Doonbeg Begorragh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

He will only 'love' Doonbeg and the its plain people for as long as a profit is turned. If it loses money, sayonara bitches, same as any other multinational.

True with pretty much any business, domestic or foreign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭facehugger99

It is losing money :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Do you know how much the place was in debt. Also many many ventures were sold for a song when the bubble burst. How did the government facilitate. Are you saying there was something illegal going on. This is a genuine question as I do not know.

As for your second point your post read as the government should be doing what a Business (Trump in this cases) is

I can't see anywhere in my post where I gave even the vaguest impression that the government should be the ones running a golf course.
    To be fair Trump isn't saving a community, he's making money for himself. He doesn't give a fcuk aboutnthe community. And the government helped him open the course.

So we end up in a weird position where the government get stick for doing nothing for the community and Trump gets credit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,831 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Balf wrote: »
    No, no point is being missed. I'm absolutely talking about the same obsequious mindset that you are referring to. You think something like this goes on behind closed doors in multinational companies?

https://twitter.com/SiCarswell/status/1136352261691641856

You think this degree of deference is in evidence on those occasions? (From a couple of years before Trump became President.)

There's deference, and then there's abject submission.

He is also president so it has been increased to the nth degree. But yes I have been in a place where the big boss was coming and for weeks before we had off where people stood. Who said what. How you desks were presented. What worked you showed etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭handlemaster

He is also president so it has been increased to the nth degree. But yes I have been in a place where the big boss was coming and for weeks before we had off where people stood. Who said what. How you desks were presented. What worked you showed etc.

Just noticed , thought this was from today... crazy the red carpet an all for a business man

Grayson wrote: »
    I can't see anywhere in my post where I gave even the vaguest impression that the government should be the ones running a golf course.

Not a golf course but making a living for the people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,851 ✭✭✭joe40

No, no point is being missed. I'm absolutely talking about the same obsequious mindset that you are referring to. You think something like this goes on behind closed doors in multinational companies?

https://twitter.com/SiCarswell/status/1136352261691641856

You think this degree of deference is in evidence on those occasions? (From a couple of years before Trump became President.)

There's deference, and then there's abject submission.

It looks like something from a parody sketch show. I know it was pre president days which make it worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

He's already said he doesn't care about it anymore.
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/world/us/donald-trump-calls-irish-investment-small-potatoes-1.2540342

In the same speech he said.
    Mr Trump name-checked Ireland in another part of his speech when he complained about US drug company Pfizer and other firms moving to Ireland because their American taxes were “too high”.

“When you lose Pfizer . . . how big a company is Pfizer?” he said. “They are moving. It is gone. They are in Ireland. They are moving to Ireland.”

He doesn't want american companies to be in Ireland so the person people are cheering in Doonbeg are cheering a man who wants to destroy a load of Irish jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Balf

How did the government facilitate. ... This is a genuine question as I do not know.
    The Doonbeg project has a lengthy history.

It was an initiative of Shannon Development originally. Three links below give a bit of context.
    https://iczm.ucc.ie/documents/case_studies/ireland/Shannon_Development_Annual_Report_2001.pdf

Based on a study of market demand, in 1995, Shannon Development concepted and promoted an investment proposal to develop a world class golf resort complex in the Region. Following an extensive review and consultation process, in association with the Doonbeg community, a 153 hectare sand dunes site at Doonbeg was selected by Shannon Development as the preferred location for this flagship project. Following a call for proposals from the
    international marketplace, leading US based golf resort promoters were approved by Shannon Development to take the project forward through to implementation.

Construction work on the €50.79 million (£40m) project progressed significantly during 2001. The fully completed complex, which will comprise a world class golf course, clubhouse, leisure facilities, and a high quality hotel and residential units, will represent the single largest tourism development to be undertaken in the West of Ireland.
    https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/doonbeg-progress-at-snail-pace-1.180907

https://fora.ie/doonbeg-golf-resort-donald-trump-3074369-Nov2016/

There's nothing especially wrong about Trump buying the place. Its just a slightly bizarre end to a lengthy tale.

The whole story is a bit extravagant, as a project to bring some tourism jobs to a village. Imagine if we'd a similar project for every village with 750 inhabitants.

Just noticed , thought this was from today... crazy the red carpet an all for a business man

That was before the election just realised it was crazy

The Doonbeg project has a lengthy history.

It was an initiative of Shannon Development originally. Three links below give a bit of context.

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/doonbeg-progress-at-snail-pace-1.180907

https://fora.ie/doonbeg-golf-resort-donald-trump-3074369-Nov2016/

There's nothing especially wrong about Trump buying the place. Its just a slightly bizarre end to a lengthy tale.

The whole story is a bit extravagant, as a project to bring some tourism jobs to a village. Imagine if we'd a similar project for every village with 750 inhabitants.

But that's not the government facilitating Trump buying it. That was done long before Trump came for it. I thought you were going to reveal the government favouring him. Trump bought it off some American investment country for 15 million. If anything did the government not anger him over a sea wall and sea turbines or was that last 1 scotland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

It's been losing over a million a year since 2014. It may well be that he's ok with that in the same way that he bankrupted those casinos or maybe he doesn't know but it's not turning a profit. Not that I think he is doing this with charitable intentions.

But that's not the government facilitating Trump buying it. That was done long before Trump came for it. I thought you were going to reveal the government favouring him. Trump bought it off some American investment country for 15 million. If anything did the government not anger him over a sea wall and sea turbines or was that last 1 scotland
    I'm not particularly suggesting there is any problem in Trump buying it. I'm just reminding folk of the history behind the place.

Its made a few headlines along the way, like this one
    https://clarechampion.ie/i-endeavoured-to-do-what-i-could-do-about-it-varadkar-under-fire-over-doonbeg-call/

At a lunch in Washington yesterday, he spoke about receiving a phone call from Mr Trump three or four years ago, at which time he was Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport. ... Mr Varadkar said he tried to assist Mr Trump. ... “I rang the County Council and enquired about the planning permission and subsequently the planning permission was declined and the windfarm was never built. ....

In a statement Clare County Council said that the Taoiseach did not make a submission. ....
    I think its best seen as yet another example of the sheer amount of national humiliation accumulated in the pursuance of this one project.

Hard to make sense of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

boetstark wrote: »
    If you think that being unfriendly to the President of the United States whoever it may be , would not affect US companies doing business here , well I'm lost for words.
    We are not the only country with low corporate tax rates.
    Higgins showed his ignorance yesterday with his name calling.
    Our so called head of state is a blustering national embarrassment.
    What did Michael D say that was name calling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,008 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/world/us/donald-trump-calls-irish-investment-small-potatoes-1.2540342

He doesn't want american companies to be in Ireland so the person people are cheering in Doonbeg are cheering a man who wants to destroy a load of Irish jobs.

They're also trying to ingratiate themselves and their little part of the world with a man whose ego is as big a part of his identity as his bank balance. I don't think he'll make decisions based solely on sentiment, but I do think he'll remember who massaged the Donald's ego most at the end of the day if there is wriggle room in decisions. I'd imagine they'll have done more to secure a favourable opinion of Ireland in his mind than any of our politicians will.
    I think fair play to them.
    America has much too big a finger in our pie, they are our pie! It's immensely foolish not to try and play to the whims of a man who is somewhat maleable. It wouldn't work with an economist, but it's at least worth a try with Trump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

He's the president of USA. Why would he be happy about losing jobs to another country?

When we start losing jobs under tax harmonisation legislation should we be happy about it.

I'm not particularly suggesting there is any problem in Trump buying it. I'm just reminding folk of the history behind the place.

Its made a few headlines along the way, like this oneI think its best seen as yet another example of the sheer amount of national humiliation accumulated in the pursuance of this one project.

Hard to make sense of.

Government trying to get business in I know scandalous. At the time I suppose a lot of the stuff now was not known

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,648 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Are we destroying American jobs? Or competing for corporation tax revenues - which aren't necessarily the same thing.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

RobertKK wrote: »
    Trump should come more often, he upsets the right people...

I feel bad for people who think this, especially blue-collar Americans who voted for Trump - they support him because he freaks out 'liberals' and 'lefties'. Meanwhile, back on Earth, Trump's supporters get poorer while Trumps billionaire friends get richer.

Government trying to get business in I know scandalous. At the time I suppose a lot of the stuff now was not known
    I think its more the mismatch between the effort invested and the result. Its not just the Doonbeg locals humiliating themselves on the world stage. Government Ministers have humiliated themselves for very little, if any, gain.

You be surprised because Leo was in the White house and let that bit slip but I would not be surprised if the check things for other businesses. As for the Donbeg fanfare they are doing it to get noticed and if it brings tourism and money to the area i say they give a fiddlers ***. How did ministers humiliated themselves. I will admit the Shannon incident 2 years ago was cringe but yesterday it's about the relationship between the countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

You be surprised because Leo was in the White house and let that bit slip but I would not be surprised if the check things for other businesses. As for the Donbeg fanfare they are doing it to get noticed and if it brings tourism and money to the area i say they give a fiddlers ***. How did ministers humiliated themselves. I will admit the Shannon incident 2 years ago was cringe but yesterday it's about the relationship between the countries.

But Obama was great meeting his sixth cousins in Moneygall.
    That guy really loves the Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,760 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Go on Donald.

The snowflake generation might just melt this time.

The biggest snowflake of them all...... Donald himself.

He's thrown more hissy fits in the last 3 years than have been on any number of reality TV shows.

Edgware wrote: »
    But Obama was great meeting his sixth cousins in Moneygall.
    That guy really loves the Irish

I agree but again if it gives tourism J1's etc and we benefit in some way then so be it. What other country has a yearly invite to the top people be it politicans or business to America and also to other countries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,191 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

This protest in Dublin that was supposed to be huge looked far from it on the news, nothing more than a few lefties and crusties shouting and roaring.

Well done to the peope in Doonbeg welcoming the President and his sons who are providing employment for the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,295 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Hope trump gets to doonbeg village.

It’ll be epic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭blinding

_blaaz wrote: »
    Was it ever formslly extended?
    Is that a euphemism ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Reporting live from O'Connell St....

20190606-191142.jpg
    20190606-191116.jpg
    20190606-192744.jpg
    20190606-192553.jpg
    20190606-193011.jpg
    20190606-192904.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,887 ✭✭✭Allinall

Humiliation is a personal feeling. I doubt any of the people you mention feel humiliated.

Maybe you’re doing it on their behalf?