drop dead rather than complain or risk offence.
    My viking genes must be strong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

I'm afraid of americans

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Abel Ruiz

If I had a gun...

I'd shoot a hole into the sun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Americans are annoying, very boring too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭paddylonglegs

Found them incredibly polite to deal with and willing to go out of their way to help with anything.

Not just for tourists but also for people living there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,074 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Given than many American tourists come to Ireland because of their Irish ancestry, it seems a bit churlish to complain about them ..!

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

You Us Eh? ! You Us Eh? !

No idea what they're on about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

The population of America is about 300 million ....bit silly to say they are rude/annoying/boring whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

Americans really are the strangest people I have ever met. Their lust for their military and police force, the fact that they’re all grotesquely overweight and racist, their propensity for oversharing and referring to somewhere by both city and state (“I live in Flint, Michigan” as opposed to just “Flint.”), Fahrenheit. I will never understand Americans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,426 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

They are awful when you’re “down the country”.

Rolling out of tour buses in incredibly bright jackets roaring about “how QUIET it is” at some monastic site.

They aren’t so loud when complaining about the “weak flush” in the tourist centre.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    Americans really are the strangest people I have ever met. Their lust for their military and police force, the fact that they’re all grotesquely overweight and racist, their propensity for oversharing and referring to somewhere by both city and state (“I live in Flint, Michigan” as opposed to just “Flint.”), Fahrenheit. I will never understand Americans.

It's a big country, everyone might not know where Flint is.
    Also states have towns with the same name, Springfield for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Americans are more polite and genuinely friendly than Irish people, in my experience. It might come across as fake at first when you aren't used to it, but in most cases it isn't at all

But didn't we just have a huge American bashing thread? It it really time for another one already?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,313 ✭✭✭✭branie2

The Americans I met in New England were very polite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,962 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Couldn't be any louder than the upstairs of a #15 bus at the height of Spanish student season!

I think everyone gets louder on tour.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Mad_maxx wrote: »

And you are a bundle of laughs. Highlight of your year is de carnival down in de pitch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Worked over there for awhile.
    A diverse people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

They're easier than Australians to listen to.

I'll give them that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,962 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Hello!

Barack-Obama-Wave.jpg

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

Y'all really would. We currently have two colleagues visiting our American office - a South African man and an Irish woman. The South African keeps calling the Irish woman English, and she's been very politely trying correct him indirectly by saying things like (when asked about Brexit, for example), "Well, from the Irish perspective..." but he keeps doing it.

I'm:
    1. grateful it isn't one of my fellow Americans
    2. thinking about saying something, but also enjoying the Monday entertainment

As for Americans - the loudest are just the ones that grab your attention. Some of us - a few of us - are lower key. :pac:

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I read of this one Irish lad, who was very rude. Killed a guy. So there you go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Not really. I think we just don’t interpret each other that well. My ex was from Florida/Kansas, she would cry because I’d scream at the sky box for freezing or get angry at stuff that wouldn’t work properly thinking I’d be angry at her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

odyssey06 wrote: »
    Hello!

Barack-Obama-Wave.jpg

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,280 ✭✭✭mistersifter

Any American tourist I've met has generally been very sound. I studied with a couple of Yanks too and they were grand.

They're probably a bit innocent when it comes to what they expect in Ireland but I don't understand the stick they get. Nor do I get why it annoys people that they call themselves Irish cos of their ancestry. What harm?

They're here spending their pensions dollars. We should be grateful for that. Leave them at it and be friendly to em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Edgware wrote: »
    Mad_maxx wrote: »

And you are a bundle of laughs. Highlight of your year is de carnival down in de pitch

Learn to speak properly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

If I knew nothing else of America this post would make me think we we ruled by a one party autocracy full of raging fat skinheads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭Redneck Reject

Good Lord some of the posters here have a mighty big brush concerning my fellow countryfolk.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Fan of Netflix

Y'all really would. We currently have two colleagues visiting our American office - a South African man and an Irish woman. The South African keeps calling the Irish woman English, and she's been very politely trying correct him indirectly by saying things like (when asked about Brexit, for example), "Well, from the Irish perspective..." but he keeps doing it.

I'm:
    1. grateful it isn't one of my fellow Americans
    2. thinking about saying something, but also enjoying the Monday entertainment

As for Americans - the loudest are just the ones that grab your attention. Some of us - a few of us - are lower key. :pac:
    Let me guess, he's a White South African. He's probably doing that deliberately to the Irish woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Very underrated TV show.

Any American tourist I've met has generally been very sound. I studied with a couple of Yanks too and they were grand.

They're probably a bit innocent when it comes to what they expect in Ireland but I don't understand the stick they get. Nor do I get why it annoys people that they call themselves Irish cos of their ancestry. What harm?

They're here spending their pensions dollars. We should be grateful for that. Leave them at it and be friendly to em.
    They're probably the soundest and most pro Irish out of the English speaking countries. I still prefer the Mexicans though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

Let me guess, he's a White South African. He's probably doing that deliberately to the Irish woman.

Indian South African and I didn't get the impression that it was deliberate. I quietly mentioned it to him after lunch and he seemed genuinely embarrassed and hasn't done it since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Those from the South are really polite.

New Yorkers will not speak to you look at you or acknowledge your existence until formally introduced but then tell you everything about themselves within ten minutes inc everyone they sleep with how they make money and all about their childhood.

People from the South however are quite private. I find them more like Irish people in this respect. Their boundaries are more like ours.

Politically we are like the north. But socially we are more like the south.

The midwest people are down to earth hard working.

East coast people think they are cool. And they are but I don't get it their coolness is so cool it goes over my head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

They turned Paddy's Day into Patty's Day because apparently Paddy is an offensive term :rolleyes: They haven't a clue! No self respecting Irish person would say "Happy St Patty's Day" :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

They come here and they can claim back tax.... As they get tax free .

Also many don't tip.

I've come across some lovely ones in work but also those that are demanding, rude and sometimes quiet silly.....

One thing is though it ain't all American people so you can only judge a person by how they portray themselves....

Americans speak loudly.

Its the way they learn to speak. They also use volume to emphasize words.

Its nothing to do with personality its just part of their dialect.

Irish people use tonality to emphasize words and we speak quietly. Your ear can hear words better when there are changes in tone.

Its why we sound so sing songy to Americans and why they sound so loud to us.

Its just how we learnt to speak from our parents.

Also body language is different.

In Ireland to speak so loudly is well....rude ..or at least abrasive. But if you go to America after a while you would be speaking that way too.

I knew a woman who did travel there for a year ..when she came back she didn't have an American accent but she spoke at their volume and word length and rhythm.

Its just socio-linguistics.

It interesting ..apparently if your parents have a different accent from you ...like they are from elsewhere ....people/experts can TELL from your accent where your parents are from.

Like if you had an Irish parent but were brought up in London a linguist could tell.

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    They turned Paddy's Day into Patty's Day because apparently Paddy is an offensive term :rolleyes: They haven't a clue! No self respecting Irish person would say "Happy St Patty's Day" :eek:

To be fair that nonsense started in the North in places like NY and Boston. My hometown never celebrated it, so don't blame us Southerners for that atrocity. The US is a very diverse place, you can't fairly throw us all into one category

Americans speak loudly.

Its the way they learn to speak. They also use volume to emphasize words.

Its nothing to do with personality its just part of their dialect.

Irish people use tonality to emphasize words and we speak quietly. Your ear can hear words better when there are changes in tone.

Its why we sound so sing songy to Americans and why they sound so loud to us.

Its just how we learnt to speak from our parents.

Also body language is different.

In Ireland to speak so loudly is well....rude ..or at least abrasive. But if you go to America after a while you would be speaking that way too.

I knew a woman who did travel there for a year ..when she came back she didn't have an American accent but she spoke at their volume and word length and rhythm.

Its just socio-linguistics.

Not all of us are loud and brash and demanding. I've met American tourists here and their antics left me embarrassed. I can understand how ya'll would think we are all like that but in truth we aren't. So go easy.

That isn't what i said or meant.

Read it again. You are not brash.

But seem loud to Irish people not in a bad way..but we just talk differently to you.

Its relative. Its a linguistic thing.

You could be perfectly polite and it would still sound that way. Its like an accent.

Its not you being rude or having any ego etc. Its your accents.

Obviously most Irish people with a bit of cop on would realize Americans are not trying to draw attention to themselves etc its just a part of their accent to speak that way.

We aren't trying to be cute when our sentences go all tonal. We just can't help it!

Its just a dialect thing. Its nothing to be worried about. :)

Indian South African and I didn't get the impression that it was deliberate. I quietly mentioned it to him after lunch and he seemed genuinely embarrassed and hasn't done it since.
    Ah yeah thats grand. Not everyone will know the history or geography . The odd time though you can meet people who do it to antagonise etc.

That isn't what i said or meant.

Read it again. You are not brash.

But seem loud to Irish people not in a bad way..but we just talk differently to you.

Its relative. Its a linguistic thing.

You could be perfectly polite and it would still sound that way. Its like an accent.

Its not you being rude or having any ego etc. Its your accents.

Ok I understand your point now, my mistake. I'm still fairly new on your shores.

Welcome! :P

Its a kip and we're all just messers!:P:pac:

Welcome! :P

Its a kip and we're all just messers!:P:pac:

Yeah a lot of the banter I enjoy even if I don't have an Irish bone in my body. Lot of my humor seems to match. Ya'll are very quick witted and keep me on my toes ,heh.

Those from the South are really polite.

New Yorkers will not speak to you look at you or acknowledge your existence until formally introduced but then tell you everything about themselves within ten minutes inc everyone they sleep with how they make money and all about their childhood.

People from the South however are quite private. I find them more like Irish people in this respect. Their boundaries are more like ours.

Politically we are like the north. But socially we are more like the south.

The midwest people are down to earth hard working.

East coast people think they are cool. And they are but I don't get it their coolness is so cool it goes over my head.
    Yeah I agree with that. I done a J1 in South Carolina. The people in the South are lovely. It's very different to here politically, culturally. Here probably be more similar to the North Easterners in Massachusetts, Maine etc.

I'm not sure New York would be my thing to live there. I'm a culchie, I wouldn't like rude New Yorkers walking through people on the footpath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭careless sherpa

For the most part they are sound. Is great place to visit or work for a while as a lot of things seem quite different but yet familiar through TV and movies. First job was in a restaurant with a load of hair net wearing Latinos and one of them even had a car with the hydraulic bounce.

The 'thank you for your service' stuff is obnoxious