Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

US Presidential Election 2020

hill16bhoy wrote: »
    I see Tulsi Gabbard couldn't bring herself to say Assad is a torturer and a murderer after the debate last night.

My word, she's vile. Anti-war me hole, a Russian controlled disruptor, more like.

Incredible how Bannon, Trump, Breitbart, RT and all the rest of the far right Russiabot set love her so much, isn't it.

Aha Russia again. Amazing that the Democrats are so bad that the Russians can beat them. Pity they can't get her above 2% in the polls - AND Google blocked her from running ads after the last debate!

My take : Gabbard is the only candidate that could beat Trump. She would get votes from moderate Republicans and Democrats and also from libertarians. She ticks all the diversity boxes. And she's a damn fine looking woman - it shouldn't matter but it does. She would hit Trump where it hurts in the debates. And Trump would struggle to come up with a nickname for her.

The neocon pro war and pro big corporate Democrats are scared of her. Jeff Bezos's propoganda wing the Washington Post did a totally inaccurate hit piece on her. She's not afraid to really tell it like it is. She exposed Harris for the hypocrite she is. A snake.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,113 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Gabbard is certainly being used by the Russians as part of their interference, whether that's knowingly or not I can't say.

Most googled person from the debates was Marianne whatever her name is who has no hope luckily enough too, much like Tulsi.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users Posts: 6,647 ✭✭✭eire4

Gabbard is certainly being used by the Russians as part of their interference, whether that's knowingly or not I can't say.

Most googled person from the debates was Marianne whatever her name is who has no hope luckily enough too, much like Tulsi.

Personally I think Marianne Williamson is one of the best of the Democratic candidates. She has no chance of winning but that says more about the Democratic Party in a negative sense then it does about Marianne Williamson.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,120 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

I see Tulsi Gabbard couldn't bring herself to say Assad is a torturer and a murderer after the debate last night.

My word, she's vile. Anti-war me hole, a Russian controlled disruptor, more like.

Incredible how Bannon, Trump, Breitbart, RT and all the rest of the far right Russiabot set love her so much, isn't it.

What is the actual evidence that she is controlled by the Kremlin, as if there is none, then you (as well as others) look quite foolish and a bit of a conspiracy nut.

Biden's time was 2016 but time has moved on and he would make a poor candidate this time around.
    Bernie would be interesting, but again, has been in congress for years and has done nothing much of note.
    Warren would be a disaster in my opinion.

If these are the top 3 then I think Trump may actually have a good chance of re-election, as scary as that sounds. Like, is there ANYONE more worthy out there?

Where is Bloomberg? If he ran, he would walk it into the White House.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭hill16bhoy

markodaly wrote: »
    What is the actual evidence that she is controlled by the Kremlin, as if there is none, then you (as well as others) look quite foolish and a bit of a conspiracy nut.
    At this stage you'd have to be a very gullible conspiracy nut indeed to believe something very fishy isn't going on with Gabbard.

Of course Trump and Putin lovers like yourself who think Russia is as pure as Siberian snow are exactly these kind of conspiracy nuts.

At this stage you'd have to be a very gullible conspiracy nut indeed to believe something very fishy isn't going on with Gabbard.

Of course Trump and Putin lovers like yourself who think Russia is as pure as Siberian snow are exactly these kind of conspiracy nuts.

Lovers like myself. Classy!

So, I guess no actual evidence then.
    Good to know.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

In for the 3rd debates so far:
    Biden
    Buttigieg
    Harris
    Sanders
    Warren
    Booker
    O'Rourke
    Klobuchar

On the cusp:
    Castro
    Yang
    Gabbard

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2020_Democratic_Party_presidential_debates_and_forums#Qualification_3

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,068 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

A fair few candles burning for Gabbard and Yang around here, early disappointment I guess but scarcely surprising. Honestly I'd forgotten about the former til people started going to bat for her.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,043 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

pixelburp wrote: »
    A fair few candles burning for Gabbard and Yang around here, early disappointment I guess but scarcely surprising. Honestly I'd forgotten about the former til people started going to bat for her.

I don't think anyone has ever believed she has a chance, I don't mind her, but its a doomed campaign and ideally she should have waited at least 4 years before running. She has to much baggage and is seriously disliked by the Democrat establishment. It is good she is up there though as pretty much all of them are weak on foreign policy. She was one of the few who called out the Venezuela coup from day one while the rest were very slow to do so.

Yang is important as nobody wants to talk about automation in detail. There will be debates focusing on gun culture and environment which is fine, but pretty sure we have yet to have an actual question focusing on automation, that's shambolic for a supposedly progressive party to consistently swerve it.

Yang will hang around a bit,,outside Pete, Bernie, Biden, Harris and Warren he seems to be doing best of the rest regarding polls which is obviously not much but its something.

In a mad world could see him picking Tulsi as vice as they get on well, but well its not a debate that needs to happen tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,625 ✭✭✭✭briany

Trump hasn't decided on a nickname for Harris yet.

Rumoured front runners are:-

Kooky Kamala
    Krazy Kamala
    Cancerous Kamala
    Commie Kamala
    Crowing Kamala
    Conning Kamala
    Conniving Kamala
    Crabby Kamala

• Registered Users Posts: 16,163 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

So you'd have to be a gullible conspiracy theorist to believe a particular Democratic candidate is not a Russian agent? Mkay...

https://fivethirtyeight.com/features/polls-since-the-second-debate-show-kamala-harris-slipping/

Harris slumping after the Tulsi knockout the other week. As I said previously Tulsi has zero chance, but she showed the front runners how to hurt Harris.

Biden rebounding well after the first debate. He's not popular with the online progressives, but the boomers clearly still love and he's Trump's biggest nightmare looking at the election map.

Warren and Bernie got a nice bump. Bernie was on Rogan Yesterday, 3 million views already.:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,799 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

briany wrote: »
    Trump hasn't decided on a nickname for Harris yet.

Rumoured front runners are:-

Kooky Kamala
    Krazy Kamala
    Cancerous Kamala
    Commie Kamala
    Crowing Kamala
    Conning Kamala
    Conniving Kamala
    Crabby Kamala

What a time to be alive.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭BluePlanet

Not sure anybody posted this yet, Biden's latest gaffe

Biden in Iowa Says ‘Poor Kids’ Are Just as Smart as ‘White Kids’
    We should challenge students in these schools and have advanced placement programs in these schools,” Biden said. “We have this notion that somehow if you’re poor, you cannot do it. Poor kids are just as bright and just as talented, as white kids.” He quickly added, “Wealthy kids, black kids, Asian kids, no I really mean it, but think how we think about it.”
    https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2019-08-09/biden-says-poor-kids-are-just-as-smart-as-white-kids-in-iowa

Yep, he said that.
    Wish he'd would just put himself back out to pasture.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,625 ✭✭✭✭briany

BluePlanet wrote: »

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2019-08-09/biden-says-poor-kids-are-just-as-smart-as-white-kids-in-iowa

Yep, he said that.

Biden can absorb that type of gaffe no problem. He's running away with the Democratic primary so far anyway. As long as the others continue to divide the more left-leaning vote, it's a sleepy magic carpet ride all the way to convention for JB.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,560 ✭✭✭✭Sand

I would have thought another gaffe was his "We choose truth over facts" when speaking in Des Moines, Iowa. I mean, he's not wrong if you consider he is appealing to his base. Generally speaking the progressive left is a fact free zone but to say it out loud is clearly embarrassing.

Biden is just a doddery old white boomer, trotted out there because its his turn. Just like it was Hillary's turn before him. If the Democrats manage to lose the election to a nominally Republican president in favour of gun control it will be the greatest political failure in American history. Maybe all history.

briany wrote: »
    Biden can absorb that type of gaffe no problem. He's running away with the Democratic primary so far anyway. As long as the others continue to divide the more left-leaning vote, it's a sleepy magic carpet ride all the way to convention for JB.

Convincing Bidens base that he is cognitively unsound rather than a racist should be the way to go for his opponents. However will his opponents realise that? The Harris attack on him went down great online, but looking at his numbers he's still cruising to the nomination.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,068 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

I maintain the belief that once the debates come down to a half dozen candidates we'll see the gap narrow. Maybe that's projection on my part over the equally strong belief that a Biden nomination is a win for the Trump campaign. The overriding narrative with the 2 nighter debates has felt like deep ennui at the bloated paddock; once things thin out to the "serious" candidates I think you'll see the ideological gloves come off.

With the exception of the bussing attack, and maybe the centrist tag team against Warren and Sanders, there have been little substance or energy in these debates. Methinks the fireworks are yet to come - this is a marathon, not a sprint (and in that sense, maybe Harris has peaked too early)

• Site Banned Posts: 7 Tucker Carlson

I maintain the belief that once the debates come down to a half dozen candidates we'll see the gap narrow. Maybe that's projection on my part over the equally strong belief that a Biden nomination is a win for the Trump campaign. The overriding narrative with the 2 nighter debates has felt like deep ennui at the bloated paddock; once things thin out to the "serious" candidates I think you'll see the ideological gloves come off.

With the exception of the bussing attack, and maybe the centrist tag team against Warren and Sanders, there have been little substance or energy in these debates. Methinks the fireworks are yet to come - this is a marathon, not a sprint (and in that sense, maybe Harris has peaked too early)
    Socialists like Biden have nothing to offer the US. Trump is doing a great job - he'll be re elected comfortably - you heard it here first

• Registered Users Posts: 12,560 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Harris is finished. Gabbard sank her. Harris is polling terribly amongst US blacks which are a core Democrat base. If she as a POC cant win support amongst POC voters, then she is done. Being a hypocritical law enforcer in a community over-represented in crime statistics simply is not going to play well. Lets just stop talking about Harris and move on to valid candidates.

• Site Banned Posts: 7 Tucker Carlson

Sand wrote: »
    Harris is finished. Gabbard sank her. Harris is polling terribly amongst US blacks which are a core Democrat base. If she as a POC cant win support amongst POC voters, then she is done. Being a hypocritical law enforcer in a community over-represented in crime statistics simply is not going to play well. Lets just stop talking about Harris and move on to valid candidates.

Is it true Harris is not black at all I heard that after the debate that she was a fake

• Registered Users Posts: 882 ✭✭✭The Phantom Jipper

Is it true Harris is not black at all I heard that after the debate that she was a fake

Poor stuff. It wasn't even good the first time ye said it.

Her poor support with black people is understandable,,lack of name factor and her background. She like Mayor Pete seem to be most liked by wealthy white liberals which make up a lot of the media. Biden due to the Obama connection is actually pretty popular with non white voters.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,043 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

BluePlanet wrote: »

Yep, he said that.

He's been making mistakes like that since the 1980s, it's just who he is.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,280 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

On the plus side.
    https://www.cnn.com/2019/08/09/us/bernie-sanders-aliens-trnd/index.html
    Bernie Sanders says that if he's elected, he'll reveal whether aliens are real

Not sure if I support this. At least he won't be President before 20th September. That would spoil some of the fun.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,343 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Couple of recent state polls:
    Iowa, Biden by 9 from Warren. Biden leads 3rd place Harris by 17
    California, Biden by 4 from Warren. Harris is in 4th place in her home-state
    North Carolina, Biden by 21 from Sanders
    Pennsylvania, Biden by 7 from Warren.
    New Hampshire, Biden by 4 from Sanders
    Texas, Biden by 9 from O'Rourke
    Nevada, Biden by 6 from Sanders

Couple of General Election polls:
    Survey USA has both Biden and Bernie beating Trump nationally by 8.

IBD/TIPP has Biden leading Trump by 13. Sanders leads by 5, Warren by 4.

Emerson has both Biden and Sanders leading Trump by 2 with Warren and Trump a tie.

Civitas/SurveyUSA has Biden leading Trump by 8 in North Carolina (Trump won there in 16)

DMN/Emerson has both Biden and Sanders leading Trump by 2 in Texas (Trump leads all the other Dem challengers)

rossie1977 wrote: »

That's some outlier; everywhere else seems to be narrowing. Does Biden have some connection with North Carolina?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,343 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Obama won there in 2008. Only other Dem to win state last 50+ years are Carter in 76 and LBJ in 64.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,163 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

rossie1977 wrote: »
    Couple of recent state polls:
    Iowa, Biden by 9 from Warren. Biden leads 3rd place Harris by 17
    California, Biden by 4 from Warren. Harris is in 4th place in her home-state
    Pennsylvania, Biden by 7 from Warren.
    New Hampshire, Biden by 4 from Sanders
    Texas, Biden by 9 from O'Rourke
    Nevada, Biden by 6 from Sanders

Couple of General Election polls:
    Survey USA has both Biden and Bernie beating Trump nationally by 8.

IBD/TIPP has Biden leading Trump by 13. Sanders leads by 5, Warren by 4.

Emerson has both Biden and Sanders leading Trump by 2 with Warren and Trump a tie.

Civitas/SurveyUSA has Biden leading Trump by 8 in North Carolina (Trump won there in 16)

DMN/Emerson has both Biden and Sanders leading Trump by 2 in Texas (Trump leads all the other Dem challengers)

Surprised that Sanders has such apparently broad appeal...