How Do You Solve a Problem Like Ruhama?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Game of Thrones Fan

That is just pathetic. For garda to be going out trying to chat up strangers on the street pretending to be hookers. And then they have to name them in the paper.

It's basically a war against straight single men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

I don't understand why so many posters on boards are so constant and strong in their raising of the work of ruhama.

Where are they coming across ruhama.

I can't recall the last time outside of Boards I read in a newspaper or online about them.

'Ah yes prostitution, the ultimate freedom', is the vibe I get off the people who are strong in their objection to ruhama.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,135 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

That is just pathetic. For garda to be going out trying to chat up strangers on the street pretending to be hookers. And then they have to name them in the paper.

Meanwhile houses are being broken into etc & no chance of getting the Guards to respond especially as the others are targeting motorists. Much easier to catch the punter rather than the trafficking gangs

imme wrote: »
    I don't understand why so many posters on boards are so constant and strong in their raising of the work of ruhama.

Where are they coming across ruhama.

I can't recall the last time outside of Boards I read in a newspaper or online about them.

'Ah yes prostitution, the ultimate freedom', is the vibe I get off the people who are strong in their objection to ruhama.

I listen to the radio most days & I am always hearing about them, certainly once a week.

None of them seem to be Irish though. They're all foreign. Sometimes you think one looks Irish, but she'll be German or something.

Most Irish girls won't work in Ireland. They see it a a small place with the chance that someone will recognise them.

But it was only made illegal about two years ago.

I wonder are some of those hookers on the escortsireland website in cahoots with garda?

Being a prostitute is not illegal.

An Irish Escort did a Boards ask thread

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=102972654

bazz26 wrote: »
    zombie thread, Ted.

Laura Lee dead also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Phileas Frog

You're one of those named aren't you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

imme wrote: »

Feature consistently in the IT, Newstalk & RTE Radio 1.

https://www.irishtimes.com/topics/topics-7.1213540?article=true&tag_organisation=Ruhama

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Game of Thrones Fan

You're one of those named aren't you?
    No, I'm one of those considering treating himself to a prostitute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Credit Checker Moose

These stings are not that elaborate at all. The cops know where the prostitutes work from. All they have to do is watch the stream of punters coming and going. They just confront the punter when leaving saying that they know what he was doing. A confession and conviction follows.

The savvy punter will deny all and the cops won't get a conviction. Unless they have a spy camera in the room they have zero evidence.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Justin Credible Darts

I see a lot of uproar over the jailing of 2 prostitutes.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/sex-workers-say-kildare-brothel-arrests-prove-law-is-not-fit-for-purpose-929839.html

However what the pc brigade forget is that it was for running a brothel they were chiefly locked up for.

Had it been a man that was running the brothel, the same outcry would not apply

I see a lot of uproar over the jailing of 2 prostitutes.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/sex-workers-say-kildare-brothel-arrests-prove-law-is-not-fit-for-purpose-929839.html

However what the pc brigade forget is that it was for running a brothel they were chiefly locked up for.

Had it been a man that was running the brothel, the same outcry would not apply

Making a brothel illegal just increases the danger for the workers. Girls would often like to team up for safety but the brothel law makes them liable for prosecution.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Justin Credible Darts

Discodog wrote: »
    Making a brothel illegal just increases the danger for the workers. Girls would often like to team up for safety but the brothel law makes them liable for prosecution.

I have no problem with legalizing brothels.

my point is were this a man convicted of running one, there would not be as much condemnation.
    In fact I suspect more people might even be glad he was convicted, by the same people who demand equality.

The male is always seen as the creepy one whilst the female always portrayed as the victim

my point is were this a man convicted of running one, there would not be as much condemnation.
    In fact I suspect more people might even be glad he was convicted, by the same people who demand equality.

The male is always seen as the creepy one whilst the female always portrayed as the victim

A man might be more open to the charge of living off immoral earnings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Now I don't know what to think.

Sure maybe pimps are sound.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Credit Checker Moose

The pimps are not always men. One of the most notorious pimps was a woman!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,351 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Discodog wrote: »

So no proof of these young foreign girls one of whom is pregnant been coerced into the work,, but they are now going to spend 6 months in jail?.

That's a ****ing scandal tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

These laws were and are terrible for sex workers (primarily). Secondarily, the state has no business in telling consenting adults what to do. There were already laws against trafficking and coercion. Ruhama basically wrote them and stuck them under Frances Fitzgerald's nose who promptly signed off on them because it looked vaguely 'feminist.' Not a peep from the opposition either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Shhh!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

A brothel is defined as a premises where 2 or more sex workers are working from.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

One assumes, with his pants down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

judeboy101 wrote: »
    One assumes, with his pants down?

Ruhama were cribbing in the media about a year after the laws were put on the books that there were no prosecutions pending for Johns. The order probably went down the chain to find someone doing the deed and get a file to the DPP to look like they were enforcing.

To my mind, if the sex-worker was of age and not coerced into her occupation (and there is no evidence to suggest otherwise), he did nothing wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Very very few pimps are men. And most male pimps have to partner up with a woman who will manage the women.