Which former Taoiseach would you most like to have a pint with?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Given that, I'd probably find Fitzgerald to be the most interesting company; a walking repository of economic and cultural history.
    And he could tell you how he used the Aeroflot timetable to work out how many planes they had, something the CIA couldn't do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

ollkiller wrote: »
    I'm from Castlebar. Not a Fine Gael supporter at all but can confirm that he is indeed good craic to have a pint with. He's actually way different than his public persona.

Enda always got an unfair rap, prefer him to the lad in the job right now anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

Liam Cosgrave, so I could spike his drink & then murder the pr!ck.

Lemass for an actual drinking night, we could do a sh!te load of coke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,208 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Enda always got an unfair rap, prefer him to the lad in the job right now anyway

Whatever way you voted, right, left, FF, FG or whatever, I just always found Enda somewhat of a condescending smartarse who wasn’t always the sharpest tool in the box. Something unsettling about him operating on an international stage representing the country with such a condescending peculiar like sandpaper manner which I thought would be opposite of the type of armory that might do the country good.

That said he obviously had something in the locker to make him ‘appeal’ to the public but I think a lot of it can be explained too by the lack of talent, appeal and weariness too on the FF front bench and leadership circles. Labor seem too determined to just make up the numbers and jump into bed with anyone giving the ‘come to bed’ eyes of power.

branie2 wrote: »
    Because he was a great leader

Didn't really lead a whole lot tho did he?

Was a rank & file Volunteer in 1916.

During the Anglo-Irish war he was Minister of Finance in the Dail, Cathal Brugha was Minister of Defence, and Collins was Director of Intelligence on the military front. Didn't lead any large flying columns like the rural IRA commanders, he lead a squad of 12 men, who he picked out specific targets for them to go and kill.

And the choice he made to shell the Four Courts led to the most bitter conflict in Ireland since 1798, and he was killed 2 months after it started, showing his lack of experience as a military commander during the ambush to come out from cover & make himself an easy target against hardend Cork guerrillas who had been fighting the British for 2 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Didn't really lead a whole lot tho did he?

Was a rank & file Volunteer in 1916.

During the Anglo-Irish war he was Minister of Finance in the Dail, Cathal Brugha was Minister of Defence, and Collins was Director of Intelligence on the military front. Didn't lead any large flying columns like the rural IRA commanders, he lead a squad of 12 men, who he picked out specific targets for them to go and kill.

And the choice he made to shell the Four Courts led to the most bitter conflict in Ireland since 1798, and he was killed 2 months after it started, showing his lack of experience as a military commander during the ambush to come out from cover & make himself an easy target against hardend Cork guerrillas who had been fighting the British for 2 years.

Done more than any of us though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

No ones mentioned John Bruton? Maybe he's as dull as his name.

Odhinn wrote: »
    Cosgrave the younger, purely so I could give him clatters.

hehe. Yes, Odhinn. Poor Osgur Breathnach came straight to mind there. An absolute travesty and a stain on this state, as Vincent Browne highlighted many times. If we could make Paddy Cooney taoiseach for a day and put him at the same table it could be the makings of a great meeting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Jack Lynch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Carry

DEV, because I'd like to discuss his vision of ...
    ...a land whose countryside would be bright with cosy homesteads, whose fields and villages would be joyous with the sounds of industry, with the romping of sturdy children, the contest of athletic youths and the laughter of happy maidens, whose firesides would be forums for the wisdom of serene old age. The home, in short, of a people living the life that God desires that men should live...

What was he thinking? Oirish Disneyworld for American tourists? (They still seem to believe that btw.). What god, the old man, desires (kiddie fiddlers anyone?)?

I'd show him "happy maidens" dancing wildly at the crossroads away from the firesides and "serene" (ha! grumpy! backwards!) old age.

Done more than any of us though.

Didn't do more than Tom Barry, Sean MacEoin or Frank Aiken or people in the 70's like Joe McCann or Brendan Hughes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Garret FitzGerald

He wouldn’t drink with you, you don’t have the right pedigree

Feckin snob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭jem

branie2 wrote: »
    Brian Cowan
    Been there done that.

One of the soundest fellas you could ever meet.
    Great fun , interesting, intelligent and extremly likeable.

if I could go back it would be either CJH or Lemass.
    I know a former minister who was there during the Haughey era and he still says that cj was without doubt the most intelligent person he has ever met and he could be extremly funny as well.
    With regard to Lemass because in many ways he is the father of modern day Ireland and most would say that he was the greatest Taoiseach we ever had.

To be fair,

I have had pints with the following:
    Enda Kenny, Richard Bruton, Bertie Aherne, Brian Cowen, John Bruton ( not sure was he Taoiseach)

Enda was actually the sounded out of the lot of them. John Bruton bought me copious amounts of drink ( funeral)
    Biffo true to form was pissed already and very hard to understand.
    Bertie was on crutches in the Skylon hotel.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭blinding

Am I allowed to poison their Drinks ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,794 ✭✭✭cookie1977

Lemass

Carry wrote: »
    DEV, because I'd like to discuss his vision of ...

What was he thinking? Oirish Disneyworld for American tourists? (They still seem to believe that btw.). What god, the old man, desires (kiddie fiddlers anyone?)?

I'd show him "happy maidens" dancing wildly at the crossroads away from the firesides and "serene" (ha! grumpy! backwards!) old age.

Sounds like Dev wanted to be leader of the Roman Republic not the Irish Republic, except without all the orgies.

blinding wrote: »
    Am I allowed to poison their Drinks ?

I poisoned Liam Cosgraves. Not just because of his terrible economic planning, but his cold hearted way he treated the victims of the Free States biggest ever terrorist disaster & Britains as well until 7/7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭vriesmays

John Costello.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Sad news, looks like Biffo's having a serious health scare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Sad news, looks like Biffo's having a serious health scare.

Heard about that earlier, any news on what happened him?

He can't be that old either, young family etc, hope he makes a recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭Mysterypunter

Heard its a bleed on the Brain, hope he recovers, never looked like a picture of health though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭d8491prj5boyvg

Sorry to hear about Brian Cowan. Hope he is able to get through the current health issues.

DeValera would be interesting if he told a few stories but as mentioned earlier he'd probably stay quiet. I'd vote Albert, one of the few at the threshold of peace in the north so would have a few interesting stories. Would also have a few dance hall stories to tell.

Garrett Fitzgerald to find our how he pushed Thatcher so hard on the Anglo Irish agreement. A very intelligent man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Hope cowen recovers

Media tend to exaggerate how sick famous figures are when it's revealed they have been admitted to hospital

Hopefully this is what's going on here

Well if we had a better health service it wouldn't be so scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Well if we had a better health service it wouldn't be so scary.

How in the name of Jesus would having a better health service have prevented a sudden brain bleed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,466 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Deffo Haughey

On his island

• Closed Accounts Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Jupiter Mulligan

Deffo Haughey

On his island

Haughey didn't drink pints.

Posh wine as selected by his mistress was his tipple. Then he moved on to good whiskey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭Roadtoad

peasant wrote: »
    Is this the point where I mention that Charlie bought me a pint once? :D

Down in Dingle...not just me though but the whole pub, all 10 of us...and I hadn't a clue who he was at the time

Afternoon tea (and wine) on Celtic Mist, July 15. The day after Paddy Bawn Brosnan's funeral. So smooth and charming. Yeah, if only I could have seen into the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Bertie, really any but Leo