Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Instagram models

• 20-05-2019 1:22am
    Registered Users Posts: 9,800 ✭✭✭

What's the story with Instagram models and endless thirsty guys drooling over them and posting cringy comments.

This phenomenon (seemingly a naked narcissistic supply) where any decent looking woman has hundreds of guys fawning over her, is it new.

Or has it been going on for a while now.

The world is seriously ****ed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

• Registered Users Posts: 15,176 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

What's the story with Instagram models and endless thirsty guys drooling over them and posting cringy comments.

This phenomenon (seemingly a naked narcissistic supply) where any decent looking woman has hundreds of guys fawning over her, is it new.

Or has it been going on for a while now.

They do it for money.

For those living in the states there is a lot of money in it. Or they do it to promote themselves etc.

They will post about a club or a new drink that has come out or a product or a store etc ...some models will ask for a dollar per every like.

The might need someone to help mod it though. Then there is twitch youtube etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

Influencers isnt that the term.

Does anyone check how effective it might be?

You'd fear for the coming generations..

Not so sure CQD there was nutjobs in every generation.

Not sure how many people watch them and think they speak the truth or how many watch in disbelief or amusement. Then I'm sure there's many that just perv on them.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,802 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Influencers isnt that the term.

Does anyone check how effective it might be?

They're not influencing me.

Shower of eejits.

Not so sure CQD there was nutjobs in every generation.

Not sure how many people watch them and think they speak the truth or how many watch in disbelief or amusement. Then I'm sure there's many that just perv on them.

Yeah, but the nutjobs weren't something to which the kids aspired to be previously..every young one wasn't hoping to become a nutjob in her teens like..

My primary ambition in life has always been to become a complete and utter nutjob and safe to say mission completed! :)

Well done..I've succeeded in this regard myself, even if it wasn't something to which I aspired..I suppose you could say I just had a natural talent..

TEACH ME MASTER! :p

I have seen many people on Facebook whos profession is full time mad bastard that's the same thing as nutjob, isn't it?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

Its all marketing. The more people you have following you, the broader your audience. Easiest way to get that is to flaunt/ expose yourself.

I know someone who hired a professional photographer for 6 months and did multiple shoots to catalog 500 pics. She posted about 50 and her followers jumped immensely then started posting 1 per week.
    She has 42K followers and contacts start up clothing and make up brands who will pay to advertise on her page.

She gets free merch and the more her following grows the more money these brands offer.

tuxy wrote: »
    I have seen many people on Facebook whos profession is full time mad bastard that's the same thing as nutjob, isn't it?

I think it's very very different.

Brendog wrote: »
    Its all marketing. The more people you have following you, the broader your audience. Easiest way to get that is to flaunt/ expose yourself.

I know someone who hired a professional photographer for 6 months and did multiple shoots to catalog 500 pics. She posted about 50 and her followers jumped immensely then started posting 1 per week.
    She has 42K followers and contacts start up clothing and make up brands who will pay to advertise on her page.

She gets free merch and the more her following grows the more money these brands offer.
    A lot of Make up artists or MUAS etc do it ..or collab with people.

Is it not the same thing just different generation?

I guess so :p

I mean even vogue sometimes collabs with them.

Naomi Campbell made a video with Partick Star!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 948 ✭✭✭Dirkziggler

It gets worse 2 particular "influencers" in my group of friends or distant group have set up a recruitment agency on Instagram no CV required just follow them and fill in a survey they will match your job to you. Now this is the beauty, there is no training, Qualifications or anything for the girls both have never worked in the field and now they are directing people's future aspiration. Madness.

Taking the 'influencer' concept a bit far alright maybe..

Oh you have no idea. It is a shambles and somebody is gonna be burned.

BRING IT! :D

Ah good for them ...at least they are trying :)

BRING IT! :D

Ah good for them ...at least they are trying :)
    Trying what? They are in fantasy land.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

It's quite hard to form a proper opinion without actually seeing the subject matter.

Is there a way we can populate this thread with images of such people from a number of angles? I would then be better equipped to make suggestions on how each model could live a more fulfilling life.

• Registered Users Posts: 410 ✭✭AlphabetCards

I dated an instagram 'model' briefly. It was an interesting time in my life. Let alphabetcards highlight his findings.

1) Whatever you think they are making from their posts, unless they are turning 25,000 likes each post they aren't making a living out of it.
    2) If they have numerous cities listed in their bio, they escort in one of those cities.
    3) Webcamming takes minutes to arrange but can haul in cash every week.
    4) They love ritalin and modafinil.
    5) Most get too comfortable and fall for some silly trap - like a sugardaddy providing them with an apartment... until 4 months later the landlord is knocking in, asking why the rent has been behind for 2 months. It's actually a dude bailing on his last few months rent and leaving the deposit, but gives them about 8/9 weeks of being a total baller with some thot. Easy to pull off in London apparently, where one can slip into anonymity in minutes.

I dated an instagram 'model' briefly. It was an interesting time in my life. Let alphabetcards highlight his findings.

1) Whatever you think they are making from their posts, unless they are turning 25,000 likes each post they aren't making a living out of it.
    2) If they have numerous cities listed in their bio, they escort in one of those cities.
    3) Webcamming takes minutes to arrange but can haul in cash every week.
    4) They love ritalin and modafinil.
    5) Most get too comfortable and fall for some silly trap - like a sugardaddy providing them with an apartment... until 4 months later the landlord is knocking in, asking why the rent has been behind for 2 months. It's actually a dude bailing on his last few months rent and leaving the deposit, but gives them about 8/9 weeks of being a total baller with some thot. Easy to pull off in London apparently, where one can slip into anonymity in minutes.

Is that your personal experience of someone? Jaysus it sounds like a horrible way to have to live. We king out a living based on people's fickle opinions of what you do.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

"full time mad bastard" = dole4life.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Fair play to them, if you can make a load of money through being good looking then why don’t you. Has ruined Instagram though, would be nice to have a site that was about nice photographs instead of people’s arses popping up all over the place but sex sells.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

You'd fear for the coming generations..

Well, the current generations are also being massively impacted.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

I guess so :p

I mean even vogue sometimes collabs with them.

Naomi Campbell made a video with Partick Star!

The starfish from Spongebob?

The models themselves don't bother me; as someone mentioned, it's the middle-aged men with the cringe-inducing comments that are the real tragedy here.

I follow someone on Insta who isn't a model, but she's fairly well known and is good-looking. Guys are always leaving vaguely seady comments about her appearance, even if it's just a picture of a mates' birthday event or whatever.

For sure, everybody loves compliments, but I'm amazed that some people don't have the self-awareness to suspect that they might come-off a little leery. "Ur looking gud, wouldn't mind a bit of that", for example -- FFS, man, you're about 45, bald and probably impotent, and your profile pic is of your children.

What do they even think is going to come of it?