Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

England fans riot in Portugual, sing "F the Pope and the IRA"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,756 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Who is upset by it? I would imagine it's not that unexpected. Can you not dicuss something without being called upset or offended?

I am more suprised that people are standing up for those that most English people would regard as scumbags bringing down the name of their country.

I wouldn't be. Takes a special sort. And they exist in significant numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,485 ✭✭✭Odhinn

.Charlo wrote: »
    This is hilarious, à la carte Catholics on boards.ie of all places, upset at English fans singing fùck the Pope.

Why are you engaged in whataboutery to excuse the behaviour of england fans?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 335 ✭✭.Charlo

Who is upset by it? I would imagine it's not that unexpected. Can you not dicuss something without being called upset or offended?

I am more suprised that people are standing up for those that most English people would regard as scumbags bringing down the name of their country.

I never once stuck up for them, the hooligan element of English or any other national team or club are scum.This shìt is happening week in week out during the Champions League. That's the way it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

Well if they're thick enough to think that I feel offended by "**** the IRA" and "**** the pope", neither of which have anything to do with me, they can stew in their dumbness. I'm not sticking up for them - they're scum obviously.

I think the point is that your feelings or the feelings of any and all Irish people are irrelevant to them. They are losers trying to make themselves feel big by metaphorically keeping Irish necks under their boots. And for those on here saying they would join the singing, they aren't getting that to those braindead guys,a paddy is a paddy and therefore inferior so carry on singing against yourself if that's what floats your boat.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 335 ✭✭.Charlo

Odhinn wrote: »
    Why are you engaged in whataboutery to excuse the behaviour of england fans?

I asked a very simple question early in the thread which went unanswered and things just snowballed and here we are. I'll drop it now and yous can get back on topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭InTheShadows

This stuff has been building up over the last few weeks. Liverpool in Barcelona, Sunderland at Trafalger Square, then the stuff in Madrid.

I aim this at Ireland fans too, going to a foreign country, taking up a square, getting absolutely pissed and leaving the place an absolute tip, is not acceptable behavior just because its a football match.

If members of our own nomadic crime Gangs went somewhere, drank all day &, night and left the place a tip, we'd be fuming. A sporting event is not an excuse.

What stuff in Madrid?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Jesus, these are some of the knuckle dragging-est morons on God's green earth and somehow people are struggling to understand their slogans in the spirit they're intended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Are there people literally standing up for them though?

There seems to be a degree of "you're either one way or the other" on this thread, but others are seeing more layers.

I know they're scummy pieces of sh1t and hope the police have great fun with them and they're turfed out. I'm not going to force myself to feel offended by their chants though, even if they may be aimed at me (but they're not really though). And it's fairly dishonest of people to suggest they don't have a clue about the IRA - of course they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

What stuff in Madrid?

Repeat. Congregating in a public place in massive numbers, getting pissed and leaving the place a tip is not acceptable behaviour.

And that's before we get to yer man **** himself off on a lamppost

In before "If the evil EU didn't take away the British Empire all these poor English people would have an outlet in Kenya, Ireland, India, etc for their frustration - and they'd even be heroes commemorated by the poppy!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Mrsmum wrote: »
    I think the point is that your feelings or the feelings of any and all Irish people are irrelevant to them. They are losers trying to make themselves feel big by metaphorically keeping Irish necks under their boots. And for those on here saying they would join the singing, they aren't getting that to those braindead guys,a paddy is a paddy and therefore inferior so carry on singing against yourself if that's what floats your boat.

Complete and utter rubbish. The pope remarks have nothing to do with the Irish and every decent Irish person would agree with their sentiment regarding the IRA. The far right in England has no issue with Irish people, as I said above. Take a look at their social media content.

Was there any mention of that Londonderry footballer who now plays for the Republic and won't wear a poppy?

Cutting edge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Repeat. Congregating in a public place in massive numbers, getting pissed and leaving the place a tip is not acceptable behaviour.

You seem upset that they were just there in one place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

Berserker wrote: »
    Complete and utter rubbish. The pope remarks have nothing to do with the Irish and every decent Irish person would agree with their sentiment regarding the IRA. The far right in England has no issue with Irish people, as I said above. Take a look at their social media content.

It has everything to do with the Irish in their minds. Every decent British person would condemn this kind of behaviour but we have Irish fools saying they are right.

In before "If the evil EU didn't take away the British Empire all these poor English people would have an outlet in Kenya, Ireland, India, etc for their frustration - and they'd even be heroes commemorated by the poppy!"
    Well when it hadn't been said by post 132 it probably wasn't gonna be said at all.
    Not QUITE true - there are still scummy former squaddie types, mates with hardline loyalist vermin, but yeah nothing like being suggested here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Fan of Netflix

Garbage re IRA. Also there was more than one IRA. The IRA won our independence.

These English thugs wouldn't even know that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,394 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Not him.

AFAIK, the bloke I'm thinking of is called Stokes. You must know him? - more tattoos than that MMA fellow from Crumlin and more nonsensical tweets than Donald Trump.

At least get the name right. Kind of makes your point even more meaningless.

Indeed. Check out their complaining about attention seeking. Takes one to know one I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Jupiter Mulligan

I hadn't realised that there were degrees of meaninglessness!

Presumably the comparative and superlatives are "more meaningless (or "meaninglesser"?) and "even more meaningless" ("meaninglessest"?).

Which begs the question as to where "completely meaningless" fits into the structure.

Anyway, it appears that the correct name of the mad tweeter is Jimmy McLean. Apologies to head-butter Anto Stokes for accusing him in the wrong.

dan1895 wrote: »
    You seem upset that they were just there in one place.

There in one place, getting pissed and leaving the place a tip.

If you and your mates went on a city break to just say Paris. Sat under the Eiffel Tower for a couple of days, getting pissed, jumping into the fountains, throwing your empty cans all over the place, it wouldnt be acceptable, would it?

A football match and replica jerseys do not give people license.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

If you and your mates went on a city break to just say Paris. Sat under the Eiffel Tower for a couple of days, getting pissed, jumping into the fountains, throwing your empty cans all over the place, it wouldnt be acceptable, would it?

That's not unique to football though. Any large gathering of people is going to leave a bit of a mess. Concerts, protests, sunny days on the beach. That's just humans unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 OneEyedORourke

What would be acceptable behaviour for tens of thousands of fans to do in a city in the hours before kick off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

When they think Irish they think the pope and IRA. If they knew anything else about Ireland they'd use that too.

Don't be a white supremacist apologist.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Garbage re IRA. Also there was more than one IRA. The IRA won our independence.

The IRB helped to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,769 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

What are you on about? The Spanish set up bars in several plazas in Madrid for the fans to drink in. There was no trouble with Liverpool or Spurs fans, in fact one arrest is all that is in the media, one arrest from over 100,000 fans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Blinky Plebum

Thanks For the Laugh.

What would be acceptable behaviour for tens of thousands of fans to do in a city in the hours before kick off?

A paella and a few glasses of Sangria at a local eatery with the group you travelled with. You may meet up with a few like minded folk on the way to the ground. Maybe have a can or two, whilst using the local bins to depose of your emptys.

Muahahaha wrote: »
    What are you on about? The Spanish set up bars in several plazas in Madrid for the fans to drink in. There was no trouble with Liverpool or Spurs fans, in fact one arrest is all that is in the media, one arrest from over 100,000 fans.

They set them up because they were going to do it anyway. So they said we might as well put a few toilets in instead of them pissing over the architecture and having a naked **** on a lamppost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

"Clean up for the boys in green" in France, destroys the canal or beaches in Ireland at the first sign of a sunny day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Mrsmum wrote: »
    It has everything to do with the Irish in their minds.

Are you a mind reader?
    When they think Irish they think the pope and IRA. If they knew anything else about Ireland they'd use that too.

Don't be a white supremacist apologist.

They don't. If you want to look at stereotypes, the drunken Irish would be well ahead of the above, all round the world. As for your white supremacist remark, you do know that some of the most prominent hooligan groups in England are mixed race, don't you?