scariest moment of your life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,372 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Nearly falling in front of a double decker bus in London

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

I was almost suffocated to death aged 12. I was being crushed into a steel bar just under the ribs and couldn't breathe for a few minutes. I was standing up and could feel all the blood rushing to my head. There was no way to escape, as about fifteen lads were queued up behind and beside me, between the wall and the bar, all pushing against me on purpose. Two of my (at the time) friends were stuck behind them in the queue and were trying to get it to stop, but it was a small space, and there were too many of them in the way. They saw me almost die.

Horrifying. Makes me think of poor Anton Yelchin’s death a few years back. I believe he had cystic fibrosis so maybe that didn’t help. Also, the people at Hillsborough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

My dad broke his neck a few years ago and was in a coma for several weeks, he was abroad on holidays at the time. Getting the call to say that he'd contracted a ventilator associated bacterial infection and gone into septic shock, and then being informed that the chances of survival were less than 50% (with almost certain paralysis from the shoulders down even if he did survive) was probably the coldest I've ever felt my blood run in a single moment. Every minute of the next few days was a constant battle to stay optimistic and positive despite the cold clutch of fear which literally felt, overly poetic as this might sound, like someone with a hand made of ice squeezing your heart on every single beat.

He made it, but those few days were just terrifying. Not sure if that's the kind of fear OP is looking for, but it's certainly the biggest moment of terror which comes immediately to mind for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Being told my MRI results were bad and that I had MS. I stared off into space and felt like I was underwater. Still can't recall the following few days with any clarity. The phone calls to my folks still haunts me.

Last summer I skydived (in aid of MS!) and going up in the plane was absolutely terrifying. I'd pretty much made my peace with dying- that's how certain I was! But I didn't and I even stuck the landing quite well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,346 ✭✭✭✭banie01

That is heartbreaking. I’m so sorry.

I mean, I’m terminally ill but we get to say our goodbyes.

Its a mantra I've repeated here on Boards quite a bit.
    But!
    The goodbye doesn't matter all that much.
    It's the hellos, the memories made whilst we thought we were young and invincible that really matter.
    From the collapse to "death" was 3days. Hands down the worst 3 days of my life.
    She was dead leaving our house, but the EMT and Docs did Trojan work to give her at least a chance, but she was down too long and there really was no hope.

But that hope, that hope while everything is slipping away, while you are holding her hand and praying like an atheist in a foxhole...
    Is soul destroying, it really has stayed with me over the years.

Now, when I think of Kate it's the 11yrs we had together and the absolutely great great times we had.

When I think of her death, I think now more of the organ donation and the love and support so many people showed our family that stays with me.
    Walking over the hill in the funeral cortege and spotting a friend of ours who had travelled @4 thousand miles at the drop of a hat to be there for us.

That is my one coherent memory of the funeral really, the rest of it was really just chemical oblivion.

TLDR: Sod goodbyes ;) always leave them wanting more!
    And ODB, if I can say anything from reading your posts...
    I think you most definitely have that in hand ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Being on a full bus, coming around a tight bend and seeing a lorry coming against us around the same bend going really fast, whole bus of people automatically braced for impact. Turned out the lorry wasn't carrying anything, like it was just the cab and then an empty truckbed or whatever it's called, so it was grand.

And then seeing my dad lift my sister out of our car after a nearly head on collision, and not knowing if she was dead. She was just knocked out, fcuking eejit must have got knocked out about 30 times when we were kids.

banie01 wrote: »
    Its a mantra I've repeated here on Boards quite a bit.
    But!
    The goodbye doesn't matter all that much.
    It's the hellos, the memories made whilst we thought we were young and invincible that really matter.
    From the collapse to "death" was 3days. Hands down the worst 3 days of my life.
    She was dead leaving our house, but the EMT and Docs did Trojan work to give her at least a chance, but she was down too long and there really was no hope.

But that hope, that hope while everything is slipping away, while you are holding her hand and praying like an atheist in a foxhole...
    Is soul destroying, it really has stayed with me over the years.

Now, when I think of Kate it's the 11yrs we had together and the absolutely great great times we had.

When I think of her death, I think now more of the organ donation and the love and support so many people showed our family that stays with me.
    Walking over the hill in the funeral cortege and spotting a friend of ours who had travelled @4 thousand miles to be there for us.

That is my one coherent memory of the funeral really, the rest of it was really just chemical oblivion.

TLDR: Sod goodbyes ;) always leave them wanting more!
    And ODB, if I can say anything from reading your posts...
    I think you most definitely have that in hand ;)

I’m not sure I agree. Our experiences are different of course. :) But I’ve been able to say so many things I really wanted to say to loved ones in the last few years and I’ve been amazed by how much it meant to some of them. Some have told me.

I’m gearing up to writing letters soon.

The younger of my girlfriends made me a daddy again recently and all was well until a little while after at home when complications set it. Was messy like a scene from the Omen or Carrie or something. Thankfully all turned out well but I would say that was the moment that I will answer this question with for some time to come.

Weird what it is like when a situation like that hits though. You either panic or become a machine. I did the latter and in a calm emotionless dream scape got her into the car and to the hospital. Once that wore off in the hospital I did not even have the wherewithal to get a coin operated vending machine to work for me. Some other patient hanging around had to do it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I was driving to see my father who was terminally ill in hospital. I had been working a lot and was very tired. I fell asleep and was awoken by the sound of a loud horn just a few yards in front and trying to avoid me. Luckily we both took evasive action in time and when I struck it was just my right rear wing against his right front, a glancing blow. I was lucky and learned a big lesson.

Never drive when tired. Take breaks.

I have also mentioned here before that I was a passenger in a car that went under a lorry and two people in my car died. I was very young then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,346 ✭✭✭✭banie01

I’m not sure I agree. Our experiences are different of course. :) But I’ve been able to say so many things I really wanted to say to loved ones in the last few years and I’ve been amazed by how much it meant to some of them. Some have told me.

I’m gearing up to writing letters soon.

I'm not saying it's a bad thing ;)
    And I do suppose that especially with a letter, it's always something that can be held and re-read and is very very personal.

I hope those letters are easier to write than to think about.q

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

The younger of my girlfriends made me a daddy again recently and all was well until a little while after at home when complications set it. Was messy like a scene from the Omen or Carrie or something. Thankfully all turned out well but I would say that was the moment that I will answer this question with for some time to come.

Weird what it is like when a situation like that hits though. You either panic or become a machine. I did the latter and in a calm emotionless dream scape got her into the car and to the hospital. Once that wore off in the hospital I did not even have the wherewithal to get a coin operated vending machine to work for me. Some other patient hanging around had to do it for me.

How many girlfriends have you?

For me, my wife had to have C-sections when having our babies, due to a bleeding disorder. After the birth of our 2nd son, the nurses told me that they would be about a half hour cleaning my wife up, and she'd be with me shortly.

Turns out she bleeded more than they had expected, and needed a transfusion. I'm not allowed into the room while the c-section is being done as they knock her out totally. Took them a long while to bring her out. All the while, i'm there holding the baby, and the worst is going through my head.

Minor leagues compared to some of the posts here though.

Banie, you're a real trooper mate, and a quality poster. Thanks for sharing. And ODB, sorry to hear of your troubles.

banie01 wrote: »
    I'm not saying it's a bad thing ;)
    And I do suppose that especially with a letter, it's always something that can be held and re-read and is very very personal.

I hope those letters are easier to write than to think about.q

It’s proving difficult. I need tissues nearby. Ewww, that has disgusting connotations. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Gwen Cooper

Coming off Lexapro, absolutely terrifying place to be in your mind. Crying, full of suicidal thoughts, your brain gets little electric shocks every now and then and the world is a flat grey place. Would never ever take it again.

I'm going through at the moment. Coming off Duloxetine (also known as Cymbalta) after 10 months. Feeling very sick, dizzy and very angry with everyone. The first few days I was even throwing up. The electric shocks in the brain are very annoying indeed. I think it's finally dying down now, 4 weeks after getting off the meds. My left eye even stopped twitching!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭discobeaker

As lollipops said,being diagnosed with MS was absolutely zero fun. Then you,like everyone would do,go and research your newly discovered illness on Dr Google and you read the absolute horror stories and think that it's your life is totally over and think you are done for.

6 years on,I'm thankfully doing ok and the scare is truly behind me

There is more than one but, but a fully loaded truck form a quarry whos brakes had failed missing me by a whisker just before it turned over I could see the driver and the look of absolute terror on his face. The truck then turned over he climed out the window was alright not a scratch on him but I would say he wasnt well for weeks afterward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,600 ✭✭✭Duff

Rolling my car 35 foot down the side of a mountain when I was 19. Everything went in slow motion and I had time to think about how my body would never be found on the side of a mountain in the middle of January. Car got jammed on it's side against a huge boulder about halfway down the slope and I climbed out with just a few cuts and a cracked rib. Don't know how because the car was like a crushed can.

Still get an elevated heart rate when I think about it now 11 years later!

Being told my MRI results were bad and that I had MS. I stared off into space and felt like I was underwater. Still can't recall the following few days with any clarity. The phone calls to my folks still haunts me.

Last summer I skydived (in aid of MS!) and going up in the plane was absolutely terrifying. I'd pretty much made my peace with dying- that's how certain I was! But I didn't and I even stuck the landing quite well!
    As lollipops said,being diagnosed with MS was absolutely zero fun. Then you,like everyone would do,go and research your newly discovered illness on Dr Google and you read the absolute horror stories and think that it's your life is totally over and think you are done for.

6 years on,I'm thankfully doing ok and the scare is truly behind me

My granny had MS and died at the age of 79. And that was twenty years ago, I’m sure so much more research has happened since then.

Feel free to tell me if the above isn’t comforting and I’ll zip it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭storker

The birth of our first daughter. Mother and daughter came very close to not making it. The next day we heard that a woman in another hospital had died from the same complication.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

I fell from a cliff on to a narrow ledge some 30ft below many years ago. Passed out and woke to a helicopter coming to my rescue. As I fell I thought I would die.

Other than that I found the anxiety that all would go well around the birth of our children quite scary.

That's mad. We're you conscious when you fell? I always wonder what part of the anatomy do people tend to fall on. I imagine the head would get a fine clatter from that height or is it possible to adjust during the fall, maybe taking one on the legs to save yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,966 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

On a flight from Malaga to Dublin in October 2005, after the airplane was buffeted by unbelievably violent turbulence. Had to make an emergency landing in Nantes, France.

I normally enjoy flying (but not airports) and I've been through bumpy flights loads of times, but this was 25 mins of terror...people were screaming and crying. I really thought we might crash and it would be goodnight. :(

Second scariest was on a pleasure cruise boat on a choppy Danube river from Vienna to Bratislava, the boat ran aground, was starting to take on water, and we had to be rescued by the river police.

Some scary shit here. I’m cacking it reading some of them.

I’ve one. Crossing at a pedestrian crossing a decade ago (I had the green man), halfway across the road, I glance to my left to see a blatant crimson-dasher careening towards me in his van, talking furiously into his mobile. I jumped back and he missed me by mere inches. No way would I have survived being hit. He was so distracted, I bet the incident didn’t even register with him. But I learned something from it - the green man means cross with caution. Always look. There’s no point being in the right of you’re dead.

I’ve a few other traffic ones but... lazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Son stopped breathing after being born, didn't know for a half hour if things would be OK as the health professionals just grabbed him and took him to another room

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

When I was about 10 and my brother who was about 3 used to love when id push him really fast in his buggy and pretend it was a race car, He'd laugh so hard, he thought it was great fun so I did it all time.
    One day, I was playing outside with him in his buggy and decided to play the race car game around the side of the house which was close enough to the road but being 10 I thought it was a safe enough distance and we played the game all the time and nothing ever went wrong. That was until this one day I pushed the buggy around the bend too fast and lost control of it, it fell to the side onto the road, my brother was strapped in and his head was lying sideways out a good bit onto the road, the road was usually busy enough and rural so cars would regularly fly up and down, terrified a car was going to come and hit him I started to panic and tried lifting the buggy back up but it was too heavy and I couldnt get his straps open to lift him out, I started screaming, ran into the house panicking screaming at my mam to come and help.
    Thankfully a car didnt come and he was fine, just a bit upset from the fall but I stayed quiet for the whole week, I felt sick to my stomach that I could have potentially killed or injured my little brother. I still get anxiety when I think about it ad the fact that if a car had come he could potentially not be here today and that would have been my fault.
    Safe to say we never played the race car game again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Utter Consternation

I was feeding the baby around half three this morning and there was a flash of sheet lightening outside. I was totally disorientated and actually thought that someone was looking in the window and took a photo of me with the flash of their camera switched on.

Bear in mind that i was upstairs at the time.

Scared the sh1te out of me, but the clap of thunder after let me know that i wasn't the victim of levitating paparazzi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,289 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Waking up with two burglars in my bedroom rifling through my stuff.

And doing a ride called the Kamikaze at a water park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭D13exile

It's the late 80's. I'm 18, I'm only driving two months and I'm out driving my Dad's car (without his permission as he was at a Dublin match in Croker) and I'm going mach one along the old N2 towards Ashbourne from Finglas with the radio blasting, the window open and I'm enjoying the scenery out the driver's window. Out of the corner of my eye, I see a flash of red (a car's brake lights in front) and I stamp on the brakes while turning my head to look forward. I screech to a halt stopping only inches from the car that had stopped in front of me to turn right. The scary part was the two young kids aged around 3-5 standing in their fathers boot space in his estate with their little faces pressed up against the rear window looking at me. If I'd been a fraction of a second slower hitting the brake pedal, I'd had hit their car and killed them.

That was the scariest moment of my life and I learned at a very early age not to fcuk around on the roads. Never had an accident or penalty points since as I drive carefully due to that near life altering incident and hopefully there's now two 30 somethings walking around (perhaps with kids of their own) that didn't die that day due to my stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Capture.PNG

Just remembered one.

In the early 90s, myself, parents & brother and sister would go to Lough Key Forest Park almost every Sunday to spend a little family time together. We'd have a little picnic, and us kids could run around playing etc.

Now my mother had always warned us, if anybody offered you sweets, that you didn't know, run back to her immediately. There was a bit of a fear of child snatching at the time.

As you can see in the attached picture, the Forest park has several car parks, separated by rows of trees. We were playing in those trees, while my parents sat at a nearby picnic table. As we played, a car pulled up, the passenger window came down, and a hand came out, "come here kids, I have sweets". My 2 siblings started running down to the car, both are younger than me.

I started screaming for my parents, and immediately the car screeched off. My sister, who'd have been about 3 at the time, was within touching distance of the hand before the car took off.

My dad gave chase, but the car had too much of a headstart. We reported it to the Guards, but ultimately, nothing came of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Grew up near the border during the Troubles, and as I went to school in a different town to the one I lived in, used to often hitch lifts when going over to see my friends for a night out or whatever

One day a white van stopped and told me that there was room in the back. Reluctantly got in and all that was in there was a spilt can of petrol, and I had to balance myself to try and keep away from it. Became clear very quickly that the three lads in the front were quite drunk and all looked very rough

The oldest of them started talking to me very aggressively, asking me about my politics and religion. As I was in the republic, I took my chances and told him I supported Sinn Fein. He responded that they were in the UVF and were going to take me down a laneway and shoot me in the head. All the while gesturing that he was going to throw his lit cigarette towards the spilt petrol that was at my feet

Silence while the blood drained from my face. I was genuinely terrified given the sh!t that used to go on in the North at the time. Eventually the driver of the van said 'Ah don't mind that auld boll!x, he's only taking a hand at ya' to much laughter from the 3 lads. I've never been so relieved to step out of a vehicle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭14dMoney

Farted during an interview. It was silent but wet. When I mercifully finished, I went out to check. It seems that I was that nervous, that the sweat had travelled down my ass-crack, and when I farted it caused my cheeks to flap, like beef-curtains in a gale. When they hit together it created a spray, much like a sneeze, and this was the jet of moisture that I had felt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Gwen Cooper

Actually I remembered one more...

I'm not Irish and go visit my parents in my home country about twice a year. My parents and siblings always give me lifts to the train/bus station if I want to go visit friends. I suffer from bad anxiety and one of the biggest fears I have is when people are driving me somewhere or collecting me, basically if I am the reason for them to get in the car, that something will happen to them. It would be automatically my fault. I'm tearing up just writing this, and I had this fear even as a little girl, ever since I can remember. I don't think I ever said it to any friends or family members though for some reason.

Anyway, last summer I was there and went to visit my friend. My mom said she will collect me at the train station after. Our house is less than 5 minutes drive on a straight, quiet road, so it's enough to text my mom as the train is pulling into the station. I was chatting with her on Facebook when I was on the train and when the station was near, I told her that I'm nearly in and that she can collect me. She said "ok I'm getting into the car now and I'll be there in a moment."

Two minutes later I got off the train, walked through the train station, waked outside and sat on a bench and waited for my mom to show up. Ten minutes later she still wasn't there. Fifteen minutes, nothing. I was sh***ing myself, especially when I saw an ambulance going up in the direction my mom was supposed to come from.

I tried calling her, but she wouldn't answer. I tried calling my brother who was in the house with her, he wasn't answering either. Finally my mom's phone was answered. A man was on the other side and said "Hello, this is police officer John Doe, who am I speaking to?" in a very monotonous serious voice. I could feel myself go pale. I could feel the anxiety attack coming on. I felt like there's no oxygen around me and I couldn't breathe.

Then I heard my mom in the background "oh my god you're so stupid, give me the phone" and then two guys laughing. Turned out that as my mom was getting into the car, my brother stopped her and asked her if she can drop him and his friend to town since she's going there anyway. Then she drove to collect his friend, he was late coming out of his house so they had to wait for a few minutes, both their phones were on silent, so they didn't hear me. When they were about a minute away, my mom noticed that her phone is ringing, and asked my brother to answer it and tell me that she's on the way. My brother just handed the phone to his friend and told him what to say.

Lads I've never been more relieved to get pranked.