Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vehicle Gallery - Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Sgt. Bilko 09

Only because we haven't caught you yet!

I was referring to the mule though.

Quick run his IP address and we lay in wait.....lol

• Registered Users Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭BaronVon

Hogzy wrote: »
    ........Are they not the ones trained for pursuits?......

No guards are trained for pursuits

• Registered Users Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Quick run his IP address and we lay in wait.....lol

Ye wouldnt catch me in yer i40s :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

BaronVon wrote: »

They have to pass a actual driving exam to be able to use lights and sirens though....

Hogzy wrote: »
    Ye wouldnt catch me in yer i40s :pac:

Luckily, I drive a quicker one than that ;) lol

Segway....

Where and how did you gather this opinion....?

RPU are pursuit trained and the vast majority of gards in specialist units are trained in either basic or advanced pursuit driving...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭BaronVon

Where and how did you gather this opinion....?

RPU are pursuit trained and the vast majority of gards in specialist units are trained in either basic or advanced pursuit driving...

Being in RPU, or Traffic since I never received any RPU training, gives me the inside track. That being said, I never received any Traffic Corps training either :confused:
    Response driving is not pursuit driving.

Being in RPU, or Traffic since I never received any RPU training, gives me the inside track. That being said, I never received any Traffic Corps training either :confused:
    Response driving is not pursuit driving.

You didn't....I did..lol but it was done out of conveince as as the son of a rank was going for gold. I wasn't complaining but I complained as to why.

Must be selective in they're candidates...as the job is!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

First, Heard the 'whiney' siren of the Pearse st Transit connect,but what should appear but the ARU X5...so did the X5 get a replacement siren or did it get a knock to make it sound so pathetic. As for all the PC decibels and lumen restrictions, maybe they should just issue mouth whistles to all Garda drivers....:P

• Registered Users Posts: 2,522 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

You should really experience a fully kitted out car in the US. They are so bright that if Stevie Wonder was standing on the moon he would be able to see them!

Capri wrote: »
    First, Heard the 'whiney' siren of the Pearse st Transit connect,but what should appear but the ARU X5...so did the X5 get a replacement siren or did it get a knock to make it sound so pathetic. As for all the PC decibels and lumen restrictions, maybe they should just issue mouth whistles to all Garda drivers....:P

No this is the new pc brigade... It's passed to the fire brigade also ....

That Golf R seems to be well lit up, even thru the dark rear glass. The HSE i40's and other stuff also have a powerful presence on the road so maybe they haven't been 'got at' by the PC brigade :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭easygoing1982

That Golf R seems to be well lit up, even thru the dark rear glass.

What surprises me is the degree of tint on the front of the car. I presume it's not used at night time. I know my time as a young lad when I tinted my car,the one and only time, I was threatened with prosecution and told to take it off.

Garda vehicles are exempt from that rule.....

If you look at the garage video of it you'll see the front tint is lighter.

If you look at the brand on the glass you'll see the % tint, so front/rear could be different, Traffic Corps /NCT have mobile meters that show the light transmission thru the glass. And sometimes glass looks darker because of the other glass behind it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

I imagine that Golf is doing some serious mileage as it's appeared in several high-speed videos now.

Funny enough, I was walking the dog around the Kylemore road last night and seen ten i40's chasing a heap of a Peugeot 206, packed out with a load of young lads. The engines in the i40's were screaming...

carzony wrote: »
    I imagine that Golf is doing some serious mileage as it's appeared in several high-speed videos now.

Funny enough, I was walking the dog around the Kylemore road last night and seen ten i40's chasing a heap of a Peugeot 206, packed out with a load of young lads. The engines in the i40's were screaming...

Probably using more of the engine range than normal drivers do. It's taught on the course. They are not been driven for fuel efficiency.

Remember the Maximas had g/box issues, maybe using the gears too much to maximise torque ?

Now I feel old! Anybody got a picture of one of those floating about?

The photo in the other thread of the i40 in white and rust on the roof....

My vRS has similar stone chips which I never touch up and they never spread like that. 2006....

Now I feel old! Anybody got a picture of one of those floating about?

Thing is there wasn't many but for a Nissan they were a comfy bus....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

The Golf and the Focus ST must be the only petrol cars in the fleet since the batch of Avensis 8 years ago ?

Them avensi were devil juice too.....

Last real batch of petrol were 2.0 Mondeo mark 3..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

Them avensi were devil juice too.....

Nah there was a few 1.6s. Mostly unmarked.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

I wonder is there any Mondeos left? Quite a rare site on the roads these days. I remember a time the four courts would be like a Ford dealership carpark.

Nah there was a few 1.6s. Mostly unmarked.

The 09 batch were diesel.

Obviously a little mix of others but they had Skoda and a ton of ford transit connect also..... Not too many connects left.

The avensi are near extinct but still a few pottering around.

carzony wrote: »
    I wonder is there any Mondeos left? Quite a rare site on the roads these days. I remember a time the four courts would be like a Ford dealership carpark.

Not too many but they are the longest serving machine from what I've seen.

Sure Dublin city had a 2003 one up until recently enough.
    Even had the light bar replaced at some point and new side stickers and rear ones fitted.

2007 they had the most.

Not too many but they are the longest serving machine from what I've seen.

Sure Dublin city had a 2003 one up until recently enough.
    Even had the light bar replaced at some point and new side stickers and rear ones fitted.

2007 they had the most.

There was a big deal done with Ford in 07. I'd say Ford offered a serious deal with the new styles being brought in.

The Auditor General didn't thing it was a good deal as they were sitting around for a time.

I can't find a better link than this one;

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.breakingnews.ie/ireland/auditor-general-concerned-about-value-from-state-spending-378686.html

I see a couple of 06 Mondeo Ghia's outside GNIB.