Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should I tell her?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭Red Lightning

leggo wrote:
    This is the right attitude. If you're operating a 'friendship' where you're giving her advice on dates and so on under the pretence that you care about her finding the 'right man', when in truth you care about YOU being the right man (or anything along those lines), then the relationship you have isn't real. Not to say that the stuff you've been through counts for nothing, it does. But I've hooked up with friends, been rejected by them and rejected them myself and the real friendship doesn't even begin until these feelings are aired out and dealt with. Maybe down the line you can be proper friends if it doesn't go well. But, for now, deal with the reality because you'll deal with it one way or another so it may as well be in a situation you can control.
    I agree. I have to deal with these feelings. It's not like we've known each other for years so if she isn't interested and we lose contact then it's no major deal.
    Brego888 wrote:
    Don't ask her in her place of work.
    I don't really see her outside of her when unless I organise something. So am I organising something just to ask her out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭acer911

I agree. I have to deal with these feelings. It's not like we've known each other for years so if she isn't interested and we lose contact then it's no major deal.

I don't really see her outside of her when unless I organise something. So am I organising something just to ask her out?

Do it over voice note if you want. It really doesn’t matter. You are over thinking all this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,445 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Ask her out first. You really are over thinking this and placing far too much importance on a simple question: how will I word it? Where will I ask her? Etc.

It's a very simple question. It's not a big deal but if you behave like it is you'll freak her out. You're not proposing ! You're inviting someone out on a date. Nothing big. Nothing scary. Nothing important (in the grand scheme of things). I know you're chewed up over this but you need to get a bit of perspective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Geminigal

I don't think you are over thinking it I just thinking you are putting a bit of preparation in which is no harm at all in my opinion! I think you have done your prep now though... Bite the bullet and ask her when you feel the time is right even if it's in the gym since that's the only place you see her!! You are asking her for a drink/date so I'm sure it's not against the rules in the gym and I'd imagine it happens a lot in gyms! Good luck... I'm dying to hear how it goes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Caryatnid

She works in my gym so I see her there. Or should I ask her elsewhere?

Hmm, I think you would have gotten different replies if you had said this in the OP. It's her job to be friendly to you.

My advice would be to wait it out a little... You can ramp up the flirting, you have only gone for one coffee, right? From her PoV, she is just out of a relationship, and wants to stay single. It could take her a while to fancy a guy she would want the next relationship with.

Good luck either way though OP.

Just send her a text / voice message right now saying hey, any interest in going for a drink/walk/bite to eat? As a date 😜

I really do appreciate all the replies. As ye can tell I'm not great at this stuff. Being honest, I've never asked a girl out in person and it scares the **** out of me.
    I know im overthinking this but I really don't know how to word it in this situation. I feel if I say, 'Would like to go out for drinks sometime?' It's open to interpretation as we have gone out for drinks last week but it was with her friends. Do I mention that I like her? Do I mention the word date? Etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 946 ✭✭✭Phileas Frog

Do it via voice note right now and stop over complicating things.

I really do appreciate all the replies. As ye can tell I'm not great at this stuff. Being honest, I've never asked a girl out in person and it scares the **** out of me.
    I know im overthinking this but I really don't know how to word it in this situation. I feel if I say, 'Would like to go out for drinks sometime?' It's open to interpretation as we have gone out for drinks last week but it was with her friends. Do I mention that I like her? Do I mention the word date? Etc
    I think that's perfect. Leaves it open for either something to develop, or just to be friends (which is also good *if* you think you would like to be friends rather than no-contact if she doesn't fancy you right now).

Do it via voice note right now and stop over complicating things.
    Text is also completely fine. It's 2019 and he is 25. Texting is normal now.
    🀷*♀️

• Closed Accounts Posts: 946 ✭✭✭Phileas Frog

Caryatnid wrote: »
    Text is also completely fine. It's 2019 and he is 25. Texting is normal now.
    🀷*♀️

We've already established they communicate via voice notes too

Ok I'm gonna do it today. May leave it until this evening as she was out last night (saw on her Instagram) so cud be dying ATM ha
    Apologies for wrecking people's heads but the fact she told me that she feels like she wants to be single for a while is gnawing at me. I would feel I have to elude to that in any form of asking her out but I could be wrong.

Don't do it under duress there is no major hurry with this only that you might miss the opportunity if she were to meet someone else. When will you see her again do you think?

Maybe wait to see how you feel when you see her again now that you know you are going to ask her out... See how you feel then and just go for it in person or by voice note or text?? I would defo mention as a date though. You could say something like... I liked hanging out with you over the last few weeks and wondered if you wanted to go for a drink/coffee as a date..... Or something along those lines.

Practice a few lines and see what sits best with ya... Record yourself and see how it sounds... Ohhh I'm excited for you... Whatever happens its good to put yourself out there, being vulnerable and brave is the way to get things done!

Geminigal wrote:
    Practice a few lines and see what sits best with ya... Record yourself and see how it sounds... Ohhh I'm excited for you... Whatever happens its good to put yourself out there, being vulnerable and brave is the way to get things done!

I'll do that and don't worry I'll be sure to let everyone know how I get on. Genuinely not expecting it to go my way but I have to try. Seriously do appreciate all the help. Means a lot because as ye can tell, this is not my strong area lol

Ah sure if nothing else you will have practice for the next one ha ha good on ya for going for it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Ok I'm gonna do it today. May leave it until this evening as she was out last night (saw on her Instagram) so cud be dying ATM ha
    Apologies for wrecking people's heads but the fact she told me that she feels like she wants to be single for a while is gnawing at me. I would feel I have to elude to that in any form of asking her out but I could be wrong.

Let me tell you a story. Spoiler alert: I got rejected in the end but it worked out fine.

I kissed a good friend of mine a few times on nights out. She lived far away but would visit Dublin a few times a year, so we'd just pretend it never happened afterwards and forget about it. I thought I was fine with that, then she started dating another guy and I noticed this little jealous beast inside of me flaring up, so I said to myself it's time to acknowledge these feelings if I got a chance. Sure enough, it didn't work out with the bloke so next time we hung out, we ended up really drunk and the feels vomited out. Long story short, I ended up texting her a saner version a couple days later, and it came back a no. She said she wasn't interested in doing the long distance thing. I said fine, it was awkward with us for a while as I got over it, but we got back where we were and it's actually one of the friendships I value most now. It felt great as well just letting go of all that and being able to move past it without thinking "What if?"

Here's the funny part. Guess where the next guy she dated was from? Yep.

So there's a twofold moral of the story for you:

1) You can re-build a friendship after this stuff if the friendship is worth saving.
    2) Sometimes people just say stuff for the sake of it. You can take her seriously and be that guy who's too respectful, then wait and get a text from her next week talking about this great guy she just met. You won't get points for all this overthinking about what she said, I guarantee you. Put it on the table, see how it comes back and move on with your life one way or another.

Leggo, I couldn't agree more. I'm doing it today. Thanks for the (much needed) push.

Best of luck OP! It will be fine no matter her response...

acer911 wrote:
    Best of luck OP! It will be fine no matter her response...

Thank you. Will let ye know how I get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Macdarack

Make sure you mention date, or I like you in the message, get you intentions across then there's no grey area in interpretation.
    You could say 'listen during the week I was thinking I may fancy you and enjoy spending time with you, and I'd be put out if someone else had a chance to bring you for a date before I could, let's go for it for fun'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Macdarack

Macdarack wrote: »
    Make sure you mention date, or I like you in the message, get you intentions across then there's no grey area in interpretation.
    You could say 'listen during the week I was thinking I may fancy you and enjoy spending time with you, and I'd be put out if someone else had a chance to bring you for a date before I could, let's go for it for fun'
    Good luck by the way, daunting but love is exciting. Who dares wins bud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,792 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

There's a big difference between this:
    I've gotten to know a woman from my gym.

And this:
    She works in my gym so I see her there.

It completely changes the dynamic and I think asking her out is a terrible idea. If she says no you've made her workplace a very uncomfortable place and I think it's incredibly unfair of you to potentially put her in that position.

In all your ridiculous overthinking of this, you don't actually appear to have given a single thought to how it will affect her working relationship with you if she says no. Is she even allowed to date clients? Between this and the fact that she has told you to your face she doesn't want to be in a relationship, I really think you need to let this go. Sorry.

Dial Hard wrote:
    In all your ridiculous overthinking of this, you don't actually appear to have given a single thought to how it will affect her working relationship with you if she says no. Is she even allowed to date clients? Between this and the fact that she has told you to your face she doesn't want to be in a relationship, I really think you need to let this go. Sorry.
    We've gone to Yoga together, coffee, nights out. So although I mainly see her in the gym we've organised a lot of things outside of it over the last few months. I'm not a client of hers.
    The owner of the gym knows I like her and said I should ask her out.
    It'll only be awkward if we make it awkward and I'd never do that to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,445 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Also, OP? I do think you need to ask her in person. How would you react if she doesn't respond to your text at all, eg. Or, if she doesn't want to date you but her let down in text is so vague as to keep you guessing? What if she misunderstands your text? Too much potential for misinterpretation and future awkwardness via text. Ask her out on a date the next time you see her. You'll have a clear response on the spot. You're making far too much of this.

Just went for it and sent a voice note. Whatever will be, will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Well done OP. You've done all you can now, so take a breath.

Good on ya!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭TheQuietBeatle

Exciting, good luck. Even if it's not a positive outcome, fair play.

Hopefully will be good news though.

Thank you folks. Exactly, it'll sting if it's not a positive response even though I'm not expecting it but it'll allow me to move on.