Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you were dictator of Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭quokula

Stan27 wrote: »
    1 Bring in euthanasia
    2 put a motorway from carlow to mullingar, so Waterford kilkenny carlow portlaois tullamore athlone and mullingar are connected much better, and have a proper attempt at decentralisation.
    3 high rise is Dublin in the appropriate places (should be no limit on the dock lands for example)
    4 legalise drugs and sex workers. Will happen anyway, at least we can control it, plus less money for gangs.
    5 invest more into social programs/ amenities for poor areas.
    6 give Gp,s more power so a+e will be used only is needed.
    7 help families who want to adopt. Loads are willing.
    8 teach Irish properly in schools, and ban religion from schools also.
    9 ban energy drinks for under 18,s
    10 people who arnt pulling their weight in public sector jobs, get rid.

This isn't getting in with the spirit of the opening post. You're supposed to be a dictator. Not actually trying to help people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

Anyone caught carrying a knife/blade, mandatory 5 year jail term.

Tough on butchers. But fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭Duane Dibbley

I would have a zero tolerance state in relation to the law.

Irish law would be modernized in relation to how we live today in a way that is clear.

Citizens would be educated in Irish law as soon as they start school.

Garda and Army would be combined as one.

Every county would have separate courts dealing with Civil and Criminal cases.

Every County would have prisons.

Unions would be Abolished.

• Registered Users Posts: 473 ✭✭Marcos

What would you change?? I was thinking about this yesterday. I haven't exactly priced everything out, so any pedants can feck off. Its just a bit of fun.

1. Cut the number of TDs in half. No need for so many. I'd also implement a fine system that fined any TD undertaking work that the local council should be doing. No more "he fixed the road".

2. Seanad, gone.

3. Intensive building of a large, supermax prison. Non contact visits, no drugs, the very least provided.

4. Intensive building of public housing. To qualify for public housing you have to 1) be earning below a certain threshold. 2) be contributing to your community i.e. if you are not working, you will be doing at least 20 hours per week cleaning, painting, litter picking etc.

5. Purge of the disability fraud in this country. Anyone who is signed off on long term disability to be assessed by 2 independent doctors. Any GP found to have signed off someone for disability who should not qualify, will be fined and a mark put against their record. 5 marks and you are struck off.

6. Ten convictions and you automatically get a ten year sentence. Get out of jail and break the law again, another 10 stretch automatically. No remission.

7. Chemical castration for paedophiles.

8. Streamlined asylum system. No endless appeals. You are declined, you are on the very next plane home.

9. An ICE style unit. Again, you are caught here illegally, immediate deportation. No sob storys.

10. Recruit more Gardai. With proper training. Anti social behaviour to be put down by force.

11. Can't pay the mortgage. Leave and put the keys in the letterbox. No hounding of people who have left the asset with the bank.

12. Set up a not for profit government bank.

13. MUP and other nanny state taxes abolished.

14. Fully legalise cannabis. Tax it fairly, not expensively.

15. Round up all of the junkies. Put them into specialist centers to go cold turkey. Once the drugs are out of their system, counsel them, have them go through a full scale deprogramming. Only allowed to leave when assessed to be fully clean and strong enough to be in general population without going back to drugs. Won't work for all people, but might fro some.

16. Streamline the HSE. Offer decent wages to those we need, and a staff counsel rather than union control. Service to be run for the needs of the population rather than for the wants of the civil service.

17. Abolish lobbying.

18. Break up the LVA and VA. Diageo is a monopoly, fine the hell out of them. Charge them if found to be paying pubs not to stock other beers.

19. Abolish the role of the President.

20. Put a roof on the country. :P

Anyone agree/disagree?? Got any of your own??

21. Expand the CAB remit to deal with white collar crime and corruption. Hire at least a hundred forensic accountants on contract and pay them a bonus based on monies recouped by the state.

22. Make it illegal to know of corruption and not report it, much the same way it is illegal to know of paedophilia and not report it.

23. Set up a national anti corruption hotline and reward those who report corruption provided a conviction is secured much like the IRS Whistleblower Reward Program.

24. Transcribe the US RICO act into Irish law.

25. Set up white collar courts and hire judges from common law countries outside the juristiction to sit on them as a way of avoiding potential conflicts of interest. That also ties neatly into No 3 above. :P

26. The new expanded CAB to investigate contracts regarding public money like the National Children's Hospital and proposed national broadband plan etc.

27. A CAB special division to investigate NAMA. Especially with all the allegations about corruption regarding Project Eagle etc.

28. Another unit to audit all local government spending and projects.

29. Everyone to get a special tax break paid for with a portion of the monies stolen by corruption and waste. Other monies ringfenced to go to specific social housing or infrastructure projects.

30. Abolish the tv licence and turn RTE into a subscription service.

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

Pissartist wrote: »
    it's a name what's your childish *point*
    Any day they like, means any day they like it's pretty simple.

Hold your horses there.

I was just asking if alcoholics would be under the same scrutiny as people who take other drugs?

And I find it bizarre that as a dictator, one of your important rules would be to allow pubs to open on Xmas day. It just doesn't seem to be a problem area that needs addressing.

I don't see how it was childish.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,691 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

What would you change?? I was thinking about this yesterday. I haven't exactly priced everything out, so any pedants can feck off. Its just a bit of fun.

1. Cut the number of TDs in half. No need for so many. I'd also implement a fine system that fined any TD undertaking work that the local council should be doing. No more "he fixed the road".

2. Seanad, gone.

3. Intensive building of a large, supermax prison. Non contact visits, no drugs, the very least provided.

4. Intensive building of public housing. To qualify for public housing you have to 1) be earning below a certain threshold. 2) be contributing to your community i.e. if you are not working, you will be doing at least 20 hours per week cleaning, painting, litter picking etc.

5. Purge of the disability fraud in this country. Anyone who is signed off on long term disability to be assessed by 2 independent doctors. Any GP found to have signed off someone for disability who should not qualify, will be fined and a mark put against their record. 5 marks and you are struck off.

6. Ten convictions and you automatically get a ten year sentence. Get out of jail and break the law again, another 10 stretch automatically. No remission.

7. Chemical castration for paedophiles.

8. Streamlined asylum system. No endless appeals. You are declined, you are on the very next plane home.

9. An ICE style unit. Again, you are caught here illegally, immediate deportation. No sob storys.

10. Recruit more Gardai. With proper training. Anti social behaviour to be put down by force.

11. Can't pay the mortgage. Leave and put the keys in the letterbox. No hounding of people who have left the asset with the bank.

12. Set up a not for profit government bank.

13. MUP and other nanny state taxes abolished.

14. Fully legalise cannabis. Tax it fairly, not expensively.

15. Round up all of the junkies. Put them into specialist centers to go cold turkey. Once the drugs are out of their system, counsel them, have them go through a full scale deprogramming. Only allowed to leave when assessed to be fully clean and strong enough to be in general population without going back to drugs. Won't work for all people, but might fro some.

16. Streamline the HSE. Offer decent wages to those we need, and a staff counsel rather than union control. Service to be run for the needs of the population rather than for the wants of the civil service.

17. Abolish lobbying.

18. Break up the LVA and VA. Diageo is a monopoly, fine the hell out of them. Charge them if found to be paying pubs not to stock other beers.

19. Abolish the role of the President.

20. Put a roof on the country. :P

Anyone agree/disagree?? Got any of your own??

1. Why do you need TD's if you are a dictator

And this should cover most others

2. Where you getting the money.

Also even ICE does not deport you on the spot.

What will you do to those who do not just hand back keys.

Why just Dieago are you going for and also watch them all leave

Garda and Army would be combined as one.

These are totally different functions.
    Every county would have separate courts dealing with Civil and Criminal cases.

We have a system already that is similar. District and circuit courts.
    Every County would have prisons.

A prison is a long term lock up. You probably mean jails and most have that already. Also counties are of arbitrary size, the idea that if Dublin has a prison then Leitrim should have one is nonsensical.
    Unions would be Abolished.

Any more civic groups you want to abolish?

I’d make them mandatory myself if possible. I would kick people out if unions in the civil service if they get past a management level.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,176 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Resign and make it a democracy.

This thread is really what should change in Ireland.

Can the people who want to abolish the presidency explain how that would work. Who would do the presidential functions? Who would be head of state.

(If it’s the taoiseach then he is the president.)

• Registered Users Posts: 16,772 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Resign and make it a democracy.

Brilliant.

Bit like Juan Carlos of Spain

• Registered Users Posts: 263 ✭✭SnazzyPig

Bring back the stocks for littering and illegal dumping.

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭Tony Tucker

Can the people who want to abolish the presidency explain how that would work. Who would do the presidential functions? Who would be head of state.

How does it work for other countries with no president?

I’m not aware of any such system. Unless you mean dictators or kings/queens. Do we want a king?

I may be wrong but I’m not suggesting it, so rather than answer questions with questions I’d like a solution from those proposing it.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,040 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Someone that is addicted to cocaine/heroin. For examples see the boardwalk.

Why those two specifcially?

I mean, I don't mean to nit-pick, but people who use the phrase "junkies" tend to have varied interpretations, but the most consistent would be addicts generally. Which would contradict at least two of your other ideas (alcohol and cannabis - which, I'm guessing, are the two you occasionally use yourself...?)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Marcos wrote: »
    21. Expand the CAB remit to deal with white collar crime and corruption. Hire at least a hundred forensic accountants on contract and pay them a bonus based on monies recouped by the state.

22. Make it illegal to know of corruption and not report it, much the same way it is illegal to know of paedophilia and not report it.

23. Set up a national anti corruption hotline and reward those who report corruption provided a conviction is secured much like the IRS Whistleblower Reward Program.

24. Transcribe the US RICO act into Irish law.

25. Set up white collar courts and hire judges from common law countries outside the juristiction to sit on them as a way of avoiding potential conflicts of interest. That also ties neatly into No 3 above. :P

26. The new expanded CAB to investigate contracts regarding public money like the National Children's Hospital and proposed national broadband plan etc.

27. A CAB special division to investigate NAMA. Especially with all the allegations about corruption regarding Project Eagle etc.

28. Another unit to audit all local government spending and projects.

29. Everyone to get a special tax break paid for with a portion of the monies stolen by corruption and waste. Other monies ringfenced to go to specific social housing or infrastructure projects.

30. Abolish the tv licence and turn RTE into a subscription service.

Unless the corruption is carried out by the dictator, in which case it's all good ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,292 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I'd eliminate all opposition to me

• Registered Users Posts: 11,073 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I'd put to death any guard or soldier that shoots themselves in the foot.

branie2 wrote: »
    I'd eliminate all opposition to me

You gotta do that first

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

1. Why do you need TD's if you are a dictator

And this should cover most others

2. Where you getting the money.

Also even ICE does not deport you on the spot.

What will you do to those who do not just hand back keys.

Why just Dieago are you going for and also watch them all leave

I'd be dictator, but I would let the people be represented. I'd be a sound dictator.

Money could come from the taxes all of the workers who are building the new homes, prison. Money would flood in from cannabis. Savings from kicking people off disability who were given it by GPs who were just fed up of them coming in annoying them.

I said an ICE style unit, not ICE.

Diaego would be one of them. Insurance companies would be another. It's not a manifesto, it's just a bit of fun. I stopped at 20 points because i'd be here all day.

If you were dictator of Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

I'd find out what makes Finland the happiest country in the world and I would apply what I learnt to Ireland and then I'd resign.

Why those two specifcially?

I mean, I don't mean to nit-pick, but people who use the phrase "junkies" tend to have varied interpretations, but the most consistent would be addicts generally. Which would contradict at least two of your other ideas (alcohol and cannabis - which, I'm guessing, are the two you occasionally use yourself...?)

I drink. Would use cannabis extremely rarely, generally when back at a house party, but that might be once every two years. I'll clarify it as non functioning addicts.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

1. Disband the quangos which are really left wing political movements ( women's council etc)

2. Disband pavee point, the kinehans dont have a tax payer funded body which apologises for them

3. Cut all special funding for travellers, education is free, you don't need specific funding

4. Set up a special division of the police for dealing with traveller crime

5. Remove most soft science third level degrees, gender studies is a political movement

6. Do away with this 15% social housing amongst new estate developments, more left wing social engineering

7. Dump a third of social housing tenants out on the streets, that's the percentage currently who are in arrears, raise the rent which the remainder are paying

8. Cut funding to RTE, we should not be forced to fund left wing propoganda from multiculturalism to feminism to the royal treatment of public sector unions, ingrid miley is exiled to spike Island

9. VRT is removed

10. Ban one off housing for anyone but farmers

11. Introduce a 20% flat tax for everyone including the corporations but remove vat and stamp duty altogether, ditto excise duty

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Stan27 wrote: »
    1 Bring in euthanasia
    2 put a motorway from carlow to mullingar, so Waterford kilkenny carlow portlaois tullamore athlone and mullingar are connected much better, and have a proper attempt at decentralisation.
    3 high rise is Dublin in the appropriate places (should be no limit on the dock lands for example)
    4 legalise drugs and sex workers. Will happen anyway, at least we can control it, plus less money for gangs.
    5 invest more into social programs/ amenities for poor areas.
    6 give Gp,s more power so a+e will be used only is needed.
    7 help families who want to adopt. Loads are willing.
    8 teach Irish properly in schools, and ban religion from schools also.
    9 ban energy drinks for under 18,s
    10 people who arnt pulling their weight in public sector jobs, get rid.

Regarding number 6, GP, s have plenty of "power", they just don't want to spend the money required

• Registered Users Posts: 11,342 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Vote in Fianna Fail or a gang of deranged leftists at the next election. Spoiled for choice. We need a proper nationalist party that will put our people and our country first.

We have seen the world over last 100 years what happens when a strong nationalist party get into power:

1. Disproportionate military spending and eventually glamorization of military.
    2. Country becomes obsessed with crime and punishment and eventually a police state
    3. Abandonment of human rights.
    4. Total control of mass media. Newspapers/TV only broadcast stories that show government in positive light
    5. Cronyism and corruption become common at the highest levels
    6. Corporate power becomes stronger, labour power becomes weaker or eliminated totally.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭facehugger99

No internet Wednesdays.

All wi-fi and mobile phone signals switched off for 24 hours every week.

The National Party are too extreme, lets not even try and pretent Sinn Fein are a Nationalist party they clearly stopped being one a long time ago. I belive i wont see an alternative to FF or FG majority goverment in my lifetime. Voting is a cod in this country.

How about b****ing and m****ings people actually get up and do something maybe. I know a novel idea. It just does not fall in your lap. I suppose your way uses up less energy

Like say, a vote?? How did that go with Lisbon and Nice??

We had a second vote. Could have voted no again. No one forced people to

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 473 ✭✭Pissartist

That would cause more harm than good. Homelessness would rise even more.

Exactly, you either take the chance to sort yourself out with the tax payers help, if you don't you live in a park.
    Softly softly doesn't work with these zombies

I drink. Would use cannabis extremely rarely, generally when back at a house party, but that might be once every two years. I'll clarify it as non functioning addicts.

I'd still consider that vague. I do coke occasionally (more occasionally than weed or alcohol) and I still function ok.

The problem is that you're replacing a very vague and inconsistent drug policy with a very vague and inconsistent drug policy (although to be fair, a slightly better one!). But I've noticed most people's attitude towards drugs is to legalise the ones they personally do, and ban the ones they don't.