Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donegal people saying “hey” or “hi”

• 23-06-2019 6:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭

Just curious if there is any other example of a group of people who speak adding a word that carries no meaning. So Australians say “strewth” but this has a meaning. Same as Italians and “faggitabout” but “hey” or “hi” carries no weight whatsoever but they still use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

In all in anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Don't be stupid, hai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Dots1982 wrote: »
    Just curious if there is any other example of a group of people who speak adding a word that carries no meaning. So Australians say “strewth” but this has a meaning. Same as Italians and “faggitabout” but “hey” or “hi” carries no weight whatsoever but they still use it.

So you’ve never heard anyone add ‘like’ repeatedly to the end of sentences or any English person add ‘innit’ to the end of a sentence?

Or is this just your pathetic feeble attempt at having a go at Donegal people (any utterly failing)??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Don't be stupid, hai.

It's a big shopping centre in Ballymena, hai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭mikemac2

I thought this was a drawda thing to end sentences with hai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

I'm curious as to whether you started this thread on the back of an interview with a Donegal GAA player (possibly McHugh) on the Marty Squad after the match today?

The amount of 'heys' that were thrown in was mad. I actually had the same thought as you. It would be so confusing for a someone that didn't have English as their first language.

They do it a good bit in Louth too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Dafuq?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Nokotan wrote: »
    I'm curious as to whether you started this thread on the back of an interview with a Donegal GAA player (possibly McHugh) on the Marty Squad after the match today?

The amount of 'heys' that were thrown in was mad. I actually had the same thought as you. It would be so confusing for a someone that didn't have English as their first language.

It was the interview with the goalkeeper and mcbreaty on the Sunday sport show not the Marty Squad but yeah you’re right otherwise.

So you’ve never heard anyone add ‘like’ repeatedly to the end of sentences or any English person add ‘innit’ to the end of a sentence?

Or is this just your pathetic feeble attempt at having a go at Donegal people (any utterly failing)??

Fair suggestions, “Like” denotes a degree of uncertainty so could argue it has a limited meaning. “Innit” seems to be something people say to ask if the person they talk to agrees with them.

”Hai” from what I can tell means absolutely nothing....ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

It’s more of a through the gap thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭hellsing101

Its more of a culchie thing. I live in Donegal and would rarely hear it unless from culchies or someone mocking culchies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Fair suggestions, “Like” denotes a degree of uncertainty so could argue it has a limited meaning. “Innit” seems to be something people say to ask if the person they talk to agrees with them.

”Hai” from what I can tell means absolutely nothing....ever.

Watch any interview with Sonia O'Sullivan and then tell me that 'like' at the end of every single sentence denotes a degree of uncertainty!

And where did you come up with the spelling 'h-a-i'??? Who told you or decided that there is an 'a' in the middle??? The word is 'hi' and your inability to spell such a simple word doesn't bode well for you in understanding its meaning.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

It's an implicit request for back-channel communication (seriously)

And where did you come up with the spelling 'h-a-i'??? Who told you or decided that there is an 'a' in the middle??? The word is 'hi' and your inability to spell such a simple word doesn't bode well for you in understanding its meaning.

I didn’t come up with “hai”. It’s how other posters spelt the word so I went along with it so you are wrong there.

I don’t understand it’s meaning. It appears not to have a meaning as it’s presence in a sentence seems superfluous.

It's an implicit request for back-channel communication (seriously)

You may explain that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭ChippingSodbury

Nokotan wrote: »

Aye, it's wild, hai!

Every Gaa Player has to start every post-match interview sentence with "Look...". The Cork football manager's interview on Sat evening must've contained at least 10 "Look..."s

Donegal bucks have obviously seen an opportunity to get in on the end of every sentence with hai.

It's still better than "like" or worse "loike"!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,806 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

People often start sentences and stories with 'So' at the start when it has no necessary purpose. Above, you could have said "Australians say “strewth” but this has a meaning." but you stuck a 'so' in front.

Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

It's only a colloquialism, so it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Gorgeousgeorge

How ya now hai

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Following on from yesterday's idiotic thread about Donegal people and the rally, this is even more stupid. OP I'm embarrassed for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,744 ✭✭✭✭maccored

'hi' is appended to sentences all throughout the north. no idea where this 'hai' word is coming from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Watch any interview with Sonia O'Sullivan and then tell me that 'like' at the end of every single sentence denotes a degree of uncertainty!

Sonia doesn't say "like" at the end of every sentence, she says " you know" at the beginning of every sentence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭pjdarcy

Aye, it's wild, hai!

Every Gaa Player has to start every post-match interview sentence with "Look...". The Cork football manager's interview on Sat evening must've contained at least 10 "Look..."s

I'll take "look" over "lookit" any day of the week. RTE's London correspondent Fiona Mitchell uses lookit a lot. I don't know why I find it so annoying but I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,852 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

In the jacks in Clones, every one of the expressions from the old days were being used by young fellas. Is this where the big lads hang out. Where do the big cocks go. More than three shakes is a ****. Good to know the language is not diluted by third level education, hi.

Following on from yesterday's idiotic thread about Donegal people and the rally, this is even more stupid. OP I'm embarrassed for you.

Well that’s me told.. hi/hai

What now?

What now?

Shadduppayouface.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Dots1982 wrote:
    Well that’s me told.. hi/hai

You're welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

In the jacks in Clones, every one of the expressions from the old days were being used by young fellas. Is this where the big lads hang out. Where do the big cocks go. More than three shakes is a ****. Good to know the language is not diluted by third level education, hi.
    I remember a familly walking the corridor of a hotel and the little five year old lad asked the father "Whats in there" pointing at the Gents. The older brother answered : Thats where the big knobs hang out"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Some folk here really do not like Donegal it would seem...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Its to differentiate it from the word 'hi', hai. Sitcheeashun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Gazzmonkey

You need to ask Derry people, not Donegal people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Fan of Netflix

Cavan or Donegal lads? Probably similar enough sayings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Aye, it's wild, hai!

Donegal bucks have obviously seen an opportunity to get in on the end of every sentence with hai.

It's still better than "like" or worse "loike"!!!

Lookit we knew coming down here today was going to be fierce tough.

Gazzmonkey wrote: »

There’s a mad amount of Derry men on the donegal football team so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

pjdarcy wrote: »
    I'll take "look" over "lookit" any day of the week. RTE's London correspondent Fiona Mitchell uses lookit a lot. I don't know why I find it so annoying but I do.

The homely looking sports reporter on RTE does that a lot too

Jackie hurley

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Gazzmonkey wrote: »

There’s a mad amount of Derry men on the donegal football team so.

Inishowen, same bloody difference.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Fan of Netflix

Better than the D4s and culchie wannabes

loike loike loike literally literally loike loike loike

I have a suspicion that the Donegal players decided to overdo the "Hi's" on the radio for a bit of fun. The interviews I heard sounded a bit contrived.

Contrast this with some footage from 2014, with not a single Hi. Although Anthony Thompson did throw in a few "Nows" ala Kevin McAleer.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Is it not a version of 'eh?' dine the tine?