Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who the hell goes to those comic book movies?

• 27-05-2019 6:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭

I had the two young lads for the weekend, and one of them said he wanted to go to the cinema to see this movie called Avengers: End Game. The other fella had already gone to see it, but was happy to go again. Paid almost the price of a fill of diesel to get so all in the door and fed, but that's for another day.

What sort of adults go to see that sort of movie? Jesus, it was terrible muck. Dislikable characters, stupid plot, using special effects to hide up that lack of plot, and noise everywhere. I'd rather go round a nursing home tending to bunions and corns that spend 3 hours watching that horseshít. There was a bad guy in it called Thermos and he said he wanted the universe to end so he could start it over. 'You and me both, pal' I thought. Then I was supposed to feel sympathy for The Ironman character, even though he came across as an arrogant and contrived egomaniac.

So why are they so popular? Do people have the attention span of a goldfish these days, and find their sort of generic and formulaic claptrap to be entertaining?

:confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭_blaaz

So why are they so popular? Do people have the attention span of a goldfish these days, and find their sort of generic and formulaic claptrap to be entertaining?

I severly doubt someone with attention span of a goldfish is going to go to a film.over 3 hours long :pac:

Paging Aongus von Bismarck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

I find it very worrying that adults go to see these films. I will be turning 60 next year and if you had told me thirty years ago that grown men would actually look forward to seeing a Batman film I would have thought you were insane.

Society has been grossly infantilised. I saw a man who looked no younger than thirty in a Bart Simpson T shirt last week. I doubt he’s a big reader of any books without pictures, that’s for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭troyzer

I can only imagine how thoroughly unenjoyable it would be if you had never seen any of the others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

Every top 10 box office movie opening weekends for the past 16 years has been sci-fi, comic book or fantasy.
    6 Marvel movies are in the top 10 opening weekend right now

Goldmember was the last other category movie to make the list.

So to answer your question: lots of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭ASOT

Why don't you just let people enjoy what they enjoy and get on with your life OP.

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    I find it very worrying that adults go to see these films. I will be turning 60 next year and if you had told me thirty years ago that grown men would actually look forward to seeing a Batman film I would have thought you were insane.

Society has been grossly infantilised. I saw a man who looked no younger than thirty in a Bart Simpson T shirt last week. I doubt he’s a big reader of any books without pictures, that’s for sure.

30 years ago a Batman movie would have been childish.

The Dark Knight is one of the highest rated movies of all time and won two Oscars. There are a few cutting edge directors out there who use the tropes of comic books to explore the nature of humanity.

Some of them, including most of the Disney Marvel movies, are just massive movies with loads of explosions. Some of them are much more clever than that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

To answer the thread title: millions of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,611 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Back in your day the movies were bestest in the black and the white none of these fancy colours eh OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

troyzer wrote: »
    I can only imagine how thoroughly unenjoyable it would be if you had never seen any of the others.

My gf wanted to see it. I told her to watch the 20 other movies first and I'd bring her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

OP, welcome to "people like different things" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

ASOT wrote: »
    Why don't you just let people enjoy what they enjoy and get on with your life OP.

Oh they can do what they want. I was just wondering why they’d bother going to see such rubbish. It’s no Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, and that’s for sure.

My gf wanted to see it. I told her to watch the 20 other movies first and I'd bring her.

You just wouldn't have a ****ing clue what was happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Batman came out 30 years ago. Lots of adults went to see it.

This thread is deeply in the "old man yells at cloud" box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

They should go watch some of the great piktirs from back in the day, like Carry On or a good Weshtern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Translation: I can't understand how people can have different tastes to me and therefore must belittle these people.

ASOT wrote: »

Oh they can do what they want. I was just wondering why they’d bother going to see such rubbish. It’s no Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, and that’s for sure.

Great film.

The irony of you referencing a dead genre which set the pattern for blowing up, burning out and becoming irrelevant isn't lost on me.

Logan is a movie about exactly this and uses the framing of the classic western story of a gunslinger's redemption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Actually OP, a quick glance through your posts shows that you really struggle with the idea that some people aren't the same as you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,313 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I go to them!

Batman came out 30 years ago. Lots of adults went to see it.

This thread is deeply in the "old man yells at cloud" box.

Would you remember the plot of Avengers in 30 days, never mind 30 years?Lad dies but isn’t dead, loads of noise and paper thin characterisations, other lad dies, people stand around looking a bit sad, reboot franchise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,231 ✭✭✭Odhinn

The Dark Knight is one of the highest rated movies of all time and won two Oscars. There are a few cutting edge directors out there who use the tropes of comic books to explore the nature of humanity.

Some of them, including most of the Disney Marvel movies, are just massive movies with loads of explosions. Some of them are much more clever than that.

"A History of Violence" comes to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

What number thread is this where youve been complaining about your kids interests?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Clearly everyone. A movie that popular is crossing all bounderies attracting young/old, male/female, black/white/Asian/Hispanic.

OP you obviously attended yourself if you know the plot...

The Tim Burton directed Michael Keaton Batman was released 30 years ago this year and completly changed the super-hero genre. It was dark, violent and aimed at more adults than the entire family.

Superhero movies have been popular for along time. Superman 1 and 2 were huge hits 40 years ago.

Would you remember the plot of Avengers in 30 days, never mind 30 years?Lad dies but isn’t dead, loads of noise and paper thin characterisations, other lad dies, people stand around looking a bit sad, reboot franchise.

All the movies you like are crap.

Do you generally struggle to remember things nowadays Johnny?

I believe that happens at a certain age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

OP's post too long, attention span maxed.out

Odhinn wrote: »

"A History of Violence" comes to mind.

There are others like pretty much of the X-Men series, especially Logan. Guardians of the Galaxy 2 and its themes of a difficult father-son relationship, the Dark Knight series, the Winter Soldier on government surveillance, Black Panther on race, Iron Man 3 is a character study on anxiety and panic disorder and the list goes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

Actually I'm more concerned with the amount of dinosaurs in this thread. Regardless of the source material, it's still a movie. No different than any other non-comic book movie in history. The Dark Knight has gone down as one of the top 100 best films in history. But no, according to the fossils it's only people with "attention spans" (quite ironic you said that btw) that can possibly enjoy a movie based on comics. Christ, give me strength...

There are others like pretty much of the X-Men series, especially Logan. Guardians of the Galaxy 2 and its themes of a difficult father-son relationship, the Dark Knight series, the Winter Soldier on government surveillance, Black Panther on race, Iron Man 3 is a character study on anxiety and panic disorder and the list goes on.

They are films for children.

Didya take your grandkids to Logan? Can't imagine your kid being impressed if you did :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

"Am i out of touch? No its deffinitely all the people that account for 2.1 billion dollars in ticket sales"

Because only children read comic books, right? Sweet jesus...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Another tiresome thread OP, 'look at me, im an old fart, huh huh huh', weren't the previous threads enough? Stick to the other kind of scutter

Logan definitely isn't. Many of the others are but are much more layered for an adult audience to enjoy.

Guardians of the Galaxy 2 was quite a moving film for me. I went to see it with my little cousins who were laughing at the talking racoon but the theme of abusive parenting was particularly emotive for me. That would have gone straight over their heads and probably most of the adults here such as yourself.

There were very few children at the screening of deadpool I was at.......

jaxxx wrote: »

I'd reccomend he buys the grandkids some of the "Crossed" series :pac:

VinLieger wrote: »
    "Am i out of touch? No its deffinitely all the people that account for 2.1 billion dollars in ticket sales"

2.7 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

The highest grossing r rated movies of all time (over 17) are also superhero movies, deadpool 1 and 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭Sonny noggs

Johnny Flash, the same lads that are into that Games Of Throne muck.

jaxxx wrote: »

Only children should read comic books in my view.

Your views are wrong though.

Because all comic books are about little kittens, rainbows and unicorns.... Right?

Your views are wrong though.

+ seriously outdated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Paging Aongus von Bismarck.

yeaaaah... let's not!

That act stopped being funny (if it ever was) a long time ago.

To rub salt on the wound: video games are also only for kids right? All just for kids right? Despite the fact that many of them are actually rated 18+. That's completely irrelevant isn't it? A game that involves chopping people's heads off and spewing blood everywhere would be perfectly suitable for a 5 year old, right?

I'm not sure if I'm being sarcastic enough..

Ya, panic and anxiety if it doesn’t make 700 million for the Disney shareholders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

I go to them, but I generally am slightly perplexed at the reactions of the adults at these screenings if I'm honest. I was brought to Flash Gordan, Empire Strikes Back etc as a kid and I'd say their reactions are not to too dissimilar to how kids reacted to those movies back then.

I like the funnier characters like the Racoon and Starlord etc but as soon as the story gets all serious I tend to lose interest. It's just weird to see late twenty somethings, and even thirty somethings, going nuts when Iron Man just says something.. let alone wins a fight scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,018 ✭✭✭knipex

I had the two young lads for the weekend, and one of them said he wanted to go to the cinema to see this movie called Avengers: End Game. The other fella had already gone to see it, but was happy to go again. Paid almost the price of a fill of diesel to get so all in the door and fed, but that's for another day.

What sort of adults go to see that sort of movie? Jesus, it was terrible muck. Dislikable characters, stupid plot, using special effects to hide up that lack of plot, and noise everywhere. I'd rather go round a nursing home tending to bunions and corns that spend 3 hours watching that horseshít. There was a bad guy in it called Thermos and he said he wanted the universe to end so he could start it over. 'You and me both, pal' I thought. Then I was supposed to feel sympathy for The Ironman character, even though he came across as an arrogant and contrived egomaniac.

Ahh but when I was a young whipper snapper I read comics, started with Beano then marvel, some DC but not much, 2000AD etc.

I remember having Ironman posters on my wall and taking it down to put up the poster of the Countach.

I loved the comics and have seen every one of the Marvel movies. My kids love them as well and read the comics.

I still read, have bookcases jammed with books, boxes of books in sheds and the attic, kindles full of books, everything from Biography's to History, to Politics, to Science Fiction, to Medical and Engineering Journals, to Business books, engineering books, space opera, Lee Child, George RR Martin, early Tom Clancy, Con Igullden, alternative history. I will read pretty much anything.

My kids have started reading and are both hoovering up books.

And it all started with the comics.

You watch one movie in a huge gigantic series, where hours were spent building characters and background, back history and subplots and you have written off the entire genre.

Comics started my love of reading, my thirst for info, the movies allow me to relive my youth, and for 2 to 3 hours enjoy some simple fantasy fun with my kids.

And as for Iron Man. What is he without the suit, just a Genius, playboy, Billionaire philanthropist.. who as a kid made me want to learn everything there was to know about math science and engineering..

Perhaps I would have been better off idolizing some overpaid primadonna chase an inflated pigs bladder around a field. But we will never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,430 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

There were very few children at the screening of deadpool I was at.......

And an awful lot of “man-children”.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

I really liked that one where they had to stop the magic yoke falling into the hands of the supervillian because once he gets it he'll be all-powerful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

Don't understand it atal meself Johnny.

I'm guessing people just take longer to mature these days I was married at 22. Most people these days have barely got even started getting their life together by their early thirties. Too busy off spending their parents cash on useless degrees.

Ask woke said society has become infantalised. I suppose its a form of escapism of sorts. If your life consists of clocking in and working on a computer for peanuts all day then you're probably the type of person who likes to go out and spend your meagre wages watching men with magical powers in tight lycra flying around the place.

Not for me. I prefer classics like the Godfather, Taxi Driver or One flew over the cuckoo's nest. Unfortunately they just don't make them like that anymore.