Which former Taoiseach would you most like to have a pint with?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Jack Lynch

"The robin in the garden,

That was me,

I'm still here, Loving you..

Until we meet again. "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

Jack Lynch

To ask him why he stood idly by?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,478 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Sean lemass - just because he hasn't been mentioned on this thread yet. No other reason than that tbh.

Or else DEV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,027 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Bertie isn’t a great fella for getting his round in, as anyone who boozes regularly in Drumcondra would verify. Amiable enough lad though.

Enda Kenny is mighty crack when he’s on the beer. Likes a good few of them, and is excellent at doing impressions of other politicians. Genuinely sound sort of skin.

Ah here.

Really ? You wouldn't think it from his public persona when he was Taoiseach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,289 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Bertie isn’t a great fella for getting his round in, as anyone who boozes regularly in Drumcondra would verify. Amiable enough lad though.

Enda Kenny is mighty crack when he’s on the beer. Likes a good few of them, and is excellent at doing impressions of other politicians. Genuinely sound sort of skin.

FG TD on boards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,372 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Liam Cosgrave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

I had a pint with John Bruton a few years ago.
    It was exactly like you’d imagine.

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Bertie, so I could give the little criminal a thump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,371 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

I have a few costumers from over that part of the world, and I do be told the same on a regular basis.

Supposed to be mighty craic behind the public politician persona.

Why did he bother with the persona so? surely he would have been better liked if he was better craic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

RMAOK wrote: »
    Sean lemass - just because he hasn't been mentioned on this thread yet.

Apart from the OP, that is.

My choice too. Amazing man.

Telling that so many of you associate the phrase '...most like to have a pint with... ' with loud, gluttonous, superficial oafishness in the company of bare-faced rogues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,478 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Apart from the OP, that is.

:o

Didn't read the op fully......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭jcorr

Not with a Taoiseach, but there's a woman there with Leo....I don't know what her name is....I'd be curious to wrangle her brain for a few hours....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

If a man is judged by the company he keeps, then none of the cunts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,082 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Hands down Bertie.

Chancer, charlatan, dodger, taoiseach.

If that doesn’t qualify a lad for a bit of crack over a pint nothing does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

branie2 wrote: »
    I know he wasn't Taoiseach, but it would have been fantastic to have a pint with Michael Collins

Why? Because he was in that film??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,372 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Why? Because he was in that film??

Because he was a great leader

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭Thoie

Are we allowed slip arsenic into the pint?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,669 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Bertie the original RobbingBandit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Jack Lynch

Jack Lynch for me too. Love a nice Cork man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Love a nice Cork man.

Never heard of such a creature.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭squawker

Seán Lemass as the only Taoiseach worth anything in the history of the state imo

squawker wrote: »
    Seán Lemass as the only Taoiseach worth anything in the history of the state imo

In fairness to the historical record, the families who received the 132,000 social houses which de Valera's governments built amid the poverty of 1930s Ireland, or the unknown number of people whose lives were saved by de Valera ensuring Ireland remained neutral, to take two examples of many, might disagree with that currently fashionable view.

Given his roles in Irish history de Valera would by far be the most interesting. By far. The problem is he wouldn't reveal anything so he'd be useless company. Given that, I'd probably find Fitzgerald to be the most interesting company; a walking repository of economic and cultural history.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 inthepocket

W.T. Cosgrave.

I'd like to discuss how he balanced the books over brandy and pipe tobacco.

Then afterwards maybe we could go to a play or something.

Think he was an inner city publican before he was a politician! So he'd be pulling the pints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Never heard of such a creature.

I've known a few hot Cork men in time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Is this the point where I mention that Charlie bought me a pint once? :D

Down in Dingle...not just me though but the whole pub, all 10 of us...and I hadn't a clue who he was at the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Lemass for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,670 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Sean Lemass, probably the best Taoiseah we've had. I'm sure he'd be an interesting person to talk to about the War of Independence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭seamusk84

BIFFO.

Yeah he’s a clown, but I’d say he’s some craic on the pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,051 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Well which former Taoiseach would you most like to go on a session with?

In order my top two would be:

Lemass: a good, honest drinking night. Good talk and no waffling about.

Bertie: I want to hear about the insides of what was going on in FF during the Boom, the real truth. Messy night's drinking.

Cosgrave the younger, purely so I could give him clatters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,181 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Hedgelayer wrote: »
    If it was 2026

Timmy Dooley, he's a sound dude.

Very honest and would make a great Taoiseach.

He won't be Taoiseach. At the very least for the mortifying shame of sending a leader called Timmy abroad