Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

England fans riot in Portugual, sing "F the Pope and the IRA"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Too funny

So many of rhe anti anything English crowd getting a collective hard on because a few drunken **** cause some trouble.

Amazing how you never hear mention of the Irish football hooligans who fight each other almost every other week.

They never have an issue with American sports fans rioting.

No mention of the French supporters rioting after the world cup final.

But mention the English and they are all over the subject like dogs on a bone.

Get a life lads/lasses, release the hatred and get over yourselves, the average English person despise these idiots as much as anyone else so stop making out it's the whole nation.

Truly laughable, but as always pedictable reactions from our usual barstool republicans :rolleyes:

There's a bad history there though. Nobody else has been thrown out of European competition for 5 yrs due to the heinous actions of one of their clubs abroad.

I know it's only small subset of the lower orders who engage with this stuff. The vast majority of English don't and are ashamed of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,218 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

It must be a lot of fun to riot in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Hedgelayer

A lot of these trouble maker's come from a militant British army background.

It goes way back through their DNA even in Limerick City which was a garison town,the most hardest people came from the tans and married into Irish families....

You can see that dark Britannia look about them, some are ok but the worst have an English heritage going back 300 year's
    They're different, I can't say they're bad people it's just they're tough and have a hardened DNA structure, as for Cork, Galway and Dublin they're not the same kind of people.

Limerick has a big lineage going back to England....

That's a theory brought to my attention from a historian, not a fact

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,861 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Hedgelayer wrote: »

It goes way back through their DNA even in Limerick City which was a garison town,the most hardest people came from the tans and married into Irish families....

You can see that dark Britannia look about them, some are ok but the worst have an English heritage going back 300 year's
    They're different, I can't say they're bad people it's just they're tough and have a hardened DNA structure, as for Cork, Galway and Dublin they're not the same kind of people.

Limerick has a big lineage going back to England....

That's a theory brought to my attention from a historian, not a fact

Any evidence for this? I don't know one British soldier serving or retired that has been arrested for football hooliganism.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Fan of Netflix

.Charlo wrote: »
    Timberrrrr a supporter of the far right hahaha

Hes lost it.
    Cringing for you and your ilk on here cheerleading Tommy Robinson and these morons. It wasn't long ago him and his thugs were beat out of Dublin.

And Celtic are a Scottish club not Irish, tool.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 335 ✭✭.Charlo

Cringing for you and your ilk on here cheerleading Tommy Robinson and these morons. It wasn't long ago him and his thugs were beat out of Dublin.

You're on here calling a man that abhorrs the far right a supporter of them. You need to calm down. You're making a show of yourself. I bet you"re one of the "Ireland has the best fans in the world" brigade lol

Who the fcuk.is cheering on that wanker?

Any evidence for this? I don't know one British soldier serving or retired that has been arrested for football hooliganism.

I never mentioned that.
    Re-read my post.

I think there's quite a few British soldiers who've been up to their own version hooliganism.

This is the wrong thread,but it's not a fact that there wasn't any British soldiers harassing people and goading them in the north during the troubles...

Hopefully the cat isn't left out of the bag here....

My bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Really, how do you know this? The only lads (two) I've ever heard of getting banning order where Chelsea fans. One of them was a barrister and the other was an accountant (or similar). They were neighbours of my cousins in Fulham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,382 ✭✭✭trashcan

Plenty of videos on YouTube:

Really ? I've only ever see a couple of Rovers/Bohs videos, and they are going back a while. League of Ireland can be accused of a lot of things, but widespread hooliganism is not one.

Now, back to discussing those impeccable English citizens distinguishing themselves again.

trashcan wrote: »
    Really ? I've only ever see a couple of Rovers/Bohs videos, and they are going back a while. League of Ireland can be accused of a lot of things, but widespread hooliganism is not one.

Now, back to discussing those impeccable English citizens distinguishing themselves again.

There was 4 bohs lads jailed in Derry a few years ago for smashing up a pub and assaulting people because they were a different religion.The same fellas are apparently "fighting facism" now.

Ironically holliganism and militants go hand and hand...

Combat 18 for instance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭votecounts

When England fans sing F the Pope, F the IRA they mean it as an insult to all Irish People, anyone thinks differently is clueless.
    Why can't some people enjoy a beer or three and the lovely weather in portugal without insulting a foreign people. Dregs of society, these people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

Disgracing their country once again, and now bringing out the full Rangers songbook, including "**** the Pope" which they now sing regularly. Plenty of Catholic English people out there, vile stuff more akin to their National Front days when they trashed Landsdowne road. Taking over an Irish bar and singing anti IRA songs as well. Obsessed....:rolleyes:

https://twitter.com/talkSPORT/status/1136304852567568385

https://twitter.com/seaningle/status/1136352284194025475

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/england-fans-baton-charged-as-violence-erupts-in-porto-1.3916628

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2019/jun/05/england-fans-baton-charged-portugese-police-nations-league-porto

Are you sure they're English Hooligan football fans or just liberals from Ireland?

At times it's hard to tell the difference.

I never mentioned that.
    Re-read my post.

I think there's quite a few British soldiers who've been up to their own version hooliganism.

This is the wrong thread,but it's not a fact that there wasn't any British soldiers harassing people and goading them in the north during the troubles...

Hopefully the cat isn't left out of the bag here....

My bad

You said

votecounts wrote: »
    When England fans sing F the Pope, F the IRA they mean it as an insult to all Irish People, anyone thinks differently is clueless
    Indeed but plenty of sheltered types on here who've never dealt with them think otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I'd rather be Roman Catholic than part of some sort of creepy biscuit eating social club who pay tithes and don't bury their dead for 6 weeks.

You said

I think our line of thinking on this subject is indifferent, it's hard to explain where I'm coming from or going with this one....

An evenings fly-fishing could sort it out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,394 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

votecounts wrote: »
    When England fans sing F the Pope, F the IRA they mean it as an insult to all Irish People, anyone thinks differently is clueless.
    Why can't some people enjoy a beer or three and the lovely weather in portugal without insulting a foreign people. Dregs of society, these people

Approximately 1 in 10 of those fans would be Catholic. Maybe they stay quiet for that chant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,382 ✭✭✭trashcan

There was 4 bohs lads jailed in Derry a few years ago for smashing up a pub and assaulting people because they were a different religion.The same fellas are apparently "fighting facism" now.

Yeah, I vaguely remember that case. As you say it was a good few years ago. Thankfully incidents like that are rare in our game. Doesn't mean it's not scumbaggey bevahiour of course, in case anyone thinks I'm condoning any trouble that does occur here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭simongurnick

I remember chatting to a few English lads at the world cup in Japan. Sound fellas and we all shared a love of football. After a while a couple of other lads show up and start shouting "no surrender to the IRA". Atmosphere completely changed, things very tense. We ended up heading off somewhere else to keep the peace but it just pssed me off no end that a group would fly across the world, spending a few grand in the process and just want to start a ruckus. Meatheads. And that was 17 years ago, so the same fellas kids are probably arsing about in portugal as we speak. Pondlife.

trashcan wrote: »
    Yeah, I vaguely remember that case. As you say it was a good few years ago. Thankfully incidents like that are rare in our game. Doesn't mean it's not scumbaggey bevahiour of course, in case anyone thinks I'm condoning any trouble that does occur here.

Fella stabbed last year in Phibsboro during a bohs and rovers mill up. Yeah thankfully it's rare but these goons are actually copying what they see across the water even down to what they wear. But yeah they hate the Brits and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭InTheShadows

There in one place, getting pissed and leaving the place a tip.

If you and your mates went on a city break to just say Paris. Sat under the Eiffel Tower for a couple of days, getting pissed, jumping into the fountains, throwing your empty cans all over the place, it wouldnt be acceptable, would it?

A football match and replica jerseys do not give people license.

It was the official fan zones. UEFA run them and pay for the clean up. Should the fans bring their empty cans to the stadium for recycling?

Seemed to me a load of people enjoying themselves both Spurs and Liverpool fans where in the vast majority very well behaved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭InTheShadows

I think he was hoping for more trouble from Liverpool fans in Madrid I mean his beloved Man Utd fans did the same taking over Barcelona and not a peep from him

Ah that explains it.

Berserker wrote: »
    But but but .... English. Such is their level of hatred for everything British that they can't bring themselves to pass any sort of positive remarks about them.

Except for when they're claiming their teams as their own every other weekend. It's a strange one alright.

Ex England International Stan Collymore on the button. Knows well about facing down these racists and bigots. Fair play to him.

https://twitter.com/StanCollymore/status/1136378015636738048

• Closed Accounts Posts: 886 ✭✭✭Anteayer

I'd prefix this by saying I'm not Catholic, I went as far as formally defecting from the Catholic Church having being brought up in a household that never even went to mass. I wouldn't know one end of a tabernacle from the other.

As a somewhat outside observer, as Irishman who isn't catholic, my experience is that there's a significant issue in the UK with anti-Catholic sectarianism in a way that really isn't tolerated or dished out towards other religious groups and it seems to roll all the way back to Tudor-era propaganda when you start to pick it apart and some of it is undoubtedly anti-Irish too.

In a whole load of occasions while living in open minded, liberal, London I have had people trying to tell me about my "catholic guilt". I'm an atheist, openly gay, no fan of organised religion at of any sort, strongly believe in having a secular state and would be far less likely to have any 'catholic guilt' complex than most of the people who were doling this stuff out.

I've als had things like being told that "Ah you're not proper Irish - you're not even drunk mate!" and bing asked to pronounce 'th' over and over even though I don't don't pronounce it as D and even if I did, many of the people who were saying this pronounce it as "F" themselves, as in: "one, two, free! Uncle Arfur is in the barf!"

Even in respected academic and media circles, there's this constant banging on about religion, or more so the 1500s period, in the UK, in a way I don't see in Ireland anymore and I definitely don't see in France or the Benelux.

https://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-18789154

"Discussion among eurozone leaders about the future of their single currency has become an increasingly divisive affair. On the surface, religion has nothing to do with it - but could Protestant and Catholic leaders have deep-seated instincts that lead them to pull the eurozone in different directions, until it breaks?"

They don't even seem to bother to pay attention that many of the places they were deeming to be Catholic or Protestant aren't. Germany is decidedly mixed and some of its most economically conservative parts are very historically very Catholic, Austria's historically catholic, so's large chunks of the Netherlands, France is revolutionarily secular with a strongly Catholic history and the most impacted economy, Greece, is mostly Greek Orthodox, but sure why pay any attention to that when it gets in the way of a good stereotype about protestant work ethic and catholic confession boxes?

Meanwhile the Anglican Church is probably the least dramatic of any reformation, it still even describes itself as a catholic church, it's just forked away from the Roman Catholic church but it was never really quite the same as the churches that broke off on profound theological differences, it was about Tudor era power and the fact that Spain, Britain's then arch nemesis empire, basically ran the Catholic Church at the time.

Anyway, to cut a long story short, I think the English / British in general could do with actually acknowledging they have a problem with sectarianism.

For all the looking on in horror at Northern Ireland's sectarian issues, a diluted, but still very present version of the same thing seems to crop up across English culture too, particularly after a feed of beers and a bit of jingoism - all of a sudden the filter's gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Fella stabbed last year in Phibsboro during a bohs and rovers mill up. Yeah thankfully it's rare but these goons are actually copying what they see across the water even down to what they wear. But yeah they hate the Brits and all that.

Its actually the casual subculture they follow, no different to the Italians, Dutch, Germans etc

Most of these lads couldnt give two ****s about the international scene either,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Who are ya, who are ya

major bill wrote: »
    Its actually the casual subculture they follow, no different to the Italians, Dutch, Germans etc

Most of these lads couldnt give two ****s about the international scene either,

I'm well aware of the casual culture, that doesn't mean you have to sing your songs with an English accent which is exactly what was happening last time I was in Dalymount. It's only a a small minority most supporters are grand and dont buy into any of that nonsense.