Not using Social Media? What do you think?

• 23-05-2019 10:54PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭

I'm in my early thirties and I closed down my Facebook tonight, It had caused me alot of problems whilst dating some pretty insecure women, changing my privacy settings to hiding the friends list only caused more after that. I have a snap chat which I rarely use and just keep up to date with friends on it, I never used instagram as it is narcissistic central. I was tired of seeing political extremists sniping at each other, getting targeted ad's etc. I have a fake Facebook account I will use if I need to checkout marketplace which is very useful like adverts.ie

Have you cut the wire with Zuck and Co. or are you still on Social Media? It will be 30mins to one hour a day of nonsense in my life I can do without now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

Well done, your new life not knowing what your friends are talking about begins today!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Well done, your new life not knowing what your friends are talking about begins today!

You mean life not knowing what memes their friends are posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,651 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

You mean life not knowing what memes their friends are posting.

I have friends who don't use Facebook but we text , and chat face to face more than I do with any of the " friends " on fb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

Call me old-fashioned, but I know what my friends are talking about by - wait for it - talking to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭n!ghtmancometh

Got rid of the book about two years ago, and never had any of the other platforms to begin with. Once you get out of the habit of mindlessly checking Facebook for updates you don't miss it at all, in my experience anyway. Better off without the unrealistic world view that these platforms sell (as well as the info they sell to their customers about you!) and the unbridled idiocy some are driven too in search of popularity on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I use Facebook mainly to brag about how I'm too cool to use internet forums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Goldengirl wrote: »
    I have friends who don't use Facebook but we text , and chat face to face more than I do with any of the " friends " on fb.

Of course you do and these "friends" do they tell you to do stuff, like set fire to stuff?

Social Media removes human interaction on a physical level, its the way of the world.

Best to just accept it and move on tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Fair play on giving up social media op, now you can spend your time on other things, like boards.ie!

Boards.ie, the social media site for those who are sick to death of social media

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Excellent idea OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

You have friends everywhere, you just have not met them yet

Well done, the journey begins now.

I dont use Facebook, Twitter, instagram, snap chat or any others never have, while people thought i was a wierdo at first i notice more and more of my friends leaving it behind. They always knew how to contact me too which was interesting as i think some people use social media to message others simply because its free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,801 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

No social media....thanks for telling us all by using social media. Rolleyes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ygolometsipe

I think the problem here is your in your early 30's

Have you tired not being in your early 30's?

Seriously: The modern world is so ****ing insanely nuts, I wouldn't worry

about any of this sh1t.

PS: Sex is like Russian roulette, just don't get a round in.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 13,966 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

I still check in on FB the odd time, met some lovely people there.

Twitter is great for getting to know people or local businesses.

Instagram is for my food porn.

Tumblr is for my porn porn (yes it still works)

No social media....thanks for telling us all by using social media. Rolleyes...

I was sending smoke signals Kathleen but ye werent looking in the right direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Hedgelayer

Lol i ain't on Instagram or Facebook, no interest to be honest...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,442 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

theguzman wrote: »
    I'm in my early thirties and I closed down my Facebook tonight, It had caused me alot of problems whilst dating some pretty insecure women, changing my privacy settings to hiding the friends list only caused more after that. I have a snap chat which I rarely use and just keep up to date with friends on it, I never used instagram as it is narcissistic central. I was tired of seeing political extremists sniping at each other, getting targeted ad's etc. I have a fake Facebook account I will use if I need to checkout marketplace which is very useful like adverts.ie

Have you cut the wire with Zuck and Co. or are you still on Social Media? It will be 30mins to one hour a day of nonsense in my life I can do without now.

Your not including twitter and ahem boards.ie so? :D

Seriously though fair play to ya. It must be hard for your generation to say away from it since you basically grew up with it in your formative years.
    I think you will wonder to yourself why you used to use the stupid thing at all, after a while.

Plus you might be able to be one of the few from the younger generation to walk around, without thier nose in thier phone all the time!?

If I was you I would get a phone without internet, and get rid of the smartphone altogether now.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

I like Facebook and Instagram, so I use them. I hate Snapchat, so I don’t. I have a friend who has no social media accounts and we keep in touch just fine. What’s with the drams over quitting social media? I have friends who loudly complain about social media but go quiet when I point out that there’s no obligation to use it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Yeah I don't see the big deal in having or not having it.

I have Facebook, Instagram and Twitter - it's easy to filter out the shyte on Instagram and Twitter, I don't follow any of the vapid stuff or the crazed discussions on politics.

Not so easy to filter it all out on Facebook as you still end up seeing some of it, but I just scroll past or don't read the comments. And I keep friends to a limit - no friends who are never on it (including family) or friends who sent me a request years ago and have about as much interest in me as... well as I'd have in them. People with thousands of friends on Facebook - that's just ridiculous. I've a fraction of a fraction of that count.

I've never had Snapchat though - seems pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭sheesh

op should give us his email address so we can update him on what we are doing!

Send him funny pictures and the like. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,801 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

I was sending smoke signals Kathleen but ye werent looking in the right direction.

Sorry...trying to be 2 faced here so I can look in more than one direction at a time. Failing....

Not a multitasker? post updates across all platforms immediately:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

#OMG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,540 ✭✭✭emo72

you poor bastards' growing up in modern times. thinking these things are important. they're not. only social media i have is boards i love some of you and hate loads of you. but thank jaysus i grew up before the the kids got ruined. humanity progressed from the dawn of creation up until about 20 years ago. then we all ****ed our kids up. not blaming the kids, but if an asteroid struck mid atlantic tomorrow, im not sure they would cope.

how long before there's a no internet day announced?

Said no way when I read this first but in second thoughts day is fast approaching I would think.

Considering most of these days are announced through social media it would be like Mc Donald's having a no fast food day.

I used to tell my father that the Internet closed at 6 and only worked half days Saturdays. That saved me a lot of trawling done deal

They could just pull the switch some day for the day no announcement.

I used to tell my father that the Internet closed at 6 and only worked half days Saturdays. That saved me a lot of trawling done deal

They could just pull the switch some day for the day no announcement.

I wonder what would happen ?

Under Cleries clock would be chockablock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,291 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I use Facebook to keep up to date with local news and business's because it's how a lot of business's communicate special offers.
    I avoid people who have fights/etc with strangers on it.