Donegal people saying “hey” or “hi”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

And where did you come up with the spelling 'h-a-i'??? Who told you or decided that there is an 'a' in the middle??? The word is 'hi' and your inability to spell such a simple word doesn't bode well for you in understanding its meaning.

Its to differentiate it from the word 'hi', hai. Sitcheeashun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Gazzmonkey

Dots1982 wrote: »
    Just curious if there is any other example of a group of people who speak adding a word that carries no meaning. So Australians say “strewth” but this has a meaning. Same as Italians and “faggitabout” but “hey” or “hi” carries no weight whatsoever but they still use it.

You need to ask Derry people, not Donegal people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Fan of Netflix

In the jacks in Clones, every one of the expressions from the old days were being used by young fellas. Is this where the big lads hang out. Where do the big cocks go. More than three shakes is a ****. Good to know the language is not diluted by third level education, hi.
    Cavan or Donegal lads? Probably similar enough sayings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Aye, it's wild, hai!

Every Gaa Player has to start every post-match interview sentence with "Look...". The Cork football manager's interview on Sat evening must've contained at least 10 "Look..."s

Donegal bucks have obviously seen an opportunity to get in on the end of every sentence with hai.

It's still better than "like" or worse "loike"!!!

Lookit we knew coming down here today was going to be fierce tough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Gazzmonkey wrote: »

There’s a mad amount of Derry men on the donegal football team so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

pjdarcy wrote: »
    I'll take "look" over "lookit" any day of the week. RTE's London correspondent Fiona Mitchell uses lookit a lot. I don't know why I find it so annoying but I do.

The homely looking sports reporter on RTE does that a lot too

Jackie hurley

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Dots1982 wrote: »
    Gazzmonkey wrote: »

There’s a mad amount of Derry men on the donegal football team so.

Inishowen, same bloody difference.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Fan of Netflix

Better than the D4s and culchie wannabes

loike loike loike literally literally loike loike loike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,835 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I have a suspicion that the Donegal players decided to overdo the "Hi's" on the radio for a bit of fun. The interviews I heard sounded a bit contrived.

Contrast this with some footage from 2014, with not a single Hi. Although Anthony Thompson did throw in a few "Nows" ala Kevin McAleer.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,498 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Is it not a version of 'eh?' dine the tine?