Worst takeaway/restaurant you wrote ever in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Detective Inspector Michael O'Sullivan, earlier said Mekhalfia had been trying to drive around Mr Keating, a UCD student, who refused to move and was carried some eight metres on the bonnet of the vehicle before falling off and striking his head on the ground.
    He said that despite the offence having aggravating factors and however tragic the consequences were, he felt it did not warrant a custodial sentence.

You kill someone by driving around with them on your bonnet but don't go to jail?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

givyjoe wrote: »
    Not according to most of the other reviews. Its mostly frequented by people who are absolutely hammered, drawn in by the handy location and the pumping music. Maybe they also enjoy the WWE style sideshow that goes with their food.

This place sounds incredible. I get tired of being treated nicely in eateries. This sounds like a breath of fresh air.

I hope these are honest reviews!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

Not according to most of the other reviews. Its mostly frequented by people who are absolutely hammered, drawn in by the handy location and the pumping music. Maybe they also enjoy the WWE style sideshow that goes with their food.

How are they not up in court on assault charges regularly? So many reports there of people being punched.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 JackB93

HOLY **** you weren't joking about the owner of Babylon:

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/student-died-after-he-was-run-over-court-hears-104423.html

"UCD student David Keating died as a result of head injuries he sustained after he was carried for 25 feet on the bonnet of Zitouni Mekhalfia's vehicle before falling off and striking his head on the ground.
    Mr Keating stood in the way of the jeep and warned Mekhalfia that he was going to phone the gardai because he had hit his friend with a baseball bat."

Should have got murder, absolute sicko.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I'm a very unfussy eater and will basically eat any old ****e so long as its cooked properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,375 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

Hang on, I mentioned it my post raising my “concerns”. Another poster then said something similar happened to them when talking about a kebab shop, or some such. It’s not some “made up” thing, it happens.

And “Ricks” does not serve frozen burger or “reheats”. The burgers are pretty decent for the part and have that “fall apart” quality when you bite into them.

Have you even eaten there??

Nobody mentioned Halal until you questioned multiple bad reviews of Ricks by jumping to the conclusion it was really couched in racism.

You then let us know that the people you hang about with are racists (which says more about you than anyone else). Somebody else then backed up that they have racist friends too who are also idiots.

But nobody other than you brought Halal into the discussion and seriously its 2019 all frozen burgers are Halal these days. It does not mean anything to anybody other than you and your racist friends .

Ricks is just not very good , while I would not put it in a worst food I ever ate list , its about as average a fair as you can get in Dublin right now . its ok if that is what you like ,but don't claim everyone disagreeing with you is a racist based on your crappy friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,991 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Yes i said it re Halal. And the comments were similar only because they didn't understand what Halal actually meant

Ah look, I’m not trying to get anyone in “trouble” here. The only times I’ve heard anything negative about “Ricks” is usually the “Halal” thing, maybe those guys don’t know what it means either. I’m not completely sure myself, I think the animal is blessed and then has its throat cut but I could be wrong.

Either way, I just can’t understand how anyone could find fault with the burgers in “Ricks” at that price. Obviously, I’d prefer Eddie Rockets etc but when you want it quick and without fuss there is nowhere better in that area, for that price.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

JackB93 wrote: »
    HOLY **** you weren't joking about the owner of Babylon:

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/student-died-after-he-was-run-over-court-hears-104423.html

"UCD student David Keating died as a result of head injuries he sustained after he was carried for 25 feet on the bonnet of Zitouni Mekhalfia's vehicle before falling off and striking his head on the ground.
    Mr Keating stood in the way of the jeep and warned Mekhalfia that he was going to phone the gardai because he had hit his friend with a baseball bat."

Should have got murder, absolute sicko.

I remember that was out that night and in that area only a couple of hours before it happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,991 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I remember that was out that night and in that area only a couple of hours before it happened.

Same here, the victim was a Terenure lad. Shocking that the killer got off so lightly.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,584 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

that's an unbelievable story, if he'd killed him with the baseball bat (that he'd apparently used on his friend) it would have been murder, but he kills the guy with his car so it's OK.

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Nobody mentioned Halal until you questioned multiple bad reviews of Ricks by jumping to the conclusion it was really couched in racism.

You then let us know that the people you hang about with are racists (which says more about you than anyone else). Somebody else then backed up that they have racist friends too who are also idiots.

But nobody other than you brought Halal into the discussion and seriously its 2019 all frozen burgers are Halal these days. It does not mean anything to anybody other than you and your racist friends .

Ricks is just not very good , while I would not put it in a worst food I ever ate list , its about as average a fair as you can get in Dublin right now . its ok if that is what you like ,but don't claim everyone disagreeing with you is a racist based on your crappy friends.

In my case it was their lack of understanding the meaning of Halal rather than Racism but you probably know better than me especially on that great big horse of yours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭FFred

Oh how i chortled at this one

When we asked for our table to be wiped down, a 23 stone bouncer wearing a WWE “The Undertaker” t-shirt proceeded to use my kebab as a wet cloth to clean our table and subsequently the floor, before using my face to buff it.

Before this happened, I was enjoying the kebab which is why I gave this place 2 stars.
    ....or

... having watched 2 blokes the size of trucks dragging a young girl outside by the neck after she'd been spat on by the staff when she ordered something they didn't have on the menu.

WTAF !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,286 ✭✭✭givyjoe

Same here, the victim was a Terenure lad. Shocking that the killer got off so lightly.

That and he fled the country after the fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

deandean wrote: »
    KFC (also). The only place I ever got food poisoning from. Never ever again.
    In a lot of retail parks you'll see a KFC beside a McDonalds. McDonalds always much busier than KFC.
    Got very serious food poisoning from KFC kip. Never ever will I go there again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Some kiosk on Baggot Street in Dublin. Order from a hatch on the street, whole thing no bigger than a few old telephone joined up together.

Even the belly full of drink did not make the kebab taste any good, and i have had good ones from else where sober.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

That’s long gone now, P. But what a place to eat.

Have to say my memories of the place are fairly “hazy”, was like being let into some “speakeasy” from prohibition times in the States, but always left in good shape. At least for the first few yards anyway!

I remember the pots of tea with actual real tea, none of your posh bags there.

Great place for a fry up after a feed of pints in Gigi's on Harcourt street.
    Also long gone.

Sadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Many. Most recent Blue Thunder in Swinford.

Hillside Grill (?) in Knock one time as a kid I got a wasp with my chips.

Lost my faith after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭blueberrypie

Burger King on O Connell Street Dublin,
    where they reheated the burger in the microwave.
    I was a teen at the time and still regret not being assertive and demanding a freshly cooked burger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

I was a teen at the time and still regret not being assertive and demanding a freshly cooked burger.

Eh, all the chains microwave their burgers these days. That strange looking machine with drawers or different colours that you see staff preparing food behind? That’s it. It’s why you get your order so quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭blueberrypie

MCDonalds do not microwave their burgers.
    They are thrown into the bin after a certain time as they go cold,
    they lose quality, and as a result they lose customers.

I am open to correction about local chippers etc.... so they microwave a burger where the lettuce goes limp and tomatoes get cooked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Place called Bar Square in Ballina as well.

Went in for a Chicken Curry on reccomendation of a friend. Came with half rice n chips.

The rice and chips were grand. The curry itself was horrible. Full of frozen stir fry veg that had been mirowaved, and the chicken itself tasted strongly of melted plastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,703 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Babylon on Camden Street. Place is a joke, 50/50 chance you'll get a free punch in the face from either the owner, staff or security.. to go with your "delicious" food.

Have a look at the reviews on Google Maps for a chuckle.
    Seriously. Them reviews are fcuking unreal. Is the place still open ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

cjmc wrote: »
    Seriously. Them reviews are fcuking unreal. Is the place still open ??
    It is I am quite possibly the only customer to have gone and not been assaulted and treated nicely. :pac:

I saw the reviews so i had to go! I got chips and they were quite good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Supermacs in Carrick on Shannon ....

I never wanted to eat again and let's say wasn't it lucky I was driving a rental van....

Think it was set on fire after...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,832 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Ush1 wrote: »
    You kill someone by driving around with them on your bonnet but don't go to jail?

Im absolutely stunned he didnt get a prison sentence. That lads family must have been devastated and then his killer gets off scot free.

And then I googled the Judge Desmond Hogan and he has had a litany of soft sentences for all sorts of stuff
    https://www.broadsheet.ie/2012/07/31/handed-down-by-his-honour-judge-desmond-hogan/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I had a burger and chips from Abrakebabra last week and it was actually lovely. Very surprised as the rap is that the food is crap in them. Well all fast food is crap, but that there’s was the work of Satan himself.

There are two types of Abrakebabra, the new type which is usually in a petrol station or shopping centre and is usually fine,
    then there’s the old type which usually has a jukebox and a betting machine, and does 80% of its business on a Saturday night after chucking out time, these are the ones you’ll hear the stories of dodgy food and fighting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,832 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Its mad to think that there was an Abra in every decent sized town in Ireland at one stage, now they're as rare as hens teeth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,459 ✭✭✭deandean

Ha that reminds me, in Burger King O'Connell Street I got a Big Mac and fries to eat in.
    I opened the box and the burger had a bite taken out of it! :eek:
    I brought it back and asked for the manager, who told me someone brought it back saying it was not the type of burger they had ordered, and they put it back on the shelf where it was sold to me!
    Another 'never ever again' place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,375 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

deandean wrote: »
    Ha that reminds me, in Burger King O'Connell Street I got a Big Mac and fries to eat in.
    I opened the box and the burger had a bite taken out of it! :eek:
    I brought it back and asked for the manager, who told me someone brought it back saying it was not the type of burger they had ordered, and they put it back on the shelf where it was sold to me!
    Another 'never ever again' place.

1.40 in for most relevant joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Toughers in Carlow- dog rough, everyone there seems slightly "off" its hard to describe but I would never return. Looking back, I wonder was it just a figment of my imagination, its like something out of The Twilight Zone.