Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which former Taoiseach would you most like to have a pint with?

• 27-06-2019 2:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭

Well which former Taoiseach would you most like to go on a session with?

In order my top two would be:

Lemass: a good, honest drinking night. Good talk and no waffling about.

Bertie: I want to hear about the insides of what was going on in FF during the Boom, the real truth. Messy night's drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,314 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Brian Cowan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Garret FitzGerald

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,049 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I'd say Uncle Albert could tell a tale or two.

Although, I think a vintage French wine dinner with Charles J Haughey would top any of the rest, as long as he's paying :0
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/fine-wine-on-the-menu-for-the-officials-who-dine-for-their-country-469240.html

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

If you were to have a drink with Enda, he'd only have Lilt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,070 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Enda would be a “two pint” man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Neames

Enda Kenny....he's actually supposed to be good crack.

Not Brian Cowen....T'would be like trying to keep up with Ollie Reed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,836 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

Charlie Haughey - You know it'd be a mad night but you'd almost certainly end up paying for the pints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭ollkiller

Neames wrote: »
    Enda Kenny....he's actually supposed to be good crack.

I'm from Castlebar. Not a Fine Gael supporter at all but can confirm that he is indeed good craic to have a pint with. He's actually way different than his public persona.

the supposition that bertie of any of the ff boys would tell you a damned thing seems a bit naive

enda is a unit, great craic but garrett is the one id probably set most store in

really T K Whitaker is the fella to get the stories out of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

Biffo. I can just imagine after copious amounts of pints consumed, kebab sauce all down his white t-shirt and lads starting on him in the chipper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,225 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I’d say Bertie would be good craic. For his misdemeanor he seemed more likable and more genuine then some of the others...Never liked Enda, say he’d leave a knife in your back in a hurry, Garett too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭the dark phantom

Bertie would possibly be up for a few sneaky lines to keep the session going, id say he would be a good craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Hedgelayer

If it was 2026

Timmy Dooley, he's a sound dude.

Very honest and would make a great Taoiseach.

Strumms wrote: »
    I’d say Bertie would be good craic. For his misdemeanor he seemed more likable and more genuine then some of the others...Never liked Enda, say he’d leave a knife in your back in a hurry, Garett too.

the opposite of what you said.

the odd time bertie let his mask slip in the dail you saw a man with a large ego and a quick temper and id say nobody will ever pin the full extent of his guilt on him for the state the country fell into

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭jimwallace197

I'd say Albert Reynolds would be decent craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

Never liked C J Haughey but would love to have had a pint and a chat with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Bertie isn’t a great fella for getting his round in, as anyone who boozes regularly in Drumcondra would verify. Amiable enough lad though.

Enda Kenny is mighty crack when he’s on the beer. Likes a good few of them, and is excellent at doing impressions of other politicians. Genuinely sound sort of skin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

I refuse to pick one. Its like asking me which child is my favourite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Brian Cowen is the only correct answer to this question.

I know he wasn't Taoiseach, but it would have been fantastic to have a pint with Michael Collins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Strumms wrote: »

the opposite of what you said.

the odd time bertie let his mask slip in the dail you saw a man with a large ego and a quick temper and id say nobody will ever pin the full extent of his guilt on him for the state the country fell into

But it would be interesting to find out if they really believed they created a good economy instead of hanging in the coat tails of low interest rates.

Bertie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

The great man himself Mr Varadkar. Get a few beers in before hitting the town, maybe LCD soubd system maybe kylie Minogue I’d be totes up for that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Maybe Enda. No shortage of yarns.

Bertie, he's indebted to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Well which former Taoiseach would you most like to go on a session with?

I'm assuming you will get free pints for the night otherwise why would anybody bother, our current Taoiseach and past Taoiseach's are all a bit boreing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

None of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

ollkiller wrote: »
    I'm from Castlebar. Not a Fine Gael supporter at all but can confirm that he is indeed good craic to have a pint with. He's actually way different than his public persona.

I have a few costumers from over that part of the world, and I do be told the same on a regular basis.

Supposed to be mighty craic behind the public politician persona.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

W.T. Cosgrave.

I'd like to discuss how he balanced the books over brandy and pipe tobacco.

Then afterwards maybe we could go to a play or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Actually, changed my mind. Haughey all the way. Caviar, banging rough looking female columnists, treated like a lord.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Jack Lynch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

Jack Lynch

To ask him why he stood idly by?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,245 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Sean lemass - just because he hasn't been mentioned on this thread yet. No other reason than that tbh.

Or else DEV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,698 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Bertie isn’t a great fella for getting his round in, as anyone who boozes regularly in Drumcondra would verify. Amiable enough lad though.

Enda Kenny is mighty crack when he’s on the beer. Likes a good few of them, and is excellent at doing impressions of other politicians. Genuinely sound sort of skin.

Ah here.

Really ? You wouldn't think it from his public persona when he was Taoiseach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,225 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

FG TD on boards?

Liam Cosgrave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

I had a pint with John Bruton a few years ago.
    It was exactly like you’d imagine.

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Bertie, so I could give the little criminal a thump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,293 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

I have a few costumers from over that part of the world, and I do be told the same on a regular basis.

Supposed to be mighty craic behind the public politician persona.

Why did he bother with the persona so? surely he would have been better liked if he was better craic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

RMAOK wrote: »
    Sean lemass - just because he hasn't been mentioned on this thread yet.

Apart from the OP, that is.

My choice too. Amazing man.

Telling that so many of you associate the phrase '...most like to have a pint with... ' with loud, gluttonous, superficial oafishness in the company of bare-faced rogues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,245 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Apart from the OP, that is.

:o

Didn't read the op fully......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭jcorr

Not with a Taoiseach, but there's a woman there with Leo....I don't know what her name is....I'd be curious to wrangle her brain for a few hours....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

If a man is judged by the company he keeps, then none of the cunts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,724 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Hands down Bertie.

Chancer, charlatan, dodger, taoiseach.

If that doesn’t qualify a lad for a bit of crack over a pint nothing does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

branie2 wrote: »
    I know he wasn't Taoiseach, but it would have been fantastic to have a pint with Michael Collins

Why? Because he was in that film??

Because he was a great leader

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Are we allowed slip arsenic into the pint?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,288 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Bertie the original RobbingBandit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Jack Lynch

Jack Lynch for me too. Love a nice Cork man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Love a nice Cork man.

Never heard of such a creature.