Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst takeaway/restaurant you wrote ever in

• 08-08-2019 6:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭

Mine was probably The Cherry Tree in Kilkee Co.Clare in the early '90s. It was just grotty as Hell. The place is long since been closed down.
    What's the worst place you ever visited?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,467 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

The title could be the worst sentence construction I ever did see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

I never wrote ever in a takeaway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

You could have wrote to them and explained.

I am very picky about food I cook myself but very low standards in restaurants so I rarely find myself thinking one was bad. I just take it for what it is most of the time.

That said however the new incarnation of Eddie Rockets simply called "Rockets" has to be one place I shall never return. Inflated prices for insanely small portion sizes. First time ever in any restaurant my kids got a kids meal and had to have a second one. And they are not kids known to eat a terrible lot anyway.

Was less a kids meal than a Toddler meal at best. A small toddler who already arrived having eaten before maybe. Then if the small toddler had a small tape worm - the portion might just about satisfy the worm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

salmocab wrote: »
    The title could be the worst sentence construction I ever did see.
    Sorry it was a horrible predictive text typo on my behalf and I can't edit it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

I wrote ever in only lots takeaway/restaurant, but just worst one, Enzos, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,407 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

phutyle wrote: »
    I wrote ever in only lots takeaway/restaurant, but just worst one, Enzos, yes.

Ahhh. Right.
    ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭khalessi

KFC was 3 days into new job went with new work colleague ended up with food poisoning and 4 days off. Boss not happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭deandean

KFC (also). The only place I ever got food poisoning from. Never ever again.
    In a lot of retail parks you'll see a KFC beside a McDonalds. McDonalds always much busier than KFC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Dinos in Terenure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Any Subway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭riddles

Fast Eddies Carlow so fast didn’t bother cooking the food fully. 🀢🀮

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

Was in a Chipper in Edinburgh after last orders asked for a cheese burger

got a batter burger with a slice of cheese crammed inside the batter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

Found a tooth in. McDonalds burger once, but I was feeling so bad that day that I didn't even tell them.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Ricks while sober.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

The Camile in Santry delivered us the vilest food we've ever had. And that's not an exaggeration, I'm really easy to please and never not finish my food even if it's not great but I couldn't get that down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭spodoinkle

Was in a Chipper in Edinburgh after last orders asked for a cheese burger

got a batter burger with a slice of cheese crammed inside the batter.

That is what is known as a cheesburger in Edinburgh

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

LirW wrote: »
    The Camile in Santry delivered us the vilest food we've ever had. And that's not an exaggeration, I'm really easy to please and never not finish my food even if it's not great but I couldn't get that down.

I've had food from there and thought it was excellent. We couldn't finish ours because we were stuffed and had the leftovers for brekkie the next day

EDIT: I do recall a very limited menu though, and the kids menu was better :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Ricks while sober.

Ah yes - "Ricks". Potentially in any town, village or square in Ireland.

Care to elaborate where "Ricks" is?

For me, it's a toss up between Madina Desi on Mary Street in Dublin, or Supermacs in Ballina.

Medina hopped out a flavourless, salty abomination they called curry, along with some microwaved rice.

Supermacs in Ballina, cold food. Long waits. Unfriendly staff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,428 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Charlie’s on Westmoreland St.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

gerrybbadd wrote: »

Apologies, that would be Ricks of 24 Dame St in Dublin, the capital city of the Republic of Ireland, where every drunk from across the land ends up in at some point in their life.

rick-s-burgers.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭k99_64

Chicken express in Naas (years ago its gone now)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,297 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Any abrakadabra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Apologies, that would be Ricks of 24 Dame St in Dublin, the capital city of the Republic of Ireland, where every drunk from across the land ends up in at some point in their life.

rick-s-burgers.jpg

Ah got ya now.

I've been there - while sober too. I can coroborate your story!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

cjmc wrote: »
    Any abrakadabra

I had a burger and chips from Abrakebabra last week and it was actually lovely. Very surprised as the rap is that the food is crap in them. Well all fast food is crap, but that there’s was the work of Satan himself.

I was in one recently as well and had a pulled pork yoke, was actually lovely. Had a bite of one of the kids burgers as well and it was decent.
    Herself had some veggie/vegan option which she enjoyed....but I wasn't asking for a bite of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,467 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Ricks while sober.

Ricks serve sober people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Porklife

gerrybbadd wrote: »

For me, it's a toss up between Madina Desi on Mary Street in Dublin, or Supermacs in Ballina.

Medina hopped out a flavourless, salty abomination they called curry, along with some microwaved rice.

Supermacs in Ballina, cold food. Long waits. Unfriendly staff

Completely agree about Medina on Mary Street... how can something so salty have zero flavour. Shockingly bad food and weirdly it gets good reviews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

Mine was probably The Cherry Tree in Kilkee Co.Clare in the early '90s. It was just grotty as Hell. The place is long since been closed down.
    What's the worst place you ever visited?

Babylon on Camden Street. Place is a joke, 50/50 chance you'll get a free punch in the face from either the owner, staff or security.. to go with your "delicious" food.

Have a look at the reviews on Google Maps for a chuckle.

ALL restaurant outlets on the middle tier, The Square Tallaght in terms of consistent dour staff attitude.

I suggest reading this thread with Benny Hill background music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

givyjoe wrote: »
    Babylon on Camden Street. Place is a joke, 50/50 chance you'll get a free punch in the face from either the owner, staff or security.. to go with your "delicious" food.

Those reviews are amazing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Oh how i chortled at this one

When we asked for our table to be wiped down, a 23 stone bouncer wearing a WWE “The Undertaker” t-shirt proceeded to use my kebab as a wet cloth to clean our table and subsequently the floor, before using my face to buff it.

Before this happened, I was enjoying the kebab which is why I gave this place 2 stars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

I've had food from there and thought it was excellent. We couldn't finish ours because we were stuffed and had the leftovers for brekkie the next day

EDIT: I do recall a very limited menu though, and the kids menu was better :)

We've only heard rave reviews about Camile and saw the one in Phibsboro won some award, so we were eager to try. Jokes on us, Phibsboro branch didn't deliver to Glasnevin (?), Only the Santry one does.
    I recall all the food was ridiculously salty as in inedible, and not in a different taste way but in a "someone slipped and threw way too much of X in " - way. Gave them the benefit of doubt but stuck with Kanoodle ever since and never went back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt

Beshoffs on oconnell street, I think it was. Kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

Oh how i chortled at this one

When we asked for our table to be wiped down, a 23 stone bouncer wearing a WWE “The Undertaker” t-shirt proceeded to use my kebab as a wet cloth to clean our table and subsequently the floor, before using my face to buff it.

Before this happened, I was enjoying the kebab which is why I gave this place 2 stars.

Ha, I was just about to post that one. I have no doubt its mostly true too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,394 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Found a tooth in. McDonalds burger once, but I was feeling so bad that day that I didn't even tell them.

put it under your pillow you would have got your many back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Wow, those reviews brightened up my day, thanks!

Have to say I’m a little “concerned” about the criticisms being levelled at “Ricks” on Dame St.

For its price it would be the best “value for money” burger in Dublin City centre, competing with chippers, burger kings and McDonalds. Sure, it’s no Bunsen/Wow Burger but they would be, almost, twice the price.

“Ricks” real downfall is with the chips and the fact that the route to the toilets is like something from a horror movie about “backpackers” in the wilds of Eastern Europe getting tortured.

But the burger, itself, can’t be “faulted”. Hell, even their chicken fillet burger is good.

Where my concerns arise is that some people have an “agenda” regarding “Ricks”, as it is “Halal”.

The first thing some muttonhead says to you when you mention “Ricks” is ‘Do you know it’s “Halal”?’, this is usually followed with “The burger might blow up!! HAHAHA!!”.

Utter nonsense.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,946 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

There was a long gone Bangladeshi takeaway (golden crescent or something??)

on side street off capel st a few years ago that I randomly tried. It was pricey enough.

Eating it I remember thinking jeez this chicken is very very chewy. I ended up leaving about 3/4 of it in the bin.

Jasus Ive heard of Delhi belly but this was another level altogether.

I felt like I should’ve just move lock stock n barrel into the jacks for a month.

I still shudder going anywhere near that street

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Have to say I’m a little “concerned” about the criticisms being levelled at “Ricks” on Dame St.

For its price it would be the best “value for money” burger in Dublin City centre, competing with chippers, burger kings and McDonalds. Sure, it’s no Bunsen/Wow Burger but they would be, almost, twice the price.

“Ricks” real downfall is with the chips and the fact that the route to the toilets is like something from a horror movie about “backpackers” in the wilds of Eastern Europe getting tortured.

But the burger, itself, can’t be “faulted”. Hell, even their chicken fillet burger is good.

Where my concerns arise is that some people have an “agenda” regarding “Ricks”, as it is “Halal”.

The first thing some muttonhead says to you when you mention “Ricks” is ‘Do you know it’s “Halal”?’, this is usually followed with “The burger might blow up!! HAHAHA!!”.

Utter nonsense.

Reminds me of a place on the Barking road i used to eat in occasionally HFC, Halal Fried Chicken. Food actually was pretty ****e but i used to get similar comments from associates

Ricks burgers are surprisingly decent

Def would take one over the bog standard frozen burger served by vast majority of Irish chippers

Ricks burgers are surprisingly decent

Def would take one over the bog standard frozen burger served by vast majority of Irish chippers

That’s it, B.

It’s a decent burger, great for a bit of “soakage” before heading out to sink a few pints. As cheap and quick as Burger King or McDonalds and has seating that your “standard” chipper wouldn’t have.

You can see why I’m a little worried about “ulterior” motives behind the attacks on the place.

Yep -and on the sober comments I’ve ate there happily in the middle of the day and seriously the meat quality in ricks burger is excellent.

Tasty and good value. The chips are a diff story, poor enough.

That’s it, B.

It’s a decent burger, great for a bit of “soakage” before heading out to sink a few pints. As cheap and quick as Burger King or McDonalds and has seating that your “standard” chipper wouldn’t have.

You can see why I’m a little worried about “ulterior” motives behind the attacks on the place.

But would you really go in there for a burger while sober, really like?
    They are not good and it's my only regret in life.

I’ve gone in regularly while sober

They are streets ahead of McDonald’s for example

And way ahead of the average bog standard burgers in most chippers

I would. And have. The burger, itself, is well decent. Especially when you consider the “cost”.

Obviously, I wouldn’t bring the kids but that’s just because it’s still “junk food” but I, honestly, can not fathom how you could think the burger wasn’t “good”.

I know it’s not €8 or served in a “brioche” bun but it’s quite tasty and really what you would call “cheap and cheerful”.

Excellent to a get the “meal deal” before heading out. But, again, the chips are a let down. Edible but you’d want tomato sauce with them.

Is it the “Halal” thing that ruins it for you? I know just bothers some people as it’s often raised whenever that, particular, place gets mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

The Manhattan.

Also a decent shout for the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

The worst food I've ever seen or eaten was without doubt in the restaurant in Debenhams on Henry Street, Dublin. They leave curries, pasta dishes etc out for self service in those bain marie things - it's all congealed and disgusting.

Eddie Rockets is the only other place I can't bring myself to eat again. Food arrives cold and undercooked.

I'm tempted to check out that Babylon place though, hard to believe the reviews and would love to see it for myself.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

"West Kebab" in Westport collective group decision one year climbing on Reek Sunday, we still refer it as Pedigree Chum

padd b1975 wrote: »
    The Manhattan.

Also a decent shout for the best.

That’s long gone now, P. But what a place to eat.

Have to say my memories of the place are fairly “hazy”, was like being let into some “speakeasy” from prohibition times in the States, but always left in good shape. At least for the first few yards anyway!