Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you were dictator of Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 495 ✭✭Undividual

Two chicks at the same time...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Anyone making vague, doomsday pronouncements like 'We're losing our identity and culture ' to be shot with a cannonball of their own shíte and made to live on the pre-famine diet of 10lbs of potatoes and nothing else for a month.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,775 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Pissartist wrote: »
    No more dole or rent for any junkie that does not get clean within a 2 month period,
    after that weekly drug tests, and if they fail once, never again to get any benefits.
    No injecting dens and pubs to open any day they like.

You haven't a clue about addiction, that policy would backfire bigtime

• Registered Users Posts: 33,041 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

_blaaz wrote: »
    Make hurling madatory and anyone who cant conquer at least 30 of the basic skills by age 16 be deported

Deported to where, exactly?! Leitrim?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭_blaaz

Deported to where, exactly?! Leitrim?

Kk for intensive training,failing that,if they still cant master skills,be euthanized

• Registered Users Posts: 51,500 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Can my wife apply for this job?
    She is very experienced.

Kk for intensive training,failing that,if they still cant master skills,be euthanized

Master skills like knowing the definition of words and how to construct sentences?

Ok then...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Anyone making vague, doomsday pronouncements like 'We're losing our identity and culture ' to be shot with a cannonball of their own shíte and made to live on the pre-famine diet of 10lbs of potatoes and nothing else for a month.

Why not a pototoe cannon; why let good spuds go to waste. Go on I’ll take the hit

Master skills like knowing the definition of words and how to construct sentences?

Ok then...

Nah mate,hurling skills.....keep playing grammer nazi,if thats how you like to spend your weekends though......and they say AH posters arent boring corporate types :D

• Registered Users Posts: 751 ✭✭✭quintana76

Implement severe restriction on the number of NGOs.

I would abolish RTE. Then again if I were a dictator they would be very usrful as they are already highly skilled and experienced at pushing Government propaganda. On seconds thoughts I may reconsider that one.

Yeah. Sport is a much more essential life-skill than English; but again - what country are you planning on deporting people to...?
    Nah mate,hurling skills.....keep playing grammear nNazi,if thats that's how you like to spend your weekends though......and they say AH posters arent aren't boring corporate types :D

Any preferences yourself?

Yeah. Sport is much a much more essential life-skill than English; but again - what country are we planning deporting people to?

Any preferences yourself?

Zzzzzz....your boring mate

Enjoy your weekend though....hounding people online over spelling

Each to their own i guess

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭Tony Tucker

Nah mate,hurling skills.....keep playing grammer nazi,if thats how you like to spend your weekends though......and they say AH posters arent boring corporate types :D

You should edit this post one more time for luck.

Im irish born.....and in a hurling area...im born lucky :D

Zzzzzz....your boring mate

Enjoy your weekend though....hounding people online over spelling

Each to their own i guess

Nah, just the hounding of people with crap ideas like wanting people to be deported for not learning life-skills, whilst not knowing what "deported" means.

The spelling/grammar is just to highlight the failure to master a life-skill by said poster...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

If I were dictator of Ireland I would…

Invite President Donald Trump, President Xi Jinping, President Vladimir Putin, Supreme Leader Kim Jong-un, President Jair Bolsonaro, President Rodrigo Duterte, and Prime Minister Boris Johnson.

Then I would get Varadkar and Trudeau dressed up in dunce suits and made to entertain us.

Nah, just the hounding of people with crap ideas like wanting people to be deported for not learning life-skills, whilst not knowing what "deported" means.

The spelling/grammar is just to highlight the failure to master a life-skill by said poster...
    Hurling is a life skill?

Your quite deluded and lead a sheltered exiatance if you think its not and harassing people online is :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

I'd introduce a new form of daylight saving, whereby brighter mornings and evenings would be guaranteed by putting the clocks back one hour every morning and then forward one hour every evening.

Establish a chain of state-run 'gyms' that are essentially treadmills, generating electricity for the national grid. Encourage people to go by offering financial incentives, based on the amount of electricity each individual generates.

Discourage unemployment by allowing everyone to take a 'gap year' from work every nine years (as long as they've been in continuous employment for 95% of that time). The government would pay you the average of whatever you earned over the previous nine years.

Make golf and rugby illegal.

Free drink and recreational drugs for all.
    Lock up all the drunks, drug addicts, ne’er do wells, psychopaths, permanently throwing key to bottom of the Irish Sea.
    =Live on my own very peaceful isolation.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,358 ✭✭✭corner of hells

As well as being dictator , I'd appoint myself assistant dictator too , so if I felt like taking a day off , I'd always be in charge.

I'd also do away with the NCT ,TV licenses and wasps.

Also my decision is final and not up for discussion.

Also make home and away madatory viewing for.all adults

With weekly tests and massive fines and prision terms for failing to partake

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Retain a religious ethos in schools where the majority of parents want that.

Increase funding for RTÉ. Deduct funding from wages for it.

Increase taxes on multinationals, and dramatically decrease taxes on small rural businesses.

Introduce water charges. Pay for a precious commodity.

History and Geography mandatory to junior cert level. Follow the Israel style of education.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,822 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Pissartist wrote: »
    No more dole or rent for any junkie that does not get clean within a 2 month period,
    after that weekly drug tests, and if they fail once, never again to get any benefits.
    No injecting dens and pubs to open any day they like.

I can see a poster...’pissartist says pisstest’

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭Tony Tucker

Have the state take over the car insurance business. Make it affordable for everyone. Long jail sentences for people caught making bogus claims.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭RayCon

Free Bongo's for every household.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭TiGeR KiNgS

What would you change?? I was thinking about this yesterday. I haven't exactly priced everything out, so any pedants can feck off. Its just a bit of fun.

1. Cut the number of TDs in half. No need for so many. I'd also implement a fine system that fined any TD undertaking work that the local council should be doing. No more "he fixed the road".

2. Seanad, gone.

3. Intensive building of a large, supermax prison. Non contact visits, no drugs, the very least provided.

4. Intensive building of public housing. To qualify for public housing you have to 1) be earning below a certain threshold. 2) be contributing to your community i.e. if you are not working, you will be doing at least 20 hours per week cleaning, painting, litter picking etc.

5. Purge of the disability fraud in this country. Anyone who is signed off on long term disability to be assessed by 2 independent doctors. Any GP found to have signed off someone for disability who should not qualify, will be fined and a mark put against their record. 5 marks and you are struck off.

6. Ten convictions and you automatically get a ten year sentence. Get out of jail and break the law again, another 10 stretch automatically. No remission.

7. Chemical castration for paedophiles.

8. Streamlined asylum system. No endless appeals. You are declined, you are on the very next plane home.

9. An ICE style unit. Again, you are caught here illegally, immediate deportation. No sob storys.

10. Recruit more Gardai. With proper training. Anti social behaviour to be put down by force.

11. Can't pay the mortgage. Leave and put the keys in the letterbox. No hounding of people who have left the asset with the bank.

12. Set up a not for profit government bank.

13. MUP and other nanny state taxes abolished.

14. Fully legalise cannabis. Tax it fairly, not expensively.

15. Round up all of the junkies. Put them into specialist centers to go cold turkey. Once the drugs are out of their system, counsel them, have them go through a full scale deprogramming. Only allowed to leave when assessed to be fully clean and strong enough to be in general population without going back to drugs. Won't work for all people, but might fro some.

16. Streamline the HSE. Offer decent wages to those we need, and a staff counsel rather than union control. Service to be run for the needs of the population rather than for the wants of the civil service.

17. Abolish lobbying.

18. Break up the LVA and VA. Diageo is a monopoly, fine the hell out of them. Charge them if found to be paying pubs not to stock other beers.

19. Abolish the role of the President.

20. Put a roof on the country. :P

Anyone agree/disagree?? Got any of your own??

Basically you want the US model, right ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Basically you want the US model, right ?

US model? There would be some things I’d take. I know in some states you see a breakdown of what your taxes pay for.

Wouldn’t be mad into the oul gun thing.

I forgot in my first one that id cut Children’s allowance after the second child. Mickey money shouldn’t be a career choice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭lbc2019

I'd ban internet forums and twitter, and comments sections online.

Increase funding for RTÉ.

Courtesy of Johnny Taxpayer.

• Registered Users Posts: 751 ✭✭✭quintana76

Courtesy of Johnny Taxpayer.

Tubbs is looking a bit peekey on his 6ooooo (approx) grand. Another hundred grand should be enough to get him a square meal. We don't want him to fade away completely.