Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Changes in the GAA - super thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Ye weren’t saying anything about fair in the late nineties and first decade of the 21st century. We put the head down and put in the work.

It looks like the rest of the country has no answer other than childish sulking and moaning. You’ll live in our pockets forever.

How many times do you reckon dub fans need to keep chanting this mantra before a single word of it becomes factual?

You were in a great position throughout the 90s and still the game was failing badly. You were financially doped, your county was given a pass on fundraising and still fundraise a painfully small amount from their gaa people within the county.
    You seem to think that you are paying the way for everyone else, but some simple maths proves that is it you who is living off the pockets of the rest of the country...

The reality is kerry put the head down in football. Kilkenny in hurling.
    My point would be, at least have the wherewithal to realise the massive difference between what you are doing and what kerry or kilkenny have done. Its ok, admitting it doesnt mean the money gets cut off...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,045 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

The 'hate' on this thread is brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Out of Ireland we have come,
    Great Hatred, Little Room

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,896 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

There's no hatred of the Dubs
    We'd just like all teams and counties to be treated equally

Funding and coaching structures
    Venues for games

It's the least you'd expect in a supposedly democratic organisation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,042 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

The irony is of course, Jim G has grudgingly admitted it to other county managers/coaches behind closed doors -I’m told they almost had to torture him to get it out of him - He said don’t quote me and was joking was there anyone from RTÉ in the room!

But fair play, he did acknowledge it at least.

But he would never admit it openly in public because that would bring the whole rotten facade crashing down and make a Mickey mockery of Dublin’s so called “achievements”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

There's no hatred of the Dubs
    We'd just like all teams and counties to be treated equally

Funding and coaching structures
    Venues for games

It's the least you'd expect in a supposedly democratic organisation

What changes are needed to make sure ALL are treated equally?

Great there are no complaints about the on field aspect of football these days, been a great championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,641 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

So Jim admitted in private and dubs admit it to the same poster after a couple of beers. What circles he must move in.

salmocab wrote: »
    So Jim admitted in private and dubs admit it to the same poster after a couple of beers. What circles he must move in.

Beechwood O'Zelig.

Rumour has it that Beechwood aged was the person disguised as a priest who inadvertently revealed the anti Clare agenda to Loughnane in 1998.

salmocab wrote: »

I wasn’t there personally. Was a high end gathering. I wouldn’t be fit the tie the bootlaces of most at it.

I was told story by two diff ppl from diff counties without prompting and on separate occasions. As it happens, I respect and believe them.

I wouldn’t be fit the tie the bootlaces of most at it.

Ah now. Don't be so hard on yourself Beechy.

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Ah now. Don't be so hard on yourself Beechy.

I won’t be, thanks for the advice bonnie :)

The irony is of course, Jim G has grudgingly admitted it to other county managers/coaches behind closed doors -I’m told they almost had to torture him to get it out of him - He said don’t quote me and was joking was there anyone from RTÉ in the room!

But fair play, he did acknowledge it at least.

But he would never admit it openly in public because that would bring the whole rotten facade crashing down and make a Mickey mockery of Dublin’s so called “achievements”.

Some Walter Mitty types on here, do you think, between Jim Gavin and Aslan tracks at half time I think the winning formula is actually outta the bottle now.

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Some Walter Mitty types on here, do you think, between Jim Gavin and Aslan tracks at half time I think the winning formula is actually outta the bottle now.

Carry on the mockery, it’ll only hasten the day when the powers that be take decisive action :)

And as well, the financial doping deniers are fooling....nobody

But carry on, carry on!

Carry on the mockery, it’ll only hasten the day when the powers that be take decisive action :)

lol. Now, gotta make the egg sambos, looking forward to two big games today. Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,641 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

I wasn’t there personally. Was a high end gathering. I wouldn’t be fit the tie the bootlaces of most at it.

I was told story by two diff ppl from diff counties without prompting and on separate occasions. As it happens, I respect and believe them.

I was told by 3 people who were there that it didn’t happen and I am fit to tie their laces. So my cock and bull story trumps yours.
    Am I doing this right?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭ToBeFrank123

blanch152 wrote: »
    Meath will beat Dublin in Leinster at least once in the next five years. The likes of Sonny who posts elsewhere on this site have that right. The likes of you who can't see the way that two generations of Dubs have come together at the right time are lost in bitterness.

There is not a hope of that happening especially as every game between them will be a home game for Dublin. If it was played in Navan Meath might have a slim hope.

You are sounding very like the way Lance Armstrong dealt with his critics, labelling them bitter when they questioned how his "success" was achieved.

The main bitterness I see is from Dubs who don't understand why the rest of the country isn't falling over themselves to appluad this Dublin team. People rightly have question marks over a number of aspects around Dublin.

Its more like 3 generations at this stage by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭doc_17

Dublin’s second home game of the Super 8s. Roscommon’s reward for winning Connaught this year is the same as it was last year when they fell through the back door. Such a farce. Should be played at a venue between the two counties.

Expect to see another empty venue this evening, even though some teams apparently prefer Saturday evenings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,245 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

blanch152 wrote: »
    Meath will beat Dublin in Leinster at least once in the next five years. The likes of Sonny who posts elsewhere on this site have that right. The likes of you who can't see the way that two generations of Dubs have come together at the right time are lost in bitterness.
    No chance. Meath will improve but looking at the u20's this year Dublin will improve even more then meath. The gap will be huge in 5, 10, 15 and 20 years. I've no doubt.

Please God.

Dublin into the semis after playing two super8 games at home and 4 games in a row at home.

This is gone beyond farce now.

The asterix gets bigger by the day.

Hahahahahahahahahahahaha

That's how most people react to the mess that is gaelic football.

Its hard to know where to go from here.

Sam Maguire as a worthwhile competition is dead. Gone the same way as the Leinster Championship.

Even Celtic play half their games away from home which lends at least a bit more credibility to the Scottish league. But there is no credibility now to Sam Maguire.

That's how most people react to the mess that is gaelic football.

Its hard to know where to go from here.

Sam Maguire as a worthwhile competition is dead. Gone the same way as the Leinster Championship.

Even Celtic play half their games away from home which lends at least a bit more credibility to the Scottish league. But there is no credibility now to Sam Maguire.

You'll get over it.

So you admit the competition is a joke? That's a start.

The downfall started with the nonsense gdf increases.

If you wanted to know how to destroy a sport just take a look at how the GAA favoured Dublin the last 15 years. Its a valuable lesson for any sports administrators.

And its laughable to see some Dubs compare it to Kerrys dominance.

Kerry did not receive massive gdf funds and played all their AI games away from home. No comparison.

So you admit the competition is a joke? That's a start.

The downfall started with the nonsense gdf increases.

If you wanted to know how to destroy a sport just take a look at how the GAA favoured Dublin the last 15 years. Its a valuable lesson for any sports administrators.

And its laughable to see some Dubs compare it to Kerrys dominance.

Kerry did not receive massive gdf funds and played all their AI games away from home. No comparison.

And don't forget the Aslan tracks at halftime also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Whatever about the men's, how do you fix women's football?

Heard some of the scorelines on the radio. Number of hammerings in the group stakes already. A Cork team that dominated for a decade, Dublin and maybe one or two others that can compete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,577 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

naughtb4 wrote: »

Heard some of the scorelines on the radio. Number of hammerings in the group stakes already. A Cork team that dominated for a decade, Dublin and maybe one or two others that can compete.

You “fix” it the same way you “fix” the men’s. A county produces a coaching staff, a team and a conveyor belt of youth that have strength and belief and they resolve to meet the challenge laid down infront of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭threeball

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    naughtb4 wrote: »

You “fix” it the same way you “fix” the men’s. A county produces a coaching staff, a team and a conveyor belt of youth that have strength and belief and they resolve to meet the challenge laid down infront of them.

But do it all with a fraction of the funding of your main competitor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Steven81

What I understand is that they are looking to put the division 1 and 2 teams in separately. How this makes any difference I don’t know as Dublin who have beat every team in Leinster by 10+ points will have Meath,Kildare,Laois and Westmeath. How is that going to be any different. They beat the Connaught champions by a cricket score and only playing with them. Getting a bit of a joke and even the dubs won’t go to all their games. How could you pay 30-40 euro to see a one sided game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭threeball

Steven81 wrote: »
    What I understand is that they are looking to put the division 1 and 2 teams in separately. How this makes any difference I don’t know as Dublin who have beat every team in Leinster by 10+ points will have Meath,Kildare,Laois and Westmeath. How is that going to be any different. They beat the Connaught champions by a cricket score and only playing with them. Getting a bit of a joke and even the dubs won’t go to all their games. How could you pay 30-40 euro to see a one sided game.

It's over for the GAA. They pumped millions into Dublin hoping to make big returns and it's blown up in their face. From next year they'll be heavily dependent on hurling for revenue. I'm delighted for them. A bigger shower of wasters you could not find. Typical political types who manoeuvred themselves into positions only to make a bollox of everything. Thank you Paraic Duffy et al.