Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

awec wrote: »
    Was driving in Mayo at the weekend. There was a funeral on (I think), and someone had put Garda Checkpoint signs out on the road (an N road), and had lads standing about in high vis jackets. Not an actual Guard to be seen about the place.

Surprised you can get away with that sort of thing.

Common enough around Tullamore as well, judging by the few I've seen.
    Guard in the family or a friend maybe.

On the insurance talk, mine has been increasing every year for the past 5 years, it's ridiculous. No claims, points etc, and a car 10 years newer now as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Friend of mine has a 06 punto full licence and decent no claims

Paying 1388 in Dublin

Have him my address to get a quote for a laugh in rural Wicklow

460 Euro all in....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

bazz26 wrote: »
    I paid €886 on my 530d last year and while it's not due for another few months I did a few online quotes recently to get an idea what I'll be paying this year. It ain't getting any cheaper for sure, cheapest so far is the crowd I'm currently with and they are coming in around the same as last year. I've also got some ridiculous quotes of double that. At 45 I thought I was beyond stupid insurance quotes but apparently not in good old Ireland.

Changing providers used to be a good way to get a few hundred off. Now it seems the opposite. They rejected the case to lower payouts for minor injuries, whiplash, so its only going to keep going up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

My insurance last year was €850 thought that was the cheapest I would ever see then this years renewal came in at €680 with Aviva (couldn’t believe it) which was cheapest I could find so rang them to renew and just as I was getting ready to pay the girl said you hardly have health insurance with Irish life, which I do have, she said oh you get 5% extra off for that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

bazz26 wrote: »
    I paid €886 on my 530d last year and while it's not due for another few months I did a few online quotes recently to get an idea what I'll be paying this year. It ain't getting any cheaper for sure, cheapest so far is the crowd I'm currently with and they are coming in around the same as last year. I've also got some ridiculous quotes of double that. At 45 I thought I was beyond stupid insurance quotes but apparently not in good old Ireland.

Just checked mine, €844 on the 330d. I thought it was less than that. Feckin expensive enough considering clean licence, full NCB etc

tossy wrote: »
    a 1998 audi TDI avant was more expensive for me to insure than my S3 and twice as expensive to insure as my Golf R.

The only explanation i have gotten for this older car high insurance craic is that say we both buy a car ,15 to 20 years old for 600 quid and agree to have a crash. Both cars are written off so we get a grand each, replace our bumpers for 50 quid in a scrapper. Off to the solicitor then for a further 20 grand for the sore neck. Some sort of common fraud to that effect anyway. Nothing to do with new cars being safer as many suggest.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    VVT-i tho

True. An absolute weapon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Who needs high lift cams when you can advance and retard the timing.

vvt-i-kicked-in-539c0d948369b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

Interslice wrote: »
    The only explanation i have gotten for this older car high insurance craic is that say we both buy a car ,15 to 20 years old for 600 quid and agree to have a crash. Both cars are written off so we get a grand each, replace our bumpers for 50 quid in a scrapper. Off to the solicitor then for a further 20 grand for the sore neck. Some sort of common fraud to that effect anyway. Nothing to do with new cars being safer as many suggest.

That actually makes sense, about 17 years ago i ran into the back of a guy in cork, he was driving an old rover 500, his car was wrote off and they offered him 500 euro for it - he was driving along minding his own business and he got a smack from young idiot me and all he got was a cheque for 500 euro, how is he meant to get to work or get the kids to school, sure enough a solicitors letter arrived and he ended up getting 10k, i don't really blame him but the system that allows it to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

Quick one lads - not sure it warrants a thread of its own.

Someone I know is looking for an automatic runabout for ~€2-3k
    I've no experience of automatics beyond a few newer Mercs I've driven.

Are there any recommendations or particular makes/models that should be avoided?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

B00MSTICK wrote: »
    Quick one lads - not sure it warrants a thread of its own.

Someone I know is looking for an automatic runabout for ~€2-3k
    I've no experience of automatics beyond a few newer Mercs I've driven.

Are there any recommendations or particular makes/models that should be avoided?

Nice A6 for sale in bangeromics section....

2007 diesel and auto and looks quite well ohvand has NCT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

This came up as a memory on my FB. This time 6 years ago turbo number 2 was replaced in my 335i. The first drive after this was done by Daltons was a great experience. The first turbo was replaced a good while before and I was hoping to get away with just that but it turned out the second one needed replacing also.

46930627475_77007149c8_c.jpg

B00MSTICK wrote: »

Audi multitronic IMO :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭farna_boy

ELM327 wrote: »
    No claims or points, only difference is last year was on 2017 Ioniq EV, this year on e60 535d

as above, e60 535d

I have an E60 525i and one way I found to decrease the insurance quote was to increase the value of the car.

Originally had it valued a €4k but when I increased the value to €6k, the quote dropped by €100.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,351 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

This worth a watch. Jay Leno and the cheif designer of the 2005 ford gt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Looks like there's an mx5 owners club making its way down the wild Atlantic way. Passed a decent group of them this morning, think they were Dutch. The newest model looks great, all with the roof down and sun out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Good and all as the MX5 looks I still prefer its sister the Fiat 124.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

I agree that the Fiat looks better, but the Mazda has the advantage of still having naturally aspirated engines;)! On a car like that, I'd want an engine that needs to be revved - provided the engine wants to be revved and makes a good exhaust note when you do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Good and all as the MX5 looks I still prefer its sister the Fiat 124.

The 2.0 coupe style mx5 would be for me. When Beast becomes 18 and has her own car or gets a boyfriend/girlfriend with a car, then I am going to have a proper middle life crisis and get myself proper roadster with 2 seats only. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Renewed my insurance last Friday, dropped from around 1800 to 899, now that was with a lot of shopping around. I was eager to get third party extention, so that brought it up to 1050. Still I got a quote under 1000 for the first time ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Renewed my insurance last Friday, dropped from around 1800 to 899, now that was with a lot of shopping around. I was eager to get third party extention, so that brought it up to 1050. Still I got a quote under 1000 for the first time ever!

Did you make the jump to Cornmarket? It was only when I hit about 27 that they began to be way cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Ron Burgundy II

I managed to get €7 off my insurance renewal. Down to €570 fully comp for the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Renewed my license today. It was outta date since before last Christmas :eek: Surprisingly efficient and painless process actually, considering I lived in my Ma & Da’s gaff when I got the last one, just showed them the insurance cert and my old license and on ya go son. Didn’t even book an appointment cos there were none available on the website, and I was still out within 20 mins.

Did you make the jump to Cornmarket? It was only when I hit about 27 that they began to be way cheaper.

No I went with Aviva, through a broker. Cornmarket were fairly competitive though!

Is that on the Mondeo or golf do you have many years NCB ?

CIP4 wrote:
    Is that on the Mondeo or golf do you have many years NCB ?

Golf, 1 year actually!

Ah right thinking it was a bit high assuming you’d have loads of NCB. Not bad for 1 year.

CIP4 wrote:
    Ah right thinking it was a bit high assuming you’d have loads of NCB. Not bad for 1 year.

Have a good bit of named experience, which they took into consideration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

Anyone have problems with sunstrips and the nct in recent times? my car is due soon, i got a sunstrip fitted the day after it passed the nct last year, when the sun visors are down the strip is in line with them except on the corners very slightly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

Another 50 Litre in.

Another 250km on the odometer.

Another Marshall Island drowns.

Spend thirty seconds fiddling in the boot while it's running, and smell like raw petrol for the rest of the day.