Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

scariest moment of your life?

• 09-08-2019 1:07pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭

not some paranormal ****e but something like losing your job and the mortgage, cancer scare etc..

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

when the bag of Chilli Heatwave Dorito's I was buying from a vending machine got stuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,965 ✭✭✭gifted

When the hot neighbour nearly opened her wardrobe door....jesus that was a close one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Getting married

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭circadian

As a passenger on a bus hurtling through the mountains of Laos, driven by a man clearly on amphetamines.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Waiting for my newborn son to cry.

His oxygen levels were low. He was fine after a few mins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I fell from a cliff on to a narrow ledge some 30ft below many years ago. Passed out and woke to a helicopter coming to my rescue. As I fell I thought I would die.

Other than that I found the anxiety that all would go well around the birth of our children quite scary.

Jumping from an aeroplane, wondering if the parachute would deploy.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

when i couldn't pierce the hole in the Capri Sun with the straw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

not some paranormal ****e but something like losing your job and the mortgage, cancer scare etc..

I bought a house in a ghost estate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,432 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Earthquake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,432 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Jumping from an aeroplane, wondering if the parachute would deploy.

A close second after my first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,284 ✭✭✭✭banie01

When my 1st wife collapsed, she never woke up.
    Everything, and I mean everything I thought I valued, every plan we'd made and every hope we had for our future.

Gone, in the snap of a finger.
    That scariest moment was then rinsed and repeated for a few years, as every single morning...
    I'd wake up forgetting what had happened, roll over notice her side that of the bed hadn't been slept in...
    And then get scared all over again wondering howd I get through the day without her.

But I did, so did our little guy and we are still here and the fear has, I'm glad to say gone ;)
    For the most part at least :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

There's a strange moment where you go from being a nervous wreck of a Dad-to-be in the leadup to going into hospital for your wife to give birth to the "I swear, if there's a God, let him be ok, take me instead" thoughts that come into your head as soon as anything goes slightly wrong.

That was a massive emotional switch.

a clown came full speed towards me down the dual carriageway the wrong way at the N4 in Mullingar a few years ago

had the full reaction- slo-mo, saw it all unfold, had time to wonder was he asleep, suicidal, drunk, whatever

car was full so i had time to think of the others in it including my kid niece

about three or four seconds in total from spotting him, realising it was happening and finding space to move out of his road

got into hard shoulder and kept from going off or hitting any of the other vehicles getting out of the lane to avoid him, pulled over as soon as i could to call cops and take a breather

took me a few hours to get over it tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,044 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Your child very sick in hospital. Never want to experience anything like that again.

I'd also add I was held at gunpoint before, but a sick kid was far worse experience.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    when i couldn't pierce the hole in the Capri Sun with the straw

That's not Capri-sun...
    That's a junkie training kit :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭mr_fegelien

I fell from a cliff on to a narrow ledge some 30ft below many years ago. Passed out and woke to a helicopter coming to my rescue. As I fell I thought I would die.

Other than that I found the anxiety that all would go well around the birth of our children quite scary.

I'd rather die tbh from a fall than survive but get paralyzed. Your legs okay??

I ordered a pair of runners online and they arrived in the wrong size.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Arriving at the scene of a fatal car accident just after it happened. The victim was only 15. We had the job of covering his face and sitting with him until emergency services arrived.

Admitting I'd been abused to my family was another one but for a lot of different reasons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

banie01 wrote: »
    Everything, and I mean everything I thought I valued, every plan we'd made and every hope we had for our future.

That scariest moment was then rinsed and repeated for a few years, as every single morning...
    I'd wake up forgetting what had happened, roll over notice her side that of the bed hadn't been slept in...
    And then get scared all over again wondering howd I get through the day without her.

But I did, so did our little guy and we are still here and the fear has, I'm glad to say gone ;)

I'm so sorry for your loss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Gwen Cooper

A 3-year old I was babysitting fell and rolled down the stairs. I was watching him in slow motion and couldn't do anything. I was certain he broke his neck because he didn't make a sound. Then to my relief he got up, looked at me whit a big smile, but as he was turning around, he lost his balance and rolled down the other half of the stairs. He was fine but I'm still traumatized.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

scary in a different way.... seeing my landlord walking purposefully up the drive with a letter in his hand and "knowing" it was an eviction notice.

scary; being driven 60 miles by a social worker to the hospital after the police had knocked at the door ( and opening the door was ..) to tell me my mother had been in a road accident... and seeing the Sister's face when we got there.

eviltwin wrote: »
    I'm so sorry for your loss

Thanks ET, it's been quite a while now, 12yrs and I'm not trying to thanks whore.
    More show that if the shít hits the fan, no matter how bad you think it may be.
    We can prevail and life can be good again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

When my wife was sent for a section, turned into an emergency and I wasn't let in.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭GBX

The moment of impact as somebody pulled out in front of my motorbike. Walked out of A&E few hours later with a broken hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Coming off Lexapro, absolutely terrifying place to be in your mind. Crying, full of suicidal thoughts, your brain gets little electric shocks every now and then and the world is a flat grey place. Would never ever take it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

That is heartbreaking. I’m so sorry.

I mean, I’m terminally ill but we get to say our goodbyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Porklife

Thanks ET, it's been quite a while now, 12yrs and I'm not trying to thanks whore.
    More show that if the shít hits the fan, no matter how bad you think it may be.
    We can prevail and life can be good again.

Inspirational and something I really need to hold on to and remember. I spend far too much time dwelling on the past and wishing for it to be different.
    I'm also sorry for your loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Aceandstuff

I was almost suffocated to death aged 12. I was being crushed into a steel bar just under the ribs and couldn't breathe for a few minutes. I was standing up and could feel all the blood rushing to my head. There was no way to escape, as about fifteen lads were queued up behind and beside me, between the wall and the bar, all pushing against me on purpose. Two of my (at the time) friends were stuck behind them in the queue and were trying to get it to stop, but it was a small space, and there were too many of them in the way. They saw me almost die.

• Subscribers Posts: 42,171 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

being mugged and beaten by 4 black dudes in a particular European city, i was on the ground actually expecting to feel a knife slice me open, thankfully that didnt happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,313 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Nearly falling in front of a double decker bus in London

I was almost suffocated to death aged 12. I was being crushed into a steel bar just under the ribs and couldn't breathe for a few minutes. I was standing up and could feel all the blood rushing to my head. There was no way to escape, as about fifteen lads were queued up behind and beside me, between the wall and the bar, all pushing against me on purpose. Two of my (at the time) friends were stuck behind them in the queue and were trying to get it to stop, but it was a small space, and there were too many of them in the way. They saw me almost die.

Horrifying. Makes me think of poor Anton Yelchin’s death a few years back. I believe he had cystic fibrosis so maybe that didn’t help. Also, the people at Hillsborough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

My dad broke his neck a few years ago and was in a coma for several weeks, he was abroad on holidays at the time. Getting the call to say that he'd contracted a ventilator associated bacterial infection and gone into septic shock, and then being informed that the chances of survival were less than 50% (with almost certain paralysis from the shoulders down even if he did survive) was probably the coldest I've ever felt my blood run in a single moment. Every minute of the next few days was a constant battle to stay optimistic and positive despite the cold clutch of fear which literally felt, overly poetic as this might sound, like someone with a hand made of ice squeezing your heart on every single beat.

He made it, but those few days were just terrifying. Not sure if that's the kind of fear OP is looking for, but it's certainly the biggest moment of terror which comes immediately to mind for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Being told my MRI results were bad and that I had MS. I stared off into space and felt like I was underwater. Still can't recall the following few days with any clarity. The phone calls to my folks still haunts me.

Last summer I skydived (in aid of MS!) and going up in the plane was absolutely terrifying. I'd pretty much made my peace with dying- that's how certain I was! But I didn't and I even stuck the landing quite well!

That is heartbreaking. I’m so sorry.

I mean, I’m terminally ill but we get to say our goodbyes.

Its a mantra I've repeated here on Boards quite a bit.
    But!
    The goodbye doesn't matter all that much.
    It's the hellos, the memories made whilst we thought we were young and invincible that really matter.
    From the collapse to "death" was 3days. Hands down the worst 3 days of my life.
    She was dead leaving our house, but the EMT and Docs did Trojan work to give her at least a chance, but she was down too long and there really was no hope.

But that hope, that hope while everything is slipping away, while you are holding her hand and praying like an atheist in a foxhole...
    Is soul destroying, it really has stayed with me over the years.

Now, when I think of Kate it's the 11yrs we had together and the absolutely great great times we had.

When I think of her death, I think now more of the organ donation and the love and support so many people showed our family that stays with me.
    Walking over the hill in the funeral cortege and spotting a friend of ours who had travelled @4 thousand miles at the drop of a hat to be there for us.

That is my one coherent memory of the funeral really, the rest of it was really just chemical oblivion.

TLDR: Sod goodbyes ;) always leave them wanting more!
    And ODB, if I can say anything from reading your posts...
    I think you most definitely have that in hand ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Being on a full bus, coming around a tight bend and seeing a lorry coming against us around the same bend going really fast, whole bus of people automatically braced for impact. Turned out the lorry wasn't carrying anything, like it was just the cab and then an empty truckbed or whatever it's called, so it was grand.

And then seeing my dad lift my sister out of our car after a nearly head on collision, and not knowing if she was dead. She was just knocked out, fcuking eejit must have got knocked out about 30 times when we were kids.

Its a mantra I've repeated here on Boards quite a bit.
    But!
    The goodbye doesn't matter all that much.
    It's the hellos, the memories made whilst we thought we were young and invincible that really matter.
    From the collapse to "death" was 3days. Hands down the worst 3 days of my life.
    She was dead leaving our house, but the EMT and Docs did Trojan work to give her at least a chance, but she was down too long and there really was no hope.

But that hope, that hope while everything is slipping away, while you are holding her hand and praying like an atheist in a foxhole...
    Is soul destroying, it really has stayed with me over the years.

Now, when I think of Kate it's the 11yrs we had together and the absolutely great great times we had.

When I think of her death, I think now more of the organ donation and the love and support so many people showed our family that stays with me.
    Walking over the hill in the funeral cortege and spotting a friend of ours who had travelled @4 thousand miles to be there for us.

That is my one coherent memory of the funeral really, the rest of it was really just chemical oblivion.

TLDR: Sod goodbyes ;) always leave them wanting more!
    And ODB, if I can say anything from reading your posts...
    I think you most definitely have that in hand ;)

I’m not sure I agree. Our experiences are different of course. :) But I’ve been able to say so many things I really wanted to say to loved ones in the last few years and I’ve been amazed by how much it meant to some of them. Some have told me.

I’m gearing up to writing letters soon.

The younger of my girlfriends made me a daddy again recently and all was well until a little while after at home when complications set it. Was messy like a scene from the Omen or Carrie or something. Thankfully all turned out well but I would say that was the moment that I will answer this question with for some time to come.

Weird what it is like when a situation like that hits though. You either panic or become a machine. I did the latter and in a calm emotionless dream scape got her into the car and to the hospital. Once that wore off in the hospital I did not even have the wherewithal to get a coin operated vending machine to work for me. Some other patient hanging around had to do it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,057 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I was driving to see my father who was terminally ill in hospital. I had been working a lot and was very tired. I fell asleep and was awoken by the sound of a loud horn just a few yards in front and trying to avoid me. Luckily we both took evasive action in time and when I struck it was just my right rear wing against his right front, a glancing blow. I was lucky and learned a big lesson.

Never drive when tired. Take breaks.

I have also mentioned here before that I was a passenger in a car that went under a lorry and two people in my car died. I was very young then.

I’m not sure I agree. Our experiences are different of course. :) But I’ve been able to say so many things I really wanted to say to loved ones in the last few years and I’ve been amazed by how much it meant to some of them. Some have told me.

I’m gearing up to writing letters soon.

I'm not saying it's a bad thing ;)
    And I do suppose that especially with a letter, it's always something that can be held and re-read and is very very personal.

I hope those letters are easier to write than to think about.q

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

The younger of my girlfriends made me a daddy again recently and all was well until a little while after at home when complications set it. Was messy like a scene from the Omen or Carrie or something. Thankfully all turned out well but I would say that was the moment that I will answer this question with for some time to come.

Weird what it is like when a situation like that hits though. You either panic or become a machine. I did the latter and in a calm emotionless dream scape got her into the car and to the hospital. Once that wore off in the hospital I did not even have the wherewithal to get a coin operated vending machine to work for me. Some other patient hanging around had to do it for me.

How many girlfriends have you?

For me, my wife had to have C-sections when having our babies, due to a bleeding disorder. After the birth of our 2nd son, the nurses told me that they would be about a half hour cleaning my wife up, and she'd be with me shortly.

Turns out she bleeded more than they had expected, and needed a transfusion. I'm not allowed into the room while the c-section is being done as they knock her out totally. Took them a long while to bring her out. All the while, i'm there holding the baby, and the worst is going through my head.

Minor leagues compared to some of the posts here though.

Banie, you're a real trooper mate, and a quality poster. Thanks for sharing. And ODB, sorry to hear of your troubles.

I'm not saying it's a bad thing ;)
    And I do suppose that especially with a letter, it's always something that can be held and re-read and is very very personal.

I hope those letters are easier to write than to think about.q

It’s proving difficult. I need tissues nearby. Ewww, that has disgusting connotations. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Gwen Cooper

Coming off Lexapro, absolutely terrifying place to be in your mind. Crying, full of suicidal thoughts, your brain gets little electric shocks every now and then and the world is a flat grey place. Would never ever take it again.

I'm going through at the moment. Coming off Duloxetine (also known as Cymbalta) after 10 months. Feeling very sick, dizzy and very angry with everyone. The first few days I was even throwing up. The electric shocks in the brain are very annoying indeed. I think it's finally dying down now, 4 weeks after getting off the meds. My left eye even stopped twitching!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭discobeaker

As lollipops said,being diagnosed with MS was absolutely zero fun. Then you,like everyone would do,go and research your newly discovered illness on Dr Google and you read the absolute horror stories and think that it's your life is totally over and think you are done for.

6 years on,I'm thankfully doing ok and the scare is truly behind me

There is more than one but, but a fully loaded truck form a quarry whos brakes had failed missing me by a whisker just before it turned over I could see the driver and the look of absolute terror on his face. The truck then turned over he climed out the window was alright not a scratch on him but I would say he wasnt well for weeks afterward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Rolling my car 35 foot down the side of a mountain when I was 19. Everything went in slow motion and I had time to think about how my body would never be found on the side of a mountain in the middle of January. Car got jammed on it's side against a huge boulder about halfway down the slope and I climbed out with just a few cuts and a cracked rib. Don't know how because the car was like a crushed can.

Still get an elevated heart rate when I think about it now 11 years later!

Being told my MRI results were bad and that I had MS. I stared off into space and felt like I was underwater. Still can't recall the following few days with any clarity. The phone calls to my folks still haunts me.

Last summer I skydived (in aid of MS!) and going up in the plane was absolutely terrifying. I'd pretty much made my peace with dying- that's how certain I was! But I didn't and I even stuck the landing quite well!
    As lollipops said,being diagnosed with MS was absolutely zero fun. Then you,like everyone would do,go and research your newly discovered illness on Dr Google and you read the absolute horror stories and think that it's your life is totally over and think you are done for.

6 years on,I'm thankfully doing ok and the scare is truly behind me

My granny had MS and died at the age of 79. And that was twenty years ago, I’m sure so much more research has happened since then.

Feel free to tell me if the above isn’t comforting and I’ll zip it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭storker

The birth of our first daughter. Mother and daughter came very close to not making it. The next day we heard that a woman in another hospital had died from the same complication.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

That's mad. We're you conscious when you fell? I always wonder what part of the anatomy do people tend to fall on. I imagine the head would get a fine clatter from that height or is it possible to adjust during the fall, maybe taking one on the legs to save yourself.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,102 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

On a flight from Malaga to Dublin in October 2005, after the airplane was buffeted by unbelievably violent turbulence. Had to make an emergency landing in Nantes, France.

I normally enjoy flying (but not airports) and I've been through bumpy flights loads of times, but this was 25 mins of terror...people were screaming and crying. I really thought we might crash and it would be goodnight. :(

Second scariest was on a pleasure cruise boat on a choppy Danube river from Vienna to Bratislava, the boat ran aground, was starting to take on water, and we had to be rescued by the river police.