Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Dominance of Dublin GAA *Mod warning post#1*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭largepants

ArielAtom wrote: »
    I really love the way the main posters have as yet come up with a plan, they merely whinge. Come up with a plan, present to your club, present it to you county board and get it put forward at congress. But firstly you need to be a member of the association. Otherwise you have zero right to put a proposal forward.

Oh so that's how Dublin got all their money. A few anonymous boards posters came up with a plan and presented it to their club (was it Boards GFC or what?) who brought it forward to a county board somewhere. Ehh right.

Meanwhile you have a whinge about other people whinging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,262 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

largepants wrote: »
    I'm not being badly stung at all. The fact of the matter is that Darcy played with Leitrim before Dublin. Why focus on Darcy? No mention of the other players I mentioned?

If you had any GAA knowledge you'd know that Brian Lacey, Karl O'Dwyer and Brian Murphy were/are involved in Kildare GAA long after they retired.

But that doesn't suit your 'ridiculous argument' does it?

Dublin happily gave Darcy to Leitrim - let him go under the grandparent/parent rule which is designed to help Leitrim.
    It was nice of them - Darcy grew up in Dublin - Sandymount D4 . But put his father's home address down so he could play for Aughawillian.
    He was not living or working in Leitrim.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,016 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

How are Dublin totally dominant who won the all-irleland club in three of the last four years?

Who won five in a row minors?

Who won the u20 competition in the last two years?

Who won the league in the last two years?

You make a long list of the squad changes in the Dublin senior football team, I respond by pointing out that those changes are exactly what should be expected, and this is your response?

Good lad, well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,092 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

How are Dublin totally dominant who won the all-irleland club in three of the last four years?

Who won five in a row minors?

Who won the u20 competition in the last two years?

Who won the league in the last two years?

Ah go way outta that with your facts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,929 ✭✭✭threeball

I decided to go over the Dublin AI teams to see the players that are still there and play regularly - either as sub or starting 15.

2011 - 10 players from nearly a decade ago are still there are in starting or as a sub.
    The ones in blue are still regular in the interest of fairness I left out DC.
    (This team was lucky to win the AI in my view against the run of play - but it was the inspiration of what was to follow)

S. Cluxton, C. O’Sullivan, R. O’Carroll, M. Fitzsimons, J. McCarthy, G. Brennan, K. Nolan, D. Bastick,MD. MacAuley, P. Flynn, B. Cahill, B. Cullen, A. Brogan, D. Connolly, B. Brogan. Subs: P. McMahon for McCarthy, K. McManamon for Flynn, E. O’Gara for Cahill, E. Fennell for Bastick.

2013 - McCaffery, Killkenny, Cooper, Mannion, Andrews, Rock, and Daly were added. Daly hampered by injuries since unfortunately - but an exceptional group of to come through.

That is seven players added.

They took the 2011 old core to the next level - this is the once in a generation group of lads in my view

S Cluxton, P. McMahon, R. O’Carroll, J Cooper, J McCarthy, G Brennan, J McCaffrey, MD. MacAuley, C O’Sullivan, P. Flynn, C Kilkenny, D Connolly, P Mannion, P Andrews, B. Brogan. Subs: E. O’Gara for Mannion, Darren Daly for McCaffrey, Dean Rock for Kilkenny, K. McManamon for Andrews, D. Bastick for Cooper

2015 -

Two players were added - Raheny's/Maybe Dublin's greatest player of all time Fenton, and John Small from the Mun.

S Cluxton; J Cooper, R. O’Carroll, P. McMahon; J McCarthy, C O’Sullivan, J McCaffrey; B. Fenton, D. Bastick; P. Flynn, D Connolly, C Kilkenny; P Andrews, D Rock, B. Brogan. Subs: K. McManamon for Rock, MD. MacAuley for Bastick, M. Fitzsimons for Cooper, J Small for McCaffrey, D Daly for O'Sullivan, A. Brogan for Fenton

2016 -

Two players added.

A sprinkling of Royal County was added which obviously made all the difference in Lowndes. Who is a fringe player.

The zip and trickery of Costello was added - after years of injury hampered seasons - but he won the game with his three points. Interestingly Both were dual players and were part of the 2011 Minor hurling and football teams. Costello was the pick of them along with Kilkenny - (another dual star). Though Rock has won the battle over Costello in the starting 15 it seems.

S Cluxton, P McMahon, J Copper, M Fitzsimons, J McCarthy, C O’Sullivan, J Small, B. Fenton, P. Flynn, P Andrews, K. McManamon, C Kilkenny, D Rock, D Connolly, P Mannion.Subs: D Byrne for Cooper, B. Brogan for Andrews, MD. MacAuley for Mannion, C Costello for McManamon, E Lowndes for Small, D Daly for O’Sullivan.

2017 -

Two players were added

Con O'Callaghan who was marked out as a dual superstar at underage - another loss to the senior hurlers.
    And the find that surprised everyone Niall Scully from Templeogue- who was 'found' from an O'Byrne cup run.

S Cluxton, J Copper, P McMahon, M Fitzsimons, J Small, C O’Sullivan, J McCaffrey, B. Fenton, J McCarthy, C Kilkenny, D Rock, C O'Callaghan, P Andrews, E. O’Gara, P Mannion Subs: P. Flynn for McCaffrey, D Connolly for Andrews, K. McManamon for O'Gara, B. Brogan for Paul Flynn, N Scully for O'Callaghan, C Costello for Mannion.

2018 -

Two players added.

The tigerish Murchan was added from Na Fianna last year, and another Raheny Rolls Royce Brian Howard - Maybe Raheny's best player? The funny part is the rest of that Raheny team is no great shakes bar Howard/Fenton. The rest are now veterans of Dublin's 2011 minors.

Stephen Cluxton; Philly McMahon, Jonny Cooper, Eoin Murchan; John Small, Cian O’Sullivan, Jack McCaffrey; Brian Fenton, James McCarthy; Niall Scully, Con O’Callaghan, Brian Howard; Paul Mannion, Ciaran Kilkenny, Dean Rock. Subs: Michael Fitzsimons for Cian O’Sullivan (27), Cormac Costello for Niall Scully (53), Kevin McManamon for Paul Mannion (58), Darren Daly for Eoin Murchan (58), Eric Lowndes for Jonny Cooper (64), Michael Darragh MacAuley for Dean Rock (67).

So what can I see from this.
    Dublin are still reliant on the core from the 2011 team -ten/eleven players
    The 2013 influx was an exceptional group.
    Those seven players make added make up the majority of the panel as we have it now.
    And after that Dublin were blessed to find Scully, Howard, Fenton, Con O'Callaghan in particular.

But a further three things are clear -

1) The senior hurlers are losing players - Kilkenny, Costello, Con O'Callaghan, E.Lowndes.

2) The number of players coming through is not the same as the 2013 group -

3) Dublin are not doing as well at underage - take this year for example.
    Dublin have not won this years minor walloped by Mayo in the QF - didn't even make the semis!
    And made eejits of themselves in the u20 final where they collapsed against Cork - when they had a huge lead

Ye rarely make the semis at underage in either code, lets be honest. Theres counties that are nearly always knocking around there, Cork and Galway in football and hurling, Kerry and Mayo in the football, Kilkenny and tipp in the hurling. Dublin make the odd appearence every few years but its just as likely Laois, Meath or Kildare. Then at u20 it miraculously gets turned on its head and its Dublin nearly every year. How does that happen do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

Oh so that's how Dublin got all their money. A few anonymous boards posters came up with a plan and presented it to their club (was it Boards GFC or what?) who brought it forward to a county board somewhere. Ehh right.

Meanwhile you have a whinge about other people whinging.

And there you go!!!!!! Point proven, bitch online rather than doing something about it.
    My wording was love it, not a whinge.

Dublin happily gave Darcy to Leitrim - let him go under the grandparent/parent rule which is designed to help Leitrim.
    It was nice of them - Darcy grew up in Dublin - Sandymount D4 . But put his father's home address down so he could play for Aughawillian.
    He was not living or working in Leitrim.

Nothing to do with the original point.

The others still not addressed either.

Remember to take your head out of the sand when you need to breathe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭ciarang85

threeball wrote: »
    Ye rarely make the semis at underage in either code, lets be honest. Theres counties that are nearly always knocking around there, Cork and Galway in football and hurling, Kerry and Mayo in the football, Kilkenny and tipp in the hurling. Dublin make the odd appearence every few years but its just as likely Laois, Meath or Kildare. Then at u20 it miraculously gets turned on its head and its Dublin nearly every year. How does that happen do you think?

Nearly every year?

5 all-irelands since 1964 is nearly every year is it?

Good man yourself

You make a long list of the squad changes in the Dublin senior football team, I respond by pointing out that those changes are exactly what should be expected, and this is your response?

Good lad, well done.

So you do not want to adress my previous post which proves that dublin are not as dominant as the myth dictates - when the surface is scratched.
    In other words it is clear that there is change bubbling under - but you want to shut your eyes to it.

Anyone who resorts to a 'well done lad' is code for they know they have no real response.

And there you go!!!!!! Point proven, bitch online rather than doing something about it.
    My wording was love it, not a whinge.

:pac::pac: Tongue in cheek my dear man.

You have no clue of what I get up to when it comes to the GAA.

I don't just turn up to our national station and sing a few songs every couple of weeks and think I'm the grassroots of the GAA for doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

I really love the way the main posters have as yet come up with a plan, they merely whinge. Come up with a plan, present to your club, present it to you county board and get it put forward at congress. But firstly you need to be a member of the association. Otherwise you have zero right to put a proposal forward.
    Did Dublin fans have to do this 15 years ago? When bertie decided to give you millions or the GAA came up with the special hurling fund did they all start from Dublin fans doing the above?

It's been well documented counties like Fermanagh came up with a plan looking for a modest amount of money and they were declined.

Nothing to do with the original point.

The others still not addressed either.

Remember to take your head out of the sand when you need to breathe.

Attacking the poster - that must mean I have made a good point sense you did not have a decent reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Attacking the poster - that must mean I have made a good point sense you did not have a decent reply.

Telling you your head is in the sand isn't an attack. Unless we're going by Joe McQuillan rules. In that case penalty to Dublin.

The starting 15 is far more relevant when talking about turnover of players.

Brogan, O'Gara and O'Carroll are not good enough to make the squad for serious games anymore. They were included for the sham friendly match with Tyrone which no-one treated seriously.

Not true the panel is critical as you well know.
    If a bench was not important - Dublin would not have won the 2011 sam, or the 2016 final for example.

It is the same core players those 10/11 lads from 2011 and the 7 from 2013 = 17/18 players that are always used
    That is Dublin's core a few new additions were only added to that since.

ciarang85 wrote: »
    Nearly every year?

5 all-irelands since 1964 is nearly every year is it?

Good man yourself

When were the majority of them won genius. If you're trying to deflect at least be intelligent about it.

RoyalCelt wrote: »
    Telling you your head is in the sand isn't an attack. Unless we're going by Joe McQuillan rules. In that case penalty to Dublin.

Or big Joe's rugby try against Louth.....
    Meath's encroachment on penalty takers.... etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭ciarang85

When were the majority of them won genius. If you're trying to deflect at least be intelligent about it.

I count it as 7,2,2 & 3 year gaps

You still counting it as every year? genius....

Every year who won the last two years at u20 level?
    Also Dublin won thier FIRST under 21 title under the great Jim Gavin in 2003
    - maybe there is a connection there don't you think? -
    followed by 2010 and 2012 - also Jim at the helm

Also as most Dubs know Dublin really neglected under age for decades - they did not even have an u21 team for a period! Shocking I know. That is how shambolic things were.
    Plus for a long time Dublin's sole minor win was in 84 until 2012. That is evidence of real neglect.
    It shows that Dublin were a shambles at underage they were not putting the work in drastic underachievement in anyone's language.
    The only way was up from such a low base.

Now since they have got thier act together things have improved - but it is clear the standard is dipping from the peak of a few years ago.

ciarang85 wrote: »
    I count it as 7,2,2 & 3 year gaps

You still counting it as every year? genius....

Oh look, nearly all successes coming in the last 10yrs and that doesn't include finals and semi finals reached. Naw, nothing to see here. Another coincidence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,016 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

So you do not want to adress my previous post

I directly responded to your lengthy post 1097 about the Dublin senior team and commented on the implications of what you had said.

Rather than respond in kind you first deflected onto other teams and now for some reason want me to go back to a different post altogether.

No wonder threads like this devolve into the same few posters pulling the same tired old crap.

I directly responded to your lengthy post 1097 about the Dublin senior team and commented on the implications of what you had said.

Rather than respond in kind you first deflected onto other teams and now for some reason want me to go back to a different post altogether.

No wonder threads like this devolve into the same few posters pulling the same tired old crap.

My argument was clear at the end of my long post the core of players 10/11 from 2011 and the 7 from 2013 make up this Dublin team for the most part.

And I do not see the underage groups as strong as previous years to replace current players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

RoyalCelt wrote: »
    Did Dublin fans have to do this 15 years ago? When bertie decided to give you millions or the GAA came up with the special hurling fund did they all start from Dublin fans doing the above?

It's been well documented counties like Fermanagh came up with a plan looking for a modest amount of money and they were declined.

I’m merely pointing out the whinging of certain posters, rather than doing something about it. Some posters are not even members of the association.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,247 ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Cut out the personal attacks or it will be two day bans you will be receiving - you will not be getting another warning

Also looking at the team that played against Mayo in the AI semi-final.

DUBLIN: S Cluxton; D Byrne, J Cooper, M Fitzsimons; J McCaffrey, J McCarthy, J Small; B Fenton, MD Macauley; N Scully, C Kilkenny, B Howard; P Mannion, C O'Callaghan, D Rock. Subs: C O'Sullivan for Macauley (50), E Murchan for Small (63), C Costello for Mannion (65), P McMahon for Cooper (69), D Connolly for Scully (71), P Andrews for O'Callaghan (71).

There has been real new additions to the squad this year (unless you are pedantic and count DC)
    That really says something to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,060 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

I have given the plan many times on this thread and other thread

Have a read through my posts. The main part of the plan is to REDUCE funding for Dublin. REDISTRIBUTE the funding and SPLIT Dublin into 4. There you go. There’s the plan.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭ToBeFrank123

gorm, I'm perfectly willing to look at the overall squad and how it has changed. But Brogan, O'Gara and O'Carroll are not in the squad, except for the sham game in Omagh. These guys are long past their sell by date and Gavin only played them to give them one final send off. They were never in his plans. The squad against Mayo would be more relevant.

O'Gara was still on the bench the last day v Mayo!!
    (I am always giving out that he should not be in the panel - other posters on the Dublin thread point out to me that he offers something different)

As for Brogan I was told his family members were disappointed he did not get a place on the panel - especially as he played well in Omagh.

Personally I would agree and wanted Brogan on the bench instead of EOG - think he has plenty offer yet.

I will give you ROC he is not up to pitch and it will take him a good while to get back - he struggled in Omagh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,206 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Have a read through my posts. The main part of the plan is to REDUCE funding for Dublin. REDISTRIBUTE the funding and SPLIT Dublin into 4. There you go. There’s the plan.

There won't be any money for funding anything in that scenario except 3-4 new stadiums.
    I don't think anyone is saying the funding should be locked in stone, one imagines it's a major topic of discussion in the GAA when planning budgets every year.
    But any plan that involves a forced splitting of Dublin is no solution, never going to get off the ground. Get real.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

So you do not see any logistical and other intangible difficulties with that whatsoever?
    People's jobs -admin - stadiums. Lost of brand - detrimental effect on the leinster council etc - loss of fans and attendances - loss of identity.

If you are to go down that route surely you amalgamate other counties as well as your idea - that would be REALLY fair.

Why are you so adamant on splitting Dublin - but not also thinking of making other counties stronger by creating new entities?

With all the EU/Brexit talk I was thinking the most feasible solution is that each county board pays a percentage of its overall turnover.

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-politics-48256318

(By the way when the UK leaves there will be only 9 net contributors to the EU)

So the bigger counties would be net contributors and the small counties will be net recipients.

Think of Dublin as Germany!