Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Leinster vs Munster - The buildup for the ages!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    He was no different to Kleyn or Stander today. Stander was gloating in Ryan's face early in the game when Munster won a scrum penalty.

Stander has the aim total of zero winners medals

Save the gloating til you win something
    ehhhm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Erik Shun

Good game, Leinster the better team overall and showed their superiority in the last 25 mins, no complaints, beaten by the better team...
    Go on and win the bloody thing now lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭ironingbored

Love the way Lowe plays with a smile on his face à la Ronaldinho.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 43,737 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Erik Shun wrote: »
    Good game, Leinster the better team overall and showed their superiority in the last 25 mins, no complaints, beaten by the better team...
    Go on and win the bloody thing now lads!

Thanks erik

Munster still have the players... They need the coaching

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

ehhhm

Should say sum total

What has he won with Munster?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Meh, Murray and Conway were niggling away at Lowe first half, you give a bit back. No harm to see a bit of competition

sydthebeat wrote: »
    Thanks erik

Munster still have the players... They need the coaching

You're welcome...and we looked lost in attack today... only Farrell showed any invention going forward....here's hoping the Aussie link is true ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

It’s true, he’s a wind up merchant and seems like an absolute dickhead to be honest.

I suppose its better to talk about Lowe that consider that the Munster coaching ticket is not doing its thing and that Munster were so blunt and hopeless in attacks.

Lowe is a good distraction but it still will not make Munster any better although it may make some feel better.

I think they call it blame realignment.

As a Leinster fan I love Lowe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Esto Fidelis

Wow, Leo saying on Eir that he hopes the Celtic supporters will be supporting Leinster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,045 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Carbery didn't impress imo. He threw a lot of shapes but it was all in front of Leinster's defence who swallowed it up for the most part. He telegraphs that flat pass to an on running forward a lot.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 43,737 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Erik Shun wrote: »
    You're welcome...and we looked lost in attack today... only Farrell showed any invention going forward....here's hoping the Aussie link is true ;)

Hopefully, cos I can't see larkham staying subordinate to a SA video analysist for long..... He could be the making of munster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    Should say sum total

What has he won with Munster?
    None

But you said he has zero medals. No mention of teams :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,670 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

digzy wrote: »
    Lowe and Conway seemed to have a few words there again. 2 lads that really don’t like each other

Lowe was absolutely roaring at him off the ball. Was hilarious.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

POM's interview there was interesting.

Was asked about the season and what it meant to players and coaching staff

He just spoke about Flannery and Jones and how much the players will miss them. Not even a hint of a mention of JvG and looking ahead to next season.

There's something not right at Munster imo. I said it months ago and nothing has changed my mind about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

I suppose its better to talk about Lowe that consider that the Munster coaching ticket is not doing its thing and that Munster were so blunt and hopeless in attacks.

Lowe is a good distraction but it still will not make Munster any better although it may make some feel better.

I think they call it blame realignment.

As a Leinster fan I love Lowe.

Oh I don’t place any blame on him, better team won on the day and that’s that. Him however is a different story - he is an arrogant prick walking around with a big **** eating grin. I hope that somebody at some stages wipes that off his face with a seriously hard tackle or better, he is a dick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

Clegg wrote: »
    Carbery didn't impress imo. He threw a lot of shapes but it was all in front of Leinster's defence who swallowed it up for the most part. He telegraphs that flat pass to an on running forward a lot.

Munsters game plan or lack of didnt help him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,045 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

It was a joy to watch the passing and link play between Leinster's forwards and backs. It's something Munster really miss.

Munsters work at the breakdown needs work too. They have excellent poachers in Beirne and POM, but they're relying on individual ability for a steal. Leinsters pack piles in in twos and threes to clear out. Munster's clear outs aren't as smooth.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 18,030 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Better team won. Munster can have no complaints.

p.s. I hope Toner is ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Dog Botherer

Leinster aren't in great form attacking wise but their defence ate Munster for breakfast. Leinster looked very comfortable at every stage in defence, content to give Munster the ball, let Munster waste a few minutes going nowhere, then pounce on a turnover. Munster will win nothing unless they seriously rejig their attack, one out runners and give it to Farrell and pray. Shambles. Whoever's coming in has their work cut out.

Wouldn't discount Leinster in the final yet but Glasgow look in ferocious form and have the attacking shape and form to punish Leinster unlike Munster. Leinster will pray for a rainy day arm wrestle.

That's two big games in a row Munster have completely failed to fire a shot. Worrying to be honest because that's a formidable team in comparison to previous years.

Still think the problem is at the top to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭All My Stars Aligned

Thought Sexton look like a man possessed when he came on. Was great to see. Overall I didn't think Leinster were ever really stretched. Will be an entirely different type of game next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

Faugheen wrote: »
    POM's interview there was interesting.

Was asked about the season and what it meant to players and coaching staff

He just spoke about Flannery and Jones and how much the players will miss them. Not even a hint of a mention of JvG and looking ahead to next season.

There's something not right at Munster imo. I said it months ago and nothing has changed my mind about it.

All might not be rosy but think you are reading too much in to those comments. Two lads who have been involved over ten years (break for Flannery obviously) are departing, last game of season, just standard to pay tribute to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭baas baa

Better team won. Munster can have no complaints.

p.s. I hope Toner is ok

Was in the huddle at the end, possibly just a badly twisted ankle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Good win. The energy levels surprised me and the Leinster bench made a big impact. The scrum and maul was very strong after the front row changes.

Munster were dead on their feet and checked out by 70 minutes I thought. Stander went down hurt around 72 minutes. He propped himself up on one elbow and watched the play for a few phases before getting up and rejoining play. Himself and Beirne looked fairly p*ssed off at times. Think the referee allowed Leinster some leeway at the breakdown for their angles of entry to deal with them.

Oh I don’t place any blame on him, better team won on the day and that’s that. Him however is a different story - he is an arrogant prick walking around with a big **** eating grin. I hope that somebody at some stages wipes that off his face with a seriously hard tackle or better, he is a dick.

Stander was walking around with a smug grin on his mug when Munster won a scrum pen.

If you dish it out, you take it back. Otherwise don't dish it out

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

By all accounts he's actually one of the nicest lads you'll meet.

'Seriously hard tackle or better' - what would 'better' be in your view?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,051 ✭✭✭digzy

He’s an extremely effective player. Great signing for Leinster
    I wish he was one of ours!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

That's two big games in a row Munster have completely failed to fire a shot. Worrying to be honest because that's a formidable team.

Still think the problem is at the top to be honest.

There’s deeper problems than the top in my view, the whole game plan needs to be reworked. There is a very clear gulf between Munster and Leinster and while as a fan I’d wish next season would close it, we are a few years away yet from being in that class.

Buer wrote: »
    Think the referee allowed Leinster some leeway at the breakdown for their angles of entry to deal with them.

Conor Murray got away with a few high tackles and one very dangerous neck roll on VDF. Swings and roundabouts.

Faugheen wrote: »
    By all accounts he's actually one of the nicest lads you'll meet.

'Seriously hard tackle or better' - what would 'better' be in your view?

A proper Erik Shun is always better than hard tackle