If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,320 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Jayesdiem wrote: »
    If you are asking who the snitch is, you obviously haven’t been on here long enough to figure the very obvious answer out!

And using the same rational, you'll spot operators from Game On, The GAA hour and Second Captains as well.

Jayesdiem wrote: »
    If you are asking who the snitch is, you obviously haven’t been on here long enough to figure the very obvious answer out!

oh cut it out, its beyond boring at this stage. Seriously. - Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,454 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

I thought the interview the other with the journo from Liverpool explaining the history of Liverpool fans booing the national anthem and history of the city of Liverpool in general was fascinating. I know JM isn't everyone's cup of tea but I think he's a great interviewer.

Listened back to this over the weekend (kudos to the GO LOUD app actually) and it was a really good bit of radio. And in fairness Joe didnt just give him a free ride - he brought up the issue of the club allowing the "controlled decay" I think they called it of the residential area around Anfield. The Evans answer to that by saying "That would be giving the 3 regimes who were in charge in that period too much credit" made me laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

John Duggan on again to tell us all about what games he's been to and how great he is. Total Muppet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Abel Ruiz

John Duggan on again to tell us all about what games he's been to and how great he is. Total Muppet.

A big muppet indeed. Very hard to warm to him. He was awful in Russia last year. His voice is terrible and he adds very little.
    I turn off when ever he is on. Nearly as bad as Gilroy

Listened back to the interview that Joe did with Michael Quirke and Pat McEneaney over the appointment of the referee for the All Ireland football final.

Joe had all these "facts" researched about the referee and it was really a 2 v 1 interview instead of Joe being the go-between to facilitate the debate. He also left Pat McEneany away with a two-footed lunge when Pat compared the situation to Mike Dean not being allowed ref Liverpool or Everton which he said would not be the situation. The FA decided against appointing Dean for the 2006 FA Cup final due to him living so close to Liverpool - it was a big thing at the time.

Must do better Joe.

It was a filler piece on the week of the hurling final.

Nothing more, nothing less

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Scott Tenorman

He also brought some memorabilia in on the breakfast show.
    This after wearing a suit and tie last week for English transfer deadline day.

He does understand he's working on the RADIO doesn't he? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,320 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

He also brought some memorabilia in on the breakfast show.
    This after wearing a suit and tie last week for English transfer deadline day.

He does understand he's working on the RADIO doesn't he? :confused:

Breakfast show isn't broadcast on the radio.

BPKS wrote: »
    It was a filler piece on the week of the hurling final.

Nothing more, nothing less
    It's still him talking out his ring about what he has been to.

It's a relevant piece given the time of year.
    I was at some of the games he spoke about and it gave me I enjoyed it for nostalgic reasons.

Don't know how you think he was talking out his ring unless you think he made it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Scott Tenorman

Breakfast show isn't broadcast on the radio.

Newstalk Breakfast isn't broadcast on the radio? I'll have to get my radio checked out as it seems to be picking it up somehow :rolleyes:

It's a relevant piece given the time of year.
    I was at some of the games he spoke about and I enjoyed it for nostalgic reasons.

Don't know how you think he was talking out his ring unless you think he made it up.
    I'm not saying he's lying, I'm just saying he talks rubbish.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Newstalk Breakfast isn't broadcast on the radio? I'll have to get my radio checked out as it seems to be picking it up somehow :rolleyes:

And OTB did a 'deadline day special' on their digital platforms which Duggan was part of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

JM giving out to himself for inadvertently extolling manly virtues was low point in the increasingly dull newspaper review segment.

Tommy Walsh is an out and out hurling man.

Monologue piece yesterday was class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Is there anything you don’t praise on Newstalk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Brendan Filone

I thought it was very contrived, he was just reading a script.

He definitely read it, but he brings that enthusiasm whenever he is talking about hurling I think?

I thought the significance of All Ireland Sunday to all hurling fans was spot on.

Man reads script, poorly. k den

Post has been deleted by a mod - ATNM!

It also gets tiresome to see people bitch and moan about everything on the radio and when someone challenges that they're accused of working for the station or being that person because they have nothing else of substance to add to their rambling rants.

If you don't like the show, fine, criticise it if you want, but this was literally a poster priasing Tommy Walsh's monologue and others just jumped on him for it and make the same insinuations all the time. F*ck right off with that **** just because you don't like that person's opinion.

So if I have this correct, we should all respect posters who praise the show and their opinions, but you can tell those whose opinions you disagree with to “F*ck right off with that ****”? Ok......

No actually, I think people who say the same **** about TMH working for OTB and having a pop at him just because he liked one aspect of the show should f*ck right off, because you add nothing to the thread only stupid, needless digs.

And I said you can criticise the show all you want, but the digs you throw at people who challenge you are irritating and, as I said, add nothing to the thread. And you only throw the digs because you don't like the poster challenging you in the past.

I think Tommy Walsh is gas on OTB. And I wouldnt be a "hurling man" myself.

My favourite anecdote was last year he described how he was invited to a Lip Sync by some club the night before a big inter county game. Tommy then showed up at the gate to the stadium the next day and yer man who was Tina Turner the night before was manning the turnstile.

That kinda summed up the GAA for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭RugbyLover123

Did anyone catch the ROG and Drico segment last Friday btw? ROG playing to the gallery with some of the garbage he spouted (the Zebo talk) while Bland O’Driscoll played his usual blinder in saying nothing insightful or of substance. A wasted opportunity really, as Newstalk usually do rugby really well. Monday and Wednesday night rugby would be essential Radio for me most of the year.

I actually had a post written about that chat on Friday but for some reason it didn’t send. I’m a big fan of Joe, so not going down the track of all OTB are sh*** but I felt Gilroy was awful on Friday with that interview. Why was he harping on about Zebo and making a case for the inclusion of overseas players last minute when it’s clear what the situation is and will never be changed this close to a WC. Kept pushing it too when it’s clear the ‘rule’ is there for the benefit of the provinces and the national team. 2 of Ireland’s most successful players ever in the studio a few weeks out for a WC and that’s where he wanted to push the conversation.

A lot of people need to cop on a bit, you know the deal by now.

There has been an ongoing issue with personal abuse in this thread, ye were told last time it wouldn't be tolerated. Bans/ cards incoming. This will keep happening until the problem stops.

Some posts have also been deleted.

This is a discussion for OTB, not a platform for egos slinging mud.

Back on topic. - Mod

Roadshow in September looks interesting. Roy Keane and Gary Neville. Neville was very good on Second Captains Road Show last year.
    Don't think I'd ever go to a road show myself but hopefully there'll be some good content out of this. Be nice if Keane was let talk about whatever he wanted instead of getting him to respond to direct questions.

Has anyone here ever gone to one? The seem to be fairly popular but I've never heard from anyone who was at one.

Roadshow in September looks interesting. Roy Keane and Gary Neville. Neville was very good on Second Captains Road Show last year.
    Don't think I'd ever go to a road show myself but hopefully there'll be some good content out of this. Be nice if Keane was let talk about whatever he wanted instead of getting him to respond to direct questions.

Has anyone here ever gone to one? The seem to be fairly popular but I've never heard from anyone who was at one.

Was at a few of them years ago - very small venues though compared to the current larger venues, and they were all rugby. There was a kind of novelty value to them then as they were so new, not sure it would retain that in the current set up. All that said, I enjoyed them for what they were at the time, so based on that I’d say just go and see at least!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭jeremyj1968

I've already heard Tommy Walsh's "epic" speech three times today. Can anybody beat that?

I wonder how the sales are going on the Off The Ball Open. I see that they have added the Conor's Sketches guy has just got his tour card now as well. It's a pretty hard sell at the price.

I've already heard Tommy Walsh's "epic" speech three times today. Can anybody beat that?

I wonder how the sales are going on the Off The Ball Open. I see that they have added the Conor's Sketches guy has just got his tour card now as well. It's a pretty hard sell at the price.

I’m also at 3, but maybe Tom Dunne can get in a play later?

SNIP - Mod

Still don’t know if I like Ronan O’Gara as a pundit. He has some interesting insights at times but he takes ages to actually make his point.