Who the hell goes to those comic book movies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,051 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Also I find it's usually the same freaks that like Anime or Manga - christ that peadophile Japanese school girl bullsh1t, what the fuk like!!!
    Anyone into that sh1t should be straight onto a list and monitored and shouldn't be let near any school.

I remember in college this little goblin creature in our class was mad into Manga, he came to lunch with us one day and was blabbin on about some sh*te and I said "Manga, is that that cartoon sh1t ?"

The look he gave me, like I just told him his ma works down Leeson street at 4AM weekend nights charging €25 for blowjobs.

...maybe he thought she charged more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

troyzer wrote: »
    30 years ago a Batman movie would have been childish.

The Dark Knight is one of the highest rated movies of all time and won two Oscars. There are a few cutting edge directors out there who use the tropes of comic books to explore the nature of humanity.

Some of them, including most of the Disney Marvel movies, are just massive movies with loads of explosions. Some of them are much more clever than that.

In fairness, I will concede that Nolan's batman trilogy was good, but they weren't the typical superhero movie you see nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Don't understand it atal meself Johnny.

I'm guessing people just take longer to mature these days I was married at 22. Most people these days have barely got even started getting their life together by their early thirties. Too busy off spending their parents cash on useless degrees.

Ask woke said society has become infantalised. I suppose its a form of escapism of sorts. If your life consists of clocking in and working on a computer for peanuts all day then you're probably the type of person who likes to go out and spend your meagre wages watching men with magical powers in tight lycra flying around the place.

Not for me. I prefer classics like the Godfather, Taxi Driver or One flew over the cuckoo's nest. Unfortunately they just don't make them like that anymore.

Top grossing movie of 1975 is about an unstoppable giant shark terrorising a small community.
    76 a no hoper local boxer who gets world title shot.
    77 a space soap opera epic set in a galaxy far away
    78 is a high school musical

It's not like people weren't flocking to similar kinds of movie's 40 years ago either. Jaws in 75 started the big action popcorn blockbuster that still exists today.

If you look past the super-powers the characters are easily relatable to the ordinary public. It's the same reason pro wrestling was so popular at one time, relatable characters in the hard-working beer drinking Steve Austin who got to kick his evil manical boss Vince McMahon's ass each week.. millions lived through that character because he got to do what they would love to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,777 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

I draw the line and furries, my little pony, etc

Nearly everything else is grand.

Growing old is mandatory, growing up is optional.

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,991 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Bobblehats wrote: »
    Johnny Flash / Flashman / Flash Gordon.

The unbreakable trinity!

Anyone remember that “Flesh Gordon” movie from the 70s? It was a “bawdy” parody romp of the Flash Gordon series.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭khaldrogo

troyzer wrote:
    I can only imagine how thoroughly unenjoyable it would be if you had never seen any of the others.

(Let me just say firstly, the op is obviously trolling.)

Exactly troyzer, imagine complaining about the plot of the last movie of what is effectively a 20 movie series having not seen the other 19..............

Also I find it's usually the same freaks that like Anime or Manga - christ that peadophile Japanese school girl bullsh1t, what the fuk like!!!
    Anyone into that sh1t should be straight onto a list and monitored and shouldn't be let near any school.

I see. Adults who like comics are... paedophiles. Impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,991 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I see. Adults who like comics are... paedophiles. Impressive.

Ah, slight misrepresentation there, F.

There are types of “manga” cartoons that depicts young school girls getting “penetrated” by alien tentacles and by men.

Anyone who “gets off” over something like that is suspect in my book.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Haven't seen it myself nor the last couple? I'm a bit over super hero movies... It seems like that's all Hollywood is focusing on at the moment. We need a new movie? Lets dredge Marvel and DC comics for something, the masses will lap it up regardless..

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,418 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

I draw the line and furries, my little pony, etc

Nearly everything else is grand.

Growing old is mandatory, growing up is optional.

I totally agree. I'm over 50 and I'm not ashamed to say that I thoroughly enjoy the Marvel films. They're escapist fun and not meant to be taken seriously. And weirdly enough, I also enjoy serious, more "adult" films as well. Just because you're a certain age doesn't preclude you from enjoying whole genres.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Autecher

Adult goes to the cinema to watch a comic book movie then gives out about adults who go to the cinema to watch comic book movies.

Odd thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Citing social or political subtext in a comic book adaptation is like saying you bought Playboy for the articles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

Citing social or political subtext in a comic book adaptation is like saying you bought Playboy for the articles.

Those films are all incredibly shallow. The only times you ever hear any serious analysis of those films is when they get something wrong, like “fat shaming” Thor in that last film. Nobody’s going to remember the social commentary from the Spider-Man films.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,418 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    Those films are all incredibly shallow. The only times you ever hear any serious analysis of those films is when they get something wrong, like “fat shaming” Thor in that last film. Nobody’s going to remember the social commentary from the Spider-Man films.

Nobody goes to them for social commentary, they go to be entertained. There are plenty of films that will give you as much social commentary as you can handle or an in-depth analysis of the human condition. Spider Man sure ain't one of them, so to moan that it's missing those elements is completely ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Zaph wrote: »
    Nobody goes to them for social commentary, they go to be entertained. There are plenty of films that will give you as much social commentary as you can handle or an in-depth analysis of the human condition. Spider Man sure ain't one of them, so to moan that it's missing those elements is completely ridiculous.

Dunno... Some of those lads who call comic books 'graphic novels' seem to think this stuff is high art :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭Dexter2019

I had the two young lads for the weekend, and one of them said he wanted to go to the cinema to see this movie called Avengers: End Game. The other fella had already gone to see it, but was happy to go again. Paid almost the price of a fill of diesel to get so all in the door and fed, but that's for another day.

What sort of adults go to see that sort of movie? Jesus, it was terrible muck. Dislikable characters, stupid plot, using special effects to hide up that lack of plot, and noise everywhere. I'd rather go round a nursing home tending to bunions and corns that spend 3 hours watching that horseshít. There was a bad guy in it called Thermos and he said he wanted the universe to end so he could start it over. 'You and me both, pal' I thought. Then I was supposed to feel sympathy for The Ironman character, even though he came across as an arrogant and contrived egomaniac.

So why are they so popular? Do people have the attention span of a goldfish these days, and find their sort of generic and formulaic claptrap to be entertaining?

:confused::confused:

People like movies to take them away from reality.
    What movies you into yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

I don't bother with films at all these days, too much far flung CGI sh**e, I only end up sitting there taking the piss out of the film and ruining it for everyone else,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

My brother is a big fan of that sort of movie. They match his personality - shallow, loud, and lacking in any emotional or intellectual depth. He did insist that I should watch a movie called Deadpool, so I put it on the entertainment system when flying from Frankfurt to Hong Kong a number of years back. I managed about 20 minutes of it, before deciding it was the sort of mind-numbing drivel I didn't need in my life. Violent, crude, and with 'jokes' that might be mildly amusing to a 14 year old boy. Extremely cynical and lowbrow filmmaking, and very much appealing to the lowest common denominator. It's in keeping with the times though, a period of time where stupidity and vulgarity are celebrated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭KilOit

I generally dislike all the Marvel movies, same formula etc but have to say i really enjoyed Thor Ragnaork and Logan. Must be about 30 or so movies past 10 years at the this stage, vast majority are garbage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

My brother is a big fan of that sort of movie. They match his personality - shallow, loud, and lacking in any emotional or intellectual depth. He did insist that I should watch a movie called Deadpool, so I put it on the entertainment system when flying from Frankfurt to Hong Kong a number of years back. I managed about 20 minutes of it, before deciding it was the sort of mind-numbing drivel I didn't need in my life. Violent, crude, and with 'jokes' that might be mildly amusing to a 14 year old boy. Extremely cynical and lowbrow filmmaking, and very much appealing to the lowest common denominator. It's in keeping with the times though, a period of time where stupidity and vulgarity are celebrated

I loved deadpool and avengers, guess this makes me stupid and vulgar.

But then again, I'd imagine that anyone who doesn't conform to what you consider to be acceptable is stupid or vulgar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

Dunno... Some of those lads who call comic books 'graphic novels' seem to think this stuff is high art :P

Graphic novels??? That’s a good one! Captain Ahab. Hamlet. Beowulf. Desperate Dan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

I had the two young lads for the weekend, and one of them said he wanted to go to the cinema to see this movie called Avengers: End Game. The other fella had already gone to see it, but was happy to go again. Paid almost the price of a fill of diesel to get so all in the door and fed, but that's for another day.

What sort of adults go to see that sort of movie? Jesus, it was terrible muck. Dislikable characters, stupid plot, using special effects to hide up that lack of plot, and noise everywhere. I'd rather go round a nursing home tending to bunions and corns that spend 3 hours watching that horseshít. There was a bad guy in it called Thermos and he said he wanted the universe to end so he could start it over. 'You and me both, pal' I thought. Then I was supposed to feel sympathy for The Ironman character, even though he came across as an arrogant and contrived egomaniac.

So why are they so popular? Do people have the attention span of a goldfish these days, and find their sort of generic and formulaic claptrap to be entertaining?

:confused::confused:

I liked the original ironman but everything after that left me cold, RDJ is the same in everything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    I liked the original ironman but everything after that left me cold, RDJ is the same in everything

Well he does play the same character...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Well he does play the same character...

He is basically playing himself in Ironman just as Wesley snipes was playing himself in blade. It's the reason those characters resonate on screen.

Actors become associated with the characters they play. Christopher Reeve will forever be Superman to most people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Never bought in to the whole Marvel / DC carry on.

Ryan Reynolds as Deadpool is infuriating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭valoren

Remember Spiderman in 2002? And then literally ten years later they did the WHOLE thing over again. With a different cast. It even had its own sequel as well. So now we have movies like Antman i.e any old ****e from the back catalogue dragged out and getting a big budget makeover. Antman. Ffs. I wonder what that might be about.

It's embarrassing creatively speaking and is indicative of the complete lack of originality in Hollywood. They make a lot of money and it's show business after all. They just kept making them, understandably raking in the $$$ and insultingly pretend that End Game was a deliberate over arching final piece of the narrative puzzle and everyone laps it up falling for the blatant attempts at conferring some kind of gravitas on it all. Remember, just because something makes a billion or three doesn't mean anyone should attempt to confer some sensibility on it. It's over rated nonsense. TLDR? old man yells at cloud

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

valoren wrote: »
    Remember Spiderman in 2002? And then literally ten years later they did the WHOLE thing over again. With a different cast. It even had its own sequel as well. So now we have movies like Antman i.e any old ****e from the back catalogue dragged out and getting a big budget makeover. Antman. Ffs. I wonder what that might be about.

You make it seem like there's no original movies, when there's more original content now than ever before. Hundreds upon hundreds.

They may not get the budget or fanfare, but they're being made and released regularly, by big budget studios, indie filmmakers and streaming services

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Travis Bickle is my favourite superhero.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 390 ✭✭jochenstacker

It's not a new thing, phantasy is an ancient genre, my first love were the works of Homer (not Simpson), sci-fi started with Jules Verne, you also gotta love a good vampire movie, Nosferatu is still brilliant.
    It goes on with Metropolis, the Flash Gordon series from the 30's, the absolutely great B movies by Jack Arnold from the 50's.
    I love Douglas Adams, Terry Pratchett, Star Trek, Star Wars, Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, the Marvel movies, I think Simpsons and South Park are two of the best series ever made and much more besides.
    But of course if people want to limit themselves, that's fine.
    Not everyone has the smarts to look beyond the effects and the story to understand what it's all about behind it.
    But to revel in this ignorance and call other people stupid because they didn't get it?
    Yeah, blow it out yet arse mate.
    I'm nearly 50 and i love it.
    As an aside, I went to see Deadpool with my now ex and she said afterwards that this was the sickest thing she's ever seen and anyone who enjoys this isn't right in the head.
    Made me love that movie even more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I think you need the complete opposite of the attention span of a goldfish. Every superhero film is part of a 'cinematic universe'. If you try watching one of them you won't have a clue what's going on if you haven't seen about 50 other superhero films.

I miss the days of Superman with Christopher Reeve. You didn't have to worry that between Superman 1 and 2 there had been a dozen films you'd missed.