Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yoshiktk

Quick one.
    Hyundai I30, the same year, 2010-2012, different inside. Was there a facelift done across few years?
    MWVhYzIyM2I2NTgwZjE3NTE0Y2E2M2Y3YWNhYmIwYTUCs8FFo3KXXf3y-e_GIXbJaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMjYyNDIxNDl8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg or ZTI1Njc2ZGYyZTYwNDIxOTQ0NmQ5OGMyNWViMDhkOWWUhk0mq145zoxSDXnxa3lmaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMjk3NTg2OTZ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

yoshiktk wrote: »
    Quick one.
    Hyundai I30, the same year, 2010-2012, different inside. Was there a facelift done across few years?
    MWVhYzIyM2I2NTgwZjE3NTE0Y2E2M2Y3YWNhYmIwYTUCs8FFo3KXXf3y-e_GIXbJaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMjYyNDIxNDl8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg or ZTI1Njc2ZGYyZTYwNDIxOTQ0NmQ5OGMyNWViMDhkOWWUhk0mq145zoxSDXnxa3lmaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMjk3NTg2OTZ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Yes there was a change...

Big difference on the outside also with lights totally different and certain parts of the body.

But across a few years? Was surprised with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,590 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The original ran from late 2007 and there was a new model launched in 2012. You might be looking at a late registered older model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

https://www.thesun.ie/news/4475054/pregnant-woman-stranded-renault-switches-battery/amp

Not the most reputable source, but I did not knew manufacturers can just block your EV from charging and then completely make your car a brick.

It was ****y situation, but how can you not notice for 8 month that payments were not going through.
    Another thing, is it only Renault that leases batteries separately to the car? Basically two finances hanging on car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Those 2 pics are from different generation i30s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

https://www.thesun.ie/news/4475054/pregnant-woman-stranded-renault-switches-battery/amp

Not the most reputable source, but I did not knew manufacturers can just block your EV from charging and then completely make your car a brick.

It was ****y situation, but how can you not notice for 8 month that payments were not going through.
    Another thing, is it only Renault that leases batteries separately to the car? Basically two finances hanging on car?

Often wondered with PCP/HP how many repayments would you have to miss before they would actually come and take the car. I’d imagine anything around 3 or 4 you’d be in trouble and at risk of it being taken.

Love the wording like Renault would know she is pregnant and it states how could they do this to her in her condition.... Eh she was working and yes pregnant but so are many others....

How they didn't think there was an issue when no payments were going out.....

It's something you would notice.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Those 2 pics are from different generation i30s
    This is next gen:
    NDEwMmRmM2Q0ZWVjNWJkM2I5ZTJhODg2MTM2MTBjYzRhO-SEL6301bCQVHEkaxZNaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMzA3OTYwMzB8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg
    That's why I'm kinda confused. My wife wants the "pretty one".

2007-2012 model
    36530-C77-11-AC-467-C-B073-0-B89-EF6-DA82-E.jpg

New 2012 model
    410-A806-B-1122-41-FB-8520-B9239066-AE3-A.jpg

Old model doesn't have DRLs either. Much better going for new model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Damien360

Has anyone here been to this year's Irish Motor Festival in Punchestown ? Last day today. Is it worth a trip ? Or is it just passats with boo pipes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭ofcork

Facebook pics from last year had aventadors Ferraris etc there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Old model doesn't have DRLs either. Much better going for new model.

Chances are they won't be working anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Used Carista to turn the Soundakator from 100% to 0% today on the Golf. Took it out for a drive it’s so much nicer with that bloody yoke switched off can actually hear the engine without the fake noise drowning out everything. I still think it’s loud enough with it off anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭tcawley29

Oh Shane, can't you go 5 minutes without making a fool of yourself

489081.jpg

tcawley29 wrote: »
    Oh Shane, can't you go 5 minutes without making a fool of yourself

489081.jpg

What a grade A tool he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

I test drove a 520d with m sport package recently and when moving between sport mode and comfort mode, I didn't notice any change to suspension. I'm just wondering if this is normal or can this be coded with Bimmercode. As one of the things I like with the CC I currently have is the change in drive feel when moving from comfort to sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I think the car needs to have the adaptive M-Sport suspension for the change to happen. Just because it's M-Sport doesn't necessarily mean it has the adaptive suspension.

Sport mode in that 520d would just increase the throttle response and maybe make the steering heavier.

I think the car needs to have the adaptive M-Sport suspension for the change to happen. Just because it's M-Sport doesn't necessarily mean it has the adaptive suspension.

Sport mode in that 520d would just increase the throttle response and maybe make the steering heavier.
    Yeah it seems so, it doesn't have adaptive suspension but I've seen in some places online that you can configure sport mode within idrive like here so I'm wondering if this is perhaps in newer models or do you need adaptive suspension to have this option. Sadly I can't check on the car I tested.

Configuring sport mode in iDrive means selecting if you want sport mode to adjust the engine or chassis (suspension) or both. If the car doesn't have adaptive suspension it will only give you the option for the engine.

The car needs to have the adaptive dynamic suspension option from the factory to be able to change the suspension setup. Sport mode otherwise is just a driving mode that makes the steering heavier, increases throttle response and holds gears a bit longer. All F10s from about 2011 onwards had EcoPro, Comfort and Sport driver modes as standard. The bigger engined ones have a Sport Plus mode too which is basically Sport mode but with the traction control turned off. The adaptive suspension was and still is an expensive optional extra on the 5 Series.

Cheers for clarifying, not the end of the world that it doesn't have it I guess but would have been nice

It's rare enough to find as it was something like 2k extra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Had a brand new, Dacia Duster for the weekend. A relatively high spec 2wd diesel. Navigation, 4 cameras all around the body, cruise control, AC etc. I think it's 23,000 or so new. All in all it was a fairly nice machine, I can totally see the appeal if you're looking for a family machine on the cheap. It had 600km on the clock when I picked it up, and took it up to Donegal for the weekend, so I doubled the mileage on it. The engine is a rattly thing, power is in a very narrow band, and the turbo kick is more annoying than anything. I'd have liked to try the petrol variant really. Grand as it was, one won't be appear outside my house any time soon!

Jesus Alan you had me worried until I read your last sentence!!!

Another one buys a duster.

Go on Alan. You know it makes sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Don't be worrying lads, I haven't completely lost it!

I wouldn't be surprised if you did. Shur my last Bimmer drove me to selling it and buying a Fiesta :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Jesus Alan you had me worried until I read your last sentence!!!

I was already loading a shotgun... He got away this time.